View Full Version : South Africa
29-02-2008, 03:03 PM
I've just booked flights for my wife and I to Johannesburg in September. The plan is to stay in Jo'burg for a couple of nights then I've booked a domestic flight to Cape Town.
Has anyone visited S.A. before and are there any tips you would offer me?
derekHFC
29-02-2008, 03:10 PM
I've just booked flights for my wife and I to Johannesburg in September. The plan is to stay in Jo'burg for a couple of nights then I've booked a domestic flight to Cape Town.
Chilli is the woman to speak to :wink:
She gave me loads of advice when i was looking into going and it certainly helped when considering my options. We aint been yet, but are looking to go sometime in the next year or so.
29-02-2008, 03:11 PM
for your perusal mr radgey gadgey http://www.tourismcapetown.co.za/za/guide/114494sy,en,SCH1/objectId,RGN23za,selectedEntry,home/home.html
Little Miss Perfect
29-02-2008, 03:27 PM
I was in South Africa a couple of years ago, stayed with the ex's family in Jo'burg so got chauffered everywhere, trouble aside, its a fantastic place and has some very friendly people. I found it quite cheap and some great food too.
We took a trip to Sun City and stayed in Cabanas Hotel,it think it's a must see if you have time.
I also done a day safari,which i have to admit,(since i never fancied in the first place) was brilliant.
Also drove thru Kwazulu Natal down to Durban and stayed in Ballitto in a waterfront apartment with spectacular views.
I never made it to Cape Town as we ran out of time in our fortnight.
The only thing i wasn't so keen on was having to get driven around everywhere, where we stayed in Jo'burg you just didn't walk round to the shops etc.
There's probably a million things you can do when your there,but like i say our fortnight just wasn't long enough to fit it all in, plus the family were still having to nip into work as they have their own company over there so we were a bit tied.
Who are you flying with?
29-02-2008, 03:32 PM
I was in South Africa a couple of years ago, stayed with the ex's family in Jo'burg so got chauffered everywhere, trouble aside, its a fantastic place and has some very friendly people. I found it quite cheap and some great food too.
We took a trip to Sun City and stayed in Cabanas Hotel,it think it's a must see if you have time.
I also done a day safari,which i have to admit,(since i never fancied in the first place) was brilliant.
Also drove thru Kwazulu Natal down to Durban and stayed in Ballitto in a waterfront apartment with spectacular views.
I never made it to Cape Town as we ran out of time in our fortnight.
The only thing i wasn't so keen on was having to get driven around everywhere, where we stayed in Jo'burg you just didn't walk round to the shops etc.
There's probably a million things you can do when your there,but like i say our fortnight just wasn't long enough to fit it all in, plus the family were still having to nip into work as they have their own company over there so we were a bit tied.
Who are you flying with?
I hope we don't have to be chauffered everywhere.
Flying with British Airways - Edin - LHR - Jo'burg return and have booked internal flights with 1Time airline.
29-02-2008, 03:55 PM
Also get in touch with Wull on here. he is in George which must be one of the nicest parts of the country as far as I am concerned. Sure he will give you some pointers.
Enjoy yourself mate, cheap as chips!!!!
29-02-2008, 04:04 PM
Went to Jo'burg and Cape Town a few years back as my dad stays in Jo'burg.
Found Jo'burg to restrictive as you had to drive everywhere and all the restaurants, bars etc where confined to shopping centres. Think most locals socialise in their homes, many of which are protected by barbed wire and security guards.
Jo'burg city centre is a no go area as there is so much crime etc and most of the business' which used to be situated there have moved to the suburbs on the outskirts of Jo'burg.
If I was you I would spend as much time as I could in Cape Town which is a superb place, hire a car and drive to many of the great beaches and small towns around Cape Town. As for nightlife Cape Town has some great bars, restaurants and night clubs, Long Street especially is good for these and you can walk about freely.
Also found the blacks there better company than some of the white South Africans.
Hope to go back in 2 years if we qualify for the World Cup finals.
29-02-2008, 04:34 PM
Found Jo'burg to restrictive as you had to drive everywhere and all the restaurants, bars etc where confined to shopping centres. Think most locals socialise in their homes, many of which are protected by barbed wire and security guards.
Jo'burg city centre is a no go area as there is so much crime etc and most of the business' which used to be situated there have moved to the suburbs on the outskirts of Jo'burg.
If I was you I would spend as much time as I could in Cape Town which is a superb place, hire a car and drive to many of the great beaches and small towns around Cape Town. As for nightlife Cape Town has some great bars, restaurants and night clubs, Long Street especially is good for these and you can walk about freely.
Also found the blacks there better company than some of the white South Africans.
Nice one, thanks.
I'm spending 2 nights at the start of the trip in Jo'burg but I'll take your advice and do the touristy stuff during the day and take taxis at night. Not sure where we're staying yet so a bit of research is obviously required. Somewhere with a couple of bars/restaurants nearby would be good.
I do plan to hire a car and visit a safari park and a winery. Do you think I should stay in Cape Town and commute or get accommodation on the road?
29-02-2008, 05:14 PM
Nice one, thanks.
I'm spending 2 nights at the start of the trip in Jo'burg but I'll take your advice and do the touristy stuff during the day and take taxis at night. Not sure where we're staying yet so a bit of research is obviously required. Somewhere with a couple of bars/restaurants nearby would be good.
I do plan to hire a car and visit a safari park and a winery. Do you think I should stay in Cape Town and commute or get accommodation on the road?
We stayed in this hotel
http://cybercapetown.com/GreenMarketSquare/
It's very central and has a great market on the doorstep, it's also near lots of good bars & restaurants which you can walk to.
It depends how far you would be going but we just based ourselves here and drove around the area, but returned each night.
29-02-2008, 05:37 PM
We stayed in this hotel
http://cybercapetown.com/GreenMarketSquare/
It's very central and has a great market on the doorstep, it's also near lots of good bars & restaurants which you can walk to.
It depends how far you would be going but we just based ourselves here and drove around the area, but returned each night.
Did you go on a safari or a winery?
LeithWalkHibby
29-02-2008, 10:53 PM
Did that surprise you for some reason?
GhostofBolivar
29-02-2008, 11:25 PM
Top tip: Try not to get murdered. The crime rate's disturbingly high (hence needing to be driven round everywhere).
01-03-2008, 04:16 AM
It should also be noted, although it may be a load of old bollox, but I was told once when passing through Jo'burg airport that there is more crime (as in muggings etc) their than any other airport in the world. So be careful there as well..
01-03-2008, 09:06 AM
old boys been to S.A a few times and thats pretty much what he says about the place :agree:
huge generilsation here but anyone else think south african guys are total bell-ends? speak to south africans at my work regularly and every single one ive ever met has been an arrogant erse.
bye the way think its a disgrace theyve got the world cup with the murder rate as high as it is, reckon it'll be carnage.
02-03-2008, 08:19 PM
old boys been to S.A a few times and thats pretty much what he says about the place :agree:
huge generilsation here but anyone else think south african guys are total bell-ends? speak to south africans at my work regularly and every single one ive ever met has been an arrogant erse.
bye the way think its a disgrace theyve got the world cup with the murder rate as high as it is, reckon it'll be carnage.
indeed http://www.reuters.com/article/reutersEdge/idUSL1821550920070419?pageNumber=3&sp=true
"Yet still, 50 people are slaughtered every day. Businesses cite crime as one of the biggest deterrents to investment and violence threatens to mar the 2010 soccer World Cup.
Around 150 women a day report being raped and common robberies have almost doubled compared with 11 years ago, according to a report released in March by the Institute for Security Studies.
although that article is from a year ago right enough.
P.S. i also think it's a disgrace beijing getting the olympic games(but thats another topic altogether) :agree:
Pheona
03-03-2008, 09:50 AM
Chilli is the woman to speak to :wink:
She gave me loads of advice when i was looking into going and it certainly helped when considering my options. We aint been yet, but are looking to go sometime in the next year or so.
You called?
What would you like to know?
and for the record, yes there is a high crime rate in South Africa, and yes there are places that you probably are best not to wander around in, but quite frankly the same could be said for Glasgow, and just about any other city in the world.
Anyway, I refuse to get drawn in to a big politcal debate about the rights and wrongs of South Africa. HR is going on his hols, so apologies if any of this has already been menitoned:
While you are in Jo'burg:
Apart from shopping malls, the actual surrounding areas in Joeys there isn't too much going on, there is a great Zoo though. Not too far out to the south of the city is Gold Reef City, which has a lot of fair rides etc but is set out as Jhb when it first began as a mining town and gives you a history of gold mining, if you are interested in that sort of thing.
Then of course there is Sun City which is only a 2 hour drive from JHB, on the way to SC is Haartebeestpoort Dam, there is a cable car near there to (well there was). Sun City is great but personally I wouldn't stay there for more than a couple of days, long weekend if you want to take in the Pilansberg Game Reserve. Gambling, shows, golf (complete with live crocodile at 18th hole, water sports, cool wave pool, etc. If you don't fancy driving (they drive on the same side of the road as here incidentally) you can fly and there are coach trips from JHB.
There is also Pretoria which is the Captial and has momument to the Voortrekkers and the like, not been there in many years so I do not know what take they have on it all these days, as you can imagine it was very pro "establishment" back then, but interesting none the less.
There is also a place on the same general direction called Warmbaths, which is basically a huge outdoor spa, swimming pool source from a natural hot spring.
Not as far as that is FourWays, there is a lovely Mall there called Monte(something or other) which is all decked out to look like an old italian village, some lovely shops and restaurants in it. There is also a big Putt Putt (Crazy golf) course, great fun, but don't play with any with the surname Storar as they cheat beyond belief.
Where are you planning on staying btw?
Don't know if your plans are definate yet but if you can you should try and take in the Eastern Cape as well as the Western (Cape Town).
The Eastern Cape is known as the Garden Route (http://www.sa-venues.com/garden_route.htm)and takes in place like Oudsthoorn (http://www.gardenroute.co.za/oudts/oudthome.htm)(famous for Ostrich Farms - you can ride them), the Cango Caves (www.cangocaves.co.za).
The Western Cape of course is Cape Town, V & A Dock and Shopping mall, aquarium, of course Table Mountain is a must - at sunset if possible, it is stunning. A word of advice there though is go when you first get the chance because the cable car does not always run because of high winds. A nice day out drive is from Cape Town down through Camps Bay to Fishhoek (you can do a boat tour around Seal Island - not there one where they breed) and to Cape Point and return up the other side of the "hook" to Boulders Beach where there is the only wild flock (???) of penguins in Africa. up through SimonsTown and along False bay which is the Indian Ocean and great for swimming in, if you are not too bothered by the fact that just off the coast in False Bay is Seal Island where the seals breed and there is the highest population of great whites in the world. :greengrin. Carry on around False Bay and you get to Hermanus where it is famous for whale watching, but to be honest if you go at the right time of the year and are lucky you could quite possibly see whales pretty much anywhere along there.
Of course it goes without saying that once you are in this neck of the woods you hit Stellenbosch and the Wine Route. Another must. Not too far away is Paarl, which is also yummy wine :drool: In a place called Somerset west, there is a vineyard called Spiers, they have a lovely deli there where you can buy lovely fresh food and make up your own picnics.
Not to forget Kirstenbosch Gardens (http://www.sanbi.org/), (roughly behind table Mountain) and Groot Constantia (http://www.grootconstantia.co.za/3/home)
Jeez...... think i got a bit carried away there, if I have left anything out you want to know about just shout :greengrin
that is if I have not bored you stupid by now.
EDIT: Well, you did ask......:greengrin
blaikie
03-03-2008, 10:30 AM
Went when I was about 11 :greengrin Would advise on going to jefferson bay and sun city :agree: Some way from jo'burg but worth the travel :wink:
creebo1875
04-03-2008, 09:13 AM
Me and the GF are going travelling in August and Joburg is our first stop. We leave on the 18th August, so far everything ive read seems to over exagerated about the place. Obviously you'll get into trouble if your not careful and respectful but the same could happen here. Not staying in joburg very long, were going to travel down the coast to cape town and stay there for a wee bit longer then travel back upto joburg to leave for OZ woohoo cant wait.
04-03-2008, 04:53 PM
Well, you did ask......:greengrin
Indeed I did and thanks for a brilliant reply. I'll be back for more info later. :thumbsup:
In fact...you don't fancy drawing up our full itinerary, do you? :wink:
Pheona
04-03-2008, 06:15 PM
Indeed I did and thanks for a brilliant reply. I'll be back for more info later. :thumbsup:
In fact...you don't fancy drawing up our full itinerary, do you? :wink:
With pleasure :greengrin
One thing I would advise is, when it comes to the holiday dosh take Sterling, in whichever format you wish i.e travellers cheques etc, you get a better rate of exchange if you change into Rands while you are there.
Port O'Leaf
05-03-2008, 12:49 PM
I've been to S.A. twice (3 weeks each) and everything Chilli wrote is spot on IMO.
JHB is fairly soulless and boring and I would defo advise driving everywhere, especially at night. Don't know if it's improved now but the last time I was there the taxi services were pretty non-existant and hiring a car was the easiest and safest option.
Sun City is a great experience but as Chilli said 2 nights max is probably enough time there.
Game drives are fantastic, depending on the time of year you're going. We spent 5 nights in Kruger, driving from camp to camp, and it was the highlight of our trip. There's really nothing like sitting in the back of an open truck 6 feet away from a young male lion when it stops, looks you in the eye, and sneezes! Cacked myself. I would also reccommend booking onto one of the organised 'night drives' as this is when the animals are at their most active.
Cape Town is a must and I can't really add to what Chilli wrote, only to say it has a far more relaxed vibe and was where we felt most relaxed. And seeing penguins on the beach in 80 degree temperatures is wierd to say the least.
I don't know what the exchange rate or cost of living is now but we really were toiling to spend our dosh, cheap as chips.
If you've any more questions just ask.
Enjoy your trip.
Pheona
05-03-2008, 02:35 PM
I've been to S.A. twice (3 weeks each) and everything Chilli wrote is spot on IMO.
JHB is fairly soulless and boring and I would defo advise driving everywhere, especially at night. Don't know if it's improved now but the last time I was there the taxi services were pretty non-existant and hiring a car was the easiest and safest option.
Sun City is a great experience but as Chilli said 2 nights max is probably enough time there.
Game drives are fantastic, depending on the time of year you're going. We spent 5 nights in Kruger, driving from camp to camp, and it was the highlight of our trip. There's really nothing like sitting in the back of an open truck 6 feet away from a young male lion when it stops, looks you in the eye, and sneezes! Cacked myself. I would also reccommend booking onto one of the organised 'night drives' as this is when the animals are at their most active.
Cape Town is a must and I can't really add to what Chilli wrote, only to say it has a far more relaxed vibe and was where we felt most relaxed. And seeing penguins on the beach in 80 degree temperatures is wierd to say the least.
I don't know what the exchange rate or cost of living is now but we really were toiling to spend our dosh, cheap as chips.
If you've any more questions just ask.
Enjoy your trip.
Public transport and taxis, etc have always been woeful, for the last 35 -40 years anyway. Driving everywhere is not necessarily down to safety or a new thing, it has just always been that way. Although I would say I used to get the train and buses to and from school/college/nightclubs in centre of Joburg all the time, don't think I would do that now though.
05-03-2008, 09:10 PM
Cape Town is a beautiful spot. Go up tabletop mountain or to boulder beach and see the local Penquin colony, one of only two mainland penquin colonies.
Avoid Joburg. A completely charmless city.
05-03-2008, 09:21 PM
Don't try to steal a car :agree: WHY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oDRme0HeXq4)
09-03-2008, 08:40 AM
We get into Joburg on 2 September then fly to Cape Town on the 4th.
Would you suggest we go direct to Sun City for 2 days instead of Johannesburg?
Pheona
09-03-2008, 08:58 PM
We get into Joburg on 2 September then fly to Cape Town on the 4th.
Would you suggest we go direct to Sun City for 2 days instead of Johannesburg?
Yup :agree:
14-03-2008, 07:59 AM
Yup :agree:
I've had a look at this idea but unfortunately, I think driving to Sun City after a 16 hour journey isn't really practical and the cost of a taxi is prohibitive.
Someone told me that Sandton was a nice area. Do you know it?
Would it be worth my while staying there for a couple of nights and maybe hiring a car on day 2?
(We arrive in J'burg at 9.00 am on 2 Sept. We fly with 1Time to Cape Town at 1515 on 4 September, returning to J'burg at 1740 on 16 September.
The flight back to Heathrow departs at 2110 that night.)
Port O'Leaf
14-03-2008, 10:27 AM
I've had a look at this idea but unfortunately, I think driving to Sun City after a 16 hour journey isn't really practical and the cost of a taxi is prohibitive.
Would it be worth my while staying there for a couple of nights and maybe hiring a car on day 2?
(We arrive in J'burg at 9.00 am on 2 Sept. We fly with 1Time to Cape Town at 1515 on 4 September, returning to J'burg at 1740 on 16 September.
Can't really comment on Sandton but when we drove from Jo'burg to Sun City we broke up the journey by staying overnight in a B&B in Rustenburg, then onto SC early the next day and stayed 1 night there before driving back to Jo'burg in one long stint. Sun City is well worth a visit but I think you may be trying to cram in too much and you may not be able to chill out and enjoy it to the full, I'm sure Chilli can advise you better though.
Hope you enjoy whatever you get up to and I'm sure you're gonna love Cape Town, it's the mutts nuts.
Pheona
14-03-2008, 12:05 PM
Sandton is nice but the only things around that area really are shops, now while that may appeal to Mrs HR, it may mean you would have been cheaper going to Sun City :greengrin
You can fly to Sun City need to check the details for you, or go by coach (http://www.sun-city-south-africa.com/getting-there.asp), . R470 per person equates to £ 30.
Let me think about this some more and I will come up with something.
14-03-2008, 01:50 PM
And don't forget to buy her some diamonds!!!!!
Pheona
14-03-2008, 02:36 PM
And don't forget to buy her some diamonds!!!!!
Who me?? :agree: Good idea Mr T
HR - don't forget to buy me diamonds :thumbsup:
15-03-2008, 09:20 AM
Who me?? :agree: Good idea Mr T
HR - don't forget to buy me diamonds :thumbsup:
By giving me all this advice, you are a diamond!
15-03-2008, 10:47 AM
Aye,
She is hard, she sparkles and you can see right through her :greengrin
Pheona
15-03-2008, 11:07 AM
aw shucks :embarrass
Aye,
She is hard, she sparkles and you can see right through her :greengrin
15-03-2008, 11:15 AM
aw sucks :embarrass
Two hands and a tongue job????????? :woohoo:
And for both of us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pheona
17-03-2008, 08:41 AM
Two hands and a tongue job????????? :woohoo:
And for both of us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Like he said.... I'm a diamond..... :smokin
17-03-2008, 02:48 PM
Like he said.... I'm a diamond..... :smokin
I can quite believe it babe.:agree:
panshibby
20-03-2008, 09:10 PM
Hire a car , do not take a taxi, do not walk out on your own at night, carry very little money/cards with you, stay in your hotel:brickwall
not a safe place to be, I have family in Albertin a suburb of jo'burg
Pheona
20-03-2008, 09:21 PM
Hire a car , do not take a taxi, do not walk out on your own at night, carry very little money/cards with you, stay in your hotel:brickwall
not a safe place to be, I have family in Albertin a suburb of jo'burg
It's Alberton, and it is not that bad..
I used to play snooker on a Thursday night in the snooker hall in Alberton.... am I showing signs of a mispent youth?
panshibby
20-03-2008, 09:25 PM
It's Alberton, and it is not that bad..
I used to play snooker on a Thursday night in the snooker hall in Alberton.... am I showing signs of a mispent youth?
sorry your right it is Alberton (spelling mistake) i am not disputing parts of Jo'burg are safe, but not some where you want to walk about. Did gordon Smith not need to get an armed escort to the cashline machine recently!!
Pheona
20-03-2008, 09:32 PM
sorry your right it is Alberton (spelling mistake) i am not disputing parts of Jo'burg are safe, but not some where you want to walk about. Did gordon Smith not need to get an armed escort to the cashline machine recently!!
Was only kidding. :greengrin
You are right there are places where you wouldn't walk, but, having said that there are places in Glasgow and even Edinburgh where I wouldn't walk. That is not something unique to SA, sadly that is a problem all over the world.
and Alberton always was a bit of a dump! :duck:
21-03-2008, 01:32 PM
Need maybe being the operative word here mate. Probably not needed but obligatory. I had to go out of the camp yesterday, I have to travel behind a lead car with 3 armed guards in it, an armed guard in my car and the chase car with three armed guards. All for little old me. Needed? No way. Way over the top. Obligatory? Yes, it is company policy. As Chilli says, bad places all around the world, especially our beloved home country.
21-03-2008, 01:36 PM
Need maybe being the operative word here mate. Probably not needed but obligatory. I had to go out of the camp yesterday, I have to travel behind a lead car with 3 armed guards in it, an armed guard in my car and the chase car with three armed guards. All for little old me. Needed? No way. Way over the top. Obligatory? Yes, it is company policy. As Chilli says, bad places all around the world, especially our beloved home country.
You'll be glad to go back to Africa to get away from all that! :greengrin
21-03-2008, 03:06 PM
I'm still no closer to deciding what to do those 2 days in Jo'burg. All that's happening is I'm getting more nervous about the whole thing!
I'm leaning towards my Sandton idea. Basically, just chilling out after a long days travelling then hiring a car on day 2 for a bit of a sightseeing.
Given that I won't want to hire a car when we land, what options are there for me getting to my hotel from the airport.
Cape Town and the Garden route should be safe enough, right? Having said that, I've still no idea what we're going to do when we're there!
:worried:
21-03-2008, 03:30 PM
I'm still no closer to deciding what to do those 2 days in Jo'burg. All that's happening is I'm getting more nervous about the whole thing!
I'm leaning towards my Sandton idea. Basically, just chilling out after a long days travelling then hiring a car on day 2 for a bit of a sightseeing.
Given that I won't want to hire a car when we land, what options are there for me getting to my hotel from the airport.
Cape Town and the Garden route should be safe enough, right? Having said that, I've still no idea what we're going to do when we're there!
I think there has been some over reaction mate. It will all be safe. Just follow the same simple rules you would follow if you were in America, Jamaica, Haiti, Dominican Republic, any of the Gulf States, Indonesia, Malaysia, The Phillipines etc etc etc. Get the drift:wink: No more or less danger than anywhere unless you put yourself into it. Go and enjoy. Still one of the cheapest countries to visit. (and as I said don't forget the diamonds!!)
Pheona
21-03-2008, 06:43 PM
I think there has been some over reaction mate. It will all be safe. Just follow the same simple rules you would follow if you were in America, Jamaica, Haiti, Dominican Republic, any of the Gulf States, Indonesia, Malaysia, The Phillipines etc etc etc. Get the drift:wink: No more or less danger than anywhere unless you put yourself into it. Go and enjoy. Still one of the cheapest countries to visit. (and as I said don't forget the diamonds!!)
OMG! I am agreeing with GT :greengrin
Still think your best bet would be to hire a car. What hotel are you staying in? You will probably find that they will have a shuttle bus from the airport, let me know the hotel and I will check for you.
If you decided to drive there is Gold Reef City (which is at the other side of the city, there is the zoo, which is lovely (mind you it is a long time since I have been there) Sandton Centre, (shopping and hotel) plenty plenty diamond shops. :greengrin If you do decide to buy Mrs HR a nice pressie, try Tanzanite, very very nice and becoming more and more rare 3004.
It will all be fine.
My brother arrives in a couple of weeks, I will chat to him then and get some more ideas and best things for you do to. He is good at that sort of thing. I forget. He could probably give you a minute by minute account of exactly what to do and when.
22-03-2008, 09:00 AM
OMG! I am agreeing with GT :greengrin
Still think your best bet would be to hire a car. What hotel are you staying in? You will probably find that they will have a shuttle bus from the airport, let me know the hotel and I will check for you.
I have a boat load of Hilton loyalty points so was thinking of going there. They don't have a shuttle but say a cab is about £30. I think I'll book it for a couple of nights and cancel if you come up with a better plan.
Maybe I'll just stay sober on the flight and hire a car but I'll worry about that nearer the time.
If you decided to drive there is Gold Reef City (which is at the other side of the city, there is the zoo, which is lovely (mind you it is a long time since I have been there) Sandton Centre, (shopping and hotel) plenty plenty diamond shops. :greengrin If you do decide to buy Mrs HR a nice pressie, try Tanzanite, very very nice and becoming more and more rare 3004.
Nice ring. I know they are mined there but are diamonds a lot cheaper to buy in SA? I thought that they were the same price all over the world.
It will all be fine.
My brother arrives in a couple of weeks, I will chat to him then and get some more ideas and best things for you do to. He is good at that sort of thing. I forget. He could probably give you a minute by minute account of exactly what to do and when.
Thanks.
I really don't want to inconvenience anyone but I'd really appreciate help like that.
Little Miss Perfect
22-03-2008, 10:18 PM
Forget Diamonds..you have to buy her some Tanzanite as Chilli says, it's a stunning stone and you get fab pieces over there,much better than the pealy wally stuff you get here. :thumbsup:
I'm sure you'll be fine in Jo'burg like everyone says be vigilant etc, i was a nervous wreck when i went but i had a ball :thumbsup:
24-03-2008, 10:12 AM
Update.
I've booked into the Hilton Sandton for 2 nights from 2 September but this can be cancelled if another cunning lpan is hatched.
Pheona
24-03-2008, 09:44 PM
Update.
I've booked into the Hilton Sandton for 2 nights from 2 September but this can be cancelled if another cunning lpan is hatched.
Sandton is very nice and I am sure the Hilton will be lovely. Like I said I will speak to my big bro when he gets here and plan stuff for you to do/see/go/shoot. OK I am kidding about the last bit.
Do you like gambling/casinos? (in the Sun City mould?) This (http://www.emperorspalace.com/)5 minutes away from the airport. Not necessarily to stay at the hotels but for dinner and a general nosey about.
25-03-2008, 04:30 AM
Sandton is very nice and I am sure the Hilton will be lovely. Like I said I will speak to my big bro when he gets here and plan stuff for you to do/see/go/shoot. OK I am kidding about the last bit.
Do you like gambling/casinos? (in the Sun City mould?) This (http://www.emperorspalace.com/)5 minutes away from the airport. Not necessarily to stay at the hotels but for dinner and a general nosey about.
Joking aside, that is the in thing, for the yanks especially, here. They go to SA to stay with one or other of our security consultants and spend the whole time out hunting. Usually come back with some wildebeest biltong. Seemingly there is a different taste between the blue wildebeest and other colours :confused: Still nice though.
Pheona
25-03-2008, 08:32 AM
Joking aside, that is the in thing, for the yanks especially, here. They go to SA to stay with one or other of our security consultants and spend the whole time out hunting. Usually come back with some wildebeest biltong. Seemingly there is a different taste between the blue wildebeest and other colours :confused: Still nice though.
There is? I don't have it long enough to notice the difference :drool:
My boss at my first job used to go hunting and I used to complain and moan like hell at him all the time, then when he got back with a truck load of biltong, promptly sat a scoffed my way through it. Nothing like a bit of hypocracy and double standards to keep the place going. :greengrin
25-03-2008, 09:09 AM
There is? I don't have it long enough to notice the difference :drool:
My boss at my first job used to go hunting and I used to complain and moan like hell at him all the time, then when he got back with a truck load of biltong, promptly sat a scoffed my way through it. Nothing like a bit of hypocracy and double standards to keep the place going. :greengrin
I would expect no less from a woman of your stature my dear:greengrin
07-04-2008, 11:40 AM
To whom it may concern - I'm just keeping my interest noted! :wink:
Pheona
07-04-2008, 11:48 AM
To whom it may concern - I'm just keeping my interest noted! :wink:
Big brother arrived this morning so will chat to him during this week.:greengrin
BTW - Just to prove South Africa isn't all bad, he lives on Leith Road. :thumbsup:
Pheona
11-04-2008, 03:29 PM
Mr HR
Bet you thought I had forgotten 'bout you eh?
Right I had a word with my brother and he has said pretty much the same as I did.
He still thinks you would be better off hiring a car from the airport, but of course that is up to you. I noticed on the Hilton website that although they do not do a shuttle bus from the airport there is a link to a bus company that does. I think it goes around all the hotels in that area.
It is only a half hour drive (at most) from the airport.
Do you have a Satnav? (or any birthdays coming up between now and Sept) :greengrin.
Anyway,
I am assuming that you are taking an overnight flight and arriving in JHB in the morning of the 2nd? Which will give you most of that day. Personally I would spend that one at Sandton City (http://www-usa.sandtoncity.co.za/) which is a lovely shopping mall (there are a lot of them in SA) the Sandton Sun hotel is linked to it also. You are not going to want to be driving around a lot after a long flight. There are places to eat there also. If I remember correctly they are situated in an area which has been designed to look like an italian village. Like I said it is nearby so you could check in, have a kip, go for a wander, not necessarily in that order.
Day 2
Gold Reef City (http://www.goldreefcity.co.za/home/index.asp) (Jannesburg South)
Jo'burg Zoo (http://www.jhbzoo.org.za/) (West JHB)
"]Bela Bela (formerly Warmbaths) (http://www.foreversa.co.za/warmbaths/activities.htm) North of JHB/Pretoria - lovely but a bit further away (170kms north of JHB)
The Lion park (http://www.lion-park.com/) (North of JHB) This is near a place called Fourways where you will find:
Fourways mall (http://www.fourwaysmall.com/) This is the mall I mentioned that is designed to look like (another) italian village in the daylight and at night. There is a great Putt Putt (Crazy Golf) course next to it and also a Bird park. (Exotic birds etc) and a casino (I think)
that should keep you going for day 2 :greengrin
Day 3
I don't know what time you are flying but maybe another trip to the shops?
One the way to the airport you have
Eastgate (http://www-usa.eastgatecentre.co.za/)
Bruma Lake Flea Market (http://www.johannesburg-direct.com/activity/bruma-lake-flea-market) a huge market where you can buy all the touristy things like the obligitory wooden Giraffe seen on any self respecting return flight from SA - over the road from Eastgate
Emperor's Palace (http://www.emperorspalace.com/) (formerly Ceasers Palace) - near the airport
Another Mall - the East Rand Mall (http://www.eastrandmall.co.za/)- my local. Depending on the wind direction, more often than not you will fly over this one just before you land. Look to the right just before you land and the long road is called Leith Road, just in case you feel homesick. :greengrin
Other Info:
These are "chains" or franchise places to eat:
House of Coffees
Nandos (speciality chicken) :drool:
Mugg & Bean (Coffee shops and nice food)
Smith & Wollensky (very nice steakhouse) -
Spur (steahouses - also decent) more :drool:
Milky Lane (ice cream, milkshakes, waffles)
Of course there are loads of other places, fodd in general is good and more importantly, cheap.
Money
If you are taking travellers cheques, get Stirling and change there, you will get more for your money. Also got to Rennies, (aka Thomas Cook) they do not charge a fee, most banks do.
While it is unlikely that you will have any bother, do be aware of people around you at cash machines etc, pretty much the same advice as you are given here. If a local does offer to help you out at the machine tell him to GTF (politely of course).
A lot of the car parks will have people offering to look after your car for a tip, some are official some not, it is up to you if you want to or not, you can kinda tell, but R2 - R3 never hurt anyone.
Don't leave anything lying in the car, leave it in the boot or out of sight (again I don't do that here either)
Is that enough to be going on with?
Better still I think I should come with you..... :greengrin
13-04-2008, 09:37 AM
Mr HR
Bet you thought I had forgotten 'bout you eh?
Right I had a word with my brother and he has said pretty much the same as I did.
He still thinks you would be better off hiring a car from the airport, but of course that is up to you. I noticed on the Hilton website that although they do not do a shuttle bus from the airport there is a link to a bus company that does. I think it goes around all the hotels in that area.
It is only a half hour drive (at most) from the airport.
Do you have a Satnav? (or any birthdays coming up between now and Sept) :greengrin.
Anyway,
I am assuming that you are taking an overnight flight and arriving in JHB in the morning of the 2nd? Which will give you most of that day. Personally I would spend that one at Sandton City (http://www-usa.sandtoncity.co.za/) which is a lovely shopping mall (there are a lot of them in SA) the Sandton Sun hotel is linked to it also. You are not going to want to be driving around a lot after a long flight. There are places to eat there also. If I remember correctly they are situated in an area which has been designed to look like an italian village. Like I said it is nearby so you could check in, have a kip, go for a wander, not necessarily in that order.
Day 2
Gold Reef City (http://www.goldreefcity.co.za/home/index.asp) (Jannesburg South)
Jo'burg Zoo (http://www.jhbzoo.org.za/) (West JHB)
"]Bela Bela (formerly Warmbaths) (http://www.foreversa.co.za/warmbaths/activities.htm) North of JHB/Pretoria - lovely but a bit further away (170kms north of JHB)
The Lion park (http://www.lion-park.com/) (North of JHB) This is near a place called Fourways where you will find:
Fourways mall (http://www.fourwaysmall.com/) This is the mall I mentioned that is designed to look like (another) italian village in the daylight and at night. There is a great Putt Putt (Crazy Golf) course next to it and also a Bird park. (Exotic birds etc) and a casino (I think)
that should keep you going for day 2 :greengrin
Day 3
I don't know what time you are flying but maybe another trip to the shops?
One the way to the airport you have
Eastgate (http://www-usa.eastgatecentre.co.za/)
Bruma Lake Flea Market (http://www.johannesburg-direct.com/activity/bruma-lake-flea-market) a huge market where you can buy all the touristy things like the obligitory wooden Giraffe seen on any self respecting return flight from SA - over the road from Eastgate
Emperor's Palace (http://www.emperorspalace.com/) (formerly Ceasers Palace) - near the airport
Another Mall - the East Rand Mall (http://www.eastrandmall.co.za/)- my local. Depending on the wind direction, more often than not you will fly over this one just before you land. Look to the right just before you land and the long road is called Leith Road, just in case you feel homesick. :greengrin
Other Info:
These are "chains" or franchise places to eat:
House of Coffees
Nandos (speciality chicken) :drool:
Mugg & Bean (Coffee shops and nice food)
Smith & Wollensky (very nice steakhouse) -
Spur (steahouses - also decent) more :drool:
Milky Lane (ice cream, milkshakes, waffles)
Of course there are loads of other places, fodd in general is good and more importantly, cheap.
Money
If you are taking travellers cheques, get Stirling and change there, you will get more for your money. Also got to Rennies, (aka Thomas Cook) they do not charge a fee, most banks do.
While it is unlikely that you will have any bother, do be aware of people around you at cash machines etc, pretty much the same advice as you are given here. If a local does offer to help you out at the machine tell him to GTF (politely of course).
A lot of the car parks will have people offering to look after your car for a tip, some are official some not, it is up to you if you want to or not, you can kinda tell, but R2 - R3 never hurt anyone.
Don't leave anything lying in the car, leave it in the boot or out of sight (again I don't do that here either)
Is that enough to be going on with?
Better still I think I should come with you..... :greengrin
That's great, Chilli, thanks. We'll definitely follow your advice. :agree:
I'm warming to the idea of hiring a car from the airport but I'm not sure I like the thought of a 16+ hour journey (Edin - Heathrow -Jo'burg) without the solace of an alcoholic haze.
However, I'll decide that nearer the time.
I have got a sat nav but it's only good only for Europe. I'll check if I can buy a download for South Africa.
Our flight to Cape Town is at 3.15 pm so we'll have the morning at least.
Now, how about an itinerary for Cape Town and the Garden Route? I don't need much information, just places to visit, hotels, safari parks etc. :greengrin
Thanks again for your help. Dave. :thumbsup:
PS I asked Mrs HR if you could come with us. She's, erm, thinking about it.
Pheona
14-04-2008, 08:31 PM
That's great, Chilli, thanks. We'll definitely follow your advice. :agree:
I'm warming to the idea of hiring a car from the airport but I'm not sure I like the thought of a 16+ hour journey (Edin - Heathrow -Jo'burg) without the solace of an alcoholic haze.
However, I'll decide that nearer the time.
I have got a sat nav but it's only good only for Europe. I'll check if I can buy a download for South Africa.
Our flight to Cape Town is at 3.15 pm so we'll have the morning at least.
Now, how about an itinerary for Cape Town and the Garden Route? I don't need much information, just places to visit, hotels, safari parks etc. :greengrin
Thanks again for your help. Dave. :thumbsup:
PS I asked Mrs HR if you could come with us. She's, erm, thinking about it.
SatNav - you can definately get downloads, my Sister-in-law bought one in makro at Christmas and did exactly that.
Will come back to you re the Cape shortly.
Tell Mrs HR you're off the hook, I'm going next year. :greengrin
15-04-2008, 08:02 AM
SatNav - you can definately get downloads, my Sister-in-law bought one in makro at Christmas and did exactly that.
Will come back to you re the Cape shortly.
Tell Mrs HR you're off the hook, I'm going next year. :greengrin
Can I come with you? :duck:
31-05-2008, 09:07 AM
Bump.
I don't want to lose this.
Pheona
31-05-2008, 02:20 PM
Bump.
I haven't forgotten honest guv! Iam am sitting with a room full of Saffas as we speak. :thumbsup:
Hibby D
31-05-2008, 06:30 PM
Bump.
You could tag or book mark it :wink:- It's gonnie take some bumping between now and September just so you don't lose it :hilarious
01-06-2008, 01:28 PM
I haven't forgotten honest guv! Iam am sitting with a room full of Saffas as we speak. :thumbsup:
Say Hi from me!
Just to let you know, I've changed my plans.
Instead of staying in the Johannesburg Hilton for 2 nights, we're catching a connection to Cape Town when we arrive on 2 September.
We'll hire a car in Cape Town and travel along the Garden Route, probably going to this Safari resort (http://www.kariega.co.za/) for 2 - 3 days.
Can't wait.
12-06-2008, 06:47 PM
Now booked here for 9 - 11 September. :thumbsup:
Still need an itinerary for the rest of my trip. :wink:
13-06-2008, 09:30 AM
50 Murders a day mate. Be careful out there.
50 Murders a day mate. Be careful out there.:paranoid::paranoid::paranoid::worried::pani c:
creebo1875
14-06-2008, 07:53 AM
We just booked our first accommodation in Joburg aswell. We are staying in the Fly Inn Lodge for 3 nights then offski outta there. Getting the Baz Bus to take us to Durban Via the drakesnberg mountains then onwards towards cape town stopping in port Elizabeth for a wee while. Gonna do the safari on the way back up.
Pheona
17-07-2008, 09:35 PM
Ok, where to start…..
You arrive in Cape Town (hthttp://www.acsa.co.za/home.asp?pid=229&selAirport=cpttp://)on the 2nd. Hire a car at the airport. or you could get a taxi there is info under transport on the website The journey into Cape Town takes approx 30 minutes, but it is pretty much a straight road (motorway). There is also pretty much shanty town all the way visible from the motorway. It is huge and incorporates places like Kayalitcha. There are plenty of hotels in Cape Town as you can imagine. We stayed in the Holiday Inn which is pretty much like any other Holiday Inn in the world, but you can get lovely views of the Mountain. Having said that, just looked and I don’t see it on the site anymore. There are quite a few hotels around this area.
Now, I would suggest that you stay in Cape Town for a couple of days, then head in the direction of the game reserve.
3 September:
In and about Cape Town –
Victoria and Alfred Dock (http://www.waterfront.co.za/index.php) – lots of shopping and restaurants and there are boat trips running from the dock behind also. Some go to Robben Island if you are interested. Usually some live entertainment around. There is also a large indoor market at the back of The Waterfont well worth a look. Local crafts and all sorts of things.
Two Oceans Aquarium (http://www.aquarium.co.za/) – makes the one at Queensferry look a bit pathetic. There is a restaurant there to.
Castle (http://www.discoverthecape.com/castle.html)– bit of local history, not in the league of some of our Castles but interesting all the same.
Table Mountain (http://www.tablemountain.net/)
– a must, but keep an eye on this one, because of winds in Cape Town it doesn’t run everyday, so you have to keep an eye on it and go when you get the chance, usually the info at the hotel will know if it is running or not. Best time to go is sunset, the view is stunning. The cable car is bigger than it looks in the pictures. The floor rotates so you get a 360deg view on the way up. Not as scary as it may sound.
Trip to Blaauwberg Strand (http://www.blaauwberg.net/)(Bluemountain Beach) is always nice for the views, you get that classic view of Table Mountain with the ocean in front.
That should keep you going for a couple of days….
Then you could head to Cape Point, this could be done in a full day.
Head in the general direction of Camps Bay (http://www.southafrica-travel.net/westcape/capetown_campsbay.htm), some lovely beaches, houses and scenery along the way. Lets just say Camps bay is adeptly named. Graham Norton, amongst others, is reported to have a house there. There are some great views of the 12 Apostles which stretch out from the back of Table Mountain. I wouldn’t recommend swimming, unless you are used to taking a dip in the Forth! It is the Atlantic Ocean and bloody cold. You follow this road pretty much all the way down to Hout Bay (http://www.houtbayonline.com/#), here you can also take a boat trip if you like, it will take you to Seal Island. This isn’t the breeding ground one, that is in False Bay, and is where there is the biggest population of Great Whites in the world (apparently). False Bay is in the Indian Ocean which is warmer. From Hout Bay you carry on down to Cape Point (http://www.capepoint.co.za/) . Actually I can’t remember if we did the boat trip and Cape Point on 2 separate days. We may have done. Anyway Cape Point is a must. After you have been to Cape Point you carry on round the peninsula to Boulders Beach (http://www.go2africa.com/south-africa/cape-town/african-safari-guide/boulders-beach)which is where there is the only indigenous penguin colony in Africa. Carry on up there to Simonstown and round False Bay.
I would maybe leave False Bay until you come back from the Eastern Cape, because it is in that general direction that you will find the Wine Route.
Other things that are in about Cape Town itself is Kirstenbosch Gardens (http://www.aboutcapetown.com/kirstenbosch.htm)they are behind Table Mountain and beautiful. (In fact that website is very useful for a few of the places I have mentioned) Also Groot Constantia (http://www.grootconstantia.co.za/3/home)which is an old Cape Dutch House one of the originals, if I remember as well as a working winery.
to be continued.................
Pheona
18-07-2008, 11:58 AM
You then leave Cape Town on the N2 (east) if I remember correctly. And suggest you head towards Plettenberg Bay (http://www.plettenbergbay.co.za/), which is a really lovely place a straight drive there would take you 5/6 hours with wee stops, so you could spend the day driving up, stopping at places like Hermanus (http://www.hermanus.co.za/)(whale watching,) (or you could leave that until you go back to CT.) Mossel Bay, George, Knysna (http://www.gotoknysna.com/)and Wilderness. Knysna (silent ‘K’) is another lovely place. All along this area is called The Garden Route (http://www.gardenroute.co.za/)and there is some truly stunning scenery.
You could stay in Plett over night and then carry on up to PE, Kenton or Port Alfred (http://www.portalfred.co.za/)(my friend recommends the Halyards hotel (http://www.riverhotels.co.za/hotel/beyond.html)in Port Alfred. They offer all sorts of boat rides and they have nature trails etc all at your disposal at the hotel all on site it is a glorious place.
From Plett you must go to Tsitsikama Forest (http://www.tsitsikamma.info/), a breathtaking place.
Then I would move towards East London (http://www.eastlondon.org.za/). There are so many beach front hotels there. King David hotel in East London is really nice too, my friend has there a few times and it is really nice. You should also drive a little inland from East London via King Williams Town (http://www.places.co.za/html/king_williams_town.html) and head to Hogsback (http://www.places.co.za/html/hogsback.html), it is a forest with all these beautiful cottages tucked away and there is alovely hotel there. Nature trails, waterfalls and horse rides all at your doorstep too.
On the way back down again you should take a slight detour to Klein Karoo where there is Oudtshoorn (http://www.oudtshoorninfo.com/), which is famous for the ostriches, I dare you to ride one!!! And the Cango Caves (http://cangocaves.co.za/), again a thing of beauty. You have to walk a lot but there are different scales of difficulty from the tourist wander about to actual potholing (at least it used to be) you will find all the info on the websites.
BTW my friend has been to the Kariega Game Park and says it is really nice.
Just a thought, have you considered hiring a camper instead of hotels?.
Other site to help out :
http://www.sa-venues.com/
http://www.ectourism.co.za
that should keep you going for a few days either side of the game reserve.
to be continued..............
Pheona
21-07-2008, 12:10 PM
You could head back down the road to Cape Town on 14/15, that will give you 4/5 days to do the Wineroute and maybe a couple of things that you didn’t in CT. You have 2 choices, depending on how many tours, etc you want to do I suppose. You could either stay in a CT hotel and drive to the winelands or stay in a hotel in that area, up to you. We have done both. The place we stayed the first time we went is in Somerset West called Straightwayhead Country Hotel (http://www.straightwayhead.com/). It was lovely, (even if my husband did knock over one of the pillars in the garden doing his Samson impression!!!) Idiot!
We did do a hell of a lot of wine touring – mainly cos I spent most of my formative years touring bottles of SA wine, but that is another story, the most popular ones are in and around Stellenbosch and Paarl. We have been to Blaauklippen and Vergelegen (http://www.vergelegen.co.za/Content_1010000000_heritage.htm)(this one is in Somerset West)
Some of the better SA wines include Landskroon, Nederberg, Fleur De Cap (these wines can be found at the Bergkelder wine farm in Stellenbosch , Boschendaal, Simonsvlei – and many more. For some reason these don’t seem to be imported here much, a lot the stuff they do import gives SA wine a bad name. Nederberg is my favourite, but not sure they actually do tours.
Try this website (http://winelands.co.za/index.php?option=com_frontpage&Itemid=60)it gives you details on all the Wine Farms, where they are etc.
On a slightly different note you should go to Spiers (http://www.spier.co.za/whattodoatspier/index.htm), this is not so much of a wine tour but has lovely gardens and other things to look at. It also has a deli shop where you can buy lots of fresh produce and create your own picnic, you can buy everything from fresh meats, to plates and knives and forks, really worth a visit. There is also a hotel on site. They have a bird sanctury where there are golden eagles etc, last time we were there they had a couple of leopards they were looking after, the grounds are beautiful.
Other than the wine route, it is also worth taking some time down at the beach, a place called Strand (direct translation – beach) has a lovely beach where you can get a bit of a tan and a swim. This is the Indian ocean so should be a damn site warmer than the Atlantic. That’s if you don’t mind the odd great white lurking about! ( I have swum in their many a time – not very likely to get eaten alive) Sharks prefer surfers……..
If you are really lucky you may even see the odd whale as well. As I have already mentioned Hermanus is the favourite whale sighting place, but they have been know to come in and around the rest of False Bay (http://www.aboutcapetown.com/false-bay.htm)also. Strand beach can get fairly busy, so if you drive on a bit further you will come to a place called Gordon’s Bay where it is not quite as busy. Having said all that you are going in September which is still spring so all the locals will probably thing you are a lunatic to go swimming when it is so cold (??) There is also Muizemberg
I am sure that there is a lot more you could be doing that I haven’t mentioned, but a lot of the websites linked to will give you more ideas.
The airport isn’t very far from the Winelands/False bay area, from Stellenbosch to the aiport is approx 35 kms. (around 20 miles) so it wont a huge rush to get to the airport on the way home.
Hope you all this drivel will be of some use to you, look around the websites linked, they should give you more info and if you need anything else, please let me know.
Have a wonderful time
F.
This goes for anyone else who may fancy a wee trip down south.
27-07-2008, 01:31 PM
Brilliant information. Thanks again.
I just found out that, because it's so cheap in Cape Town, although I only have 16000 Priority Club points left, I actually have enough for 3 nights free at the Holiday Inn Express (http://www.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/pc/1/en/hotel/cptst?rpb=hotel&crUrl=/h/d/pc/1/en/hotelsearchresults). That wouldn't even pay for 1 night in most UK hotels!
Is this the one you used?
Pheona
28-07-2008, 11:26 AM
Brilliant information. Thanks again.
I just found out that, because it's so cheap in Cape Town, although I only have 16000 Priority Club points left, I actually have enough for 3 nights free at the Holiday Inn Express (http://www.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/pc/1/en/hotel/cptst?rpb=hotel&crUrl=/h/d/pc/1/en/hotelsearchresults). That wouldn't even pay for 1 night in most UK hotels!
Is this the one you used?
That's great, gotta love those priorty points :thumbsup:
This is a new hotel so it isn't the one we stayed in, it looks like that one is't there anymore or isn't owned by Holiday Inn. Sure it will be fine though.
Hope you have a great time when you get there.
F.
31-08-2008, 01:52 PM
That's great, gotta love those priorty points :thumbsup:
This is a new hotel so it isn't the one we stayed in, it looks like that one is't there anymore or isn't owned by Holiday Inn. Sure it will be fine though.
Hope you have a great time when you get there.
F.
Just over 24 hours to go and I can check in online at 6.15 tonight.! :thumbsup:
I'm looking forward to it but also a bit nervous.
If you'd like me to send you a postcard, PM me an address.
Dave
Pheona
31-08-2008, 10:11 PM
Just over 24 hours to go and I can check in online at 6.15 tonight.! :thumbsup:
I'm looking forward to it but also a bit nervous.
If you'd like me to send you a postcard, PM me an address.
Dave
Don't worry about the postcard - hopefully you will be having too much fun. Do let me know how you get on when you get back though.
I feel personally responsible. :greengrin
Have a great time and don't forget those diamonds!!
31-08-2008, 11:10 PM
Don't worry about the postcard - hopefully you will be having too much fun. Do let me know how you get on when you get back though.
I feel personally responsible. :greengrin
Have a great time and don't forget those diamonds!!
Don't feel responsible. You've really helped. The rest is up to us.
One last question.
Should I book my car tomorrow in the UK or wait till Cape Town?
Ach, don't answer that, I'm going to wait till I'm there. :greengrin
Are clothes cheap to buy?
Oops, that's a second question :wink:
Pheona
01-09-2008, 08:50 AM
Don't feel responsible. You've really helped. The rest is up to us.
One last question.
Should I book my car tomorrow in the UK or wait till Cape Town?
Ach, don't answer that, I'm going to wait till I'm there. :greengrin
Are clothes cheap to buy?
Oops, that's a second question :wink:
Depends what type of clothes, designer labels are pretty much the same but others are definately cheaper. Yes :agree:
Pheona
01-09-2008, 10:49 AM
You may have already left for the airport, but thought I had better warn you - it is snowing in the Cape !! :bitchy: