View Full Version : Hibs.net golfers
13-04-2008, 08:36 PM
I'm wondering if there would be any interest in a hibs.net golf society,
I guess we'd mostly play during the close season although an outing or two on non-match days might also be possible.
So, if you would be interested in playing golf with hibs.net members, please append your name to this thread stating whether or not you are currently a member of a golf club and which one.
Thanks. :thumbsup:
13-04-2008, 08:51 PM
Play for fun so maybe up for the odd outing or 3 :greengrin
13-04-2008, 09:30 PM
Not a member of a club and therefore no handicap, but I'd be really keen to play.
Not played often enough since having all these bleedin' kids so it's a yes from me (dates dependent)
13-04-2008, 09:52 PM
Not a member anywhere but I might be up for it. :thumbsup:
15-04-2008, 08:01 AM
Anyone else?
Godsahibby
15-04-2008, 11:10 AM
You can add me to the list.
add me to the list
i am a member at turnhouse gc and play off 6
i am off to play dalmahoy this avo though :thumbsup:
Bunter
15-04-2008, 05:53 PM
Is there room for a hacker?
15-04-2008, 08:40 PM
Good stuff.
Keep 'em coming.
PS Hackers welcome.
HibbyScott
15-04-2008, 09:42 PM
I'd be interested. A member at Harburn Golf Club just now :thumbsup:
RigRoars
15-04-2008, 11:58 PM
My work takes me away from home(month on,month off) but would be interested.
Membership at gogarburn GC, only 12 holes but nice wee course.
DJ HIBBY
16-04-2008, 08:27 AM
Add me to the list. A member of East Kilbride Golf Club and if the hibs.net society branched out to a European trip i work for a golf travel company and could get a discount :thumbsup:
Godsahibby
16-04-2008, 08:52 AM
My work takes me away from home(month on,month off) but would be interested.
Membership at gogarburn GC, only 12 holes but nice wee course.
Is it hard to get a membership there?
luxjock
16-04-2008, 11:06 AM
I'm up for it.
RigRoars
16-04-2008, 06:53 PM
Is it hard to get a membership there?
Yeah i think it's a good few years wait,not to sure how long but could find out.Espescially since the RBOS moved next door and tried to buy it of us a few years ago.
Godsahibby
17-04-2008, 08:00 AM
Yeah i think it's a good few years wait,not to sure how long but could find out.Espescially since the RBOS moved next door and tried to buy it of us a few years ago.
Thats one of the reasons i'm asking i'm based at RBS and it would be handy for me.
hibs6270uk
17-04-2008, 05:50 PM
I'm up for that. Am currently at university in the Highlands and am a member at Royal Dornoch and Tain. Don't know if you guys would be willing to let me play with you though as I am currently doing my degree in Golf Management and am a scratch handicap golfer!
Godsahibby
18-04-2008, 08:17 AM
I'm up for that. Am currently at university in the Highlands and am a member at Royal Dornoch and Tain. Don't know if you guys would be willing to let me play with you though as I am currently doing my degree in Golf Management and am a scratch handicap golfer!
Cracking courses up there, I was up in Dornoch a few weeks ago playing. Mates from there unfotunately didnt get much golf in due to the weather but did end up one night in the nightclub in tain, that was an experience!
18-04-2008, 09:56 AM
Really? Me too! :agree:
I'm based in Dundee for Uni, but play at home at the weekend - have some cracking courses up here with Downfield, Carnoustie and St Andrews, all on my doorstep. Would be up for a couple of outings, but would depend on availability due to coursework etc - summer aint a problem though, starting from next Monday, til September the 24th when my PhD starts.
hibs6270uk
18-04-2008, 10:04 AM
Cracking courses up there, I was up in Dornoch a few weeks ago playing. Mates from there unfotunately didnt get much golf in due to the weather but did end up one night in the nightclub in tain, that was an experience!
Yeah certainly are good course. A night out in Tain! hahahaha you must be very glad to get back to the relative safety of the burgh! They don't like southerners up here to much haha
18-04-2008, 02:26 PM
Should I know you? :confused:
Might be a goer dependant on dates.
18-04-2008, 02:28 PM
I'm based in Dundee for Uni, but play at home at the weekend - have some cracking courses up here with Downfield, Carnoustie and St Andrews, all on my doorstep. Would be up for a couple of outings, but would depend on availability due to coursework etc - summer aint a problem though, starting from next Monday, til September the 24th when my PhD starts.
Should I know you too?:confused:
Hibs On Tour
18-04-2008, 08:39 PM
Not a member anywhere but would be up for a hack around! :greengrin
PS - last I heard Gogarburn membership was worth its weight in gold! Rumours of 80k offers and the likes to buy members out I hear... :wink:
18-04-2008, 09:06 PM
Should I know you too?:confused:
Hacked my way round thre today in an outing it was soaking, the course was cutting up all over the place. :wink:
But greens were in good nick:agree:
18-04-2008, 09:42 PM
Hacked my way round thre today in an outing it was soaking, the course was cutting up all over the place. :wink:
But greens were in good nick:agree:
Best playing it on a dry day through the summer - it's a gorgeous course when the weather is good, but because it's so high up, it doesn't drain the amount of rain it gets easily!
It's a bitch of a course when the wind is blowing! :brickwall
RigRoars
18-04-2008, 11:23 PM
Not a member anywhere but would be up for a hack around! :greengrin
PS - last I heard Gogarburn membership was worth its weight in gold! Rumours of 80k offers and the likes to buy members out I hear... :wink:
The rumours have been doing the rounds for years now.
Not allowed to say how much but we've had one offer 4years ago i think,it was less than 10k.Needless to say it was dismissed out off hand.
Hope your right with the 80k :greengrin but cant see it being anywhere near that.
Gimmy 40k RBS and you've got my vote...
19-04-2008, 07:55 AM
Best playing it on a dry day through the summer - it's a gorgeous course when the weather is good, but because it's so high up, it doesn't drain the amount of rain it gets easily!
It's a bitch of a course when the wind is blowing! :brickwall
Forgot to mention it, the wind was howling:agree: and a member who was in my group mentioned that the wind was blowing the wrong way round but clarifying his comment corrected himself by saying it in normally an Easterly wind but today it was a Northerly wind :greengrin
19-04-2008, 08:03 AM
Count me in
Ideally at a course in the Edinburgh area on a Saturday morning match day. We could then make our way to ER for a few pre-match drinkies.
We're probably more likely to get "a deal" on green fees if we choose a winter date.
wee hissy
19-04-2008, 09:10 AM
Not a member anywhere but have been member of a social club in the past so would be interested
19-04-2008, 10:39 AM
I'd be up for a game, I currently play at gleaneagles. Not because I'm loaded but because I work there and get membership for £50 a year
hibsboy90
19-04-2008, 04:53 PM
I'm off 19 and play craigielaw. I'd be up for a round, school / uni permitting.
22-04-2008, 08:03 AM
I'd be interested. Play off 5 for Carrickvale.
22-04-2008, 03:53 PM
Over to you Mr Radge. Looks like there are a few interested. :greengrin
26-04-2008, 11:33 AM
Over to you Mr Radge. Looks like there are a few interested. :greengrin
Yep.
I'll make a few enquiries and post again soon.
HibbyScott
28-04-2008, 03:49 PM
Worked in the bar over the summer - so if you're in often then chances are I'd have seen you at some point :thumbsup:
Need to get out and play a bit more this summer though too
28-04-2008, 09:46 PM
Worked in the bar over the summer - so if you're in often then chances are I'd have seen you at some point :thumbsup:
Ah - so you were the young lad who appeared and then disappeared! I was asking what happened with you yesterday actually - we were discussing the level of catering staff who had come and gone in recent years, in light of the stewards being sacked for having their fingers in the til!
There seem to be more Hibees up there than I originally thought :thumbsup:
29-04-2008, 09:58 AM
Guaranteed. :greengrin Play most competitions and frequent the bar always. :drool:
Ah - so you were the young lad who appeared and then disappeared! I was asking what happened with you yesterday actually - we were discussing the level of catering staff who had come and gone in recent years, in light of the stewards being sacked for having their fingers in the til!
Judging by your score on Saturday you should be on the practice area not sitting in the bar idling the hours away chatting. :wink:
29-04-2008, 01:35 PM
Guaranteed. :greengrin Play most competitions and frequent the bar always. :drool:
Judging by your score on Saturday you should be on the practice area not sitting in the bar idling the hours away chatting. :wink:
Infuriatingly, I went out on the Sunday and shot 81. I really struggled in the wind on Saturday! Didn't play poorly, just struggled to score :boo hoo:
30-04-2008, 12:26 PM
Infuriatingly, I went out on the Sunday and shot 81. I really struggled with the wind on Saturday! Didn't play poorly, just struggled to score :boo hoo:
Too many pulses in the clubhouse?:greengrin
HibsNibs
30-04-2008, 12:29 PM
I'd be interested if you ever had an outing up Inverness way - some cracking courses up here.
16 handicap (lapsed).
30-04-2008, 12:57 PM
Too many pulses in the clubhouse?:greengrin
Ah sharrup! :greengrin:wink:
HibbyScott
01-05-2008, 11:21 AM
I probably was the young lad who appeared and disappeared :greengrin Will hopefully be appearing again over the summer.
And I had heard from Sarah when I went in that as far as she knew the new steward had left but didn't really know the full story - appears that she was sacked though :greengrin
Just waiting for a new steward to be appointed and then hopefully getting my job back :thumbsup: Have to make sure I know who you and greenlex are when i get back
12-05-2008, 08:13 PM
Anyone played castle park in East Lothian I've got an outing there end of may?
18-05-2008, 03:23 PM
Ahem?! 62 and 68 in the Storry Cup - anyone wants it, they're going to have to play the round of their life :greengrin
18-05-2008, 08:11 PM
Ahem?! 62 and 68 in the Storry Cup - anyone wants it, they're going to have to play the round of their life :greengrin
Yup. Well done I think thats good enough. By the way I was playing with Robert Montgomery the handicap and match dude today and he has cut you to 18 for your efforts on Saturday and will probably be off 17 after today. :greengrin
I was garbage both days.
18-05-2008, 09:36 PM
Yup. Well done I think thats good enough. By the way I was playing with Robert Montgomery the handicap and match dude today and he has cut you to 18 for your efforts on Saturday and will probably be off 17 after today. :greengrin
I was garbage both days.
Hail to the victor :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
Yeah, I played off 18 in the Labinjoh today and played within my handicap - i'm delighted - won by 3 shots in the end - my family and friends are struggling to pull me off the ceiling!
Its nice to see the hard work paying off.
Anyway, sorry folks, i've well and truly hijacked this thread, but I can't be blamed :greengrin
19-05-2008, 02:17 PM
Me when I am home. A pure hacker, not a member of any club so no handicap and have yet to break the 100!!!!!!
hibbybrian
19-05-2008, 03:43 PM
A pure hacker, not a member of any club so no handicap and have yet to break the 100!!!!!!
you still playing the local 9 hole courses G. :greengrin :devil:
19-05-2008, 04:55 PM
you still playing the local 9 hole courses G. :greengrin :devil:
Not far wrong mate!!!
19-05-2008, 06:18 PM
Anyone played castle park in East Lothian I've got an outing there end of may?
I played it a couple of seasons ago.
It's not too long or too difficult and at the time it was great value for money.
A good friendly course for an outing I would say.
19-05-2008, 08:18 PM
Any word on what's happening with this? :confused:
29-05-2008, 05:40 AM
Any word on what's happening with this? :confused:
I've been unbelievably busy lately so I've not had a chance to progress it.
Hopefully, I'll get a chance to do something next week and I'm looking at the 15th or 21st of June.
30-05-2008, 07:43 AM
I'm going to be out of the country until 25th June so I'll probably not make this one.
02-06-2008, 09:47 AM
I've been unbelievably busy lately so I've not had a chance to progress it.
Hopefully, I'll get a chance to do something next week and I'm looking at the 15th or 21st of June.
15th would be better for me. The 21st might be a struggle. :boo hoo:
02-06-2008, 01:09 PM
Wouldn't make either.:boo hoo:
09-06-2008, 09:13 AM
Is there anyone else with a bit of spare time who could organise this?
I'm stowed out with work and am traveling all week again so I haven't had a chance to do anything.
Thornton is a reasonably flat course, very visitor friendly, but I guess we could go somewhere else.
Their number is01592 771111
Website. (http://www.thorntongolfclub.co.uk/)
09-06-2008, 05:58 PM
I'd be happy to organise it but cant make it myself till next month. I see a few people cant make it just now. Would it be better to leave it till later in July. I know you cant please everyone. BTW if people are happy to pay £35 a round, Pumpherston is a very nice course for the same price.
Anyway I'm going to be playing Muirfield tomorrow............can't wait.
Hope that wind dies down though.......better pack a few extra balls. :greengrin
10-06-2008, 02:41 PM
I'd be happy to organise it but cant make it myself till next month. I see a few people cant make it just now. Would it be better to leave it till later in July. I know you cant please everyone. BTW if people are happy to pay £35 a round, Pumpherston is a very nice course for the same price.
Anyway I'm going to be playing Muirfield tomorrow............can't wait.
Hope that wind dies down though.......better pack a few extra balls. :greengrin
You de man!!! :agree:
HibbyScott
15-06-2008, 10:25 AM
Which of the Harburn Hibs fans has the registration HIBEE A on their car?
Saw it in the car park yesterday when i was finishing work - hope you didn't get too wet when you were out :greengrin
15-06-2008, 03:16 PM
Saw it in the car park yesterday when i was finishing work - hope you didn't get too wet when you were out :greengrin
Got in before the rain started - played ***** yesterday too :boo hoo:
Think it's greenlex, but I might be wrong - I can put a face to you now as I seen you yesterday milling in the bar when I came in.
I'm absolutely swamped with graduation stuff, full time summer job (to go with the already existing part time one) and preparing to start my Masters next year - all dates pretty much out of my calendar just now....
HibbyScott
15-06-2008, 09:29 PM
Got in before the rain started - played ***** yesterday too :boo hoo:
Think it's greenlex, but I might be wrong - I can put a face to you now as I seen you yesterday milling in the bar when I came in.
I'm absolutely swamped with graduation stuff, full time summer job (to go with the already existing part time one) and preparing to start my Masters next year - all dates pretty much out of my calendar just now....
You'll have to introduce yourself next time you're in - because I still don't know who you are :greengrin
Bigsmak
16-06-2008, 04:56 PM
Hey,
I organise golf outings on Kickback for Jambos..
You lot fancy getting together a team and we'll have a friendly match?
4 ball better ball?
17-06-2008, 05:59 PM
Sounds like a good idea
Of course we would be wanting very generous handicaps as we'd be playing for the wee team!
18-06-2008, 07:03 PM
Guilty for the car. Got in before the rain but only just. 9 over but 6 over on two holes. One of theses days the course is gonna get it.
21-06-2008, 08:34 AM
Aybody playing in the gullane scratch next week. 2 rounds over no. 1 for £28:woohoo: I am over thwe moon that I got selected in the ballot.
22-06-2008, 01:42 PM
Aybody playing in the gullane scratch next week. 2 rounds over no. 1 for £28:woohoo: I am over thwe moon that I got selected in the ballot.
I am not good enough Houchy. :boo hoo:Whens the handicap version?
22-06-2008, 01:47 PM
I am not good enough Houchy. :boo hoo:Whens the handicap version?
I don't know if there is one dude. I'm gonna be struggling to make it as I have swelling i my brain after a nasty head knock on holiday s I've lost about 20% of power in my left arm. Just got to take it easy for the next week and see how it goes I'll be gutted if I can't tee it up come Sat Morning.:agree:
23-06-2008, 03:23 PM
Just thought I'd say to you fellow gowfers that there is a cracking Challenge Tour event on at Cardrona (just south of Peebles) from Thursday to Sunday of this week.
This tour is for guys who hope to get on the Main Tour next season and it is loaded with great golfers. The guy who won it last year (Robert Dinwiddie) made the last two rounds of the US Open this year so that is the proof of the quality of golf that can be viewed for free.
Other notable entries are Steven O'Hara, Andrew Oldcorn, the Saltman brothers, Ritchie Ramsay, Joakim Haeggman, David Drysdale and Ian Garbutt.
Get yerself down there!
24-06-2008, 09:42 AM
I don't know if there is one dude. I'm gonna be struggling to make it as I have swelling i my brain after a nasty head knock on holiday s I've lost about 20% of power in my left arm. Just got to take it easy for the next week and see how it goes I'll be gutted if I can't tee it up come Sat Morning.:agree:
Hope you make a speedy recovery. :agree:
25-06-2008, 08:08 AM
Hope you make a speedy recovery. :agree:
Thanks Lex. unfortunately, things aint improving quick enough so I have had to withdraw. Longniddry next up on 5th July. Hpefully be ok by then but Dr's are being absolutely hopeless offering appointments in July. Just going to turn up at A&E and see what happens from there.:agree:
26-06-2008, 10:21 AM
Thanks Lex. unfortunately, things aint improving quick enough so I have had to withdraw. Longniddry next up on 5th July. Hpefully be ok by then but Dr's are being absolutely hopeless offering appointments in July. Just going to turn up at A&E and see what happens from there.:agree:
Bloody NHS. All went to pot when group practices were set up. Much easier when you had to register with your own quack like you do with a dentist. Phoned him got an appointment next day or even same day.
If you fancy a one-hour drive come up to my club at Dunning, south of Perth. Wee nine-hole course you can go round twice, small greens, some trees, bunkers and a windy burn.
The longer drivers will be able to make it to some of the greens. I managed a wind-assisted 305 yards at the 9th on Friday. Pity it landed 70 yards right of the green!! :brickwall
I would be up for the occasional trip to Edinburgh and beyond. I've just taken up the game after a very long absence. Never had a handicap but going to try for one at end of season.
Good move HR and worth a punt on the main board?
05-07-2008, 09:37 AM
Hey folks, just a quick update on what's happened since i've last been on, I just decided to pitch up at A&E who refered me onto the Western General. Turns out that the crack on the head caused a massive bleed in my brain which needed surgery. The surgeons said that they have never removed such a massive clot from someones head and that they couldn't believe i wasn't in a worse state. Anyway, I have to give credit where credits due, The nurses were absolutely fantastic as were the surgeons and that's me back home recovering now after having major surgery on only Wednesday morning. I think that it will be a few weeks before i'm fully out and about but if anyone sees a Frankenstein lookalike down Easter Road, it will probably be me.
05-07-2008, 10:03 AM
Hey folks, just a quick update on what's happened since i've last been on, I just decided to pitch up at A&E who refered me onto the Western General. Turns out that the crack on the head caused a massive bleed in my brain which needed surgery. The surgeons said that they have never removed such a massive clot from someones head and that they couldn't believe i wasn't in a worse state. Anyway, I have to give credit where credits due, The nurses were absolutely fantastic as were the surgeons and that's me back home recovering now after having major surgery on only Wednesday morning. I think that it will be a few weeks before i'm fully out and about but if anyone sees a Frankenstein lookalike down Easter Road, it will probably be me.
Best wishes for a speedy and complete recovery. I'd stay clear of ER in the meantime though - you don't want to add depression to your ailments!
05-07-2008, 10:10 AM
Best wishes for a speedy and complete recovery. I'd stay clear of ER in the meantime though - you don't want to add depression to your ailments!
LOL
That's a very good shout.
08-07-2008, 01:00 AM
I play at Gleneagles and would be more than happy to try and get something sorted out if anyone fancied playing on one of the courses
10-07-2008, 09:14 AM
I play at Gleneagles and would be more than happy to try and get something sorted out if anyone fancied playing on one of the courses
I've never played there so I'd definately be up for that. Only problem is that due to the incidents documented in my last couple of posts, I'm not allowed to play for the next 2 months.
10-07-2008, 09:26 AM
:thumbsup:Played The Queens in the past,and enjoyed hacking round so would be up for another hack, what kind of price would we be expected to pay for the privalge?:wink:
10-07-2008, 07:09 PM
Just catching up today.
FFS Houchy what ye like man. Hope your playing again before too long.
It a real disgrace that you have to roll along to A&E to be treated properly.
Had a wee scratch 74 last night up at Harburn that contained a 7 at the 6th. (only reason I got a 7 was cos I chipped in from 10 yrds short of the green). . Hit the ball really well last night and only had about 5 shots I wasn't happy with. Now down to 8 Handicap so getting better.:thumbsup:
Get well soon mate.
ps I would be up for Glen eagles too. :agree:
13-07-2008, 06:32 AM
:thumbsup:Played The Queens in the past,and enjoyed hacking round so would be up for another hack, what kind of price would we be expected to pay for the privalge?:wink:
Think just now its about £70 but I shall try and speak to someone and find out, the PGA course is always good for a hack round
13-07-2008, 05:51 PM
With no Tiger this year, this has got to be the most open "OPEN" for a few years.
Let's just say that no one stands out as the favourite but my money will be going on Sergio to win with Lee Westwood and Richard Green my each way bets.
Roll on Thursday!
14-07-2008, 09:17 AM
Westwood has a great chance at it this year - he's been playing some wonderful golf!
I've got a sneaky wee outside feeling that Henrik Stenson might be in with a shout - he's been playing well in Europe and is due a major win!
I'd love to see Damien McGrane winning due to the family connection :agree:
14-07-2008, 05:53 PM
Westwood has a great chance at it this year - he's been playing some wonderful golf!
I've got a sneaky wee outside feeling that Henrik Stenson might be in with a shout - he's been playing well in Europe and is due a major win!
I'd love to see Damien McGrane winning due to the family connection :agree:
I was up at Loch Lomond on Friday and followed Damien for a few holes. He was hitting the ball well but suddenly hit a slump and finished with a 76 - by far his worst round of an otherwise good performance.
What's the connection? - and does his golfing prowess run in the family?
15-07-2008, 02:21 PM
I was up at Loch Lomond on Friday and followed Damien for a few holes. He was hitting the ball well but suddenly hit a slump and finished with a 76 - by far his worst round of an otherwise good performance.
What's the connection? - and does his golfing prowess run in the family?
He's my dad's cousin - I wouldn't say any of us are anywhere near his calibre, but most of our family do indeed play the game. Played with him when he's been on a break a fair few times and it's absolutely amazing playing with someone at that level. He identifies the most minute of flaws in any swing and sets it right - these guys are pros for a reason I suppose.
We spoke to him briefly after he finished and he said he started to feel a dull ache in the upper arm muscle around the 13th hole - sadly it seemed to bother him!
17-07-2008, 12:55 PM
Finished +9 today, so not much chance of that happening! :brickwall
03-08-2008, 05:19 PM
Finished +9 today, so not much chance of that happening! :brickwall
Yer old man made a pigs ear of Championship qualifying a fortnight ago Scott. He must be gutted!!!
04-08-2008, 07:32 PM
Yer old man made a pigs ear of Championship qualifying a fortnight ago Scott. He must be gutted!!!
Aye - forgot to sign his card and was very much in the hunt - shame as the eventual winner went to pieces this weekend with a 79, 81.
Looking forward to the Steele Cup this weekend - chance to get back playing regularly again at last. You going to the prize giving?
06-08-2008, 04:58 PM
Aye - forgot to sign his card and was very much in the hunt - shame as the eventual winner went to pieces this weekend with a 79, 81.
Looking forward to the Steele Cup this weekend - chance to get back playing regularly again at last. You going to the prize giving?
Depends if I have anything to collect.
I was in the hunt myself. Started of 5 behind in round 3 and despite a poor 80 was only 3 behind going into the afternoon. Played the worst golf you could ever witness in the afternoon and blew it with an 88. 80 bloody 8!!!! Yer Da will be gutted though but not as gutted as the leading qualifier who slept in at the weekend!!:greengrin Hes a bloody greenkeeper too and up at Dawns crack every morning. :hilarious:hilariousTwo rounds of 80 and he would have won it. 79 and 80 wasn't bad on Saturday it was tough.
18-09-2008, 04:27 PM
Maybe next year! :wink:
18-09-2008, 04:29 PM
Now's probably the best time to consider organising them actually - the green fee's go down at the end of September/October - not as if the weather is going to be DRASTICALLY worse than the summer months either!
Get on it! :wink::thumbsup:
19-09-2008, 08:51 AM
Now's probably the best time to consider organising them actually - the green fee's go down at the end of September/October - not as if the weather is going to be DRASTICALLY worse than the summer months either!
Get on it! :wink::thumbsup:
We've got football matches to attend at the weekend. :wink:
27-09-2008, 11:51 PM
I'm game
member at longnidry (can point out Petries house to lob pineapples at on the first) :wink: