View Full Version : Pete Doherty
08-04-2008, 05:52 PM
Has been sent to prison for 14 weeks.
About time!
More (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/7337212.stm)
JamieHibby
08-04-2008, 06:13 PM
About time!
More (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/7337212.stm)Good! The guy is an erse, too bad he'll only likely do a month, should have racked up years in prison already. :agree:
08-04-2008, 06:15 PM
Good! The guy is an erse, too bad he'll only likely do a month, should have racked up years in prison already. :agree:
He's no gonna like it in there :greengrin
JamieHibby
08-04-2008, 06:50 PM
He's no gonna like it in there :greengrin:agree:
He'll no be able tae perform on stage after being in there for a month :greengrin
Liam_Hibs
08-04-2008, 07:01 PM
Deserves it.
Hopefully it turns out for the best. I like his music :greengrin
He'll no be able tae perform on stage after being in there for a month :greengrinHe'll no be able tae sit doon for a month....after being in there for a month...:greengrin
3090......:greengrin
Hibbie_Cameron
08-04-2008, 09:30 PM
Alot of good it will do him. He will be lucky if he serves 3 weeks of it and will just re-offend immediatley.
Police need to start making an example out of people like him and Winehouse by banging them up for months to really teach him something
Mike777
08-04-2008, 10:37 PM
looks like hes got plenty of time to write some Crackin tunes :wink:
09-04-2008, 09:10 AM
About time!
More (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/7337212.stm)
I agree. :agree:
C*** needs shot.
Chuckie
09-04-2008, 09:30 AM
He's done bird before for burgling Carl Barats flat... He said he quite enjoyed his time inside...
I wonder if he will perform this little ditty in the showers... :singing:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=MkwUTnOTrFI
LiverpoolHibs
09-04-2008, 10:21 AM
That'll do wonders for his drug habit! :bitchy:
On the upside, it will stop him recording any 'music' for a while.
09-04-2008, 12:12 PM
Here's hoping the next time he falls foul of the law he gets banged up cumulatively for all the jail time he would have done had he been a normal joe.
I make that about 10 years in the clink in lieu for Messr Dicherty.
The boy's a junked up ******** of the highest degree
09-04-2008, 12:20 PM
What a load of predictable tosh spouted on this thread.
He should have racked up years in jail by now apparently - why exactly?
Him being sent to prison will do nobody any good, but his inability to fulfil the conditions of his probation made it sadly inevitable. Not quite sure why so many people take great pleasure at this, but Im sure you'll all be quick to tell me!
09-04-2008, 12:28 PM
if he was a member of your family, you'd be devastated. angry at him as well, no mistake, but you'd still be worried sick.
they guy is on a self destruct mission.
prison is no place for addicts. separate the drug-related crime from the drug and treatment is the way forward.
some people don't want to get better, but putting him in prison with all the other addicts isnt a way forward.
thats why the jails are crowded to bursting!
not that i particularly like pete doherty.
duncs
09-04-2008, 12:28 PM
Him being sent to prison will do nobody any good, but his inability to fulfil the conditions of his probation made it sadly inevitable. Not quite sure why so many people take great pleasure at this, but Im sure you'll all be quick to tell me!
Exactly my thoughts!
Everybody's opinion of Doherty is based on the sensationalist tabloid nonsense (which quite frankly he would not have received if he hadn't been kn0bb!ng Kate Moss). Unless you've met him I don't know how you can judge for yourself.
All the evidence suggests that sending drug-users to prison does nothing but carry on the cycle of drug-using, although an unpopular move for politicians drug rehabilitation is the most effective way of stopping drug addicts from using again, not sending them to jail.
09-04-2008, 12:30 PM
Because he's broken the law of this country on umpteen occasions??
Maybe I'm just becoming a old, reactionary Right wing pig before my time, but isn't the whole idea of the rights and responsibilities that living in a democracy gives us that if you break the law, you will be punished for it, regardless of wealth and/or debatable musical talent
09-04-2008, 12:31 PM
Maybe I'm just becoming a old, reactionary Right wing pig before my time, but isn't the whole idea of the rights and responsibilities that living in a democracy gives us that if you break the law, you will be punished for it, regardless of wealth and/or debatable musical talent
He's certainly made a few criminal records in his time. (chortle)
AllyF
09-04-2008, 12:37 PM
Enter Storar...
09-04-2008, 12:38 PM
I couldnt agree more. However if people actually woke up and took a good look at our current prison/sentencing systems then they'd realise that some average punter who'd committed the same crimes as Pete would no doubt have received the same treatment. All he's done is commit (numerous) driving offences and drug possession. With a burglary 4/5 years ago. People have been given less than a year for attempted murder so why Pete would be due "years in prison" for his misdemeanours I do not know. Sure he's been guilty of many offences, but that does not equate to much jail time.
In saying that I would not argue that he deserves to go to prison. I just personally find it sad that this is the outcome again. It will solve nothing, just perpetuates a vicious cycle.
09-04-2008, 12:53 PM
I couldnt agree more. However if people actually woke up and took a good look at our current prison/sentencing systems then they'd realise that some average punter who'd committed the same crimes as Pete would no doubt have received the same treatment. All he's done is commit (numerous) driving offences and drug possession. With a burglary 4/5 years ago. People have been given less than a year for attempted murder so why Pete would be due "years in prison" for his misdemeanours I do not know. Sure he's been guilty of many offences, but that does not equate to much jail time.
In saying that I would not argue that he deserves to go to prison. I just personally find it sad that this is the outcome again. It will solve nothing, just perpetuates a vicious cycle.
I agree with you that the nick of our justice/prison system is a absolute nonsense - murderers getting away with a downgraded sentence becasue - apparently - they didn't MEAN to kill their victim and thought sticking a knife into their stomach would just - you know - "rough them up a wee bit" Don't even get me started on criminals that get let out from prison early for good behaviour "whoo hoo you didn't commit any crimes in prison" or those that get lesser sentences for being so kind as to plead guilty in the 1st place (as if this somehow diminshes the severity of their intial crime) Murderers/rapists getting let out on bail, only to murder/rape again whilst on bail!!!???
Unbelievable.
If I'm honest, the likes of Amy Winehouse and Pete Docherty, who have money coming out of their ********s and still manage to bugger it all up just really get on my tits and I feel they should be made a example of - just as well I don't make these decisions I guess :greengrin
Storar
09-04-2008, 03:00 PM
Enter Storar...
It's all been said and done before.
Apparantly Pete should be shot and locked up and the rest of it just because he's a drug addict.
He's commited offences and he's been punished for them, the same as he is this time round. It's all media perception. I'd be surprised if even half the people that call him a ****bag/waste of space/talentless ****** etc even know the first thing about the guy. I'd be even more surprised if the could name more than 2 of his songs or even his bands.
As has been said hundreds of times before, if he hadn't been banging Kate Moss nobody would give a ****.
Obviously that's got nothing to do with him going to prison etc but my point is he's commited a crime and he's being punished accordingly and it's not right that he should get the finger pointed at him as if he's the only drug addict in Britain and he's forcing drug upon everybody else in the country.
It would be interesting to see people reactions if Steven Fletcher or Lewis Stevenson were in this position. They would no doubt get everybodys 'full support' etc.
09-04-2008, 03:08 PM
Apparantly Pete should be shot and locked up and the rest of it just because he's a drug addict.
He's commited offences and he's been punished for them, the same as he is this time round. It's all media perception. I'd be surprised if even half the people that call him a ****bag/waste of space/talentless ****** etc even know the first thing about the guy. I'd be even more surprised if the could name more than 2 of his songs or even his bands.
As has been said hundreds of times before, if he hadn't been banging Kate Moss nobody would give a ****.
Obviously that's got nothing to do with him going to prison etc but my point is he's commited a crime and he's being punished accordingly and it's not right that he should get the finger pointed at him as if he's the only drug addict in Britain and he's forcing drug upon everybody else in the country.
It would be interesting to see people reactions if Steven Fletcher or Lewis Stevenson were in this position. They would no doubt get everybodys 'full support' etc.
...through a difficult time and everyone's best wishes that the lad will go straight... with usual what a waste of great talent ... and perhaps a thread or two about "should we have him back".
Storar
09-04-2008, 03:22 PM
...through a difficult time and everyone's best wishes that the lad will go straight... with usual what a waste of great talent ... and perhaps a thread or two about "should we have him back".
Exactly.
No one wishes Pete to get straight. They just want to shoot him. They don't think he's a great talent, why? Whether he does or does not appeal to your musical taste is irrelevant, he is one of the most talented musicians around. Obviously the thread or two about having him back doesn't have any bearing on this situation so no need to comment on it.
It's funny how the same people that take the tabloids gossip columns on Pete as gods utter truth but the second they mention a Hibs player being injured or moving to Celtic then they are ****my rags they wouldn't wipe their ***** with.
A little bit of consistency is needed.
(that wasn't directed at you in particular by the way)
09-04-2008, 03:24 PM
I don't doubt the guys talent, not my thing but hey; and i realise drugs have ravaged him and it is inevitably a waste of talent.
However Pete Doherty has remained out of jail so long only because of who he is. If he was a heroin addict from a council estate and had violated bail conditions and court decisions as he has he would have been banged up a fair while back.
He has been put on drug treatment programmes, community service, had opiate receptor blocking drugs implanted yet continues to commit crimes.
I don't go along with this lock up drug users and throw away the key rhetoric, however there comes a time when patience has to run out, Pete Doherty has had a far longer stay of execution than most and this jail sentence is both deserved and overdue.
10-04-2008, 04:40 AM
I don't doubt the guys talent, not my thing but hey; and i realise drugs have ravaged him and it is inevitably a waste of talent.
However Pete Doherty has remained out of jail so long only because of who he is. If he was a heroin addict from a council estate and had violated bail conditions and court decisions as he has he would have been banged up a fair while back.
He has been put on drug treatment programmes, community service, had opiate receptor blocking drugs implanted yet continues to commit crimes.
I don't go along with this lock up drug users and throw away the key rhetoric, however there comes a time when patience has to run out, Pete Doherty has had a far longer stay of execution than most and this jail sentence is both deserved and overdue.
I don't agree with this.
If anything, I'd say he would be MORE likely to get banged up in order for the courts to make an example of him.
I feel a bit sorry for him, and certainly don't go down the route of "he's an erse so about time too" etc.
10-04-2008, 08:31 AM
Exactly.
No one wishes Pete to get straight. They just want to shoot him. They don't think he's a great talent, why? Whether he does or does not appeal to your musical taste is irrelevant, he is one of the most talented musicians around. Obviously the thread or two about having him back doesn't have any bearing on this situation so no need to comment on it.
It's funny how the same people that take the tabloids gossip columns on Pete as gods utter truth but the second they mention a Hibs player being injured or moving to Celtic then they are ****my rags they wouldn't wipe their ***** with.
A little bit of consistency is needed.
(that wasn't directed at you in particular by the way)
Because music taste is subjective and i find what he writes to be total pish. I hope he gets better but does he REALLY want to get better? I highly doubt it, hes got the money to live the good life and be a junkie why would he do anything else?
If he wont get himself straight, has failed rehab before and has BROKEN the law what is the judicial system meant to do with him? Pat him on the back and send him on his merry way? Maybe jail will scare him into going clean, maybe not. The drug offenses arent the worst if you ask me but the driving ones are, he could kill someone.
10-04-2008, 09:58 AM
Dont get me wrong, I don't think that Pete Doherty is a talented musician. He's one of many hundreds of pointless celebrities who vie for places in 2nd rate tabloid newspapers.
I just dont think that jail is the right place for junkies.
New Corrie
13-04-2008, 03:18 PM
Dont get me wrong, I don't think that Pete Doherty is a talented musician. He's one of many hundreds of pointless celebrities who vie for places in 2nd rate tabloid newspapers.
I just dont think that jail is the right place for junkies.
The victims of their crimes might think otherwise. I happen to think that jail is the best place for criminals. We could do with building some more, but instead the powers at be let them roam the streets and make law abiding citizens lifes a misery. As for that Docherty twat, nothing would give me greater pleasure than reading his or Amy Sh**ehouse's obituary.
FraserHFC
13-04-2008, 04:41 PM
The victims of their crimes might think otherwise. I happen to think that jail is the best place for criminals. We could do with building some more, but instead the powers at be let them roam the streets and make law abiding citizens lifes a misery. As for that Docherty twat, nothing would give me greater pleasure than reading his or Amy Sh**ehouse's obituary.
In this case though there is no victim, the only person he is harming is himself. Prison is definately not the place for him. He needs serious help if he is to get better and being in an environment where drugs are readily available is not going to help him. If he is not given proper help he'll be back in jail 2 months max. after he is released
GORDONSMITH7
13-04-2008, 05:38 PM
Always nice tae read your stuff on here mate. What a doughnut.
BIG G
13-04-2008, 05:56 PM
I wonder what todays press would have made of jim Morrison or Bob Dylan !
I personally dont see what the fuss is about with Doherty. If he wants to abuse his body , WTF is it to do with anyone else?
New Corrie
13-04-2008, 09:21 PM
You really are a I'm no fan of either of them but wishing death upon them when they really haven't affected your or, frankly, anyone else's life is sickening in the extreme.
I will relay your thoughts to my elderly parents who were robbed by junky dross. I am sure your views will make them sleep easier.
hibbytam
14-04-2008, 12:02 AM
Find out a bit more than what the rags tell you before coming to a conclusion. Like spelling the persons name. Just for starters.
Storar
14-04-2008, 12:33 AM
I will relay your thoughts to my elderly parents who were robbed by junky dross. I am sure your views will make them sleep easier.
Did it ever occur to you that your parents were robbed by robbers and not 'junky dross'.
I'm sorry to hear about your parents but when Pete Doherty robs an ederly man then that's when the 'junky dross' comments can start flying but until then there's no excuse for your extreme and evidently ill informed opinion on someone that can only be described as a modern day hero.
LiverpoolHibs
14-04-2008, 12:40 AM
Artur Rimbaub, what a *******. Him and Verlaine, hopefully they died in pain; worthless junkies...
N.B. I feel the need to point point out that I am in no way comparing Rimbaud and Verlaine (or the other way round as that probable junkie Dylan, eh Corrie, would have it) to the tw*t Doherty.
In this case though there is no victim, the only person he is harming is himself. Prison is definately not the place for him. He needs serious help if he is to get better and being in an environment where drugs are readily available is not going to help him. If he is not given proper help he'll be back in jail 2 months max. after he is released
:agree: Punishing people by sending them to prison has not so far and will never change anything. We need to look at what causes people to form drug habits and give guidance and support in helping them treat their cause.
14-04-2008, 08:48 AM
What planet are you on? There are no victims in the illegal drug trade? It is choc full of victims, maybe not directly linked to Saint Pete but hes certainly help fund it.
14-04-2008, 10:07 AM
quote removed - dealt with by #6
You are bang out of order.
LiverpoolHibs
14-04-2008, 10:38 AM
You are bang out of order.
I'm out of order, rather than the person who can imagine no greater pleasure than two people dying?!
I'm out of order, rather than the person who can imagine no greater pleasure than two people dying?!By all means disagree but there is no place on here for personal insults or abuse ..
LiverpoolHibs
14-04-2008, 10:49 AM
By all means disagree but there is no place on here for personal insults or abuse ..
Apologies for that, mate.
He riles me, to say the least.
Apologies for that, mate.
He riles me, to say the least.Could i suggest if someone riles you that much you could perhaps use the "ignore" function ....
FraserHFC
14-04-2008, 04:23 PM
What planet are you on? There are no victims in the illegal drug trade? It is choc full of victims, maybe not directly linked to Saint Pete but hes certainly help fund it.
exactly my point
the only person he is directly harming is himself
14-04-2008, 05:08 PM
Ive kinda held off on this one for a while as it raises a lot of different questions.
Pete Doherty has flouted the law many times more than your average drug-addict and evaded jail in the process (unlike his non-celeb counterparts). If he remained at liberty for this latest infraction it shows the law to be an ass (well, more of one if you see what I mean)
Pete Doherty is a modern day hero? - Exactly how? He is a musician of very dubious ability as far as many are concerned. Nothing more. Hardly a hero or indeed a role-model.
However, the bigger issue seems to be that concerning the use of illegal drugs. It has been said that Doherty is only directly harming himself - well, fair enough but surely that is enough to be alarming. And what about the indirect consequencies? If he is held up as a positive influence (and others like him) then surely that can only impact eventually on the crime statistics - what with these drugs being illegal themselves and often being paid for by way of criminally procured cash. Go to any court in the land and the phrase "my client has an ongoing difficulty with drug dependance" is used (to the point of boredom) repititiously in mitigation. So crime and drugs (even the legal ones like alcohol) are intrinsincly linked.
That is not to say that I think drugs and their users should be unilaterally vilified. As many have said, sending addicts to prison is, in the main, counter-productive particularly for drug offences alone but when addicts fund their lifestyles by indulging in increasingly violent recidivistic practices, what is left? Thats an answer I don't have.
The drug problem in this country (as in many others) is endemic and many people truly do not understand the real, insidious nature of chemical dependance so perhaps it would be a good idea to start with proper education for all instead of the patronising pontificatory nonsense doled out currently.
I do not know Mr Doherty personally but he does seem to have been afforded many opportunities to get his act together and wasted them all. Having said that, if he continues in the same vein (no pun intended), he and his are headed, like so many other, into the valley of tragedy - nothing surer. So I hope, for his sake, he sorts himself out.
14-04-2008, 05:39 PM
exactly my point
the only person he is directly harming is himself
If you think that when one person buys drugs the only person it affects is themself then you have a lot to learn:agree:
FraserHFC
14-04-2008, 06:19 PM
If you think that when one person buys drugs the only person it affects is themself then you have a lot to learn:agree:
where did i say that i thought that? what i said was he did not directly harm anyone other than himself
:agree: In Alcoholics Anonymous they predict that for every person who has an addiction to the drug alcohol, there is at least 10 people (usually family members) that are affected also. In my experience and lifetime, that is proven to be true for anyone who lives, works and is a friend/wife/girlfriend of a person who is addicted to any drug, legal or otherwise :agree:
14-04-2008, 08:27 PM
I wonder what todays press would have made of jim Morrison or Bob Dylan !
I personally dont see what the fuss is about with Doherty. If he wants to abuse his body , WTF is it to do with anyone else?:agree:
New Corrie
14-04-2008, 10:02 PM
Did it ever occur to you that your parents were robbed by robbers and not 'junky dross'.
I'm sorry to hear about your parents but when Pete Doherty robs an ederly man then that's when the 'junky dross' comments can start flying but until then there's no excuse for your extreme and evidently ill informed opinion on someone that can only be described as a modern day hero.
Quite possibly the most absurd thing i've ever read. Someone needs to tell this tragic little twat that taking drugs and trying to pretend to be cool is very old hat. This is the same talentless little ****wit that shared a stage with Elton John....aye! really cool.
14-04-2008, 10:34 PM
I am sorry but can you qualify this statement please?
Someone who writes and plays music is not a hero. A football player is not a hero. A TV presenter is not a hero. I'm sorry but this comment is absurd.
The humanitarians who are helping the injured and wounded in Iraq are heroes, the English Doctor who pays out of his own pocket to perform operations in the Ukraine is a hero and so on.
A musician who is only a musician is not a hero in any way shape or form.
Storar
14-04-2008, 10:57 PM
[/B]
Quite possibly the most absurd thing i've ever read. Someone needs to tell this tragic little twat that taking drugs and trying to pretend to be cool is very old hat. This is the same talentless little ****wit that shared a stage with Elton John....aye! really cool.
This is where Pete has really let himself down.
I am sorry but can you qualify this statement please?
Someone who writes and plays music is not a hero. A football player is not a hero. A TV presenter is not a hero. I'm sorry but this comment is absurd.
The humanitarians who are helping the injured and wounded in Iraq are heroes, the English Doctor who pays out of his own pocket to perform operations in the Ukraine is a hero and so on.
A musician who is only a musician is not a hero in any way shape or form.
:fishin::a bite::whistle: