View Full Version : More Rail Farce On Its Way

Zeberdee
17-04-2008, 01:47 PM
I hope everyone is ready for the driving and mega ques to work!!!

Publication Date: April 17 2008

BRITAIN’S BIGGEST rail union is to ballot some 5,000 signallers and other key operational staff over pay and conditions after rejecting a “cynical” offer of an additional 0.1 per cent on the first year of a two-year deal.

RMT members had already rejected the company's original offer of 4.8 per cent this year and RPI plus 0.5 per cent next year on the grounds that the second-year element would not protect members against the rising cost of living, with key costs rising far faster than the official inflation rate.

The union has informed the company that it is now in dispute, and will be balloting members for strike action and for action short of a strike. The union has also told the company that it wants a common anniversary date for all operations and infrastructure workers.

"The cynical offer of an extra tenth of one per cent in year one on condition that we do not ballot our members simply fails to address our members' concerns over the second year of the offer," RMT general secretary Bob Crow said today.

"Our members' verdict on the original offer was quite clear and we warned Network Rail that should it fail to table an acceptable offer on the second year of the deal we would ballot for industrial action.

"With housing costs, utility bills, pensions and food bills rising far faster than the official inflation rate the failure to improve the second-year means our members are looking at a real-terms pay cut and after consulting our reps we have told the company we are in dispute.

"We have also told the company that we want a return to a common anniversary date for all operational and maintenance and infrastructure workers," Bob Crow said.

ends

Notes to editors: Network Rail's original offer, of 4.8 per cent this year and RPI plus 0.5 per cent in 2009, was rejected by RMT members by a margin of two to one. The company had been informed that they year one element was acceptable but that the year 2 element was not.

The company's offer of an extra 0.1 per cent in year one, bringing it to 4.9 per cent but conditional on the union not balloting for industrial action, would leave the second-year element unchanged.

17-04-2008, 04:24 PM
'Mon the RMT :agree:

GreenandGlaikit
17-04-2008, 06:42 PM
Re-nationalise The Railways! :thumbsup: (wi nae compensation :greengrin)

17-04-2008, 06:52 PM
What's the "common anniversary date" Crow refers to? Is it that everyone's pay deal runs to the same date?

Zeberdee
17-04-2008, 08:26 PM
What's the "common anniversary date" Crow refers to? Is it that everyone's pay deal runs to the same date?

aye. they changed some from 1st april to the 1st jan. so they're still trying to negotiate a deal that should have been implimented 1st jan 2008. by the time they finish this they'll have to start the next 1!

17-04-2008, 08:42 PM
aye. they changed some from 1st april to the 1st jan. so they're still trying to negotiate a deal that should have been implimented 1st jan 2008. by the time they finish this they'll have to start the next 1!

:greengrin Cheers.

18-04-2008, 05:26 AM

And the Gas, and the Lecky and BT and the bloody rest of them as well!!!!!

GreenandGlaikit
18-04-2008, 08:47 AM
And the Gas, and the Lecky and BT and the bloody rest of them as well!!!!!

Correct. Only discovered this morning that BT charge £4.50 when a prompt, paperless, Debit Card bill payment is made online.

The tosspots been charging this each quarter since May 07. Gits, utter gits.:grr:

Complaint is being typed. :soapbox:

Zeberdee
18-04-2008, 09:59 AM

If that happened they'd be on strike every other day! I couldnt see gordan brown offering them 4.8%!

18-04-2008, 11:21 AM
A train driver earns £35,000 a year. That's a pretty good wage.

Zeberdee
18-04-2008, 11:33 AM
more than that. scotrail drivers get around that. but then there's plety overtime etc.

Your freight drivers and virgin etc get 40k+ pretty easily.

but the fact is ppl wouldnt do it if it was less money cos it wouldnt be worth the stress. not just drivers but the rest of the railway 2.

18-04-2008, 11:37 AM
more than that. scotrail drivers get around that. but then there's plety overtime etc.

but the fact is ppl wouldnt do it if it was less money cos it wouldnt be worth the stress. not just drivers but the rest of the railway 2.

The drivers I've met have all been good blokes.

(apart from the ex social worker - as she was a woman!!)

Zeberdee
18-04-2008, 11:44 AM
The drivers I've met have all been good blokes.

(apart from the ex social worker - as she was a woman!!)

yeh. ive no problem wi them gettin high paid or anythin against the rail industry. I just wish network rail could setlle a pay deal at least once a yr without bob crow demanding a strike.

18-04-2008, 11:46 AM
yeh. ive no problem wi them gettin high paid or anythin against the rail industry. I just wish network rail could setlle a pay deal at least once a yr without bob crow demanding a strike.

I hope there isn't a strike - I rely on the train quite a lot, and the thought of having to use Stagecoach is not one I look forward to.

18-04-2008, 11:51 AM

But is that not the point Zaberdee? We cannot blame the union for wanting a decent wage, we should blame the companies for not paying them?

Zeberdee
18-04-2008, 11:56 AM
But is that not the point Zaberdee? We cannot blame the union for wanting a decent wage, we should blame the companies for not paying them?

Yeh thats who i blame. Network Fail!

18-04-2008, 12:03 PM
Yeh thats who i blame. Network Fail!

What sort of profits are they making? I would assume their argument would be that the only way they can pay more wages is to bump up the price of tickets, thereby alienating the public from supporting the railmen. As you say the drivers get a decent wage (stil Naslef is it?) but the rest do not.

Zeberdee
18-04-2008, 05:05 PM
What sort of profits are they making? I would assume their argument would be that the only way they can pay more wages is to bump up the price of tickets, thereby alienating the public from supporting the railmen. As you say the drivers get a decent wage (stil Naslef is it?) but the rest do not.

They're last profit was in the region of £1bn!!!!

Delays etc are as low as they've ever been so they'll prob profit even more this year. All profits are re-invested.

Altho run as a private company it is effectively public and the management obviously get pressure for budgets etc from the SNP/Labour transport ministers. Stuart Stevenson in particular has redistributed money ear marked for various projects, most notibly the airport link.

davym7062
18-04-2008, 11:40 PM

STRESS my erse. no passengers to deal with, no traffic. try drivin a bus .

STRESS PAH:agree:

Zeberdee
19-04-2008, 11:43 AM
STRESS my erse. no passengers to deal with, no traffic. try drivin a bus .

STRESS PAH:agree:

Yeh because driving a bus you have to learn a whole new set of rules about 100 times the size of the highway code and if you go thru a red light ur almost definately for the sack if not downgrading :bye:

Railway Rule Book:

http://www.rgsonline.co.uk/rule_modules.html

davym7062
19-04-2008, 10:26 PM
Yeh because driving a bus you have to learn a whole new set of rules about 100 times the size of the highway code and if you go thru a red light ur almost definately for the sack if not downgrading :bye:

Railway Rule Book:

http://www.rgsonline.co.uk/rule_modules.html

:blah::blah::blah::greengrin