View Full Version : How many years would you keep a pc/laptop for?

25-03-2008, 09:14 AM
I'm currently undecided as to whether or not to get a new laptop just now. I've had mine nearly 3 years, and I feel I've probably about had my moneys worth out of it, considering its been used heavily over this period for browsing the internet, running music software and uni work-word processing, computer programming etc

How long do people feel its reasonable to keep a pc or laptop for before having to upgrade?

I'm also very tempted to get a mac just now, as I really don't want to get a system with windows vista on it, as XP is bad enough

25-03-2008, 10:02 AM
A desktop can be upgraded easily so it could last for ages, but in my opinion i would say the following.

Laptop 2-3 years
Desktop 2-4 years

EDIT:

Also i have two macbooks and love them to bits, one of them has XP on a partition as and when i need it so thats handy. If you want to do any gaming get a PC tho better value for money!

GreenandGlaikit
25-03-2008, 10:48 AM
I'm currently undecided as to whether or not to get a new laptop just now. I've had mine nearly 3 years, and I feel I've probably about had my moneys worth out of it, considering its been used heavily over this period for browsing the internet, running music software and uni work-word processing, computer programming etc

How long do people feel its reasonable to keep a pc or laptop for before having to upgrade?

I'm also very tempted to get a mac just now, as I really don't want to get a system with windows vista on it, as XP is bad enough

Mine is 'ancient' 8-9 years. :greengrin

If the auld lap is network card enabled, and its being replaced - consider installing a free Linux Operating System like Ubuntu. Some lighter Linux versions in particular will 'run like the wind' :agree: in aulder PC's. :

25-03-2008, 10:55 AM
A desktop can be upgraded easily so it could last for ages, but in my opinion i would say the following.

Laptop 2-3 years
Desktop 2-4 years

EDIT:

Also i have two macbooks and love them to bits, one of them has XP on a partition as and when i need it so thats handy. If you want to do any gaming get a PC tho better value for money!

If the auld lap is network card enabled, and its being replaced - consider installing a free Linux Operating System like Ubuntu. Some lighter Linux versions in particular will 'run like the wind' :agree: in aulder PC's. :

I wouldn't be using it for gaming, I'm not the biggest gamer. My current laptops specs aren't too bad tbh, 2gb memory, 60gb hard drive (got a 500gb external one) 1.4ghz processor. I'd just like a faster processor and quicker Front Side Bus speed, as I'd be running computer programming languages like LabView and Matlab next year for my honours project, and Matlab slows my current system right down.

Ubuntu is great on older pcs/laptops and has a great selection of games on it:greengrin

25-03-2008, 11:18 AM
I wouldn't be using it for gaming, I'm not the biggest gamer. My current laptops specs aren't too bad tbh, 2gb memory, 60gb hard drive (got a 500gb external one) 1.4ghz processor. I'd just like a faster processor and quicker Front Side Bus speed, as I'd be running computer programming languages like LabView and Matlab next year for my honours project, and Matlab slows my current system right down.

Ubuntu is great on older pcs/laptops and has a great selection of games on it:greengrin

Depends how much money you want to spend if you get a mac then, you can get a similar or better spec PC for cheaper thats for sure. I like my mac, its fairly solid and feels like it will actually last a few years unlike my last PC laptop which was like cheap plastic. You get a education discount for being a student aswell which would help bring the price down.

25-03-2008, 11:20 AM

My desktop is about 5 - 6 years old.

It runs ok but crashes too often and is a bit slow.

I'd take your advice and install Ubuntu but it seems a lot of work with planty scope for disaster.

25-03-2008, 11:31 AM
Depends how much money you want to spend if you get a mac then, you can get a similar or better spec PC for cheaper thats for sure. I like my mac, its fairly solid and feels like it will actually last a few years unlike my last PC laptop which was like cheap plastic. You get a education discount for being a student aswell which would help bring the price down.

Was thinking the 2.4ghz macbook, get a memory upgrade to 4gb for 60 quid, could get the computer for about £700 with education discount. Should last me at least 4 years I'd hope

25-03-2008, 12:09 PM
The answer to this is very simple;

You should cease to use the said piece of equipment when it ceases to fit your needs....

There is no SET time limit or "expiry"...generally speaking, if you get a handful of years from the machine and still find it fits your needs, hardware is still running intact and memory crashes/hard drive is OK then you don't "NEED" to replace it.

In short, replace it when it needs replaced.....note: it is perfectly possible to upgrade to the level you need WITHOUT replacing the machine itself, oftentimes and MOBO providing an acceptable level of upgradability....

Grizz
25-03-2008, 02:15 PM
Tend to swap mine every 3 -4 years and try to get each new yin as futureproof as possible / upgradable each time. In saying that though - I've got a Toshiba laptop just now which although is about two years old this summer, I think will do me for another guid few years yet.

Has a small HD (40gb), but you can get portable drives now quite cheap. It's also maxed out at 2gb of Ram, but it wasn't really bought with top end gaming in mind. Still runs with Xp too, because I don't like Vista (Actually, I like Vista but don't like that it's compatibilty is pure *****e).

25-03-2008, 03:14 PM
Was thinking the 2.4ghz macbook, get a memory upgrade to 4gb for 60 quid, could get the computer for about £700 with education discount. Should last me at least 4 years I'd hope

Thats decent then probably worth doing then, they are nice computers, they are well built and ive only had one problem with mine which was fixed under the free warranty. Also if you can get it through your university rather than with a normal student discount do that as apple now give a 3 year applecare warranty with machines bought through there education portal.

25-03-2008, 04:08 PM
Thats decent then probably worth doing then, they are nice computers, they are well built and ive only had one problem with mine which was fixed under the free warranty. Also if you can get it through your university rather than with a normal student discount do that as apple now give a 3 year applecare warranty with machines bought through there education portal.

Is this fairly recent, didn't know about that? Very good if true.

blaikie
25-03-2008, 04:50 PM
tend to change laptop every 2 years :agree: got a dell atm bought from tesco for only £398 :greengrin desktops can last for 5 years if proberly looked after and upgraded :wink:

Liam_c
25-03-2008, 05:08 PM
Got my Packard bell in 2002, and its sitting through in the other room ( Still works Fine! )

Decided to build myself a computer in October 07' to play the latest games, It shall be getting upgraded Again this year :greengrin

25-03-2008, 08:23 PM
Is this fairly recent, didn't know about that? Very good if true.

Aye, i work for a large scottish uni and i bought mine through the apple website education place( you have to be accessing it from your uni's IP range) and a month or so later i got an e-mail saying that i had a warranty for 3 years.

Also got another macbook from John Lewis as they do a standard 2 year warranty for no extra cost which is good value.

27-03-2008, 04:42 PM
Interesting to note the opinion, which I have held for a long time too, that PC's are better value than macs. I've been looking at the 2.4ghz macbook, priced £829, would be about £700 with my education discount and 3 years free warranty.

To get a similar processor speed, AND the 800mhz frontside bus speed in a PC you have to pay about the £800 mark.

28-03-2008, 12:39 PM
Interesting to note the opinion, which I have held for a long time too, that PC's are better value than macs. I've been looking at the 2.4ghz macbook, priced £829, would be about £700 with my education discount and 3 years free warranty.

To get a similar processor speed, AND the 800mhz frontside bus speed in a PC you have to pay about the £800 mark.

Thing is if your paying that for a PC laptop chances are you will get a dedicated graphics card with it. Thats the only thing i dont like about the macbook is the integrated graphics chip thats soldered on to the motherboard.

For comparison sake you could compare the macbook with the dell XPS M1330 and value wise they are about the same until you get to the upper models where you can have dedicated graphics. To get that in a macbook you need to go for the pro which has a base price of £1299

Also getting a mac allows you to nicely avoid vista. Im currently using it at work and its not enjoyable to use and just doesnt feel right, it feels to me like how Millenium Edition felt wheni upgraded to that POS.

28-03-2008, 02:52 PM
Thing is if your paying that for a PC laptop chances are you will get a dedicated graphics card with it. Thats the only thing i dont like about the macbook is the integrated graphics chip thats soldered on to the motherboard.

For comparison sake you could compare the macbook with the dell XPS M1330 and value wise they are about the same until you get to the upper models where you can have dedicated graphics. To get that in a macbook you need to go for the pro which has a base price of £1299

Also getting a mac allows you to nicely avoid vista. Im currently using it at work and its not enjoyable to use and just doesnt feel right, it feels to me like how Millenium Edition felt wheni upgraded to that POS.

Yeah the graphics card is a let down on the macs side, but I'm not a mega gamer, and could be a useful deterrant against me discovering games during my honours year next year! I think thats the main thing, trying to avoid vista, I hate windows, I use XP in the classic format just now, and its bareable but anything above that no way!:greengrin

HibeeEmma
31-03-2008, 03:21 PM
Iv had mine for 2 years and its on its way out!

GreenandGlaikit
31-03-2008, 08:42 PM
Iv had mine for 2 years and its on its way out!

Any particular reason why? The hardware should (in normal usage) be ok. If its generally slowing its usually because that's a ridiculous feature :rolleyes: o' Win XP and previous Microsoft operating systems. :ill:

Fixable - usually quite easily.

07-04-2008, 09:56 PM

Just bit the bullet and ordered myself a mac, the HE discount makes a big diff especially with the warranty and the like. Can't wait for it to arrive:greengrin

07-04-2008, 11:53 PM
Just bit the bullet and ordered myself a mac, the HE discount makes a big diff especially with the warranty and the like. Can't wait for it to arrive:greengrin

nice one mate im selling one of my macbooks now! The white one! Im gutted but my flat needs new flooring a sofa and a psp lol so it has to be done! Back to being a one computer household!