View Full Version : Most disappointing meal in Edinburgh...?

ScapeGoat
12-04-2008, 02:56 PM
My vote goes to the restraunt masquerading as a Mexican in the Royal Mile.

The burritos were bland and the rice looked and tasted like it was out a boil in the bag. In essence Old El Paso from the supermarket is better. Even the margeirita wasn't in the proper glass...

Minus marks Pancho Villas - revolutionary you may have been in person but your food is far from it.

12-04-2008, 03:19 PM
Not had a bad one for a while, since my office Christmas meal at Le Monde, I'm definitely not going back and none of the 30+ of us will probably ever go back either.

Why do places dish up crap at these things when they could so easily be an advert for the place enticing 30+ to go back during the year :dunno:

As a wee similar thing have you noticed you're always asked 'are you enjoying your meal' when your mouth is full! :agree:

12-04-2008, 04:14 PM

The burritos were bland and the rice looked and tasted like it was out a boil in the bag. In essence Old El Paso from the supermarket is better. Even the margeirita wasn't in the proper glass...

Minus marks Pancho Villas - revolutionary you may have been in person but your food is far from it.

Can't argue with your assessment of Pancho Villas. Had a pub lunch in the Standing Order recently though, and it was probably the worst meal mout I've had in a long time.

hibsboy90
12-04-2008, 04:20 PM
Can't argue with your assessment of Pancho Villas. Had a pub lunch in the Standing Order recently though, and it was probably the worst meal mout I've had in a long time.
I always think of the Standing Order as McDonals with Beer. But when you see the prices, i don't see why anyone would be suprised to be dissappointed.

For me, Bar Roma is always overpriced and a bit up itself. This being in comparison with the excellent La Favorita.

ScapeGoat
12-04-2008, 06:52 PM
As a wee similar thing have you noticed you're always asked 'are you enjoying your meal' when your mouth is full! :agree:

Heheh yes I think its part of the training!
Christmas meals - whilst good - the portion sizes in Cuba Norte were scandalous for the price.

alex plode
12-04-2008, 07:31 PM
The Witchery.
Over priced and over-rated.

12-04-2008, 07:37 PM
The Raj in Leith. Basically, stinking. You couldn't cook worse Indian food if you tried. Well that was in 2002 and I havenae been back.

12-04-2008, 08:05 PM
The Raj in Leith. Basically, stinking. You couldn't cook worse Indian food if you tried. Well that was in 2002 and I havenae been back.

… and what's with the half popadom they 'give' you :confused:

2007 wasn't any better!

12-04-2008, 11:34 PM
Worst take away experience was in a fish & chip shop down Causewayside, i cant remember exactly which one it was now as they are all stinking up that way, but I had a pie supper and when I bit into it the meat was orange coloured!?!?!

LeithWalkHibby
12-04-2008, 11:51 PM
For me, Bar Roma is always overpriced.

Well why do you keep going back?

13-04-2008, 04:32 AM
Steak Fajitas @ Hard Rock Cafe - worst fajitas I have ever experienced. Meat wasn't even cut properly, basically got a bit of burnt steak, had to cut it myself and got 4 pieces for 4 separate fajitas! The steak also tasted like an ashtray which was very weird.

Hard Rock Edinburgh is the worst Hard Rock I have been to in the world by a loooooong way :agree:

cad
13-04-2008, 05:47 AM
The Thai restaurant above Broadfields that was the worst ever , a real shocker .
The Raj is pretty far down my list of places to go .
I tried La Favorita about 2 weeks ago well impressed
Still think Karen Wongs down from the Commie Pool is hard to beat for Chinese food :thumbsup:

13-04-2008, 09:02 AM
Well why do you keep going back?

Why do you never contribute anything other than smartarsed comments?

13-04-2008, 09:40 AM
Why do you never contribute anything other than smartarsed comments?Cos he is a sad & pathetic individual who seems tae get his kicks by ripping the pish out of folk..just ignore him, he aint worth the bother mate ...

13-04-2008, 10:13 AM
The That restaurant above Broadfields that was the worst ever , a real shocker .
Still think Karen Wongs down from the Commie Pool is hard to beat for Chinese food :thumbsup:

Thought Karen had sold the restaurant on now, still a chinese though!

Hanny
13-04-2008, 01:24 PM
Steak Fajitas @ Hard Rock Cafe - worst fajitas I have ever experienced. Meat wasn't even cut properly, basically got a bit of burnt steak, had to cut it myself and got 4 pieces for 4 separate fajitas! The steak also tasted like an ashtray which was very weird.

Hard Rock Edinburgh is the worst Hard Rock I have been to in the world by a loooooong way :agree:

Have to agree there.

Been twice in the last 2 years and complained twice, got a 50% discount off the bill for it being so crap.

Won't be back.

Chez
13-04-2008, 03:41 PM
Brattisani's up Newington was the worst place I ever had anything in - dripping with grease and solid as a rock chips (they were either over-cooked or had been lying for a long time). Needless to say, I've never been back there. Gerrys chippy in Pennywell was the worst take-away I've had in a long time - the white pudding was rock solid, nearly broke my teeth biting into it, and the chips were soggy, dry and cold.

Hanny
13-04-2008, 04:19 PM
Brattisani's up Newington was the worst place I ever had anything in - dripping with grease and solid as a rock chips (they were either over-cooked or had been lying for a long time). Needless to say, I've never been back there. Gerrys chippy in Pennywell was the worst take-away I've had in a long time - the white pudding was rock solid, nearly broke my teeth biting into it, and the chips were soggy, dry and cold.

Not there anymore. It's now an Italian called Positanos, quite nice as well I'm led to believe.

Chez
13-04-2008, 06:24 PM
Not there anymore. It's now an Italian called Positanos, quite nice as well I'm led to believe.

Cheers H - next time I'm up there, I'll give it a go :greengrin

mickeythehibbee
14-04-2008, 10:42 AM

Unfortunately i have toagree with this assessment. When i went their it was my first experience of Mexican food and it was very nearly my last! I was up sick the whole night afterwards. Terrible service i got as well!!:bitchy: :bitchy:

14-04-2008, 11:38 AM
Unfortunately i have toagree with this assessment. When i went their it was my first experience of Mexican food and it was very nearly my last! I was up sick the whole night afterwards. Terrible service i got as well!!:bitchy: :bitchy:

I was the same when i went but i ended up blaming a bad pint. Maybe it was the food instead. Shame too as i was really looking forward to my first experience of Mexican food. Not a big fan of San Marco's in Stockbridge either as the portions they give you would be lucky to feed a child and i am no real glutton but c'mon more than four meatballs in some pasta would go down nicely.

HibsMax
14-04-2008, 12:57 PM
I thought the Raj was OK but I haven't been there since the mid 90's so a lot can change in that time. :)

Off Topic....

The worst meal we've had recently was a place called Unums (Nashua, NH). The place looked great inside, very nicely decorated and cozy but the service and food were awful. The food was bland and the waitress came to our table and started to re-arrange our table to deliver our entrees while we were still eating our apps! My wife was eating from her plate as the waitress was trying to move it away from her. There's no excuse for that sort of service. How about waiting until we are done eating before trying to serve us our next course??!?!

27-04-2008, 09:23 PM
Had the worst Italian meal I've ever eaten in Tinnelli's on Easter Road last March. No wonder there wasn't a third date :greengrin

28-04-2008, 03:39 PM
Had the worst Italian meal I've ever eaten in Tinnelli's on Easter Road last March. No wonder there wasn't a third date :greengrin

Went there once as I assumed being a small independent it would put the focus on quality...ha ha how wrong. Ordered the lamb and was delivered two dried out looking lamb chops...was not impressed at all. The gf at the time had some kind of prawn dish and it was defo made with the smallest chapest frozen prawns they could find. Very very poor.

Agree with the OP re Pancho Villas as well. Crap service and even worse food. Have had the misfortune to go a couple of times and both times have had a discount on the bill both times for a combo of poor service, long delays in the food and error in the orders. Rubbish.

28-04-2008, 03:41 PM
I went to Darios, at tea time one day last week, for the first time in years. The pizza was really good but the lager was the worst pint I've had in years, nearly had me looking for a yam:jamboak: :greengrin

G15 Hibs
28-04-2008, 05:17 PM
How about this one?

http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=116550

30-04-2008, 04:45 PM
Went there once as I assumed being a small independent it would put the focus on quality...ha ha how wrong. Ordered the lamb and was delivered two dried out looking lamb chops...was not impressed at all. The gf at the time had some kind of prawn dish and it was defo made with the smallest chapest frozen prawns they could find. Very very poor.

Agree with the OP re Pancho Villas as well. Crap service and even worse food. Have had the misfortune to go a couple of times and both times have had a discount on the bill both times for a combo of poor service, long delays in the food and error in the orders. Rubbish.

Agree with Pancho Villas, always was pretty poor. There are many good Mexican eateries in Edinburgh - no need to go there.

Sad to here about the decline of Tinelli's and the Raj - its been a few good years since I've visited either and I've been informed elsewhere that both are a shadow of their former selves. Used to take the second wife to both, so am slightly averse to going back with No 3. Won't bother now.

Tomsk
30-04-2008, 07:08 PM
The Thai restaurant above Broadfields that was the worst ever , a real shocker .

I was there on Saturday night and was served one of the worst meals I've ever experienced. The starter was virtually inedible -- in fact, when I woke on Sunday morning I wished it had been wholly inedible.

I will not be returning.

01-05-2008, 08:18 PM
The Thai restaurant above Broadfields that was the worst ever , a real shocker

A restaurant above Broadies :take that:take that and you were shocked :greengrin

Vittorias always my favourite place to eat - excellent food and v reasonable.

cad
04-05-2008, 04:05 AM
I was there on Saturday night and was served one of the worst meals I've ever experienced. The starter was virtually inedible -- in fact, when I woke on Sunday morning I wished it had been wholly inedible.

I will not be returning.

Tomsk Ive been eating food from her restaurants for 10 - 12 odd years as has many of my friends and friends of friends I have not been there for a while ,we know Karen really well and I have never heard anyone complain about her food before , service maybe on the slow side if its busy but never her food

04-05-2008, 09:03 AM
Tomsk Ive been eating food from her restaurants for 10 - 12 odd years as has many of my friends and friends of friends I have not been there for a while ,we know Karen really well and I have never heard anyone complain about her food before , service maybe on the slow side if its busy but never her foodIs that the same Karen Wong who ran "Karens" at Meadowbank ?

04-05-2008, 09:41 AM
Is that the same Karen Wong who ran "Karens" at Meadowbank ?

sounds like it - when we had our first flat at Abbeyhill, she opened that up and we became regulars there...........terrific food but sshe is an annoying nutjob. Needed to bugger off and leave folk to eat in peace.

04-05-2008, 10:12 AM
sounds like it - when we had our first flat at Abbeyhill, she opened that up and we became regulars there...........terrific food but sshe is an annoying nutjob. Needed to bugger off and leave folk to eat in peace.Aye..she was a bit overpowering at times ..like you we were regulars there too & she loved my daughters when they were younger, always joking & laughing with them..as for the meals, again they were superb, i suppose Tomsk just got them on a bad night, it does happen ...:agree:

05-05-2008, 02:39 PM
Aye..she was a bit overpowering at times ..like you we were regulars there too & she loved my daughters when they were younger, always joking & laughing with them..as for the meals, again they were superb, i suppose Tomsk just got them on a bad night, it does happen ...:agree:

lol she used to give me free lollipops after every meal up until i was about 22! used to love going there!

05-05-2008, 02:45 PM
I had a curry on friday night. it was rancid. bits of plastic in it and the rice was burnt.

sufficed to say, i made it myself when i got home pissed.

i would certainly never recommend it to anyone.

05-05-2008, 03:52 PM
I had a curry on friday night. it was rancid. bits of plastic in it and the rice was burnt.

sufficed to say, i made it myself when i got home pissed.

i would certainly never recommend it to anyone.

:confused: Where from so we all know where to avoid :wink: