View Full Version : The English Democrats
13-04-2008, 06:35 PM
Just happened to be flicking through Iplayer to catch up with the political goings-on while I was down the road for a few days, and found this PEB for the aforementioned party (http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/page/item/b009vtg7.shtml?order=date&filter=category%3A100005&scope=iplayercategories&start=3&version_pid=b009vtdm).
I know, freedom of speech and all that, but that is arguably racist. You certainly wouldn't catch the SNP saying stuff like that in reverse nowadays.
13-04-2008, 08:42 PM
WTF has St Patrick got to do with his argument?
He may well have a point but thats the union for you. He should vote SNP and be done with it!:greengrin
LiverpoolHibs
13-04-2008, 10:57 PM
As an Ingerlunder, that is about the most awful thing I have ever seen.
14-04-2008, 09:46 AM
One of the worst worrying political broadcasts I've ever seen.
Seriously, that such absolute tits exist in the United Kingdom worries me.
GreenandGlaikit
14-04-2008, 10:10 AM
It's a valid political view however bitter and twisted it might seem.
Funny how decades o' London Transport support, London Weighting , previous Mortgage tax relief , and massive infrastructure projects like the M25 are never the rest o' the UK subsidising London though ?
Presumably London is also self-financing The Olympics. :hilarious
LiverpoolHibs
14-04-2008, 10:21 AM
It's a valid political view however bitter and twisted it might seem.
Funny how decades o' London Transport support, London Weighting , previous Mortgage tax relief , and massive infrastructure projects like the M25 are never the rest o' the UK subsidising London though ?
Presumably London is also self-financing The Olympics. :hilarious
And I'm sure North Sea oil makes up for it, just a bit.
14-04-2008, 11:38 AM
my better half is english and i get this every single time i go down to visit the in laws: scotland gets this, scotland gets that etc etc etc. it bores me to the core. everything you mention - like 2 rubbish collections a week - "that will be us that pays for it" etc.
im all for scotland separating from the union and i tell them that they shouldn't moan to me about things because i agree with them and think that both countries would be better off apart, financially, culturally and politically better off.
id rather be good neighbours than bickering housemates.
if you think we are in a union of equals and scotland/england doesn't matter, why do the english resent the fact that gordon brown is scottish so much? and they resent the cabinet members who are scottish too. i thought it was the "united kingdom" and that we were all british??
union is a busted flush and like the day when hearts are no more, i'm really looking forward to independence day.
14-04-2008, 11:48 AM
The best chance Scotland has of gaining independence is perversely on the back of the actions of the English population :agree:
As I have always said, and contrary to the opinions held by some Nationalists and generally, ARSE HOLES, there is nothing wrong with the average Englishman. They are the same us most of us up here ... similar problems etc. Similarly, the bulk of Scots arent racist either.
However, a minority on both sides make it look far worse than it is. Its pish for sure.
But this attitude of subsidising and such like - they (THOSE WHO PEDAL THIS SHEITE - NOT, THE ENTIRE ENGLISH NATION) can take that pish and ram it up their arse. We are NOT subsidised. I believe, based on the last published accounts by the UK (note: UK not "English") Government, Scotland was in fact, in a state of surplus i.e. we GENERATE more than we SPEND. Unless of course, the UK governement wishes to argue with it's own accounts which wouldnt suprise me, given they argue with abody else (except, the Americans :agree:).
Anyway, the answers here to me are simple.
Who is better to look after England's affairs but English MP's. Where better to have this parliament but in England? They can selfishly look after themselves and work for their OWN best interests.
Who is better to look after Scotland's affairs but Scottish MP's. Where better to have this parliament but in Scotland? We can selfishly look after ourselves and work for our OWN best interests.
See the pattern? Add to that Wales, N.Ireland etc ... in short;
Would you accept someone in the south of England running Hibs, knowing **** all about Scottish fitba, issues up here etc? Nope.
Then why trust our LIVES with a body so far removed from our situation (And reality) its ****ing not funny?
Example 1: Scottish Fishing Industry.........etc
bringbackjoeT!!
14-04-2008, 12:01 PM
Just saw a party political broadcast on local tv down in london for the upcoming mayor elections. This racist joker made my blood boil, if he was talking about other minority groups in the UK he would be chucked in the cells for such hatred! check out the video
http://www.englishdemocrats.org.uk/
14-04-2008, 12:21 PM
Slightly ironic that the guy they're touting in the mayoral elections is one MATT O'CONNOR? :cool2:
Pretty poisonous, but no worse than some of the stuff the more extreme Scots nationalists (with a small 'n') spout from time to time.
jimmy_lad
14-04-2008, 12:33 PM
Why is it that we get many benefits that the English dont anyway?
14-04-2008, 12:41 PM
such as?
jimmy_lad
14-04-2008, 12:49 PM
such as?
1st of all I'm not siding with anything these English Dems have to say but isn't it true that in Scotland we get
Free higher education
Free personal care for the elderly
Free prescription charges by 2011
Free school meals for certain children from the ages from 4-7
It's all good that we get this sort of thing but take Berwick upon Tweed for example, there was two people who went to the same school but they both stayed 1 mile either side of the border, the one in scotland got this uni fee's paid while the one that stayed over the border had to pay £3,000 in fee's.
If we are supposed to be a United Kingdom then shouldnt the benefits be UK wide?
14-04-2008, 01:16 PM
http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=115200
14-04-2008, 01:20 PM
The best chance Scotland has of gaining independence is perversely on the back of the actions of the English population :agree:
i've said that for several years now amigo :agree:
Its long been accepted (by those who actually work with the figures) that Scotland is a net contributor to the UK economy (one of only 3 ‘regions' that are net contributors) its just doesn’t suit some English MPs who have another agenda (get Scotland out the UK and England will be forever Tory), the more you hear something, they think, the more folk who want to will beLIEve it, if you catch my drift!!.
Jimmy Lad. As part of the devolution thing Scotland was given powers to do what it likes with certain parts of the country/economy; health, education, most parts of agriculturally stuff , Justice etc..
The UK Government says there's all the money your getting for all that stuff (generally 10% of the total UK bill for whatever it is, known as the Barnett Formula which gives Scotland slightly more than its due per head of population) and the Scottish Government can then do pretty much as it likes with that money.
On the flip side to the positive differences between what the Scottish residents are entitled to but the English aren’t; the English must be getting something we don’t. Don’t ask me what, I don’t know, just glad that I’m here.
14-04-2008, 01:39 PM
i've said that for several years now amigo :agree:
it is slightly embarrassing that we will need that push. just the scottish way. i think scottish people are dyed in the wool skeptics. i think that you are either for independence or against it. and those in the middle will flock to the "safest" option out of worry, whatever 'safest' will be at the time of deciding.
always having to count on someone else to show us the way - like if the faroe islands beat ukraine by 12 clear goals, we'll be through to the world cup.
14-04-2008, 02:07 PM
it is slightly embarrassing that we will need that push. just the scottish way. i think scottish people are dyed in the wool skeptics. i think that you are either for independence or against it. and those in the middle will flock to the "safest" option out of worry, whatever 'safest' will be at the time of deciding.
always having to count on someone else to show us the way - like if the faroe islands beat ukraine by 12 clear goals, we'll be through to the world cup.
thats true :agree:and i can understand people turning against the idea of independence, it's all about the oil, which will eventually dry up, and when that finally shows signs of drying up(if it hasn't already) then watch out for english nationalism increasing 10/20-fold(and more) :agree: indeed, our first minister has been on more than a few jaunts down south positively encouraging english nationalism.
14-04-2008, 03:00 PM
to be honest, i think gordon brown has done so much more in p#ssing off the average English voter than salmond could ever do.
i find that the people i know down south dont mind salmond as much as brown. i think they probably think that salmond will bring about their wishes rather than brown who harps on about being a nationality (british) that very few people and decreasing people identify with on all sides of the island.
its also not just about the oil. the oil is handy, but it's not essential to independence. there are plenty plenty of small successful countries who exist without an oil industry to speak of.
scots people just generally seem to lack balls and confidence in their own country.
try telling danes, swedes, norwegians, finns, icelandic people (for example) that they should be part of a wider political and economic union because they're not big enough to stand on their own two feet!!
14-04-2008, 03:00 PM
1st of all I'm not siding with anything these English Dems have to say but isn't it true that in Scotland we get
Free higher education
It's all good that we get this sort of thing but take Berwick upon Tweed for example, there was two people who went to the same school but they both stayed 1 mile either side of the border, the one in scotland got this uni fee's paid while the one that stayed over the border had to pay £3,000 in fee's.
If we are supposed to be a United Kingdom then shouldnt the benefits be UK wide?
Has the whole devolution thing passed you by then?:confused:
14-04-2008, 03:25 PM
http://bp1.blogger.com/_z5hT1P0X79c/R_iqQgLBocI/AAAAAAAABvE/wzTYVzLTewI/s1600-h/English+Democrats
14-04-2008, 03:28 PM
http://bp1.blogger.com/_z5hT1P0X79c/R_iqQgLBocI/AAAAAAAABvE/wzTYVzLTewI/s1600-h/English+Democrats
I se that the guy behind this is Matt O' Connor, former heid bummer of Fathers4Justice. (And what a level headed bunch they were.:brickwall)
LiverpoolHibs
14-04-2008, 03:31 PM
Jesus wept. What a bunch of complete and utter ar**holes.
toaosi
14-04-2008, 04:07 PM
Was in Spain last week and the room telly had BBC London, which I was watching as I was getting ready to go out, when after the local news finished, this knob appeared! After his first couple of statements I calmed down enough to give him a loud FOFF after each comment much to my, and my wife's hilarity.It set us up for a good night out having listened to that load of ertha kitt. A few years ago that would have made my blood boil but these days it is just funny, as per the previous posts' observations. Always voted SNP and always will and reasonably happy with the SP, but if this sort of stuff pushes the stupid " downsouth " to help along independance then good enough.:thumbsup:
GreenandGlaikit
14-04-2008, 04:23 PM
The PPB skated oa thin ice. These posters broke through it. BNP-style pish.
14-04-2008, 05:28 PM
I se that the guy behind this is Matt O' Connor, former heid bummer of Fathers4Justice. (And what a level headed bunch they were.:brickwall)
Exactly - here we have a good "English" man purporting to be just like me or you, yet at the same time masquerading as someone with a credible claim to run London. He couldn't even prevent Fathers for Justice - a well intentioned (at the outset) and generally publically supported outfit - from going to the dogs and eventually having its agenda run by a bunch of bampots that hatched a plan to kidnap the Prime Ministers young son (way to go, you bunch of ****wits). Seriously, for all the faults of the other candidates is anyone with a rational sense of judgement going to vote for this joker??
I'd sooner discover the elixir of eternal life and give it Maggie Thatcher than have that so called Democrat anywhere near power.
Exactly - here we have a good "English" man purporting to be just like me or you, yet at the same time masquerading as someone with a credible claim to run London. He couldn't even prevent Fathers for Justice - a well intentioned (at the outset) and generally publically supported outfit - from going to the dogs and eventually having its agenda run by a bunch of bampots that hatched a plan to kidnap the Prime Ministers young son (way to go, you bunch of ****wits). Seriously, for all the faults of the other candidates is anyone with a rational sense of judgement going to vote for this joker??
I'd sooner discover the elixir of eternal life and give it Maggie Thatcher than have that so called Democrat anywhere near power.
No, but there are a lot of folk in London who are ....... :bitchy: and when the votes are cast we'll find out how many!!
LiverpoolHibs
14-04-2008, 06:13 PM
No, but there are a lot of folk in London who are ....... :bitchy: and when the votes are cast we'll find out how many!!
One plus to the English Democrats, UKIP and BNP exisitng is that it should split the stupid, reactionary basturt vote...
hibsdaft
14-04-2008, 07:55 PM
are yous sure that wasnie Paul Merton doing a spoof?!!
but isn't it true that in Scotland we get
Free higher education
we get this stuff because we have our own Scottish Parliament and choose not to fill it with Tories. also because from 1999 to 2007 policies like free prescription charges and free school meals were brought to attention and campaigned for by the SSP firstly, and were then taken up by other parties.
really the English should look to what is happening in Scotland and wonder why they are always being told that these things are not possible. instead chancers like this O'Conner clown want them to get bitter which is a shame, because i for one would love everyone in the UK to have these things and i hope they don't allow this idiot to cloud the reality that they are being robbed not by the Scots but by their own politicians
i know its not exactly loved in Scotland but i for one am well grateful for the Scottish Parliament now, when i hear about stuff happening in England like those city acadamies where anyone with big money can have a state school named after himself and influence its curriculum it sends a chill down my spine :bitchy: seriously scary stuff imo.
15-04-2008, 01:20 PM
Bizzarely, they've put one of their London Mayor posters (about money-grabbing Scots) in Abbeyhill (Abbey Lane?). Can't imagine it will be visible to anyone who can vote for him. Presumably just there to wind us up, then?
15-04-2008, 03:20 PM
As I have always said, and contrary to the opinions held by some Nationalists and generally, ARSE HOLES, there is nothing wrong with the average Englishman. They are the same us most of us up here ... similar problems etc. Similarly, the bulk of Scots arent racist either.
However, a minority on both sides make it look far worse than it is. Its pish for sure.
But this attitude of subsidising and such like - they (THOSE WHO PEDAL THIS SHEITE - NOT, THE ENTIRE ENGLISH NATION) can take that pish and ram it up their arse. We are NOT subsidised. I believe, based on the last published accounts by the UK (note: UK not "English") Government, Scotland was in fact, in a state of surplus i.e. we GENERATE more than we SPEND. Unless of course, the UK governement wishes to argue with it's own accounts which wouldnt suprise me, given they argue with abody else (except, the Americans :agree:).
Anyway, the answers here to me are simple.
Who is better to look after England's affairs but English MP's. Where better to have this parliament but in England? They can selfishly look after themselves and work for their OWN best interests.
Who is better to look after Scotland's affairs but Scottish MP's. Where better to have this parliament but in Scotland? We can selfishly look after ourselves and work for our OWN best interests.
See the pattern? Add to that Wales, N.Ireland etc ... in short;
Would you accept someone in the south of England running Hibs, knowing **** all about Scottish fitba, issues up here etc? Nope.
Then why trust our LIVES with a body so far removed from our situation (And reality) its ****ing not funny?
Example 1: Scottish Fishing Industry.........etc
Didn't have David Duff do that?
Agree with all the rest, BM.
London and south east is very heavily subsidised by the rest of UK.
Look forward to complete independence for Scotland and England. We might all just grow up and stop whinging.
hibsdaft
15-04-2008, 06:21 PM
Presumably just there to wind us up, then?
without a major reaction up here nobody is going to pay the blindest bit of attention to this grade A clown :agree:
15-04-2008, 06:44 PM
The boy's a tit who either is trying to twist the facts or knows absolutely nothing about politics. He lists various benefits available in Fife but not in London. Every one of these is is down to devolution. Devolution we demanded. The money we spend is decided by the Barnett formula. We can spend the money we receive however we want. All Scotland had done is chosen to spend its money on its people with initiatives like looking after its elderly and helping its students. This guy come over as a plumb. Instead of whinging about what we spend OUR money on he should be trying to sort out his own country and following our model. Instead he comes across as a Scot hating tosser. The man who's so ignorant he says we've only given the world Irn Bru, says it all. He should learn from our ambitious nation. His share of the vote will reflect it :bye:
hibeeleicester
15-04-2008, 06:57 PM
As much as i disagree with everything hes saying i bet he still gets a large numbe rof votes!!!
Thats the type of attitude we get here , the only place i would say in england that enjoys the scots has to be the jordies such brilliant people.
but hey thats engurland for you
16-04-2008, 11:45 AM
Love the way some of these nut jobs in England are crying out for an English Parliament. I always thought they had one in Westminster.
As for "how would you feel if you had an English prime minister and cabinet running Scotland" - er,....Thatcher, Wilson, Callaghan, Major, etc etc etc
Surely they should be asking themselves why we get things they don't and pressuring their own leaders to provide.
Can't wait till the Olympics come to Scotland by the way.
hibsdaft
16-04-2008, 07:28 PM
Can't wait till the Olympics come to Scotland by the way.
cant complain you know - Austria or Peru might be coming to do their training in Glasgow in the run up :agree:
17-04-2008, 10:27 AM
cant complain you know - Austria or Peru might be coming to do their training in Glasgow in the run up :agree:
A major coup for Scotland's second city! Boy, how they will milk that triumph on the world stage.
17-04-2008, 12:24 PM
Free higher education
We chose to formulate these policies with our parliament and our money. We progressed England chose not to. I don't see why we should limit our ambition because people in England do, if it was any other nation we'd be getting praised for our initiatives.
17-04-2008, 01:38 PM
All this moaning about Scotland (and Wales) having very slightly different policies - the vast majority of policies (eg all tax rates except council tax) are still identical - shows up the ridiculous extent to which the UK was under central Government control before 1997.
18-04-2008, 11:20 AM
Free higher education
Yeah but the same thing could apply to people on either side of any border could it not?
Someone in Holland would be pretty miffed if they were called up for the German or Belgian armed forces would they not?