View Full Version : Racist or too PC man
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 09:43 PM
A couple of choice remarks one from the stand yesterday and another last month:
- Maka is looking clarty today (reflecting his newly found diving ability and getting covered in mud)
- bloke in front "not that you could tell, eh!"
- Bloke in front (different bloke and my mate) "My hands smell like curry chips"
- Bloke walking by "Aye, Zemmama just farted"
- My mate, a culinary expert - "not only is that racist, it's the wrong continent, wrong spices and stupid!"
Comments and thoughts:confused:
alphahibby
16-03-2008, 09:47 PM
ignore them maybe they will go away
woodythehibee
16-03-2008, 09:47 PM
i would say racist yes. :agree:
16-03-2008, 09:53 PM
Aaaaaaaaaarggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
Sorry, just had to get that off my chest.
Racist, aye, too PC, aye.
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 09:55 PM
Aaaaaaaaaarggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
Sorry, just had to get that off my chest.
Racist, aye, too PC, aye.
I know eh, could someone write a bloody rule book:greengrin:agree::wink:
16-03-2008, 09:56 PM
The comment about Makalambay is racist IMO but not the one about Zemmama.
16-03-2008, 09:57 PM
Just as well you don't sit next to Basil Brush...
http://uk.news.yahoo.com/pressass/20080316/ten-basil-brush-involved-in-racism-row-5a7c575.html
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 09:59 PM
Just as well you don't sit next to Basil Brush...
http://uk.news.yahoo.com/pressass/20080316/ten-basil-brush-involved-in-racism-row-5a7c575.html
I sit next to Basil bloody Fawlty - during his breakdown, you know who you are Equatorial Ian:greengrin:wink::thumbsup:
16-03-2008, 10:21 PM
Racist.
HibsNibs
16-03-2008, 10:36 PM
#1 - not racist
#2 - borderline but also quite funny despite the factual errors
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 10:44 PM
#1 - not racist
#2 I agree, but my buddy at the game is a big lad and he was going to thump the boy. So I was busy calming him:bitchy::cool:
muz1875
16-03-2008, 10:44 PM
Neither are racist. I think they just got a bit curried away with the jokes.
LiverpoolHibs
16-03-2008, 10:45 PM
#1 - not racist
Really? :confused:
muz1875
16-03-2008, 10:47 PM
Really? :confused:
I agree, it was a terrible joke, the sort I'd expect an 8-year-old to come out with.
The first one seems tongue-in cheek to me - how could anyone tell from sitting in the stand whether or not Maka had mud on his face and hand unless the sun shone on him :confused:
The second one I think is, although made as a smart-joke comment, it is prejudiced all the same - the person assuming that black men eat curry and smell of it.
LiverpoolHibs
16-03-2008, 10:51 PM
The first one seems tongue-in cheek to me - how could anyone tell from sitting in the stand whether or not Maka had mud on his face and hand unless the sun shone on him :confused:
The second one I think is, although made as a smart-joke comment, it is prejudiced all the same - the person assuming that black men eat curry and smell of it.
Don't be ridiculous.
N.B. Zemmama isn't black...
Don't be ridiculous.
What is ridiculous about what I've said - its true :wink:
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 10:54 PM
Zouma is not black though pal. And the point I was making about Maka was that he had really been diving about to keep us in it (cannae remember the game), so the mud had dried in on him and was fairly obvious.
The guy was certainly rude, because he wasn't part of the company. He was also an extremely negative pain in my positive mental attitude:greengrin
LiverpoolHibs
16-03-2008, 10:54 PM
What is ridiculous about what I've said - its true :wink:
Are you being facetious?
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 10:55 PM
Are you being facetious?
Easy fella, I'm asking opinions on the two remarks above not to try and lynch someone on here:bitchy:
Zouma is not black though pal.
What would you say he was K :wink:
LiverpoolHibs
16-03-2008, 11:02 PM
Easy fella, I'm asking opinions on the two remarks above not to try and lynch someone on here:bitchy:
Nah, the wink genuinely made me wonder if he/she was.... :confused:
[quote=LiverpoolHibs;1542146]Are you being facetious
/quote]
What's that mate :confused:
LiverpoolHibs
16-03-2008, 11:03 PM
What would you say he was K :wink:
He's North African, your use of these winks really is confusing...
Well, out of interest, an African informed me that they were known as "black" when relating to the skin colour and that is what I use for those who are brown, brown/black and black in skin colour
(((Fergus)))
16-03-2008, 11:07 PM
There seems to be a massive taboo about mentioning the colour of people's skin these days. IMO it depends on the intent behind it as to whether it is wrong or not....you bunch of honky mofo crackers lol
LiverpoolHibs
16-03-2008, 11:09 PM
Well, out of interest, an African informed me that they were known as "black" when relating to the skin colour and that is what I use for those who are brown, brown/black and black in skin colour
At the risk of this thread getting ridiculously off-topic, he's no different in skin colour to a lot of (though by no means all) Indians and Pakistanis, would you call them black?
guy talking to mate about white baker "he's got flour all over his coupon"
mate's repy "not that you can tell"
NOT racist
The Zemmama one was meant as an insult. So IMO racist.
And ignorant and stupid:bitchy: was he implying Zemmama had eaten loads of chips and curry sauce, then asked your mate for some "cuppage" while he trumped??? or was he just being a small minded racist twat?
At the risk of this thread getting ridiculously off-topic, he's no different in skin colour to a lot of (though by no means all) Indians and Pakistanis, would you call them black?
Yes :agree: They call me "white" when relating to my skin colour :agree:
LiverpoolHibs
16-03-2008, 11:15 PM
Yes :agree: They call me "white" when relating to my skin colour :agree:
Well you'd be wrong. Assuming that you are Caucasian, that second point has no relevance.
16-03-2008, 11:16 PM
At the end of the day we have become too PC as a society. Elderly people still call asian newsagents 'Pakis' shops. They don't mean anything by it, its just the generation they were brought up in. These comments were intended with a bit of humour. Racism is wrong on all counts, but these comments were a little joke, some might say OTT, but there was no malicious intent to either go out and cause violence or upset somebody of a particular race.
Well you'd be wrong. Assuming that you are Caucasian, that second point has no relevance.
How am I wrong in saying that someone's skin is black - so the police are also wrong when they describe their culprits/victims as a "black" male in his mid 20's for example :confused:
LiverpoolHibs
16-03-2008, 11:19 PM
At the end of the day we have become too PC as a society. Elderly people still call asian newsagents 'Pakis' shops. They don't mean anything by it, its just the generation they were brought up in. These comments were intended with a bit of humour. Racism is wrong on all counts, but these comments were a little joke, some might say OTT, but there was no malicious intent to either go out and cause violence or upset somebody of a particular race.
This argument really, really annoys me. I don't see how it is in any way an excuse. I also know that my Grandparents see it as absolutely f'ing patronising.
16-03-2008, 11:20 PM
How am I wrong in saying that someone's skin is black - so the police are also wrong when they describe their culprits/victims as a "black" male in his mid 20's for example :confused:
Because the worlds gone PC mad. A blackboard can no longer be called so, it is now a chalk board.
A spade is now called a shovel in todays society FFS
with regards to the black board, whats the problem? its black and its a board duh....
LiverpoolHibs
16-03-2008, 11:20 PM
This is getting ridiculous. They'd say that if he was actually black, otherwise the would (hopefully) choose the appropriate term.
16-03-2008, 11:21 PM
This argument really, really annoys me. I don't see how it is in any way an excuse. I also know that my Grandparents see it as absolutely f'ing patronising.
An excuse for what?!? what actual harm are these people doing? they aren't going out on a crusade against asians, its merely a term that has stuck. they don't mean any offence by it at all *at least most don't
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 11:22 PM
Jeesy peeps - this thread has veered right off from it's intended path.
And another one
A man is leaving the stadium early, descending the steps a nearby wag turns to another and says
"He looks like he's seek"
The guy had a turban on, so was indeed "Sikh", racist/sectarian or wonderful terracing badinage with a delicate play on words:cool::cool2:
LiverpoolHibs
16-03-2008, 11:22 PM
Because the worlds gone PC mad. A blackboard can no longer be called so, it is now a chalk board.
A spade is now called a shovel in todays society FFS
with regards to the black board, whats the problem? its black and its a board duh....
You do realise that most of the more ridiculous end of the "P.C." scare-stories have been proven to be absolute bull-****, or at worst slightly mis-guided attempts by local councils to be as inclusive as they can be?
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 11:24 PM
You do realise that most of the more ridiculous end of the "P.C." scare-stories have been proven to be absolute bull-****, or at worst slightly mis-guided attempts by local councils to be as inclusive as they can be?
I concur fully:agree:
Now care to give me your judgement on the new one above, personally think it's a belter and not remotely racist/sectarian:agree:
This is getting ridiculous. They'd say that if he was actually black, otherwise the would (hopefully) choose the appropriate term.
Actually, they use it when it is someone with dark skin, whether its brown, brown/black or black. I have a brown skinned friend, whose brother, when he was assaulted last week, was described as a black male, late 20's - early 30's.
LiverpoolHibs
16-03-2008, 11:25 PM
An excuse for what?!? what actual harm are these people doing? they aren't going out on a crusade against asians, its merely a term that has stuck. they don't mean any offence by it at all *at least most don't
I doubt most people who use the term 'Paki' are "going out on a crusade against asians". Because it's stuck doesn't make it ok for ****s sake. Next time I bump into a Jew I'll call him a Yid, and if he objects I'll say it's just a term that's stuck. Jesus wept...
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 11:26 PM
I doubt most people who use the term 'Paki' are "going out on a crusade against asians". Because it's stuck doesn't make it ok for ****s sake. Next time I bump into a Jew I'll call him a Yid, and if he objects I'll say it's just a term that's stuck. Jesus wept...
I'm not sure Christians' would be appreciating that comment either brother:faf:
Come on, stay focussed answer the next puzzler:agree:
16-03-2008, 11:28 PM
This inclusion stuff is all a piece of nonsense and a drain of money.
Binmen are now Refuse Technicians
Going back to the jokes, if they are racist, then presumably you won't indulge in the old Scottish, Irish and Englishman jokes, because surely they are racist too?
The guys making these jokes yesterday were not on some racial hate vendetta, but just making a wee joke that wasn't intended to be offensive to black people.
Racism is hating people purely because of where they come from, or the colour of their skin and wanting to/actually acting on those emotions.
16-03-2008, 11:30 PM
I'll weep next time I get called a Scot, rather than a Scotsman, because thats all the term Paki is, it is an abbreviation of Pakistani.
"I'm away doon the Paki's to get some milk" is hardly racism.
"I hate those Paki ****bags" is clearly racism.
And another one
A man is leaving the stadium early, descending the steps a nearby wag turns to another and says
"He looks like he's seek"
The guy had a turban on, so was indeed "Sikh", racist/sectarian or wonderful terracing badinage with a delicate play on words:cool::cool2:
Ok, I think thats funny, but offensive, Its a bit like going up to a man with a skull cap at a bus stop and saying "whens the bus jew"
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 11:34 PM
I'll weep next time I get called a Scot, rather than a Scotsman, because thats all the term Paki is, it is an abbreviation of Pakistani.
Ah, technically incorrect. If your going to pontificate you need to get your facts correct. I've always been interested in the term and it's actually an acronym. See:
Paki·stani (-stn, -stän) adj. & n.
Word History: Many central and south Asian states and regions end with the element -stan, such as Afghanistan, Pakistan, Baluchistan, Kurdistan, and Turkistan. This -stan is formed from the Iranian root *st-, "to stand, stay," and means "place (where one stays), home, country." Iranian peoples have been the principal inhabitants of the geographical region occupied by these states for over a thousand years. The names are compounds of -stan and the name of the people living there. Pakistan is a bit of an exception; its name was coined in 1933 using the suffix -istan from Baluchistan preceded by the initial letters of Punjab, Afghanistan, and Kashmir.·Interestingly, a word almost identical in form, etymology, and meaning to the Iranian suffix -stan is found in Polish, which has a word stan meaning "state" (in the senses of both polity and condition). It can be found in the Polish name for the "United States of America," Stany Zjednoczone Ameryki (literally "States United of America").
So your point would fade based on that usage, I'm going down the shorthand acronym for Punjab,Afghanistan and Kashmir ISTAN:greengrin
LiverpoolHibs
16-03-2008, 11:36 PM
Christ. Are you serious? There is no similarity between the two! 'Paki' has always been used as a pejorative term, 'Scot' has not.
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 11:36 PM
Ok, I think thats funny, but offensive, Its a bit like going up to a man with a skull cap at a bus stop and saying "whens the bus jew"
Och naw man, I cannae agree it's a noticing of difference but in a respecful way playing on words. Think Ali G talking about:
Is you from Wales, is that where the big fish comes from?:faf:
Or here's another two similar
Guy in a fur hat, bet he's russian around:faf:
Or as they say in Russian when in a hurrry - Moscow:faf:
LiverpoolHibs
16-03-2008, 11:37 PM
This inclusion stuff is all a piece of nonsense and a drain of money.
Binmen are now Refuse Technicians
Going back to the jokes, if they are racist, then presumably you won't indulge in the old Scottish, Irish and Englishman jokes, because surely they are racist too?
The guys making these jokes yesterday were not on some racial hate vendetta, but just making a wee joke that wasn't intended to be offensive to black people.
Racism is hating people purely because of where they come from, or the colour of their skin and wanting to/actually acting on those emotions.
It's still stupid, offensive and racist regardless of the intention.
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 11:38 PM
Unless you did want to know when it was "due":bitchy:
16-03-2008, 11:38 PM
It's still stupid, offensive and racist regardless of the intention.
Ok so you are totally against irishman jokes then yea?
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 11:40 PM
I pretty much am, unless it's an Irishman telling them. Then it's empowerment, not so much tapping into a streotype. Humour is not a funny business:agree:
Och naw man, I cannae agree it's a noticing of difference but in a respecful way playing on words. Think Ali G talking about:
Is you from Wales, is that where the big fish comes from?:faf:
Or here's another two similar
Guy in a fur hat, bet he's russian around:faf:
Or as they say in Russian when in a hurrry - Moscow:faf:
But those two are countrys, The sikh one and the jew one are religions.
Anyway, how many times has the guy with the turban heard the seek joke, probably a thousand. Like a scouser being told to "calm down, calm down"
andrew_dundee
16-03-2008, 11:46 PM
i dont think that sort of comment is on, it always annoys me when white people use words like Paki and complain when others find it offensive with some bull**** about a blackboard being a whiteboard (when the key difference is that a white board is indeed white and uses black pen as opposed to chalk) i have never heard the word Paki or ****** being used in an endearing way, they're almost exclusively used as terms of abuse. the generation excuse is just ****ing ignorant and the notion that "you dont know what you can and cant say" is a crock of **** too, is it that hard to go about your daily business without being racist? the great majoirty of us manage it every single day. Also if these jokes are racist then does tjhat mean they would have used them about any of the white players? somehow i doubt it.
Unless you did want to know when it was "due":bitchy:
Unless you have foot in mouth disease
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 11:49 PM
But those two are countrys, The sikh one and the jew one are religions.
Anyway, how many times has the guy with the turban heard the seek joke, probably a thousand. Like a scouser being told to "calm down, calm down"
True, very true. Are you suggesting the terracing wag is not as original as he or she might think they are:greengrin
Personally love the Moscow joke, not so sure about the Jew reference. The geographism is a nonsense. Whether a scouser is happy about it or not, is neither here nor there. Until the concept of the drunk, aggressive scot is equally treated as a stereotype then other stereotypes are fair game imho. Particularly ones about folk in programming in the BBC and casting:agree:
A play on words is not necessarily racist/sectarian, just likely to be repetitive and lacking originality. PUNS are FUN:thumbsup:
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 11:51 PM
Unless you have foot in mouth disease
Christ yer a baw breaker. Spontaniety is truly scuppered in your world eh, I bet parapraxis has it's evil and perverted way with you from time to time :faf:
LiverpoolHibs
16-03-2008, 11:51 PM
i dont think that sort of comment is on, it always annoys me when white people use words like Paki and complain when others find it offensive with some bull**** about a blackboard being a whiteboard (when the key difference is that a white board is indeed white and uses black pen as opposed to chalk) i have never heard the word Paki or ****** being used in an endearing way, they're almost exclusively used as terms of abuse. the generation excuse is just ****ing ignorant and the notion that "you dont know what you can and cant say" is a crock of **** too, is it that hard to go about your daily business without being racist? the great majoirty of us manage it every single day. Also if these jokes are racist then does tjhat mean they would have used them about any of the white players? somehow i doubt it.
Itallians are white, i have heard jokes about them changing teams at half time. I have heard "Neighbours is *****" shouted at ozzys. Racism is not just about colour, just ask the frogs:greengrin
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 11:55 PM
Itallians are white, i have heard jokes about them changing teams at half time. I have heard "Neighbours is *****" shouted at ozzys. Racism is not just about colour, just ask the frogs:greengrin
Racism, seldom is. It's usually ignorant and cultural. Aussie's are mainly British in origin. Italians drive fast backwards:greengrin And the Germans train system is very well organised:wink:
Wat Dabney
16-03-2008, 11:56 PM
I was in Australia about 10 years ago and I was watching Australia play Pakistan at cricket on TV (not by choice) and the Pakistan team were refered to as "the Pakis" (sp) - sounded racist to me but that was just the nickname given to them in Oz. Nothing racist.
Cincinnatus
16-03-2008, 11:57 PM
I was in Australia about 10 years ago and I was watching Australia play Pakistan at cricket on TV (not by choice) and the Pakistan team were refered to as "the Pakis" (sp) - sounded racist to me but that was just the nickname given to them in Oz. Nothing racist.
Yeah Australia home of the free and racial genocide and working class British values from the 1970s - nothing racist there:wink:
Christ yer a baw breaker. Spontaniety is truly scuppered in your world eh, I bet parapraxis has it's evil and perverted way with you from time to time :faf:
I could look it up and pretend i know what parapraxis means, but I won't. :wink:
Cincinnatus
17-03-2008, 12:00 AM
I could look it up and pretend i know what parapraxis means, but I won't. :wink:
Ok, just let it slip eh - see a play on words and very funny for that. I thought so anyway:duck: :faf: :wink:
LiverpoolHibs
17-03-2008, 12:03 AM
Yeah Australia home of the free and racial genocide and working class British values from the 1970s - nothing racist there:wink:
Ok, just let it slip eh - see a play on words and very funny for that. I thought so anyway:duck: :faf: :wink:
I did think it was funny, I said so. But did the Sikh think so? Thats the point no?
Cincinnatus
17-03-2008, 12:06 AM
I did think it was funny, I said so. But did the Sikh think so? Thats the point no?
Only if the Sikh heard it and I think the alleged terracing wag was probably too racially/religiously sensitive to the descendants and followers of Guru Nanak (who he apparently liked without exception, until that fat weegie pest Hardip POSH GLASGOW boy) to let the guy know. :greengrin
And parapraxis?:greengrin
18-03-2008, 04:43 AM
I would say they were Asian, but that's not a skin colour.
So, what colour is their skin? Surely it is brown, but I don't recall anyone ever being described as brown (other than white people coming back off their holidays!)?
18-03-2008, 04:47 AM
I would say you are a tad easily offended mate.
18-03-2008, 05:49 PM
A couple of choice remarks one from the stand yesterday and another last month:
- Maka is looking clarty today (reflecting his newly found diving ability and getting covered in mud)
- bloke in front "not that you could tell, eh!"
Racist - Maka's skin isn't the colour of mud, and jokes about the colour of his skin are out of order.
- Bloke in front (different bloke and my mate) "My hands smell like curry chips"
- Bloke walking by "Aye, Zemmama just farted"
- My mate, a culinary expert - "not only is that racist, it's the wrong continent, wrong spices and stupid!"
Agree with your mate - ignorant and racist.
Comments and thoughts:confused:
And another one. A man is leaving the stadium early, descending the steps a nearby wag turns to another and says, "He looks like he's seek."
Rude and offensive, betraying underlying racist attitudes. How would the 'wag' have reacted to someone passing funny comments about HIS personal appearance?
No malicious intent? Aye, well, maybe.
My grandfather used to refer to his war service in the Sudan and India (before the First World War) and made a distinction between the 'natives' in each part of the world. The Sudanese were 'fuzzy-wuzzies' or '******s'; the Indians (he had been posted mostly on the North-West Frontier) were 'wogs'. He used these words descriptively, and he'd get quite annoyed if you mixed them up. I dare say he had no malicious intent when he told those stories. Nor did his nephews who passed them on to me - maybe. But I didn't like hearing those words (or words like them - Chinky, Wop, Dago....) and I'd never use them myself. (I have in the past and been told off - rightly.) I feel quite uncomfortable even posting them here.
My relatives were out of order speaking about people of different races in that way. Bad enough when those words are used with malice and intent to hurt. But when we use them unconsciously, we're betraying an ingrained and inborn racism that we ourselves are hardly aware of.
IMO all those comments and the guys who made them were racist. So was my grandad. So were my cousins. So was I when I said things like that.
20-03-2008, 05:38 AM
rac·ism
–noun
1. a belief or doctrine that inherent differences among the various human races determine cultural or individual achievement, usually involving the idea that one's own race is superior and has the right to rule others.
2. a policy, system of government, etc., based upon or fostering such a doctrine; discrimination.
3. hatred or intolerance of another race or other races.
Take from the above what you will...
Not convinced that statements meant in jest apply to any of the above?
As for "Zemmama farted..." - ignorant yes, stupid yes (but I find it funny precisely for that reason). However, does that person feel hatred for Zouma? Is he intolerant of Zouma? Does he believe we are superior to Morrocans / muslims?
I sometimes think stereotypes get mixed up with true racism, but it's hard to define one without the other.