View Full Version : Best meal n edinburgh
13-04-2008, 10:15 AM
Following on from the most dissapointing meal thread....
Always really liked Bar Napoli, good food, great wine, reasonably priced in a nice little restaurant.
Had a lovely meal in the Patio in Hanover St a while back ...:agree:
ScapeGoat
13-04-2008, 10:31 AM
Vin Cafe, Maison Bleu and Le Sept (old location) all top notch.
I used to go for Bar Napoli as it was consistently good but took one of my US colleagues there a bout 3 years ago the service was abysmal - waiter couldn't have been more disinterested - which came as a surprise.
For Service and food I think I have to say La Lanterna - Bar Napolis sister methinks was outstanding.
13-04-2008, 10:35 AM
The cafe in the Mosque at Bristo, delicious curry and cheap as chips.
Chuckie
13-04-2008, 11:04 AM
Ferry's Curry Connection on Ferry Road..
Best God damn take out from here to Portland Maine, or Portland Oregon for that matter...
13-04-2008, 11:55 AM
The Tower in chamber street or for a tasty treat one of the homemade pies in Winstons :drool:
Hibby D
13-04-2008, 11:57 AM
We had a super lunch in the Waterline down leith yesterday. The food was wonderful :agree:
Wonderful that was until they served our 'irish' coffee's with mayonnaise instead of cream :sick:
I kid you not :bitchy:
Guru does it for me every time. Just a pity its that close to Tiny!
Baw Baggio
13-04-2008, 01:16 PM
Ferry's Curry Connection on Ferry Road..
Best God damn take out from here to Portland Maine, or Portland Oregon for that matter...
Tell you what, their super mega deal for 2 ( or whatever it's called) is great value. Defo my favourite take away.
Hanny
13-04-2008, 01:26 PM
King's Wark on the shore and the Sheep's Heid in Duddingston are superb
Pheona
13-04-2008, 02:03 PM
Vin Cafe, Maison Bleu and Le Sept (old location) all top notch.
I used to go for Bar Napoli as it was consistently good but took one of my US colleagues there a bout 3 years ago the service was abysmal - waiter couldn't have been more disinterested - which came as a surprise.
For Service and food I think I have to say La Lanterna - Bar Napolis sister methinks was outstanding.
It's the Patios sister, but that's beside the point, good anyway.
I like Fabios to.
Foot of the Walk and Mitchells Cafe down nr the Kirkgate way are my fav places when down there. :thumbsup:
Ye Old Inn in Davidsons Mains do a lovely bar lunch and is a huge plateful, and
the Nine Dragons down Granton for the best Lemon Chicken I've ever tasted :thumbsup:
alex plode
13-04-2008, 03:29 PM
Value for money - Blonde
Best carry Out - Eastern Spices
Money no Option - Balmoral
New Corrie
13-04-2008, 03:47 PM
Bells Diner in St Stephens Street.:thumbsup:
PiemanP
13-04-2008, 06:57 PM
Had a lovely meal in the Patio in Hanover St a while back ...:agree:
the patio's a great restaurant, excellent pastas and pizzas :drool:
as for take aways, ming palace at mortonhall, and city spice for indian :drool:
13-04-2008, 07:15 PM
The food at the restuarant at the Prestonfield Hotel is invariably excellent. I also like No1 at the Balmoral Hotel and Martin Wishart's at the Shore.
13-04-2008, 07:25 PM
Still dissapointed that Tijuana Yacht Club has closed, not that I'm near enough to use it at the moment anyway!! :agree:
Chuckie
13-04-2008, 07:47 PM
Tell you what, their super mega deal for 2 ( or whatever it's called) is great value. Defo my favourite take away.
I'm more of a meal deal for one kind of guy.. Curry, Vegetable Pakora, Naan Bread or Rice, Vegetables, salad, onions and two sauces for £6.95.. Oh yes please.. Lipsmackingly good quality food..
The service is great too.. The guy only charges me 50p for delivery because I live a 30second walk from it..
*The reason I have it delivered when I live so close is because I am a wheelchair bound agorophobic, not because I am a fat lazy sloth.
Probably.
AndyM_1875
14-04-2008, 07:19 AM
Still dissapointed that Tijuana Yacht Club has closed, not that I'm near enough to use it at the moment anyway!! :agree:
That is due to the untimely death of the proprietor Jac (pronounced Yatz) Borzecki unfortunately. As a student I worked for him when he ran Harry's Bar and then Ryans Bar when it first opened. A really good guy who knew his food and loved his wine.
14-04-2008, 08:56 AM
Khushi's in Victoria Street, the Khushi's in Mid Calder is good too.
If you are ever in Glasgow try the Thai Fountain and when in Aberdeen Saigon is a must. :drool:
Barman Stanton
14-04-2008, 10:32 AM
Try the Coconut Grove up Tolcross. Best Mexican in Edinburgh IMO.
14-04-2008, 05:28 PM
Guru balti......:yum yum:
La Favorita one of the best places ive been latley for service and food
althought went to victorias the following week with about 20 people from work and it was rubbish, they were very rude and totally disintrested, made us pay for drinks every time they brought them to table
amazing that both are owned by same people
15-04-2008, 08:39 AM
Try the Coconut Grove up Tolcross. Best Mexican in Edinburgh IMO.
Just tried a mexican in Glasgow, first time I had mexican and it was really amazing.
Great little restaurant in the west end called Bibi's, would totally recommend it to anyone.
15-04-2008, 08:44 AM
Spirit of Thai is one of the best restaurants i've been to in Edinburgh for a LONG time. Very intimate setting, superbly attentive staff, proper traditional thai food and delicious to boot!
Not too costly either!
Just across from the Lyceum on Grindlay Street.
Godsahibby
15-04-2008, 09:02 AM
I've got to agree with the Patio, they always have te most amazing seafood dishes. :thumbsup:
The patio is good. For a curry try the Khukuri near Haymarket or Voujon in Newington.
Al_Bundy
16-04-2008, 11:36 AM
I had the best meal i have ever had in a Indian resturant called Roti. That was when it was situated in an alley just of rose street but i think it has recently moved to morrison st.
Anyone else ever dined there? Nobody i know seems to have heard of it.
16-04-2008, 12:44 PM
Try the Bonham Hotel in Drumsheugh Gardens. You get dinner for four, plus a couple of bottles of plonk for around about £50. It's a top notch hotel as well.
Hanny
16-04-2008, 05:09 PM
I had the best meal i have ever had in a Indian resturant called Roti. That was when it was situated in an alley just of rose street but i think it has recently moved to morrison st.
Anyone else ever dined there? Nobody i know seems to have heard of it.
It's run by Tony Singh, who has Oloroso. I've heard it's superb. :agree:
17-04-2008, 04:04 PM
Always thought that Gillianos (sp?) was brilliant :agree: :drool:
17-04-2008, 04:20 PM
For Service and food I think I have to say La Lanterna .
Totally agree an excellent restaurant.
Neil4Hibs
18-04-2008, 09:16 AM
Vittoria Italian Restaurant, George IV Bridge - excellent food, good service.
For breakfast, can't beat the Albion Cafe!
Lenin1875
18-04-2008, 05:22 PM
Roti at Morrison Street is just as good as it used to be the decor is a bit more modern, however sitting in the bar choking down a few bottles of tiger and getting wired into the tiffin is quality. Best Curry in Edinburgh.....cetainly that I've had anyway.
18-04-2008, 09:48 PM
A spot of lunch at Norton House is rather pleasant, then a wee jaunt to the spa (if you haven't been go and have a look, you will join in a flash) :agree:
19-04-2008, 12:01 AM
That is due to the untimely death of the proprietor Jac (pronounced Yatz) Borzecki unfortunately. As a student I worked for him when he ran Harry's Bar and then Ryans Bar when it first opened. A really good guy who knew his food and loved his wine.
Aye, I heard that, surprised nobody kept it as it was, as it was always busy and the food was soooooooo good :drool:
'Diner7' down the Shore (Aptly named, excellent burgers and plenty of budvar - also quite cheap)
and for the romantic/wealthy among us
'The Tower' on chambers st (great food, excellent service and a decent view of the tattoo when its on - I'd recommend the pigeon) :agree: