View Full Version : John Smeaton: Everyday Superhero
26-02-2008, 10:07 PM
A cracking documentary tonight about Glasgow's finest, John Smeaton. The title said it all, heartwarming stuff.:thumbsup:
OK, what he done was very brave and he has been awarded and recognised.
It's gone too far and I'm sick of hearing about this guy now.
What next? Smeato the movie? Smeato action figures?:brickwall
26-02-2008, 10:18 PM
Oh geez. Sometimes the goodwill to all men just spills out of this board.:greengrin
Come on then...channel?:greengrin
Danny_Hibee
26-02-2008, 10:22 PM
I'd buy one :greengrin
Not really his fault that the media have made him into some sort of legend so fair play to the guy for taking everything they're willing to give him :agree:
26-02-2008, 10:24 PM
Come on then...channel?:greengrin
Too late, you have missed it.:na na:
Pity, I think you would have particularly enjoyed his version of Britney Spears, 'Hit me Baby One More Time.':greengrin
Too late, you have missed it.:na na:
Pity, I think you would have particularly enjoyed his version of Britney Spears, 'Hit me Baby One More Time.':greengrin
My loss I guess.:greengrin
No doubt we'll be treated to some other similar spectacle soon enough.
Chuckie
26-02-2008, 10:29 PM
'I'm from Glasgow, swearing is part of my life' Take a bow - John Smeaton... What a likeable man he is, and fair play to him for taking advantage of what's on offer.. Although if I ever hear his version of that Spears song on the airwaves I will set fire to him, then knock him out.
26-02-2008, 11:26 PM
he laid into a guy who was on fire, at the time he didn't know it was a terrorist attack, all he knew was a jeep was on fire, it could have been a genuine accident and he's laid into the guy?
'this is Glasgow, we'll set about you' and 'I'm from Glasgow, swearing is in my make up'? good representation there.
Also what about the other 'heros' from that day?
PC Stamp
26-02-2008, 11:47 PM
he laid into a guy who was on fire, at the time he didn't know it was a terrorist attack, all he knew was a jeep was on fire, it could have been a genuine accident and he's laid into the guy?
'this is Glasgow, we'll set about you' and 'I'm from Glasgow, swearing is in my make up'? good representation there.
Smeaton in fairness to him appears to have been appointed by the press as the "figurehead" for what happened that day. There were though as you allude to at least three other guys who also acted selflessly to protect others yet little mention seems to have been made of their actions.
"not brave enough" to warrant anything when it came to awards. Fair play to Smeaton for trying to highlight their case...to no avail.
I suppose we make celebrities out of people who have done less than he has so fair play. He might even beable to afford to move out of his parents house.
Tazio
26-02-2008, 11:56 PM
He's taken Murdoch's shilling. For that he loses my respect.
27-02-2008, 07:09 AM
He's taken Murdoch's shilling. For that he loses my respect.
What a cynical age we live in.:boo hoo::greengrin
So should an ordinary working class guy on less than 20k a year turn down the chance of some extra income from a media company.? Especially when said company has already made a mint out of his story.
Fair dos to you if you are managing to completely boycott Murdoch, as given the reach of his media tentacles it is a difficult task. So no Murdoch Newspapers or watching Sky channels for you. (Because giving Murdoch your shilling is surely just as bad as accepting it.)
hibsboy90
27-02-2008, 08:03 AM
Is it on BBC Iplayer? Hope so, as i'll watch it on that within the week.
FWIW i'd far rather that guy made some money from this than somebody from Big Brother. Those twins from the last series have made more than £1M out of BB.
27-02-2008, 08:18 AM
He has tried to highlight there case as have many others, its unfair to blame him for them not getting any recognition.
He laid into a guy that was on fire having blew up a jeep and started attacking a policeman that was restraining him.
Is swearing not a part of everyday language, i think its wrong to think otherwise, its hardly taboo?
The guy is working in a job that probably pays not much more than minimum wage, fair play to him for making the most of it and enjoying what he has just now, we all know it wont last forever.
27-02-2008, 08:36 AM
Is it on BBC Iplayer? Hope so, as i'll watch it on that within the week.
FWIW i'd far rather that guy made some money from this than somebody from Big Brother. Those twins from the last series have made more than £1M out of BB.
It is on Iplayer, also the song hes recorded ( which is for charity ) is dire lol
bigstu
27-02-2008, 11:01 AM
I had been getting a bit sick of hearing about the guy but i've just watched the programme & he comes across as a nice down to earth guy so fair play to him :thumbsup: He can't sing though :bitchy:
27-02-2008, 11:58 AM
He has tried to highlight there case as have many others, its unfair to blame him for them not getting any recognition.
He laid into a guy that was on fire having blew up a jeep and started attacking a policeman that was restraining him.
Is swearing not a part of everyday language, i think its wrong to think otherwise, its hardly taboo?
The guy is working in a job that probably pays not much more than minimum wage, fair play to him for making the most of it and enjoying what he has just now, we all know it wont last forever.
My issue is not totally with Smeaton himself, like you say most in his situation would milk it. My issue is that a) others more/equally deserving are passed over b) the situation where he kicked the guy on fire.
If you consider that someone on fire is hardly likely to stand still while the police questiont them and at that point a jeep had crashed into the building.
All he knew was the guy was on fire, it could have been a totally innocent accident with the jeep. he said himself he came round the corner and saw the guy on fire and the policeman trying to grab him.
how many people in that situation would think 'terrorist attack lets take this guy down'? most would think '****, car crash'.
mibbie i was being picking with his language comments so we'll let that lie.
27-02-2008, 01:12 PM
I must admit that I was getting a bit sick of him and thought he was milking it. However, last nights program changed my opinion.
He is an ordinary guy who has continued with his every day, average job throughout the "mad year" he's had. He's even had to move back in with his parents (who seem very decent folk). He has used up all his holidays and has to take unpaid leave to attend the many functions and ceremonies. He also highlights at every opportunity that he was not the only one who got involved and also praises the emergency services.
Fair play to the guy, just goes to show that there are some decent Weedgies!:wink:
MUSSI LEE
27-02-2008, 01:24 PM
:brickwallsick of hearing about it
hibsboy90
27-02-2008, 01:37 PM
My issue is not totally with Smeaton himself, like you say most in his situation would milk it. My issue is that a) others more/equally deserving are passed over b) the situation where he kicked the guy on fire.
If you consider that someone on fire is hardly likely to stand still while the police questiont them and at that point a jeep had crashed into the building.
All he knew was the guy was on fire, it could have been a totally innocent accident with the jeep. he said himself he came round the corner and saw the guy on fire and the policeman trying to grab him.
how many people in that situation would think 'terrorist attack lets take this guy down'? most would think '****, car crash'.
mibbie i was being picking with his language comments so we'll let that lie.
But there are so many more cases of people much less deserving milking it, just think big brother.
27-02-2008, 01:45 PM
Seems to be an everyday Joe!
Good on him and good luck to him.
bigstu
27-02-2008, 02:35 PM
I must admit that I was getting a bit sick of him and thought he was milking it. However, last nights program changed my opinion.
He is an ordinary guy who has continued with his every day, average job throughout the "mad year" he's had. He's even had to move back in with his parents (who seem very decent folk). He has used up all his holidays and has to take unpaid leave to attend the many functions and ceremonies. He also highlights at every opportunity that he was not the only one who got involved and also praises the emergency services.
Fair play to the guy, just goes to show that there are some decent Weedgies!:wink:
27-02-2008, 05:56 PM
But there are so many more cases of people much less deserving milking it, just think big brother.
no arguement about that.
thekaratekid
27-02-2008, 06:24 PM
everything he said
Guys a racist erse and in no way constitutes a hero!!! Shame on anyone who thinks he is...it takes away all the good work of what a hero actually is...
John Smeaton...An everyday biggot racist!
27-02-2008, 07:16 PM
Guys a racist erse and in no way constitutes a hero!!! Shame on anyone who thinks he is...it takes away all the good work of what a hero actually is...
John Smeaton...An everyday biggot racist
Strong word's do you have any evidence to substantiate your accusations:cool2:
GreenandGlaikit
27-02-2008, 07:28 PM
Quite right :applause: Smeaton should've helped the Crispy-Fried Jihadist's kill scores o' nasty racist Glasgae kids waiting tae board their horrible fascist aeroplanes. :agree:
One thing puzzles me though. How are ye able tae type whilst wearing a straight-jaikit?
Imagine it must be quite difficult. :dunno:
27-02-2008, 07:30 PM
:bitchy:Substantiate that if you can. I suspect you can't.
Liam_c
27-02-2008, 08:55 PM
Quite possibly the most funniest, and stupidest thing ive ever heard.
Smeaton is brilliant, Normal guy, and even after all the fame he's still living life the same.
27-02-2008, 10:40 PM
and have a wee look at the panorama thread
admin.......really !
it can't just be me (no appriate smiley)
27-02-2008, 10:43 PM
and have a wee look at the panorama thread
admin.......really !
it can't just be me (no appriate smiley)
Not just you. :agree:
Apparently, John Smeaton should have shown compassion to the terrorist who tried to firebomb the airport, rather than kicking lumps out of him.
GTF, no terrorist deserves compassion, they deserve to die a very slow and painful death AND get the ***** kicked out of them at the same time.
Quite right :applause: Smeaton should've helped the Crispy-Fried Jihadist's kill scores o' nasty racist Glasgae kids waiting tae board their horrible fascist aeroplanes. :agree:
One thing puzzles me though. How are ye able tae type whilst wearing a straight-jaikit?
Imagine it must be quite difficult. :dunno:
You quite finished with your anti Islamic pro ignorance speech?
Firstly there has been no Jihad called by any senior cleric ANYWHERE in the world, NOWHERE! So there is NO holy war and noone has called it. Furthermore, Bin laden has over and over stated that he had NOTHING to do with 9/11.
Its all just a mass hysteria, organised, orchestrated and controlled by world elites to their own gain.
The guys who attempted to drive into the Glasgow airport are EXACTLY the same as the idiots who fall for the media brainwashed information, they are no different than the racist thugs that ran a car into a local corner store "in revenge" ...
:bitchy:Substantiate that if you can. I suspect you can't.
Did you not see at the time or are you suggesting that the public need continually spoon fed information as they are not capable of taking info in the first time round...it might not be there the second time when yo go looking for it ...
Quite possibly the most funniest, and stupidest thing ive ever heard.
Smeaton is brilliant, Normal guy, and even after all the fame he's still living life the same.
In the nicest possible way ... bolt ya nugget! And some say I talk nonsense.
Not just you. :agree:
Apparently, John Smeaton should have shown compassion to the terrorist who tried to firebomb the airport, rather than kicking lumps out of him.
GTF, no terrorist deserves compassion, they deserve to die a very slow and painful death AND get the ***** kicked out of them at the same time.
Just like Blair, Bush and their evil cabal ... the BIGGEST terrorists of them all!
29-02-2008, 01:00 PM
Riz, not like you to take the opposite view from everyone else and post some controversial opinions. :wink:
Please tell me, as I genuinely must have missed it. Why is he a racist?
Incidentally, I couldn't care who or why the terrorists chose the drive the burning car into Glasgow Airport, it could have been 'cos they spotted someone sporting a Hertz top for all I care. They were trying to murder inocent people so IMHO they deserved to given a right doing (and worse!!). I very much doubt those, such as Smeaton, who helped at the time even took the time to contemplate why they were doing it, they just did what they could to help the situation.
29-02-2008, 01:02 PM
In the nicest possible way ... bolt ya nugget! And some say I talk nonsense.
No need!
I used to quite enjoy your posts mate but I have to say you are now beggining to strike me as an attention seeker who has to be controversial at every opperchancity.
:yawn::yawn:
29-02-2008, 01:04 PM
Just like Blair, Bush and their evil cabal ... the BIGGEST terrorists of them all!
And finally something we agree on. :thumbsup:
Frazerbob.... firstly thanks for an honest and open reply/comment, not enough people like you on here.
In answer to what you said, I suppose Racist might be a push, but more so biggot. His assumption in interviews bouncing between "Asian" and "Terrorist", "Islam" and "Al-queda" .... He then made off the cut comments about "You can tell Bin Laden from me its not happening" as if old Tim Osaman is sitting in a mountain cave in Tora Borra directing a Scottish Al Queda to their target? Hmmm Now while Bin Laden (a CIA tactician, trained by the American Government for their own terrorist operations elsewhere in the globe), has NEVER claimed responsiblity for 9/11 or 7/7 .... IF it was some mass goal from this "made up" organisation, even if they didnt do the bobmings etc they would claim responsibility, they havent and never have ... yet we ALL think due to the media that they are to blame, thats why we jump to conclusions continually when things happen. This is the perfect goal of the cabal in control. Order from Chaos ... Problem, reaction, solution ....
No need!
I used to quite enjoy your posts mate but I have to say you are now beggining to strike me as an attention seeker who has to be controversial at every opperchancity.
:yawn::yawn:
Not true mate, when all subjects are connected and the same old same old opinions come out then I will come back and reply with the same response. I fully understand why people disagree, I fully expect them too. Noone is always going to agree on everything ... its the nature of the beast
29-02-2008, 01:17 PM
Frazerbob.... firstly thanks for an honest and open reply/comment, not enough people like you on here.
In answer to what you said, I suppose Racist might be a push, but more so biggot. His assumption in interviews bouncing between "Asian" and "Terrorist", "Islam" and "Al-queda" .... He then made off the cut comments about "You can tell Bin Laden from me its not happening" as if old Tim Osaman is sitting in a mountain cave in Tora Borra directing a Scottish Al Queda to their target? Hmmm Now while Bin Laden (a CIA tactician, trained by the American Government for their own terrorist operations elsewhere in the globe), has NEVER claimed responsiblity for 9/11 or 7/7 .... IF it was some mass goal from this "made up" organisation, even if they didnt do the bobmings etc they would claim responsibility, they havent and never have ... yet we ALL think due to the media that they are to blame, thats why we jump to conclusions continually when things happen. This is the perfect goal of the cabal in control. Order from Chaos ... Problem, reaction, solution ....
I never asked for your opinions on Bin Ladden, 9/11, 7/7 or any of the many conspiracy theories. I asked why you feel Smeaton is racist. What you have described IMO is the every day, average, not particularly well educated, working class man. As socialist voter you could say.:wink: Not a racist IMO.
As I alluded to above, no matter who they were or what their motives were, the "terrorists" deserved no help, assistance, sympathy or anything else. I'd love to think I'd have the balls to give it to them YLT style if I was in the same possition.
Sergio sledge
29-02-2008, 01:26 PM
"Smeato's" assumptions:
Asian - He'll have seen the guy close up while giving him a "dunt", so its fair to say he'd know if the guy looked to be of Asian origin or not.
Terrorist - The guy has just driven a jeep through the front of Glasgow airport, set it, and himself, on fire and tried to attack a policeman who went to help. Its a fair assumption IMHO.
Islam - Following on from the previous two, if these assumptions are already made, and the guy is a terrorist of Asian decent, then again I'd say it's a pretty fair to assume he's Muslim, as the majority of terrorists of Asian decent seem to be abusing Islam to their own ends. (Just to clarify, in no way am I saying all terrorists are Muslims, or all Muslims are terrorists, because they most certainly are not, and there are probably as many "Christian" terrorists as Muslim. Perhaps more.)
Al-Queda - It's not really his fault that the generally accepted concensus (whether true or not) is that Al-queda exists, and helps train and plan terrorist attacks in Britain. Again, if the three previous assumptions are made, then this seems like a fair logical follow on from them. Of course, perhaps Al-queda doesn't exist, but he's not a bigot for believing it does. Is he?
If this makes someone a bigot, then I'm genuinely concerned for myself, because it's quite likely I would have came to the same conclusions as Smeaton. Perhaps I wouldn't have shouted them all over the worlds press though. :wink:
29-02-2008, 02:36 PM
Did you not see at the time or are you suggesting that the public need continually spoon fed information as they are not capable of taking info in the first time round...it might not be there the second time when yo go looking for it ...
A simple, ''No I can't substantiate it'' would have done.
I never asked for your opinions on Bin Ladden, 9/11, 7/7 or any of the many conspiracy theories.
what of any of a said was a theory, or indeed a conspiracy. None of it is, NONE. Im not going to get into what Conspiracy theories are or what ones are connected with them as its been done to death, BUT WHAT I MENTIONED WAS FACT, there was no and is no argument on that and can be none as its fact.
And yes Smeaton is massively ignorant and under educated hence what he has said, but what he has said an implied stinks of racism, as I said earlier, he may not be aware that thats what it is, however it is racist.
As for the idiots at the airport, let me repeat, they were idiots, brainwashed idiots from the other side of the arguement, just as bad as those that believe 100% in what the Sun newspaper says, furthermore he took the Sun's (Murdochs) money, this is again another ignorant stupid thing to do which made me lose ANY bit of respect I did have for his actions, not him or what he said, his actions.
I fully expect people to say "why cant a working class man make money when he is only trying to better his life?" That would be a valid arguement IF it wasent Rupert Murdcoh we are talking about ... thats like saying (in my opinion and Im entitled to it!) that its ok to be a house Negro in this case! For me its the same arguement.
A simple, ''No I can't substantiate it'' would have done.
A simple, ''No I can't substantiate it'' would not cover the subject and point well enough, would not explain the reason why and would not put the point across in the slightest mate.
I am in doubt doubt Smeato will let it slip again and will continue to do so.
The fact reamins he is no hero ... but hey ones mans hero and all that ....
29-02-2008, 03:05 PM
A simple, ''No I can't substantiate it'' would not cover the subject and point well enough, would not explain the reason why and would not put the point across in the slightest mate.
I am in doubt doubt Smeato will let it slip again and will continue to do so.
The fact reamins he is no hero ... but hey ones mans hero and all that ....
I and a few others on the board think it's about time you put up or shut up:dummytit: you have shown no evidence in any of your rants to back up your rambling's :bye:
I dont need to justify ANYTHING to you or anyone else here, if you cant see the wood for the trees thats your problem, I am not going to constantly repeat myself and say the same information about the media (something you should be all to aware about) its quite simple, you only need to read his comments for yourself, they are full of pot holes, if you cant see the remarks and the issues he ignorantly implies then thats up to you. If you chose to to agree with me then fine, it doesnt make me anymore wrong... put up or shut up? It wouldnt be a good forum if all adapted that opinion?!
He is a biggot and a racist and is in no way a scottish hero, thats my opinion. Its not yours, so what?! You can praise him all you like, just dont expect others to agree as I dont expect everyone to agree with me.
29-02-2008, 03:28 PM
I dont need to justify ANYTHING to you or anyone else here, if you cant see the wood for the trees thats your problem, I am not going to constantly repeat myself and say the same information about the media (something you should be all to aware about) its quite simple, you only need to read his comments for yourself, they are full of pot holes, if you cant see the remarks and the issues he ignorantly implies then thats up to you. If you chose to to agree with me then fine, it doesnt make me anymore wrong... put up or shut up? It wouldnt be a good forum if all adapted that opinion?!
He is a biggot and a racist and is in no way a scottish hero, thats my opinion. Its not yours, so what?! You can praise him all you like, just dont expect others to agree as I dont expect everyone to agree with me.
Those who live by the opposties are supposed to in order to keep those others in check :wink:
29-02-2008, 09:36 PM
He is a biggot and a racist and is in no way a scottish hero,Never ever here me call him a hero
thats my opinion. Its not yours, so what?! You can praise him all you like, just dont expect others to agree as I dont expect everyone to agree with me.I do not think you will find many people agreeing with you:wink:
But hey ho just my opinion :greengrin
GreenandGlaikit
01-03-2008, 10:06 AM
You quite finished with your anti Islamic pro ignorance speech?
Firstly there has been no Jihad called by any senior cleric ANYWHERE in the world, NOWHERE! So there is NO holy war and noone has called it. Furthermore, Bin laden has over and over stated that he had NOTHING to do with 9/11.
Its all just a mass hysteria, organised, orchestrated and controlled by world elites to their own gain.
The guys who attempted to drive into the Glasgow airport are EXACTLY the same as the idiots who fall for the media brainwashed information, they are no different than the racist thugs that ran a car into a local corner store "in revenge" ...
:roflmao: :faf: :roflmao:
Plus, whae gies a damn if some delusional "senior cleric" :yawn: believing in imaginary pixies in the sky 'officially' declared a "Jihad" .
The fact is, many Islamo-Fascist murderers call themsels "Jihadist" and some in the Airport attack were indeed "Crispy-Fried" through self-immolation. :thumbsup:
Ma preferred alternate name though is - "raving-fe*king-lunatics".:bye:
I do not think you will find many people agreeing with you:wink:
But hey ho just my opinion :greengrin
Not on this board, but then I have been warned about you snobs :wink: