View Full Version : Bowls....nearly there..

Pages : 1 [2]

Sunny Leith
20-07-2008, 08:47 PM
stu, if I can get a partner i'll play.

on another note I won the championship today :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Well done on the win Stu :thumbsup:

Im in last 16 of mines so heres hoping! Got a selection for the scottish bowls of excellence u25's myself so its all going good!

Leagues are looking tight in all the divisions it seems in the Edinburgh league, the Acre only 1 point behind top in division 2!

tanfield
21-07-2008, 07:53 PM
on another note I won the championship today :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Well done Stu:clapper::clapper::clapper:

21-07-2008, 08:24 PM
Semi finals of the Scottish pairs the morns night :thumbsup:...beaten finalist in the 2 bowl pairs last year (i have diff partners for both pairs)...

Fat Stu
21-07-2008, 10:08 PM
Cheers guys, re the scottish I dunno, there is talk of keeping the name going, paying our fees and running a championship. although that is still talk.

As for the league performances the less said the better.

22-07-2008, 07:54 AM
Cheers guys, re the scottish I dunno, there is talk of keeping the name going, paying our fees and running a championship. although that is still talk.

As for the league performances the less said the better.

Hope you manage to keep things going somehow Stu, even if it is just playing a Championship on a shared or public green until you can come up with other options.

The wife and I won our mixed pairs on Sunday at the Northern. It is her first ever competitive game of bowls and we went on to win the tournament, she is fair pleased with that.

tanfield
22-07-2008, 10:35 AM
Hope you manage to keep things going somehow Stu, even if it is just playing a Championship on a shared or public green until you can come up with other options.

The wife and I won our mixed pairs on Sunday at the Northern. It is her first ever competitive game of bowls and we went on to win the tournament, she is fair pleased with that.

Burnsie in winning skip shock!! :devil::duck::

:not worth

22-07-2008, 10:45 AM
Burnsie in winning skip shock!! :devil::duck::

:not worthHe was skipping his wife ...he knows better, dare he lose !!!! :greengrin

23-07-2008, 05:34 AM
Through to the final of the Scottish pairs after a 22 - 13 win last night...with an end to spare...:thumbsup:

23-07-2008, 09:48 AM
Through to the final of the Scottish pairs after a 22 - 13 win last night...with an end to spare...:thumbsup:

Well done Kenny, you :hnet: guys are showing your mettle since the Northern cuffed you :wink: :greengrin

I should have been playing the quarter final of the singles last but had to ask for a postponement due to me being 'no weel'. Thankfully my opponent and fellow Hibby Gordon Wilson took pity on me and gave me another date (he's a good lad is Gordon), all I need now is for him to take further pity on me on Friday and let me win :wink:

Stick in in your pairs final Kenny, aw ra best. :thumbsup:

tanfield
23-07-2008, 10:35 AM
Still in the championship at Whitehouse but have had to postpone QF until Thursday due to having surgery last week and just hope I'm fit to play tomorrow night. If not :boo hoo::boo hoo:

If I do play on Thursday the Semi is on Friday and final on Saturday

tanfield
23-07-2008, 10:36 AM

Aye, best of luck in the final Kenny

23-07-2008, 11:13 AM
Still in the championship at Whitehouse but have had to postpone QF until Thursday due to having surgery last week and just hope I'm fit to play tomorrow night. If not :boo hoo::boo hoo:

If I do play on Thursday the Semi is on Friday and final on Saturday

A delicate operation I believe Andrew. A scope down the long pocket to find your wallet, then major surgery to cut it open, will you ever recover from that :wink: :greengrin.

Seriously though Andy, hope it all went well for you and you recover in time for Tomorrow (not going to Murderfield either then eh?).
Good luck, there could be a few of us in the Scottish next year yet :thumbsup:

23-07-2008, 04:23 PM
Well done Kenny, you :hnet: guys are showing your mettle since the Northern cuffed you :wink: :greengrin

I should have been playing the quarter final of the singles last but had to ask for a postponement due to me being 'no weel'. Thankfully my opponent and fellow Hibby Gordon Wilson took pity on me and gave me another date (he's a good lad is Gordon), all I need now is for him to take further pity on me on Friday and let me win :wink:

Stick in in your pairs final Kenny, aw ra best. :thumbsup:

Aye, best of luck in the final KennyCheers guys ...:thumbsup:

Mike.. playing that Northern green has worked wonders wi my game ...cannae wait till next year ...:thumbsup:

24-07-2008, 07:51 AM
Cheers guys ...:thumbsup:

Mike.. playing that Northern green has worked wonders wi my game ...cannae wait till next year ...:thumbsup:

Why wait Kenny, I'm sure I could wangle you an application for membership if you fancy it, you could be playing for the Northern Hibees next season :wink: :greengrin

24-07-2008, 04:47 PM
Why wait Kenny, I'm sure I could wangle you an application for membership if you fancy it, you could be playing for the Northern Hibees next season :wink: :greengrinCheers Mike ..but ..i could never leave my beloved Jewel ....nor hibs.net ..:thumbsup:

Also ...were itching for revenge ...:take that....:greengrin

tanfield
25-07-2008, 02:32 PM
Won my QF tie in the championship last night thankfully. Got off to a great start and just tried to be hard to beat.

Semi tonight and fingers crossed final tomorrow:wink:

25-07-2008, 03:41 PM
Won my QF tie in the championship last night thankfully. Got off to a great start and just tried to be hard to beat.

Semi tonight and fingers crossed final tomorrow:wink:Well done Andy ...good luck mate ...:thumbsup:

Ps - Why are all your ties within three days ?

tanfield
25-07-2008, 07:49 PM
Well done Andy ...good luck mate ...:thumbsup:

Ps - Why are all your ties within three days ?

Thanks Kenny

The Semi and Finals are always held over 2 days (Friday & Sat) but after being in hospital last week I was forced to leave my QF ties until as late as poss.

Just back after winning my semi tonight. Played quite welland only lost 4 ends so just need to keep it going for tomorrow afternoons final.:pray::pray:

25-07-2008, 08:07 PM
Thanks Kenny

The Semi and Finals are always held over 2 days (Friday & Sat) but after being in hospital last week I was forced to leave my QF ties until as late as poss.

Just back after winning my semi tonight. Played quite welland only lost 4 ends so just need to keep it going for tomorrow afternoons final.:pray::pray:Hope yer well mate & congrats on winning tonight...:aok:

Good luck also for the morn ..what time are you playing at ..?

26-07-2008, 06:38 AM

Semi tonight and fingers crossed final tomorrow:wink:

As did I Andrew, by beating Gordon Wilson, now play the semi-final on Monday night.

Well done to yourself and the rest of us .netters on keeping it all going.

tanfield
26-07-2008, 09:01 AM
As did I Andrew, by beating Gordon Wilson, now play the semi-final on Monday night.

Well done to yourself and the rest of us .netters on keeping it all going.

Good stuff Mike. Could this be your year????

Playing final today at 4pm

26-07-2008, 10:14 AM
Good stuff Mike. Could this be your year????

Playing final today at 4pm

I'm the Colin Montgomery of the Northern Bowling Club, always threatening to win the 'big one' but never quite getting there. Every round the standard of opposition has got better and better and it is no different at the semi-final stage, so it will be fingers and everything else crossed.

Awra very best for this efty Andrew, i'll be back on here later looking for some good news.

tanfield
26-07-2008, 09:01 PM
I'm the Colin Montgomery of the Northern Bowling Club, always threatening to win the 'big one' but never quite getting there. Every round the standard of opposition has got better and better and it is no different at the semi-final stage, so it will be fingers and everything else crossed.

Awra very best for this efty Andrew, i'll be back on here later looking for some good news.

:woohoo::woohoo: Managed to win club championship this afternoon. Played solidly throughout. Cannot play however in the Tait as they have this crazy situation now where the Quarters onwards are played at weekends and weekends are out for me. Not saying I would get that far but no point playing if I know for sure that I can't participate in the later stages:agree:

By the way Mike noticed a few Northern guys getting of a bus tonight, some looking a bit worse for wear:agree:

All the best when you play your semi. Keep us posted.

27-07-2008, 08:41 AM
:woohoo::woohoo: Managed to win club championship this afternoon. Played solidly throughout. Cannot play however in the Tait as they have this crazy situation now where the Quarters onwards are played at weekends and weekends are out for me. Not saying I would get that far but no point playing if I know for sure that I can't participate in the later stages:agree:

By the way Mike noticed a few Northern guys getting of a bus tonight, some looking a bit worse for wear:agree:

Congratulations Andy, very well done, it must be a great feeling.

The lads were through at Kirkintilloch yesterday in a friendly, just an excuse for a huge bevy up really, which it sounds like they achieved.

27-07-2008, 08:48 AM

All the best when you play your semi. Keep us posted.Excellent stuff Andy ...well done mate ...:thumbsup:

Thats you & Fat Stu brought home some silverware ...:cup:..lets hope the rest o us can do the same ....:thumbsup:

sg7nil
27-07-2008, 10:25 AM

Well done man! :thumbsup: - too bad about the Tait! (seems it's only open to folk with no lives beyond bowls these days:brickwall)

Myself and Graeme (from the bank) got knocked out of the Persevere in the round robin stages by the eventual winners... (we had beat them in the section game and only lost one other tie out of four, but with 6 points out of 8 each we went out by one shot! Bugger!)

There's always next year (as long as the comp fits in with our shifts - and if we've not been made redundant by then!)

tanfield
27-07-2008, 12:20 PM
Well done man! :thumbsup: - too bad about the Tait! (seems it's only open to folk with no lives beyond bowls these days:brickwall)

Myself and Graeme (from the bank) got knocked out of the Persevere in the round robin stages by the eventual winners... (we had beat them in the section game and only lost one other tie out of four, but with 6 points out of 8 each we went out by one shot! Bugger!)

There's always next year (as long as the comp fits in with our shifts - and if we've not been made redundant by then!)

Cheers Stuart. The Tait has been working so well for many years and then they change it. :brickwall

Awfae hard lines in the Persevere. Supreme irony there:grr:

Joking aside there is worrying times at work. I heard last week that there will be a good few more redunancies at Corporate but no area is going to be immune imo

29-07-2008, 07:54 AM
Well peeps, I managed to win my Semi-Final last night by beating Graham Prentice 21-14. :thumbsup:
I now go on to play George Prentice, who is the current holder of the trophy, in the final on Friday.
Been beat in my only other two finals so hoping for third time lucky but it is going to be mega difficult.

tanfield
29-07-2008, 09:32 AM
Well peeps, I managed to win my Semi-Final last night by beating Graham Prentice 21-14. :thumbsup:
I now go on to play George Prentice, who is the current holder of the trophy, in the final on Friday.
Been beat in my only other two finals so hoping for third time lucky but it is going to be mega difficult.

WELL DONE MIKE :partyhibb:partyhibb

Now just the big one to go. You can do it!!!!!:agree:

tanfield
29-07-2008, 10:18 PM
Frustrating defeat for Whitehouse in the top ten tonight. I won my singles game at Currie (v Andrew McKendrick) 21-11 and our fours won as well but we were well down at home in the pairs and triples:grr:

30-07-2008, 06:05 AM
Lost 13 - 8 in the final of the Scottish pairs over 17 ends, cracking game though with no-one scoring anything higher than a pair ...

Peels at 7 on the 11th end then we wilted in the scorching heat losing a 2 - 1 -1 - 1 to trail 12 - 7 in the 15th ...we pulled one back but went into the last end needing a 5 to win .....we then lost a single ..:greengrin

Great match against two very experienced players ...:agree:

tanfield
30-07-2008, 07:26 AM
Lost 13 - 8 in the final of the Scottish pairs over 17 ends, cracking game though with no-one scoring anything higher than a pair ...

Peels at 7 on the 11th end then we wilted in the scorching heat losing a 2 - 1 -1 - 1 to trail 12 - 7 in the 15th ...we pulled one back but went into the last end needing a 5 to win .....we then lost a single ..:greengrin

Great match against two very experienced players ...:agree:

Hard lines Kenny but as you say sounds like a cracking game

sg7nil
30-07-2008, 07:28 AM
Frustrating defeat for Whitehouse in the top ten tonight. I won my singles game at Currie (v Andrew McKendrick) 21-11 and our fours won as well but we were well down at home in the pairs and triples:grr:

The mighty Seafield march on in the top 10 though:agree:. Singles won 21 - 6 at home and rink won 26 -4, making the Pairs and triples scores at Lutton Place pretty academic. I marked the singles (and a good job I made of it too!).

I believe that Colinton beat Edinburgh in the other match beside us, so we should be away to Colinton next week..... Do any .NETters know of any other scores from last night?

tanfield
30-07-2008, 08:05 AM
The mighty Seafield march on in the top 10 though:agree:. Singles won 21 - 6 at home and rink won 26 -4, making the Pairs and triples scores at Lutton Place pretty academic. I marked the singles (and a good job I made of it too!).

I believe that Colinton beat Edinburgh in the other match beside us, so we should be away to Colinton next week..... Do any .NETters know of any other scores from last night?

Results from last night Stu

PILRIG 6 TANFIELD 2

LONDON ROAD FOUNDRY 2 SIGHTHILL 6

GORGIE MILLS 4 PARKSIDE 4 (Parkside won on shots)

JUNIPER GREEN 2 CARRICK KNOWE 6

COLINTON 6 EDINBURGH 2

SEAFIELD 6 LUTTON PLACE 2

CURRIE 4 WHITEHOUSE & GRANGE 4 (Currie won on shots)

WARDIE 3 LEITH 5

sg7nil
30-07-2008, 08:17 AM
Results from last night Stu

PILRIG 6 TANFIELD 2

LONDON ROAD FOUNDRY 2 SIGHTHILL 6

GORGIE MILLS 4 PARKSIDE 4 (Parkside won on shots)

JUNIPER GREEN 2 CARRICK KNOWE 6

COLINTON 6 EDINBURGH 2

SEAFIELD 6 LUTTON PLACE 2

CURRIE 4 WHITEHOUSE & GRANGE 4 (Currie won on shots)

WARDIE 3 LEITH 5

Thanks Andy... Where do you get yer info from? Tried looking online but didn't see it anywhere.

Looking at the last 8 teams, they'll all be wishing that they had drawn us (as the most Mickey-Mouse outfit that's left), but we tend to punch above our weight in this comp and have had good results against a few of the teams that are still left in over the last few years, so don't rule us out.:thumbsup:

On another note, did you notice that the Quarter finals have paired 4 West Clubs v 4 Edinburgh League clubs.... What do you reckon the split will be in the semis.. will the relative strengths of the two factions be tested here?

30-07-2008, 12:12 PM
Thanks Andy... Where do you get yer info from? Tried looking online but didn't see it anywhere.

Looking at the last 8 teams, they'll all be wishing that they had drawn us (as the most Mickey-Mouse outfit that's left), but we tend to punch above our weight in this comp and have had good results against a few of the teams that are still left in over the last few years, so don't rule us out.:thumbsup:

On another note, did you notice that the Quarter finals have paired 4 West Clubs v 4 Edinburgh League clubs.... What do you reckon the split will be in the semis.. will the relative strengths of the two factions be tested here?

PILRIG v SIGHTHILL

PARKSIDE v CARRICK KNOWE

COLINTON v SEAFIELD

CURRIE v LEITH

Should be two close games between the matches involving Sighthill and Carrick Knowe. 4 very strong teams in the top half. We almost robbed Parkside last night after coming from well behind in the pairs. I heard it was a fluke that beat us in the end but by the time we finished it was a case of launching them as far as you could and hoping for the best so we can't hold any grudges about that.

To answer your question, it's pretty much 50/50 in all 4 ties. Colinton and Currie are not that strong on paper but to get this far you have to have a steady enough team. Don't know much about Seafield or Leith so I'm going to have to sit on the fence.

Good luck to all that are left.

sg7nil
30-07-2008, 12:20 PM
PILRIG v SIGHTHILL

PARKSIDE v CARRICK KNOWE

COLINTON v SEAFIELD

CURRIE v LEITH

Should be two close games between the matches involving Sighthill and Carrick Knowe. 4 very strong teams in the top half. We almost robbed Parkside last night after coming from well behind in the pairs. I heard it was a fluke that beat us in the end but by the time we finished it was a case of launching them as far as you could and hoping for the best so we can't hold any grudges about that.

To answer your question, it's pretty much 50/50 in all 4 ties. Colinton and Currie are not that strong on paper but to get this far you have to have a steady enough team. Don't know much about Seafield or Leith so I'm going to have to sit on the fence.

Good luck to all that are left.

If any neutrals are going to support the underdogs, then Seafield is your team as we're by a long way the smallest outfit left, but bear in mind we made the final back in 2002 and only lost it on shots, so we're not the pushovers that some might think! :wink:

sg7nil
30-07-2008, 01:21 PM
On another note entirely, has anyone (from an ELBA affiliated club) noticed the contradiction of dates for the Tait Trophy draw?

I had already printed off the draw (from the ELBA website) and put it on the club notice board a few days ago. However we got a letter from ELBA earlier this week (dated 10/07/08) with another printout of the draw on it. This printout has the first round proper being played on Wednedsay 6th August.... however the version that I printed off (which is still the same as the version on the website) has the first round being played on Tuesday 5th August....

This could cause major confusion if it's not sorted out.

I've mailed ELBA to advise but have yet to hear from them.

From a personal point of view I'd rather it was the Wednesday (as we're kinda out of the league by now) cos we're playing in the top 10 on Tuesday and don't want to lose one of our top players.

30-07-2008, 02:51 PM
On another note entirely, has anyone (from an ELBA affiliated club) noticed the contradiction of dates for the Tait Trophy draw?

I had already printed off the draw (from the ELBA website) and put it on the club notice board a few days ago. However we got a letter from ELBA earlier this week (dated 10/07/08) with another printout of the draw on it. This printout has the first round proper being played on Wednedsay 6th August.... however the version that I printed off (which is still the same as the version on the website) has the first round being played on Tuesday 5th August....

This could cause major confusion if it's not sorted out.

I've mailed ELBA to advise but have yet to hear from them.

From a personal point of view I'd rather it was the Wednesday (as we're kinda out of the league by now) cos we're playing in the top 10 on Tuesday and don't want to lose one of our top players.

There has been a bit of a 'fall out' between ELBA & the Edin Bowling League over this as the Tait has been arranged for when the EBL are playing league matches and obviously greens are not available for Tait ties.
It all seems to be politics with rattles getting thrown about everywhere. The two groups really need to sit down with each other and talk things over, as I believe the EBL committee have tried to do.
Bowling is dying a death and the last thing it needs is for the two major constitutions in Edinburgh being at each others throats.:brickwall

sg7nil
30-07-2008, 02:56 PM
There has been a bit of a 'fall out' between ELBA & the Edin Bowling League over this as the Tait has been arranged for when the EBL are playing league matches and obviously greens are not available for Tait ties.
It all seems to be politics with rattles getting thrown about everywhere. The two groups really need to sit down with each other and talk things over, as I believe the EBL committee have tried to do.
Bowling is dying a death and the last thing it needs is for the two major constitutions in Edinburgh being at each others throats.:brickwall

Well follow this link..

http://www.edinburghandleithbowlingassociation.co.uk/elba_competitions.htm

to the ELBA official site and click on the Tait Trophy draw...

this version says they are playing on Tuesday night, but the version sent out says Wednesday.... which is correct??? :confused:

tanfield
30-07-2008, 05:01 PM
Well follow this link..

http://www.edinburghandleithbowlingassociation.co.uk/elba_competitions.htm

to the ELBA official site and click on the Tait Trophy draw...

this version says they are playing on Tuesday night, but the version sent out says Wednesday.... which is correct??? :confused:

Tuesday night for 1st round proper is correct Stu. Apparently changed so that it wouldn't clash with EBL league fixtures:agree:

Seems crazy as this clashes with the Top Ten and the sensible option would have been to move the Wednesday game to the Thursday. Wait to you hear this though. The president of the ELBA apparently (I heard this 3rd hand) advising that it wasn't changed to the Thursday as people would have ties to play!! So playing an internal tie is more important than the Tait:brickwall

Follow link for up to date bowls stories - http://www.scotlawnbowls.com/

Select "on the green" under news section.

30-07-2008, 11:20 PM
Tuesday night for 1st round proper is correct Stu. Apparently changed so that it wouldn't clash with EBL league fixtures:agree:

Seems crazy as this clashes with the Top Ten and the sensible option would have been to move the Wednesday game to the Thursday. Wait to you hear this though. The president of the ELBA apparently (I heard this 3rd hand) advising that it wasn't changed to the Thursday as people would have ties to play!! So playing an internal tie is more important than the Tait:brickwall

Follow link for up to date bowls stories - http://www.scotlawnbowls.com/

Select "on the green" under news section.

It's definitely been changed to the tuesday but I read on Julian Haines that it has been requested that players involved in the top ten play on thursday night. Maybe worth contacting your club and the club(player) you are player.

Not that I have to worry about the tait or the top ten :wink:

sg7nil
31-07-2008, 01:41 PM
After last night it's official, Seafield will be back in the 3rd division next season. :boo hoo:

Was looking at the teams likely to be in there with us, Tramways and Mayfield are going up from the 4th and Northern look likely to still be there unless there are a few big results, still a 3 horse race to see who comes down with us though, could be Willowbrae (55pts), Maitland (54.5pts) or Corstorphine (54pts).. no doubt the phones at all three will be red hot at 21:30 next week!

Never mind, we can now concentrate on the Top 5 and Top 10 as we are in the quarter finals of both.:thumbsup:

01-08-2008, 07:02 AM
After last night it's official, Seafield will be back in the 3rd division next season. :boo hoo:

Was looking at the teams likely to be in there with us, Tramways and Mayfield are going up from the 4th and Northern look likely to still be there unless there are a few big results, still a 3 horse race to see who comes down with us though, could be Willowbrae (55pts), Maitland (54.5pts) or Corstorphine (54pts).. no doubt the phones at all three will be red hot at 21:30 next week!

Never mind, we can now concentrate on the Top 5 and Top 10 as we are in the quarter finals of both.:thumbsup:

We've not gave up the ghost on promotion yet, although it is looking tough.
We have two things in our favour, our shots difference mean if we win 7-2 and LRF lose 5-4 then that should be enough.
The other big bonus for us is, I am on holiday after today and can't play in the last league game so my rink should get a decent skip for a change :wink: :greengrin

Fat Stu
01-08-2008, 12:18 PM

Stu, 2 things, when do you need the application form in and secondly as alot of edinburghs bowlers are moving to mayfield it's likly I cannae get rid of them:wink:.

On another note our singles are through to the quaters at ayr.:thumbsup:

sg7nil
01-08-2008, 12:29 PM
Stu, 2 things, when do you need the application form in and secondly as alot of edinburghs bowlers are moving to mayfield it's likly I cannae get rid of them:wink:.

Application form anytime up to the second Tuesday in the month before our next AGM... so probably 2nd Tuesday in March 2009 at the latest (you would need to be discussed at the committe meeting - in your case it's a rubber stamp job) so no real rush. :agree:

Do you play Darts or Dominoes? We play in the winter league and could always do with another player or two (as some guys end up having to play both) so if Edinburgh has dissapeared by the end of the season, get in touch and I could arrange to meet you down there and you can come down and use the club if u like. ( I only play occasionally as I work shifts, but the guys are pretty friendly and I'd introduce you)...

No pressure though. :thumbsup:

P.S.
Good luck to your guy in Ayr! Hope your club can go out on a high!

Sunny Leith
01-08-2008, 02:54 PM

Well done Danny Jackson, Doing very very well!

Fat Stu
01-08-2008, 04:14 PM
Well done Danny Jackson, Doing very very well!

He's doing well just now 14-13 up, playing with him on sunday at west end so I hope he does well.

Fat Stu
01-08-2008, 07:53 PM
that's him in the semi tomorrow morning:thumbsup:

02-08-2008, 11:16 AM
League business - Rosewell 8 v Jewel Miners 0......oh dear ..:boo hoo:

02-08-2008, 03:42 PM
that's him in the semi tomorrow morning:thumbsup:

I heard he lost in the semi's but got offered a Scotland trial.

Hard lines and good luck!

Wayne Hogg won the singles.

Darren Hush and James Hogg(C'Knowe) won the pairs

tanfield
02-08-2008, 10:44 PM
I heard he lost in the semi's but got offered a Scotland trial.

Hard lines and good luck!

Wayne Hogg won the singles.

Darren Hush and James Hogg(C'Knowe) won the pairs

Don't know how old danny is but if he is under 25 he would have probably been offered a Junior trial. Same thing happened to Davie Snodgrass (Tanfield) when he got put out in the quarters of the Junior Singles in 98 and probably happened to many others since. Sandy Wotherspoon who won last year and got beat in the final this year couldn't even get a game for Scotland!

Really good showing by him and he ran the current British Isles champion pretty close.

Thought that Darren & James would do well ever since they beat me and my partner (humped would probably be a better description!) in the districts (1st round).

Not heard again from Burnsie. Was he not due to play his final on Friday night??:dunno:

03-08-2008, 08:11 AM
Not heard again from Burnsie. Was he not due to play his final on Friday night??:dunno:

Mega hungover yesterday Andy, but unfortunately it was with drowning sorrows rather than celebrating. Lost to George Prentice 21-11 and I played like a clown, couldn't handle the heavy pace of the green after the rain. George just went out and played his usual game and was far too good for me, playing 3 or 4 crucial conversion shots which I never got close to all evening.

tanfield
03-08-2008, 08:37 AM
Mega hungover yesterday Andy, but unfortunately it was with drowning sorrows rather than celebrating. Lost to George Prentice 21-11 and I played like a clown, couldn't handle the heavy pace of the green after the rain. George just went out and played his usual game and was far too good for me, playing 3 or 4 crucial conversion shots which I never got close to all evening.

Awfae hard lines Mike. I was praying that this was your year:boo hoo:

03-08-2008, 08:47 AM

Awfae hard lines Mike. I was praying that this was your year:boo hoo:Aye bad luck Mike ...maybe next year
mate ...:aok:

My trophy cabinet is empty for another year !!! :boo hoo:

Roll on April 09 ...:greengrin

03-08-2008, 12:46 PM
Thanks lads, but nae bad luck about it really, I just bottled it on the day and big George was a very well deserved winner.

Maybe one day my time will come, when Hibs win the Scottish cup!

sg7nil
04-08-2008, 08:24 AM
Teensy wee Seafield beat BIG Bainfield 3-2 in the Top 5 on Sunday!

Another great result for the club and we're still in the top 10 too (at least until Tuesday night anyway!).

This all causes the match secretary (I.E.... me!) major headaches, as we now have major fixture congestion and the next round of the top 5 co-incides with our invitation pairs :brickwall

I suppose I shouldn't be complaining, but it's all making more work for me!

P.S. do any of you'se guys know the results of the other Top 5 games at the weekend, as we've not got a scooby who we are playing next?

tanfield
04-08-2008, 10:56 AM
Teensy wee Seafield beat BIG Bainfield 3-2 in the Top 5 on Sunday!

Another great result for the club and we're still in the top 10 too (at least until Tuesday night anyway!).

This all causes the match secretary (I.E.... me!) major headaches, as we now have major fixture congestion and the next round of the top 5 co-incides with our invitation pairs :brickwall

I suppose I shouldn't be complaining, but it's all making more work for me!

P.S. do any of you'se guys know the results of the other Top 5 games at the weekend, as we've not got a scooby who we are playing next?

You're playing Niddrie in the Semi. Whitehouse are playing Parkside in the other semi:agree:

Whitehouse beat the mighty Slateford at Slateford 3-2:greengrin (must have been because I couldn't play!)

sg7nil
04-08-2008, 11:01 AM
You're playing Niddrie in the Semi. Whitehouse are playing Parkside in the other semi:agree:

Whitehouse beat the mighty Slateford at Slateford 3-2:greengrin (must have been because I couldn't play!)

Cheers Andy, maybe see you at the final then :wink:

Do you know if the semis are played at neutral venues, or are they still played at the green of the top team?

04-08-2008, 12:13 PM

Whitehouse beat the mighty Slateford at Slateford 3-2:greengrin (must have been because I couldn't play!)When is this Andy ..?...Jewel are playing Niddrie in the Wauchope Trophy on 9th August ...

tanfield
04-08-2008, 10:26 PM
Top 5 semis are played at neutral venues (I don't know where) and will be played on Sunday 17th August.

Unlikely that I will be playing in the Whitehouse 5 as best to let the guys who got us to the semi's continue. I've got another bowling commitment to think about as well.

tanfield
04-08-2008, 10:34 PM
Mike - What about your champion? Playing on his own green tonight when he should have been playing in the Tait:agree:

Fat Stu
04-08-2008, 11:28 PM
also with the top ten on tomorrow(today) is the tait also on?

05-08-2008, 06:47 AM
Top 5 semis are played at neutral venues (I don't know where) and will be played on Sunday 17th August.

Unlikely that I will be playing in the Whitehouse 5 as best to let the guys who got us to the semi's continue. I've got another bowling commitment to think about as well.Cheers Mike ...thats my annual piss up secured then ...:party:

sg7nil
05-08-2008, 07:19 AM
also with the top ten on tomorrow(today) is the tait also on?

The Tait is being played tonight (and it does coincide with the Top 10), however as the Edinburgh League and the West League still have matches to play, all potential players would have ben affected if it had still been scheduled for Wednesday.

I got a mail from the ELBA secy stating that if players were still involved in the Top 10 they could ask to play their ties on Wednesday or Thursday instead, however if their opponent was unable to switch, then the committee would have to be informed so that "a decision" could be made.

Not sure what decision that could be. It's a difficult situation, because if one is unavailable on the Tuesday because of the Top 10, Wednesday is unlikely because of league games being played and the neutral green would have to provide a rink and marker (while their green could be full), meaning Thursday is the only viable date. Can you force a player to switch dates to one that they were not planning to be available for?

Not that I'm ever likely to play in the Tait, but if I ever did, I'd have to swap shifts and organise nights off to play.... If they swapped me at the last minute, I'd probably have to scratch and I don't think that's fair.

Maybe the Tait should be played a couple of weeks later in the year once the fixture congestion is less... It would also give clubs a bit more time to get their singles championship played, which is always a problem at our club.

Fat Stu
05-08-2008, 10:00 PM
oh well, after 2 no shows i'm in the last 16 of the tait trophy:greengrin

sg7nil
06-08-2008, 07:03 AM
oh well, after 2 no shows i'm in the last 16 of the tait trophy:greengrin

Do you know who you are supposed to be playing in the next round?

Fountain called us to pull out of last nights Tait trophy game, so our guy is through to Friday without playing too... however we got through to the Top 10 Semi last night:agree:, so our team is playing in that this Saturday.. so no point in our guy playing on Friday, because if he won he'd be unable to play on the Saturday.... I believe Currie, Pilrig and Carrick Knowe are also all in the semis.. that could make it a Club v Tait decision for their champions too (including Colin Mitchell !) :dunno:

The whole Tait Trophy thing is becoming a farce. Why does it get played so early in the season (apart from obvious historical reasons). Surely ELBA could reschedule it to run after all the League Matches/Top 10 have finished? That would only mean holding it back for two weeks or so (and it would give clubs a bit more time to get their championships played out - we have to rush through ours because of it!):brickwall

manewhut
06-08-2008, 07:39 AM
top ten results from last night

Top ten results (http://www.balernobowlingclub.co.uk/2008%20TOP%20TEN%20TOURNAMENT.pdf)

sg7nil
06-08-2008, 08:07 AM
I see Colin Mitchell withdrew from the Tait.

Looks like he asked Chris Steven if they could play it on Wednesday or Thursday instead, but Chris was playing in the league decider and the EBL knockout singles so couldn't.

However he didn't let anyone know, so Chris turned up at Brunstane (along with a big pissed off crowd) and sat "twiddling his thumbs" while he could have been playing in the Top 10 himself... that seems on the face of it to be a bit naughty, unless there were circumstances that we don't know about.:dunno:

However Pilrig now play Carrick Knowe in the Top 10 and if Chris progresses in the Tait of Friday he will have the same decision to make again.

Personally I think that if enough big clubs were to boycott the tournament in its current format, the organisers would be forced to reschedule it.

Edit - oops looks like Colin let ELBA know he was withdrawing, however they never passed the message on (is this their job? - probably not)

06-08-2008, 10:03 AM
I dont know too much about those comps Stu but in reading your posts it seems to be absolutely shambolic !!! :grr:...at the end of the day good tournaments suffer ..everyone wants to play them but many have to suffer because of those pompous erses who sit round a table & make up silly "my way or no way rules"

Not good for a game that is suffering in the popularity stakes at the moment..

James Connolly
06-08-2008, 10:06 AM
Qualified for 2 semi's the past 2 nights, Sc Pairs & 4 bowl handicap.:thumbsup:

On the league front, Dalkeith 2 have secured 7 points from a possible 8 in our last 4 games; but still we sit rock bottom of Div 2.:grr:

3 games to go though, so we still have an outside chance of avoiding relegation.:pray:

06-08-2008, 10:35 AM
Qualified for 2 semi's the past 2 nights, Sc Pairs & 4 bowl handicap.:thumbsup:

On the league front, Dalkeith 2 have secured 7 points from a possible 8 in our last 4 games; but still we sit rock bottom of Div 2.:grr:

3 games to go though, so we still have an outside chance of avoiding relegation.:pray:Good luck in yer local ties ..:thumbsup:..but as for the league ..i hope ye get leathered in yer last 3 games ...:greengrin

Jewel are only 3 points above you wi a very difficult run in (although 2 out o 3 are at home ).....first up yer main team Dalkeith ...then Arniston away ..then finally Gorebridge at home ...if the Gorebridge game is a decider to stay up then the Jewel will be rocking that night ..:party::partyhibb....:greengrin

James Connolly
06-08-2008, 10:57 AM
Good luck in yer local ties ..:thumbsup:..but as for the league ..i hope ye get leathered in yer last 3 games ...:greengrin

Jewel are only 3 points above you wi a very difficult run in (although 2 out o 3 are at home ).....first up yer main team Dalkeith ...then Arniston away ..then finally Gorebridge at home ...if the Gorebridge game is a decider to stay up then the Jewel will be rocking that night ..:party::partyhibb....:greengrin

I notice that more than half the league can still be dragged into the relegation fight.

We have to win our last 3 games and hope for the best, which will be tough as 2 are away from home.

Team 1 didn't help us much, drawing with Shottstown & Polton; not content with that, they're now pinching our players!:grr:

06-08-2008, 11:05 AM
I notice that more than half the league can still be dragged into the relegation fight.

We have to win our last 3 games and hope for the best, which will be tough as 2 are away from home.

Team 1 didn't help us much, drawing with Shottstown & Polton; not content with that, they're now pinching our players!:grr:Its been a funny league this season..i remember when we won the 5th & the 3rd ..you couldnt afford anymore than two defeats & a draw....the leagues were that tight ...now although we are in the relegation mire we could still finish 3rd if we win our 3 remaining games ...:crazy:

tanfield
06-08-2008, 11:26 AM
I dont know too much about those comps Stu but in reading your posts it seems to be absolutely shambolic !!! :grr:...at the end of the day good tournaments suffer ..everyone wants to play them but many have to suffer because of those pompous erses who sit round a table & make up silly "my way or no way rules"

Not good for a game that is suffering in the popularity stakes at the moment..

That's the Edinburgh & Leith committee for you Kenny. Could arrange the proverbial P!$$ up.:brickwall

James Connolly
06-08-2008, 11:28 AM
Its been a funny league this season..i remember when we won the 5th & the 3rd ..you couldnt afford anymore than two defeats & a draw....the leagues were that tight ...now although we are in the relegation mire we could still finish 3rd if we win our 3 remaining games ...:crazy:

You're bang on; it shows how tight the league is.

Tell you what, let's both win our remaining fixtures and have another dash at Div 2 next season!:thumbsup:

Fat Stu
06-08-2008, 12:19 PM
Do you know who you are supposed to be playing in the next round?

Fountain called us to pull out of last nights Tait trophy game, so our guy is through to Friday without playing too... however we got through to the Top 10 Semi last night:agree:, so our team is playing in that this Saturday.. so no point in our guy playing on Friday, because if he won he'd be unable to play on the Saturday.... I believe Currie, Pilrig and Carrick Knowe are also all in the semis.. that could make it a Club v Tait decision for their champions too (including Colin Mitchell !) :dunno:

The whole Tait Trophy thing is becoming a farce. Why does it get played so early in the season (apart from obvious historical reasons). Surely ELBA could reschedule it to run after all the League Matches/Top 10 have finished? That would only mean holding it back for two weeks or so (and it would give clubs a bit more time to get their championships played out - we have to rush through ours because of it!):brickwall

Willowbrae, as they won their tie at our club.

on a similiar note to the colin story I was supposed to be playing andrew caldwell of craigentinny last night turned up at carrick knowe(coming from leith) only to find out he was a no show, no-one from our club or carrick knowe was aware that he was playing in the top ten aswell.

Tait has been an absolute farce this year.

06-08-2008, 03:00 PM
You're bang on; it shows how tight the league is.

Tell you what, let's both win our remaining fixtures and have another dash at Div 2 next season!:thumbsup:Indeed ...:thumbsup:...

I would hate to be relegated though, that would have a really bad impact on the club as we are already struggling to get a full team of 15 players....dropping down a league would guarantee a couple of players "moving" on ...

We would then have to rely on bringing in "Seniors" again as we did in the 5th & 4th but i fear that would be a backwards step ...

sg7nil
07-08-2008, 01:06 PM
This thread's gone awfy quiet.

I think the majority of Edinburgh League matches were affected by the weather last night. I know that our match never even started at Willowbrae due to a waterlogged green.

As it happens we are down regardless, so the result is academic to us, however it was pointed out to us last night that with the correct combinations of scores in other games, Willowbrae can mathematically still get promoted OR relegated this season! It could be an advantage to them to know what they have to do in either event.

I'm not sure when the game is likely to be re-arranged to but I know that it'll be hard for me to get time off work to play in it, whenever it is. Just more grief for match secretaries throughout the league :brickwall

07-08-2008, 03:22 PM
This thread's gone awfy quiet.

I think the majority of Edinburgh League matches were affected by the weather last night. I know that our match never even started at Willowbrae due to a waterlogged green.

As it happens we are down regardless, so the result is academic to us, however it was pointed out to us last night that with the correct combinations of scores in other games, Willowbrae can mathematically still get promoted OR relegated this season! It could be an advantage to them to know what they have to do in either event.

I'm not sure when the game is likely to be re-arranged to but I know that it'll be hard for me to get time off work to play in it, whenever it is. Just more grief for match secretaries throughout the league :brickwallDo you not have to play the match within seven days of the cancellation Stu ?..if we cancel an Esk league game (Fridays) then it must be played by the following Thursday...which is a total pain for guys on shifts etc ....:grr:

Sunny Leith
07-08-2008, 09:27 PM
After Dudleys result last night, Goldenacre only need 2 points to gain promotion :greengrin

However, my game tonight in the edinburgh knockout was cancelled as well on Wednesday, 2 wasted trips :grr:

08-08-2008, 04:54 PM
Mike - What about your champion? Playing on his own green tonight when he should have been playing in the Tait:agree:

Just back from a few days away on holiday in Jersey, thoroughly enjoyed it.

Andy,
George could have played in the Tait this week but is away all next week and didn't think it was fair to play early games if he couldn't make the later stages.

James Connolly
09-08-2008, 07:56 AM
Indeed ...:thumbsup:...

I would hate to be relegated though, that would have a really bad impact on the club as we are already struggling to get a full team of 15 players....dropping down a league would guarantee a couple of players "moving" on ...

We would then have to rely on bringing in "Seniors" again as we did in the 5th & 4th but i fear that would be a backwards step ...

Well the result against our 'Big Team' should be enough for you to avoid relegation; well done.

Dalkeith 2 beat Loanhead 6-2 to make it 9 points from 10; still be rock bottom though!:boo hoo:

09-08-2008, 08:24 AM
Well the result against our 'Big Team' should be enough for you to avoid relegation; well done.

Dalkeith 2 beat Loanhead 6-2 to make it 9 points from 10; still be rock bottom though!:boo hoo:I had to call off last night mate, what was the score wi the Jewel & Dalkeith ..?

James Connolly
09-08-2008, 09:01 AM
I had to call off last night mate, what was the score wi the Jewel & Dalkeith ..?

8-0 for the Jewel.

09-08-2008, 09:05 AM
8-0 for the Jewel.Jeezo !! ..thanks mate..i never expected that :no way:..esp since we had back to back 8-0 defeats the last couple o weeks ...

Well done your lot too ...yer still hanging on & must have great team spirit as yer digging oot those results ...:aok:

James Connolly
09-08-2008, 09:39 AM
Jeezo !! ..thanks mate..i never expected that :no way:..esp since we had back to back 8-0 defeats the last couple o weeks ...

Well done your lot too ...yer still hanging on & must have great team spirit as yer digging oot those results ...:aok:

Thanks for that; the only problem is, the way team 1 are playing, they'll steal half our team for next week.

Still, 2 weeks to go and we've still got a slim chance of avoiding the drop.

09-08-2008, 09:59 AM
Thanks for that; the only problem is, the way team 1 are playing, they'll steal half our team for next week.

Still, 2 weeks to go and we've still got a slim chance of avoiding the drop.Team 1 are still in wi a shot at the league ..pretty crap though considering the poor start & the way recent results have went ...would certainly be a kick in the teeth for you lot if they start nicking yer top players ...:agree:

We are lucky in that way because we only have one team o 15...most times we have only 12 available though...:greengrin

Sunny Leith
14-08-2008, 11:58 AM
Promotion for Goldenacre as Champions of the 2nd division after a huge 9 - 0 nil against Corstophine!

I see Pilrig managed to scrape the league just in division 1!

sg7nil
14-08-2008, 01:19 PM
We (Seafield) were already relegated prior to last night, so our 5 - 4 loss at Willowbrae was academic.

However we are still in the Top 10 and Top 5 competitions!:agree:

Top 5 Semi is on Sunday at Gorgie Mills.

Top 10 semi might go ahead (at third time of asking) this Friday night but only if we can get both greens playable (Both Seafield and Currie greens have been waterlogged lately!) Seafield has its worst flooding in living memory and no-one is quite sure why it should be so bad. We think it may be caused by some of the demolition work that has been going on around our green which may have blocked a drain. What we do know is the water table is unusually high and the allotments near our gren were under a foot of water last week and the north side of the links is currently a lake (I.E. half of the Leith Franklin cricket pitches are under about six inches of water).

14-08-2008, 02:36 PM
We (Seafield) were already relegated prior to last night, so our 5 - 4 loss at Willowbrae was academic.

Top 10 semi might go ahead (at third time of asking) this Friday night but only if we can get both greens playable (Both Seafield and Currie greens have been waterlogged lately!) Seafield has its worst flooding in living memory and no-one is quite sure why it should be so bad. We think it may be caused by some of the demolition work that has been going on around our green which may have blocked a drain. What we do know is the water table is unusually high and the allotments near our gren were under a foot of water last week and the north side of the links is currently a lake (I.E. half of the Leith Franklin cricket pitches are under about six inches of water).

Might be worth going to the gym over the next couple of days. Gorgie is the heaviest it's been all season. :brickwall

Sunny Leith
14-08-2008, 03:33 PM

I was there on friday night for a party and it seemed half the links was under water, never seen anything like it there in my life!

Good luck in the 2 competitions yous are left in, my grandad always tells me Seafield are the top underdog for the top 10 every year!!!

sg7nil
14-08-2008, 04:47 PM
I was there on friday night for a party and it seemed half the links was under water, never seen anything like it there in my life!

Good luck in the 2 competitions yous are left in, my grandad always tells me Seafield are the top underdog for the top 10 every year!!!

We got the feeling that other clubs were not believing how bad our flooding was/is so we took pictures of it last weekend. We didn't realise that after we left, Stuart McFarlane was down (to find it all locked up as we'd all gone home) and he is happy to vouch for our predicament.

The flooding Links is a public hazard.. kids are playing in the pond and it can't be healthy.. dunno if the council is obliged to come down and try to pump it out.

James Connolly
16-08-2008, 09:10 AM
Comfirmed relegation from Esk League Div2 for Dalkeith 2 last night, following a proper gubbing from Gilmerton.:boo hoo:

The blame must lie at the door of the selectors; far too much tinkering throughout the season.:bitchy:

The only good thing is; there is no danger of them being re-elected for next season!

Not that I'm bitter or anything.:devil:

sg7nil
19-08-2008, 05:38 AM
Two semis for Seafield in three days...

Top 10 last Friday, and Top 5 last Sunday.....

No finals to look forward to though! :brickwall

Lost the top 10 on shots to Currie (early on our pair were lying 3 shots for peels and our skip tried to draw another to win that game and managed to knock two of his bowls out! - the triples and fours were still playing so he didn't know that a peel would have won us the tie, but it's still hard to take).:boo hoo:

Top 5 we were two games up then Niddrie won the next two off meaning it went down to our last guy. He was 20 -19 up and the Niddrie bloke got a shot and gave away the jack. Our guy nailed it first bowl and was still lying game with only the last delivery to come... the niddrie guy played a runner and managed to knock the jack back to one of his bowls....:boo hoo:

There is always next year! :agree:

19-08-2008, 06:45 AM
Two semis for Seafield in three days...

Top 10 last Friday, and Top 5 last Sunday.....

No finals to look forward to though! :brickwall

Lost the top 10 on shots to Currie (early on our pair were lying 3 shots for peels and our skip tried to draw another to win that game and managed to knock two of his bowls out! - the triples and fours were still playing so he didn't know that a peel would have won us the tie, but it's still hard to take).:boo hoo:

Top 5 we were two games up then Niddrie won the next two off meaning it went down to our last guy. He was 20 -19 up and the Niddrie bloke got a shot and gave away the jack. Our guy nailed it first bowl and was still lying game with only the last delivery to come... the niddrie guy played a runner and managed to knock the jack back to one of his bowls....:boo hoo:

There is always next year! :agree:Jeezo !! thats a boot in the baws mate ...the first is bad enough when yer skip turns his own out but in the single hand he must have thought he had done enough ...:no way:

19-08-2008, 07:06 AM
Well the Jewel have managed to avoid relegation from div 2 by the skin of our teeth despite us going down 6-2 away to Arniston ..we still have one more game to play at home to Gorebridge so we would like a win to put us in a more respectable looking position in the league ...

Div 2 was a very competitive league this year & at the half way point any team from 8 could still have won it or at least finished runners up ..we (Jewel) hoped to make a strong challenge on the turn but failed miserably with three defeats on the trot ...there was still an outside chance but with a very restricted pool of players we became embroiled in a relegation battle so survival was paramount..

Hard lines to Dalkeith 2 & Shottstown..hope both will bounce back up again ...please keep W Linton out ...:greengrin

Heres Esk div 2 as it stands with one more game to be played ..

Division 2 played won drawn lost for against dif points
ARNISTON 17 10 4 3 83 53 30 24
GILMERTON 2 17 10 3 4 80 56 24 23
DALKEITH 17 8 5 4 76 60 16 21
ROSEWELL 17 7 2 8 70 66 4 16
GOREBRIDGE 17 7 2 8 68 68 0 16
LOANHEAD 17 7 2 8 68 68 0 16
POLTON 17 5 5 7 66 70 -4 15
JEWEL 17 7 1 9 61 75 -14 15
DALKEITH 2 17 5 2 10 54 82 -28 12
SHOTTSTOWN 17 4 4 9 54 82 -28 12

James Connolly
19-08-2008, 08:11 AM
Well the Jewel have managed to avoid relegation from div 2 by the skin of our teeth despite us going down 6-2 away to Arniston ..we still have one more game to play at home to Gorebridge so we would like a win to put us in a more respectable looking position in the league ...

Div 2 was a very competitive league this year & at the half way point any team from 8 could still have won it or at least finished runners up ..we (Jewel) hoped to make a strong challenge on the turn but failed miserably with three defeats on the trot ...there was still an outside chance but with a very restricted pool of players we became embroiled in a relegation battle so survival was paramount..

Hard lines to Dalkeith 2 & Shottstown..hope both will bounce back up again ...please keep W Linton out ...:greengrin

Heres Esk div 2 as it stands with one more game to be played ..

Division 2 played won drawn lost for against dif points
ARNISTON 17 10 4 3 83 53 30 24
GILMERTON 2 17 10 3 4 80 56 24 23
DALKEITH 17 8 5 4 76 60 16 21
ROSEWELL 17 7 2 8 70 66 4 16
GOREBRIDGE 17 7 2 8 68 68 0 16
LOANHEAD 17 7 2 8 68 68 0 16
POLTON 17 5 5 7 66 70 -4 15
JEWEL 17 7 1 9 61 75 -14 15
DALKEITH 2 17 5 2 10 54 82 -28 12
SHOTTSTOWN 17 4 4 9 54 82 -28 12

Aye, we had a run of 7 games without a point midway through the season; still we'll re-group for a tilt at Div 3 next season.

Played my Sc Pairs semi last night, rained off after 5 ends (4-2 down); now having to finish it off on Sunday night, which means staying off the gargle all day; this will be tough after a healthy session watcing the Hibees in Inverness on Saturday!!

19-08-2008, 08:22 AM
Aye, we had a run of 7 games without a point midway through the season; still we'll re-group for a tilt at Div 3 next season.

Played my Sc Pairs semi last night, rained off after 5 ends (4-2 down); now having to finish it off on Sunday night, which means staying off the gargle all day; this will be tough after a healthy session watcing the Hibees in Inverness on Saturday!!Hope yer "big" team make it up to the first...i will miss the hospitality & the sarnies...but i certainly wont miss yer green ...could never get the pace o that..way too fast...i thought the Jewel was fast ...:grr:....:greengrin

Good luck in yer pairs semi ..im sure a hibs win will give ye the motivation ...:thumbsup:

19-08-2008, 08:26 AM
Comfirmed relegation from Esk League Div2 for Dalkeith 2 last night, following a proper gubbing from Gilmerton.:boo hoo:

The blame must lie at the door of the selectors; far too much tinkering throughout the season.:bitchy:

The only good thing is; there is no danger of them being re-elected for next season!

Not that I'm bitter or anything.:devil:

I think you could be talking about almost any club in the city, with regards selectors. It must be the most thankless task in any bowling club and any selector must be extremely thick skinned.
We have three selectors in our club, one of whom resigned halfway through the season throwing the pressure all on the remaining two. One of them went on holiday leaving it all for one man to do the job and the slagging he took for some of the selections was quite horrible, and I must admit, throughout the season, I have not exactly kept my opinions to myself either.
However, I do feel they have brought a lot of the problems on themselves, although to be fair, we have some really childish attitudes from some members who have simply thrown the rattle out the pram and refused to play again.

I have a great deal of sympathy for anyone who takes on the job of selector, but they have to be prepared to take a slagging as there is nothing more certain than that will happen during the season, regardless of results.

James Connolly
19-08-2008, 08:42 AM
I think you could be talking about almost any club in the city, with regards selectors. It must be the most thankless task in any bowling club and any selector must be extremely thick skinned.
We have three selectors in our club, one of whom resigned halfway through the season throwing the pressure all on the remaining two. One of them went on holiday leaving it all for one man to do the job and the slagging he took for some of the selections was quite horrible, and I must admit, throughout the season, I have not exactly kept my opinions to myself either.
However, I do feel they have brought a lot of the problems on themselves, although to be fair, we have some really childish attitudes from some members who have simply thrown the rattle out the pram and refused to play again.

I have a great deal of sympathy for anyone who takes on the job of selector, but they have to be prepared to take a slagging as there is nothing more certain than that will happen during the season, regardless of results.

You're spot on, being a selector is a thankless task; but our team 2 selectors this season didn't do themselves any favours with their constant tinkering with the team.

I've played with 5 different skips this season; this doesn't give anyone the chance to gel.

As I've been quite vociferous over this matter within our club this year, I might put myself up for the job next season; at least then I'll find out how hard the job is...I'll probably last as long as an average Yam manager!:greengrin

19-08-2008, 08:55 AM
You're spot on, being a selector is a thankless task; but our team 2 selectors this season didn't do themselves any favours with their constant tinkering with the team.

I've played with 5 different skips this season; this doesn't give anyone the chance to gel.

As I've been quite vociferous over this matter within our club this year, I might put myself up for the job next season; at least then I'll find out how hard the job is...I'll probably last as long as an average Yam manager!:greengrinDo you change a winning team though ?....if i was reserve & the team won i would be quite happy for that team to continue playing...our problem has been "tinkering" too but we dont have selectors we only have a Captain who picks the teams...far too often i have been put in as second when the team are on a winning run ....only for us to then lose ..

Im not blaming myself for the defeats but more to the point im breaking up the consistency ...it has also happened when we have switched Skips/Leads or thirds ..as the old saying goes "if it aint broken dont fix it" ..everyone will eventually get their game at some point ...:agree:

ANDY McGEECHAN
20-08-2008, 07:34 AM
Hope yer "big" team make it up to the first...i will miss the hospitality & the sarnies...but i certainly wont miss yer green ...could never get the pace o that..way too fast...i thought the Jewel was fast ...:grr:....:greengrin

Good luck in yer pairs semi ..im sure a hibs win will give ye the motivation ...:thumbsup:

Aye you'll need motivation right enough James :bye::bye:

James Connolly
20-08-2008, 07:49 AM

I'll need 3 or 4 Guinness more like, just to stop the shakes!:ill:

James Connolly
24-08-2008, 10:50 PM

The trip to Inverness done me in Flynny; but we still tucked you away!!!:thumbsup::thumbsup:

28-08-2008, 08:04 AM
After playing like a donkey in the Championship Final and deservedly getting my :asshole: kicked big style, I managed to actually play some good bowls last night and came up trumps with my partner to win the Northern SBA qualifying Pairs :cup:

Got the Triples final on Saturday and then the rinks Final Tuesday but at least I will defo be out in the Scottish next year regardless of what happens in those finals. :thumbsup:

sg7nil
28-08-2008, 09:30 AM
After playing like a donkey in the Championship Final and deservedly getting my :asshole: kicked big style, I managed to actually play some good bowls last night and cam up trumps with my partner to win the Northern SBA qualifying Pairs :cup:

Got the Triples final on Saturday and then the rinks Final Tuesday but at least I will defo be out in the Scottish next year regardless of what happens in those finals. :thumbsup:

Aye, well done. Good luck! :thumbsup:

I'm still in the semi of our handicap and that's it (however I didn't enter the pairs, triples or fours due to shift working). Doesn't really matter if I win it or not though as it doesn't qualify me for owt.. It's the diddy "CIS" type tournament!:agree:

28-08-2008, 09:37 AM
Aye, well done. Good luck! :thumbsup:

I'm still in the semi of our handicap and that's it (however I didn't enter the pairs, triples or fours due to shift working). Doesn't really matter if I win it or not though as it doesn't qualify me for owt.. It's the diddy "CIS" type tournament!:agree:

I know what you mean. I can't get myself excited about these type of competitions and never enter them. However, like the co-op cup, it does become worth it if you win I suppose.

tanfield
28-08-2008, 11:08 AM
Well done Mike. I'm having a constrasting season so far. Doing really well in the singles comps - Championship win, Final of Handicap and semi of 2 bowl to play but absolute gash in the team events. Beaten in pairs 1st round and exit last night in the triples:grr:

Didn't want to win these diddy cups anyway:boo hoo:

28-08-2008, 05:28 PM
Well done Mike. I'm having a constrasting season so far. Doing really well in the singles comps - Championship win, Final of Handicap and semi of 2 bowl to play but absolute gash in the team events. Beaten in pairs 1st round and exit last night in the triples:grr:

Didn't want to win these diddy cups anyway:boo hoo:Any silverware would do for me ...:boo hoo:

James Connolly
28-08-2008, 08:26 PM
1st finals day at Dalkeith B.C. on Saturday; only qualified for the one final, Sc Pairs; nice one to win though!:pray:

Gutted the all too short outdoor season is drawing to a close!:boo hoo:

28-08-2008, 08:57 PM
1st finals day at Dalkeith B.C. on Saturday; only qualified for the one final, Sc Pairs; nice one to win though!:pray:

Gutted the all too short outdoor season is drawing to a close!:boo hoo:Good luck mate in yer final ...:aok:

I had a very patchy season & missed a few comps due to a knee problem ...got to final of the Scottish pairs but were beaten ....as for league business, again i didnt play much ..4 games..reserve 8 times ...a season to forget i think ...:boo hoo:

James..keep an eye out for a thread next season for a possible "return" match ..hibs.net v Northern BC...a great day out mate..yer more than welcome ...:thumbsup:

James Connolly
28-08-2008, 09:21 PM
Good luck mate in yer final ...:aok:

I had a very patchy season & missed a few comps due to a knee problem ...got to final of the Scottish pairs but were beaten ....as for league business, again i didnt play much ..4 games..reserve 8 times ...a season to forget i think ...:boo hoo:

James..keep an eye out for a thread next season for a possible "return" match ..hibs.net v Northern BC...a great day out mate..yer more than welcome ...:thumbsup:

I will do; our supporters club is planning to sponsor a Sunday tournament at Dalkeith B.C. early June next season; we'll be looking for 2 or 3 triples full o Hibees, so keep an eye out for your invitation nearer the time. :thumbsup:

28-08-2008, 09:28 PM
I will do; our supporters club is planning to sponsor a Sunday tournament at Dalkeith B.C. early June next season; we'll be looking for 2 or 3 triples full o Hibees, so keep an eye out for your invitation nearer the time. :thumbsup:Will do ..good stuff ...:thumbsup:

29-08-2008, 10:02 AM
:hnet:
Good luck mate in yer final ...:aok:

I can see absolutely no reason whatsoever why this should not take place again next year. It was such a great day out, all our lads at the Northern will certainly be up for it and hopefully we can a few moer interested in playing next year.

We have a trophy (?) to defend after all against you :hnet: chuckers :wink: :greengrin

29-08-2008, 09:04 PM
:hnet:

I can see absolutely no reason whatsoever why this should not take place again next year. It was such a great day out, all our lads at the Northern will certainly be up for it and hopefully we can a few moer interested in playing next year.

We have a trophy (?) to defend after all against you :hnet: chuckers :wink: :greengrinIm sure it will Mike ...im hurting....still cant forget that "jammy" 5 we lost at the last end ...:boo hoo:....it will defo be on mate ..hopefully we can add another triple ...:hnet:....:thumbsup:

31-08-2008, 05:16 PM
Just added our SBA qualyfing Triples title to the pairs won during the week.
This is the third year in a row I have managed to win this and I'm absolutely delighted.

Now just got the fours final on Tuesday to worry about.

tanfield
31-08-2008, 05:44 PM
This is the third year in a row I have managed to win this and I'm absolutely delighted.

Now just got the fours final on Tuesday to worry about.

Will done Mike. Great stuff:party::not worth

Makes my win against you even more impressive:greengrin:hnet:

31-08-2008, 09:26 PM

Now just got the fours final on Tuesday to worry about.Excellent stuff Mike....:cup:

James Connolly
01-09-2008, 06:13 AM
Won our clubs Sc Pairs on Saturday!:thumbsup:

01-09-2008, 07:52 AM
Won our clubs Sc Pairs on Saturday!:thumbsup:

Congratulations J.C. Hope you had a 'rebellious' time celebrating your victory :wink: :greengrin

01-09-2008, 08:00 AM
Will done Mike. Great stuff:party::not worth

Makes my win against you even more impressive:greengrin:hnet:

Excellent stuff Mike....:cup:

Thanks Lads, I certainly did have a :party: :cheers: afterwards and paid the price for it yesterday with a bit of a hangover.

Two down :cup: :cup: one to go :cup: (hopefully)

03-09-2008, 07:30 AM
Well beat in the final of the fours folks so no more trophies for Burnsie.
Shuggie Hilson skipping against me had an absolutely fantastic game, one of these games that happen to you once in a blue moon where you could kick the bowls up blind folded and you would get the shot. We didn't play badly, they just played better on the night.

Still, two major :cup: :cup: won and the mixed pairs with the wife :cup: is not a bad a return for the season, and I still have the invitation pairs on Saturday :thumbsup:

03-09-2008, 03:13 PM
Well beat in the final of the fours folks so no more trophies for Burnsie.
Shuggie Hilson skipping against me had an absolutely fantastic game, one of these games that happen to you once in a blue moon where you could kick the bowls up blind folded and you would get the shot. We didn't play badly, they just played better on the night.

Still, two major :cup: :cup: won and the mixed pairs with the wife :cup: is not a bad a return for the season, and I still have the invitation pairs on Saturday :thumbsup:Unlucky in the rinks Mike ...well done on winning a "treble".....:thumbsup:

Did Shuggie play against us in the recent friendly ..?

tanfield
03-09-2008, 03:51 PM
Unlucky in the rinks Mike ...well done on winning a "treble".....:thumbsup:

Did Shuggie play against us in the recent friendly ..?

Yes, well done Mike, quite a decent season.

Kenny - Shuggie was the skip against you at Northern. Lucky wee player:duck::devil:

03-09-2008, 04:01 PM
Yes, well done Mike, quite a decent season.

Kenny - Shuggie was the skip against you at Northern. Lucky wee player:duck::devil:Ah ..remember him now ..Andrew ...why did i ask that question !!!!! as if i needed reminded !!! :grr:.....:greengrin

tanfield
11-09-2008, 11:48 AM
Not long till the end of the season then. Whitehouse closes on the 20th, what about the rest of you's?

As usual a quick season and pesonally I will be finished by the weekend. " bowl final tomorrow, Tanfield triples on Saturday and Handicap final on Sunday. Fingers crossed!

11-09-2008, 01:25 PM
Not long till the end of the season then. Whitehouse closes on the 20th, what about the rest of you's?

As usual a quick season and pesonally I will be finished by the weekend. " bowl final tomorrow, Tanfield triples on Saturday and Handicap final on Sunday. Fingers crossed!

scheduled to finish on the 4th Oct Andrew, closing day Treasurer v Secretary annual closing day game.

Personally, I think I have rolled my last bowl of the season and I must admit to being happy with that position. Hopefully now I will start taking an interest back in the Hibees at long last (got my tickets for Saturday for my 'debut' this season (Deeks Who?).

Good luck on Sunday Andrew, two singles trophies in teh one season ? :thumbsup:

sg7nil
11-09-2008, 01:45 PM
Our club has closing day on the 4th (if the green is still playable by then!) followed by our invitation triples (which is always played on the day after closing day - for some reason?)

We have a couple of rescheduled friendlies to play before then too.

Not many ties still outstanding.. I got knocked out of the handicap semi final on Tuesday night.. was winning 18-14... lost 21-18 :brickwall

With the weather and the unexpected flooding on our green, the last month or so has been a washout, so I'll be pretty glad to wave goodbye to this season.... Roll on next year... :agree:

11-09-2008, 01:53 PM
so I'll be pretty glad to wave goodbye to this season.... Roll on next year... :agree:

:agree: :agree:

11-09-2008, 06:46 PM
Not sure when Jewel green closes....poss mid of the month...

As for the season past ...well, i gave away some ties because of a knee injury, played mostly pairs & triples ...

Highs = Reaching final of Scottish pairs...Northern v hibs.net (superb day)

Lows = Missing most single hands ...losing final of Scottish pairs...losing to Northern bc....:boo hoo: & not playing enough in Esk league ..

Lost my two bowl pairs partner (finalists last year)...paired up wi his wee brother instead though ...:thumbsup:

Well done all the folks who won silverware ...:cup:

11-09-2008, 09:13 PM
I've still got the u25's final to play. Not sure if the other semi has been played yet. Not had a great season. I've had a couple of good results but not I've won anything. Didn't play in any of the county things. Might play next year. Enjoyed the Bainfield Masters, was a good day.

tanfield
14-09-2008, 07:21 PM
scheduled to finish on the 4th Oct Andrew, closing day Treasurer v Secretary annual closing day game.

Personally, I think I have rolled my last bowl of the season and I must admit to being happy with that position. Hopefully now I will start taking an interest back in the Hibees at long last (got my tickets for Saturday for my 'debut' this season (Deeks Who?).

Good luck on Sunday Andrew, two singles trophies in teh one season ? :thumbsup:

Well that's the last game played and managed to add the two bowl and handicap titles so I'm delighted how my singles form has been this year. Just a pity it has to end:boo hoo:

14-09-2008, 08:23 PM
Well that's the last game played and managed to add the two bowl and handicap titles so I'm delighted how my singles form has been this year. Just a pity it has to end:boo hoo:Well done Andrew ...:thumbsup:

15-09-2008, 08:35 AM
Well that's the last game played and managed to add the two bowl and handicap titles so I'm delighted how my singles form has been this year. Just a pity it has to end:boo hoo:

Congratulations Andrew, a very good season for yourself by the looks of it.

Sunny Leith
01-10-2008, 11:25 AM
Thats the season over for sunny leith.

Managed to win the Pairs for the 2nd year running but lost the 2 bowl final 21-19 after being 19-13 up, I then lost 8 shots in 4 ends :brickwall.

PS. Count me in for the friendly next season :thumbsup:

01-10-2008, 07:10 PM

Managed to win the Pairs for the 2nd year running but lost the 2 bowl final 21-19 after being 19-13 up, I then lost 8 shots in 4 ends :brickwall.

PS. Count me in for the friendly next season :thumbsup:Good stuff mate ...:thumbsup:

tanfield
03-10-2008, 07:46 PM

PS. Count me in for the friendly next season :thumbsup:

Excellent:thumbsup:

Get yourselves up on Sunday morning and tuned to BBC 1 for the Great North Run and keep an eye out for number 16672. Yours truly is running the event for the first time and recent injuries / illness will ensure that I will be running at a sedate pace.

Also I am ashamed to admit I will be running in a Hearts top for the event :blushie::blushie:. Saving grace is that my mate will be running in my Hibs yin. All for a good cause and we are on course to raise over £2k for CLIC Sargent:thumbsup: Of course if any of you fancy sponsoring me give me a shout:agree:

tanfield
05-10-2008, 07:31 PM
Completed the Great North Run in a time of 2hrs 11min + 56secs. Thoroughly enjoyable experience but getting out of South Shields back to Newcastle was a nightmare. Waited for public transport longer than it took me to run the race!!:brickwall

Good to see a lack of infirm tops present today.:greengrin

05-10-2008, 07:53 PM
Completed the Great North Run in a time of 2hrs 11min + 56secs. Thoroughly enjoyable experience but getting out of South Shields back to Newcastle was a nightmare. Waited for public transport longer than it took me to run the race!!:brickwall

Good to see a lack of infirm tops present today.:greengrinWell done Andrew ...:thumbsup: