View Full Version : Do yo want independance

da-robster
04-03-2008, 05:37 PM
Yes or no

Zeberdee
04-03-2008, 05:42 PM
Sayin no to independance doesnt mean i automatically think we need england to survive. A bit of naughty polling going on here i think.

GC
04-03-2008, 05:56 PM
When the time comes to have a say in the matter and vote I will be voting Independence. Will it make a difference, no:brickwall

04-03-2008, 07:50 PM
Oh christ no, this lot are bad enough at running our country with the limited powers they have... :greengrin

Mikey_1875
04-03-2008, 08:42 PM
I back independence. I don't think of myself as British. I think if independence did go through we would have a couple of rocky years at the start but eventually it would turn out fine and we'd be reaping the benefits.

capitals_finest
04-03-2008, 09:12 PM

Reason: Glasgow.

We don't have enough people to support all the unemployed through there. It is difficult enough with our ageing population hence the need for so many immigrants.

I do however like the idea of an independent Scotland excluding Lanarkshire :thumbsup:

More power for the Scottish parliament would be good though.

04-03-2008, 10:07 PM

Reason: Glasgow.

We don't have enough people to support all the unemployed through there. It is difficult enough with our ageing population hence the need for so many immigrants.

I do however like the idea of an independent Scotland excluding Lanarkshire :thumbsup:

More power for the Scottish parliament would be good though.

Do you think we could sell of Glasgow to Ireland or something, annex it?? :greengrin

04-03-2008, 11:11 PM
Ave it

ENDOF

sg7nil
05-03-2008, 04:04 AM
Do you think we could sell of Glasgow to Ireland or something, annex it?? :greengrin

Could sell the East end of Glasgow to Eire (or just give it away)... and build a "Berlin type" wall around Govan and make it an enclave of Engerlund!

That would certainly make an independent Scotland a far more attractive prospect! :saltireflag

mickeythehibbee
05-03-2008, 09:04 AM
YES!!!!:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Probably not gonna happen in the near future though unfortunately. :boo hoo:

05-03-2008, 11:43 AM
Could sell the East end of Glasgow to Eire (or just give it away)... and build a "Berlin type" wall around Govan and make it an enclave of Engerlund!

That would certainly make an independent Scotland a far more attractive prospect! :saltireflag

I like the cut of yer chib. :thumbsup:

:saltireflag

hibbie02
05-03-2008, 11:54 AM
I've got a bit of a West Lothian Question......

Do I get to vote as I live in England and vote Tory???

p.s. I used to be SNP but we dinnae get many candidates down here!!! :cool:

05-03-2008, 11:55 AM

Make it Scotlands answer to Catalunya and let the ******ers destroy themselves without bothering the rest of us :greengrin

05-03-2008, 12:01 PM
I've got a bit of a West Lothian Question......

Do I get to vote as I live in England and vote Tory???

p.s. I used to be SNP but we dinnae get many candidates down here!!! :cool:

Aha. Now, under the plans put forward by wee Eck, ye would indeed be granted yer vote. However, if ye vote against the plans, yer forever exiled to some Godforsaken hellhole, where nobody wants to go and from which you can never escape :devil: .........

hibbie02
05-03-2008, 12:03 PM
Aha. Now, under the plans put forward by wee Eck, ye would indeed be granted yer vote. However, if ye vote against the plans, yer forever exiled to some Godforsaken hellhole, where nobody wants to go and from which you can never escape :devil: .........

Govan??? :confused:

da-robster
05-03-2008, 08:14 PM

05-03-2008, 08:22 PM
I'm pro independence, but it's nothing to do with England, or how it supposedly treats us. As a mature country we really should be standing on our two feet and governing our own affairs. Definately time for us to grow up.

I doubt it would be very much different, perhaps fewer stupid Gulf Wars, but pretty much the same.

06-03-2008, 11:24 AM

That, would be an equemenical matter :greengrin:devil:

06-03-2008, 11:25 AM
I'm pro independence, but it's nothing to do with England, or how it supposedly treats us. As a mature country we really should be standing on our two feet and governing our own affairs. Definately time for us to grow up.

I doubt it would be very much different, perhaps fewer stupid Gulf Wars, but pretty much the same.

I would go along with this and add one of my biggest reasons for voting in favour of independence is the prospect of more personal wealth ....

capitals_finest
06-03-2008, 11:37 AM

Then everyone would be happy:agree:

Well.... everyone apart from the Irish and the English:greengrin

The cooler king
07-03-2008, 09:36 PM

The English are clever enough now to run their own country.
Put another 12 on top of Hadrians wall and get them to ****, and take back Carlisle while we are at it.....

07-03-2008, 10:09 PM
Yes. I think we should rise up and take our independance.
Do away with any thoughts of Kings or Queens and forget inbreeding with the elite.
Give all Politicians £35k per year and make them have to declare any expense.

07-03-2008, 10:12 PM
No, mainly because I'm not really unhappy with the way it is now

New Corrie
07-03-2008, 11:05 PM
Of course we don't want to go it alone. Have you seen how embarrassing Scottish parliamentarians are? If they're not whinging about oil they are trying to pretend they are not anti-English. Bunch of rascist fuds and mostly ugly.

08-03-2008, 09:12 AM
The key point to remember is that although the SNP won the last Holyrood election, the majority of Scots voted against independence. The 3 'unionist' parties of Labour, Liberal Democrats and Tories all gained far more votes combined than the SNP therefore it is fairly safe to assume the majority of Scot's don't back the SNPs main goal which is independence.

For me i don't feel we need England as such, i believe Scotland is in a great position. We have a brilliant and distinct cultural identity that sets us aside from the English and Welsh yet we also get to benefit from one of the biggest and best economies in the world. Personally i'm happy with the way things are.

Zeberdee
08-03-2008, 09:30 AM
The key point to remember is that although the SNP won the last Holyrood election, the majority of Scots voted against independence. The 3 'unionist' parties of Labour, Liberal Democrats and Tories all gained far more votes combined than the SNP therefore it is fairly safe to assume the majority of Scot's don't back the SNPs main goal which is independence.

For me i don't feel we need England as such, i believe Scotland is in a great position. We have a brilliant and distinct cultural identity that sets us aside from the English and Welsh yet we also get to benefit from one of the biggest and best economies in the world. Personally i'm happy with the way things are.

good post. :agree:

ggth
09-03-2008, 01:40 PM
there was a recent study on this by snp and labour, if Scotland were to go for independance we would become third in the list of EU countries to live in, ireland and Lux are first i think

eg money to spend on per head of population

10-03-2008, 06:34 AM
A big AYE from me.

As a nation we should stand on our own two feet and make our decisions ourself. IMO we would be wealthier as an independent nation.

Scottish Republic? Yes please:greengrin

_hucks_
10-03-2008, 08:02 AM

I think it's very difficult to use election results to inferr anything about overall opinions on independance. Many were voting on policies that each party held on things other the Independence. Many working class voters found themselves voting SNP due to increased alienation from the Labour Party, the traditional party of the working class. Due to a current clique running New Labour, they have been developing more right wing policies, and this has a lot to do with why the SNP vote was so high, in what is traditionally a left wing country. (On a side note, i think it's up to the left to be reclaiming the labour party as its own.)

Through the current means of deciding where how much money Scotland is given each year, the Barnett Formula, Scotland currently contribute less in taxes than we receive back for governing Scotland. Just look at area's with the highest rates of unemployment and benefit claiments in the UK; outwith london, glasgow and dundee are some of the highest area's. Do we really expect to be able to support this with an aging workforce and rural population?

Independence only stands to seperate people along the lines of nationality, instead of uniting them along the lines of class. The problems faced by working people in England and Wales are remarkably similar to the problems faced by working people in Scotland.

10-03-2008, 08:37 AM
I think it's very difficult to use election results to inferr anything about overall opinions on independance. Many were voting on policies that each party held on things other the Independence. Many working class voters found themselves voting SNP due to increased alienation from the Labour Party, the traditional party of the working class. Due to a current clique running New Labour, they have been developing more right wing policies, and this has a lot to do with why the SNP vote was so high, in what is traditionally a left wing country. (On a side note, i think it's up to the left to be reclaiming the labour party as its own.)

Through the current means of deciding where how much money Scotland is given each year, the Barnett Formula, Scotland currently contribute less in taxes than we receive back for governing Scotland. Just look at area's with the highest rates of unemployment and benefit claiments in the UK; outwith london, glasgow and dundee are some of the highest area's. Do we really expect to be able to support this with an aging workforce and rural population?

Independence only stands to seperate people along the lines of nationality, instead of uniting them along the lines of class. The problems faced by working people in England and Wales are remarkably similar to the problems faced by working people in Scotland.

:agree: Excellent post. In the modern world of increasing political instability and international tensions, it is up to nations to come together and support one another, not break themselves up into smaller states. Boundaries and b orders are man made dividing lines which naturaly do not exist, why do so many feel the need to create more? As has already been mentioned the Barnet formula already means Scotland gets considerably more from London than we pay in taxes, this would not increase through independence.

In fact i would go as far as too say as opposed to independence i want to go the whole way and get a United States of Europe underway to combat the growing power of China and India and the declining, but still strong, USA.:wink:

10-03-2008, 08:53 AM
I don't think our opinion matters.

Since the 70's I've witnessed an unerring stride towards independence which seems to be the polar opposite to the 'It's Scotland's Oil' parochialism that preceded it.

Modern day Scots have lost the Mighty Chip on our shoulders and replaced it with a measured confidence.

We got an Assembly, now it's a Parliament and pretty soon we will be raising our own taxes via a local income tax.

Decades ago the Tories used to tell us we couldn't be trusted to manage our own affairs. Now it's Scotland who doesn't trust the Tories to do likewise.

Scotland will be independent within the UK in my lifetime - of that I am certain

13-03-2008, 12:21 PM
I don't think our opinion matters.

Since the 70's I've witnessed an unerring stride towards independence which seems to be the polar opposite to the 'It's Scotland's Oil' parochialism that preceded it.

Modern day Scots have lost the Mighty Chip on our shoulders and replaced it with a measured confidence.

We got an Assembly, now it's a Parliament and pretty soon we will be raising our own taxes via a local income tax.

Decades ago the Tories used to tell us we couldn't be trusted to manage our own affairs. Now it's Scotland who doesn't trust the Tories to do likewise.

Scotland will be independent within the UK in my lifetime - of that I am certain

Agreed :agree:

I don't disagree with some of the posts above - what we have is NOT perfect and some of our politicians are less than useless.

That said, they are OUR politicians. WE need politicians who are close to our issues and affairs, fight OUR corner and look after OUR needs .... failing that, someone who at least comes close.

The Westminster Goverment barely try to disguise teh fact they couldnt give a **** any longer.

That is telling in itself.

As a little analargy, can anyone provide me with a good example of:
1) A centralised or dettached organisation
2) ...working IMPARTIALLY where potential conflicts of interest exist for it's various sub-divisions
3) ... and everyone being happy with their "cut" and "deal"
4) ...:thumbsup: ... if someone can show me this working model, I suggest after doing so, you fire it in a letter and mark for the attention of G Brown, 10 Downing Street, London and hope he reads it.

It does not make any sense ... it defies logic and it doesn't work. One cannot work in EVERYONE's interests when everyone has different needs and requirements and all want a bit of the cherry....something HAS to give, someone has to lose out and rarely does "everyone" win....

Simple really.