View Full Version : What "county" is Edinburgh in?

24-03-2008, 03:17 PM
I know this isn't the right board but I need a quick reply and I'll delete it as soon as I get one.

I'm filling in a Passport Application and it wants to know which county I live in.

I'm ashamed to say that I'm stumped. I used to think we were in Midlothian but that's not right. It's not Lothian cos that's a region.

Is "City of Edinburgh" a county?

Or should I leave it blank.

;dunno:

Chuckie
24-03-2008, 03:19 PM
I always leave that one blank Radge..

24-03-2008, 03:20 PM
I put Midlothian on my passport application and had no problems

24-03-2008, 03:23 PM
I put Midlothian on my passport application and had no problems

:agree::agree::agree::agree::agree::agree::agree:

cjward2
24-03-2008, 03:24 PM
Much as I dislike how the word is used sometimes.....it's Midlothian

24-03-2008, 03:27 PM
I know this isn't the right board but I need a quick reply and I'll delete it as soon as I get one.

I'm filling in a Passport Application and it wants to know which county I live in.

I'm ashamed to say that I'm stumped. I used to think we were in Midlothian but that's not right. It's not Lothian cos that's a region.

Is "City of Edinburgh" a county?

Or should I leave it blank.

;dunno:

Weren't counties abolished in Scotland in the sixties or seventies?

It used to be City of Edinburgh but am sure that doesnt exist anymore..

24-03-2008, 03:27 PM
Much as I dislike how the word is used sometimes.....it's Midlothian

Not according to this. (http://www.geo.ed.ac.uk/scotgaz/councils/region19.html)

24-03-2008, 03:28 PM
I usually put Lothian and I haven't had any bother yet.

24-03-2008, 03:29 PM
Not sure how Edinburgh can be in Midlothian because heading south, Midlothian begins at Hillend.

Edinburgh is just Edinburgh

:cool:

GordonR
24-03-2008, 03:29 PM
Deffo Midlothian, even though I don't like that any more than anyone else here.

Postcode autobot programs on websites etc always define my EH6 postcode as Midlothian anytime I have to fill it in, whenever a county or region name is specified.

Chuckie
24-03-2008, 03:48 PM
Just put "Leith". :agree:

alphahibby
24-03-2008, 04:09 PM
region in scotland.
county in england

24-03-2008, 04:24 PM
region in scotland.
county in england
The regions were disbanded years ago.

Even in England, the Counties mostly exist only in a historal sense.

For some innane reason many online forms and some official documents insist on a 'county' being specified.

24-03-2008, 04:26 PM
Edinburghshire is correct. :agree:

Little Miss Perfect
24-03-2008, 04:30 PM
I always put Lothian aswell

24-03-2008, 04:40 PM
Thanks everyone.

I got a PM from someone who works at Land registry telling me it's Midlothian.

So I'm leaving that part of the form blank. :wink:

Moving this to the Holy Ground now so you can continue the debate there.

Thanks again.

24-03-2008, 04:45 PM
As an aside, I've found the Post Office's check and send service really useful. Prior to doing that, I had every passport application form that I filled in for myself and the children returned for correction - for things I would never have thought of.

24-03-2008, 06:32 PM
Having lived in Glasgow, I always found it strange that some online forms always required the address as 'Glasgow, Lanarkshire'. This was ALSO abolished in 1975, along with Edinburgh being in Midlothian, and is an anachronism peculiar to the Post Office.

Riz
24-03-2008, 06:48 PM
...its Lothian mate, thats what I have on my disclosure forms etc

25-03-2008, 11:35 AM
It's Edinburgh. Just Edinburgh. City of Edinburgh. Midlothian is distinct, starts south of Edinburgh and it's "captial" (or administrative centre") is Dalkeith.

And that's the bottom line. Why? Because thats why.

25-03-2008, 11:49 AM
Leithshire. :agree:

7 Hills
25-03-2008, 02:08 PM
The old regions became defunct several years ago when Local Government moved to a single-tier authority system. Previously you had Lothian Regional Council (LRC) which covered the larger area which was also subdivided into the district councils e.g. West Lothian, East Lothian, Edinburgh etc. When the regional councils such as LRC were disbanded, the complete responsibility for the districts was transferred to the existing district councils.

I'd say that we can therefore comfortably ignore Midlothian, as I'm sure we all do in any case. :wink:

25-03-2008, 02:10 PM
The old regions became defunct several years ago when Local Government moved to a single-tier authority system. Previously you had Lothian Regional Council (LRC) which covered the larger area which was also subdivided into the district councils e.g. West Lothian, East Lothian, Edinburgh etc. When the regional councils such as LRC were disbanded, the complete responsibility for the districts was transferred to the existing district councils.

I'd say that we can therefore comfortably ignore Midlothian, as I'm sure we all do in any case. :wink:

Which lasted a couple of years until they gave us the Scottish Regional Council, erm, I mean parliament.

capitals_finest
25-03-2008, 06:12 PM
Well why is it when you leave edinburgh heading out towards ikea there are signs saying welcome to midlothian???

EDINBURGH IS NOT IN MIDLOTHIAN.:brickwall IF SOMETHING ASKS FOR COUNTY LEAVE IT BLANK OR PUT LOTHIANS.

25-03-2008, 06:15 PM
I put City of Edinburgh in my daughter's recent application. No problem with it.

John Turnbull
25-03-2008, 06:56 PM
Anybody owning property in Edinburgh will see that the registration county on their deeds / land certificate is...... Midlothian.

25-03-2008, 07:24 PM
Anybody owning property in Edinburgh will see that the registration county on their deeds / land certificate is...... Midlothian.

Is that a historic title, though, or a genuine, current, postal address? Does it depend when your house was built? (Genuinely curious.) Midlothian, as a local authority, is definitely somewhere else. And what is the postal address of those folks, if we've got Midlothian?

If you see what I mean....:cool2:

Chez
25-03-2008, 09:59 PM
IIRC Edinburgh was the heart (centre) of Midlothian, hence our rivals name. Now it is Edinburgh and Lothians :greengrin

25-03-2008, 11:07 PM
Is that a historic title, though, or a genuine, current, postal address? Does it depend when your house was built? (Genuinely curious.) Midlothian, as a local authority, is definitely somewhere else. And what is the postal address of those folks, if we've got Midlothian?

If you see what I mean....:cool2:

Examples:

1 Main Street, Newtongrange, Midlothian

1 Dalry Road, Dalry, Edinburgh

That's how I would put my address(no I don't actually live at either address)

26-03-2008, 03:03 AM
Sometimes I put Midlothian, even though I agree with those that say it isn't Midlothian! Other times I put City of Edinburgh, and other times I will leave it blank :faint:

The point is though, I have never had any problems when putting any of the above.

Hibby D
26-03-2008, 08:45 PM
Edinburgh is just Edinburgh

:cool:

It's Edinburgh. Just Edinburgh. City of Edinburgh. Midlothian is distinct, starts south of Edinburgh and it's "captial" (or administrative centre") is Dalkeith.

And that's the bottom line. Why? Because thats why.

You guys are all correct - we are NOT 'midlothian'! We are the City Of Edinburgh.

Midlothian is Penicuik or Dalkeith or Bonnyrigg or Loanheid.....

We are Edinburgh, the City of.....we are not flippin' midlothian :sick:

John Turnbull
27-03-2008, 07:40 PM
You guys are all correct - we are NOT 'midlothian'! We are the City Of Edinburgh.

Midlothian is Penicuik or Dalkeith or Bonnyrigg or Loanheid.....

We are Edinburgh, the City of.....we are not flippin' midlothian :sick:

It all depends on the source you use though.

If you're going by your Local Authority, then it's City of Edinburgh.

If you use the Land Registration boundaries, then it's Midlothian.

Personally, i would always put Midlothian down if asked.

Otherwise your form would read... City: Edinburgh, County: City of Edinburgh.

The City of Edinburgh is not a county, it is simply a 'City'.

27-03-2008, 09:11 PM
Found this (anorak smilie...):
www.scan.org.uk/knowledgebase/gazetteer/county-midlothian.htm (http://www.scan.org.uk/knowledgebase/gazetteer/county-midlothian.htm)
which seems to shed some light.

28-03-2008, 09:45 AM
Examples:

1 Main Street, Newtongrange, Dalkeith, Midlothian

1 Dalry Road, Dalry, Edinburgh

That's how I would put my address(no I don't actually live at either address)

Fixed that for you.

mike rugby
17-09-2008, 05:00 PM
Edinburgh is a Capital City and like London, is not within a county.

The City of Edinburgh Council’s Department of Development – Street Name and Numbering (telephone 0131 529 4081) – will confirm this.

17-09-2008, 07:17 PM
Fixed that for you.

Nitten's not in Dalkeith. Why would it be? What does that make Dalkeith?

17-09-2008, 07:55 PM
Nitten's not in Dalkeith. Why would it be? What does that make Dalkeith?

I don't know if he's right or wrong but I do know when I lived in Danderahll Dalkeith was the postal town:

1 The Road
Danderhall,
DALKEITH,
EH22

17-09-2008, 08:18 PM
I don't know if he's right or wrong but I do know when I lived in Danderahll Dalkeith was the postal town:

1 The Road
Danderhall,
DALKEITH,
EH22

I think it's the same as Edinburgh, Midlothian. It's not correct but it's put on letters.

Woodburn, Dalkeith, Midlothian would be correct but not Newtongrange, Dalkeith.

It doesn't make much difference anyway. I never put Dalkeith on anything when I stayed in Gorebridge but sometimes I'd get letters with Dalkeith on it.

17-09-2008, 08:34 PM
I believe EH22 is the postal district. It is called 'Dalkeith' but encompasses Nitten and Danderchook.

The number that comes after the 22 distinguishes between different bits of Dalkeith, Nitten etc I reckon.

17-09-2008, 08:36 PM
And in reference to the OP, the County is in Dalkeith :agree:

18-09-2008, 06:21 PM
Slightly off topic but back in the late seventies early eighties I once got a postcard from a mate who was on holiday. The delivery side only read (my nickname), Gorebridge, Scotland. It actually got to me before he got back. :thumbsup::thumbsup: Good old Post Office. Doubt that would hppen these days. :boo hoo:
PS Nitten has never been in Dalkieth in it's life. :bitchy:

18-09-2008, 06:28 PM
Anothere couple of wee anomolies spring to mind about places too when I think about it.
Why is are East Lothian council offices in Musselburgh which is in Midlothian?
Why is Dumbarton in Dunbartonshire and not Dumbartonshire?

18-09-2008, 06:38 PM
Anothere couple of wee anomolies spring to mind about places too when I think about it.
Why is are East Lothian council offices in Musselburgh which is in Midlothian?
Why is Dumbarton in Dunbartonshire and not Dumbartonshire?

Musselburgh is in East Lothian, changed boundaries a few years back IIRC.

I work for a printers and notice that a few businesses which are located out in Loanhead add Edinburgh into their address, one we're printing just now is based in Roslin and has their address as Midlothian Innovation Centre, Roslin, Edinburgh. :dunno:

18-09-2008, 06:43 PM
Musselburgh is in East Lothian, changed boundaries a few years back IIRC.

I work for a printers and notice that a few businesses which are located out in Loanhead add Edinburgh into their address, one we're printing just now is based in Roslin and has their address as Midlothian Innovation Centre, Roslin, Edinburgh. :dunno:
Musselburgh is in Midlothian for a postal address though.
Whats the printers from a professional point of view? :greengrin

18-09-2008, 07:34 PM
Musselburgh is in Midlothian for a postal address though.
Whats the printers from a professional point of view? :greengrin

The Postcode for Musselburgh would have been created when Musselburgh was in the Midlothian. I'd imagine it would have been too much hassle to change every address in the town to an EH30+ postcode along with the rest of East Lothian.

When people put a city into their address when infact they're outwith the city boundaries, it's done in a way that they don't want their customers to believe they're too far out of town.

Ikea for example, is called Ikea Edinburgh, but Ikea isn't in Edinburgh, it's in Loanhead which is in Midlothian. :greengrin

19-09-2008, 05:32 AM
The Postcode for Musselburgh would have been created when Musselburgh was in the Midlothian. I'd imagine it would have been too much hassle to change every address in the town to an EH30+ postcode along with the rest of East Lothian.

When people put a city into their address when infact they're outwith the city boundaries, it's done in a way that they don't want their customers to believe they're too far out of town.

Ikea for example, is called Ikea Edinburgh, but Ikea isn't in Edinburgh, it's in Loanhead which is in Midlothian. :greengrin

Every household in the Lothians has an Edinburgh Postcode. Gorebridge starts EH23 West Calder starts EH55. One is in Midlothian the other West Lothian and neither is in Edinburgh. Musselburgh is the same. When you write the address for Musselburgh though it should be Midlothian. So can we say with confidence Musselburgh is in East Lothian post codes aside.
Any clue on ther Dunbartonshire question? :greengrin

19-09-2008, 05:55 AM
Every household in the Lothians has an Edinburgh Postcode. Gorebridge starts EH23 West Calder starts EH55. One is in Midlothian the other West Lothian and neither is in Edinburgh. Musselburgh is the same. When you write the address for Musselburgh though it should be Midlothian. So can we say with confidence Musselburgh is in East Lothian post codes aside.

Just like Stirling has a Falkirk postcode (FK) and Dunfermline has a Kirkcaldy postcode (KY).

19-09-2008, 06:34 AM

Musselburgh is in East Lothian. :agree:

Dumbarton/Dunbartonshire, eh, read this. :greengrin

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dumbartonshire

Petrie's Tache
19-09-2008, 08:04 AM
Linlithgow and Livingston are both west lothian EH49 and EH54.

Bo'ness is Falkirk District EH51 and borders Linlithgow EH49 as stated.

South Queensferry used to be West Lothian I believe however the Edinburgh city sign is now Bo'ness/Linlithgow side of this.

19-09-2008, 09:29 AM
Musselburgh is in East Lothian. :agree:

Dumbarton/Dunbartonshire, eh, read this. :greengrin

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dumbartonshire
Interesting thing about the Dunbartonshire question. Typical weege. Cannae spell. FWIW The road signs read Dunbartonshire.

Musselburgh addresses read >>>>>>>blah de blah, Whatever street, Musselburgh, Midlothian, EH Watever. So is it really in East Lothian? :greengrin

19-09-2008, 12:50 PM
Sometimes I put Midlothian, even though I agree with those that say it isn't Midlothian! Other times I put City of Edinburgh, and other times I will leave it blank :faint:

The point is though, I have never had any problems when putting any of the above.

How do you get any mail - thought you lived in New Zealand? :confused::cool2: