View Full Version : Safe car parking at Ibrox

26-02-2008, 03:19 PM
I am considering going to Ibrox for the cup replay and this will be my first time at the ground.

So with that in mind I have no idea where to SAFELY park near the stadium.

I would just like a wee bit of feedback off anyone who has been to Ibrox in the car and just to let me know where they usually park.

I will have a wheelchair so please bear this in mind before suggesting somewhere that is 5 miles away. :greengrin

Other than that, any ideas at all would be most welcome as I would really like to go to the game since we're getting the whole stand for a change. However, I won't be going if I can't guarantee the safety of the car whilst it is parked outside.

Cheers in advance folks. :aok:

26-02-2008, 03:27 PM
There are lots of carparks (official and unofficial) at the broamloan end (our end) of the ground, ranging between £3-10. There is also street parking available put that could be a 5 minute walk (?). I've parked on the streets a few times (with my Hibs airfresher/stickers on show) and it has been fine, Although I don't think its advisable to leave colours on your motor, we just forgot to take them off. :greengrin

Get onto Rangers, as your in a wheelchair you may get a disabled parking space nearer the stadium.

GreenandGlaikit
26-02-2008, 03:27 PM
Their Away Fans Car Park is actually right beside the away stand (100 yards?). The bad news its £7.00 ! :eek: ( last time we played there in the SC)

the_ginger_hibee
26-02-2008, 03:28 PM
Right outside the stadium mate, where the coaches park. Away car park only and its got a few Rock Steady's at the front so your cars safe :thumbsup: Cost a couple of quid to get in but its less than 30seconds away from the away entrance

26-02-2008, 03:30 PM
I am considering going to Ibrox for the cup replay and this will be my first time at the ground.

I would just like a wee bit of feedback off anyone who has been to Ibrox in the car and just to let me know where they usually park.

I will have a wheelchair so please bear this in mind before suggesting somewhere that is 5 miles away. :greengrin

Other than that, any ideas at all would be most welcome as I would really like to go to the game since we're getting the whole stand for a change. However, I won't be going if I can't guarantee the safety of the car whilst it is parked outside.

Cheers in advance folks. :aok:.

theres a car park diagonaly(sp) across the road from the broomloan end young man :agree: just take the slip-road for sunny go van on the M8, turn right, over the flyover and couple of hundred yards down on the left-hand side :greengrin

you might even see oor janiceyeomanfunnyname standing on the corner selling UJ's :greengrin

26-02-2008, 03:38 PM
Cheers for all those replies, just what I was looking for. :thumbsup:

I knew there was a car park and it cost £7 to get into it but I heard that from Rangers fans so I just assumed that it was for the use of home fans only.

If there's a parking area exclusively for away fans then that will do just nicely.

BigKev
26-02-2008, 03:56 PM
Cheers for all those replies, just what I was looking for. :thumbsup:

I knew there was a car park and it cost £7 to get into it but I heard that from Rangers fans so I just assumed that it was for the use of home fans only.

If there's a parking area exclusively for away fans then that will do just nicely.

Might want to check with der huns beforehand about parking with there being a bigger Hibs support than normal heading through.

Better off taking the train then the tube IMO :agree:

26-02-2008, 04:01 PM
Might want to check with der huns beforehand about parking with there being a bigger Hibs support than normal heading through.

:agree: I will be giving them a call tomorrow to make sure of arrangements.

PC Stamp
26-02-2008, 04:21 PM

Maybe not the easiest option with a wheelchair?

26-02-2008, 04:52 PM
Maybe not the easiest option with a wheelchair?

Yeah, there aren't lifts down to the underground, only escalators, hardly fun if you've got to get a wheelchair onto a tube full of huns doing 'the bouncy'

hibb1
26-02-2008, 05:36 PM

Dont think the tube runs on Sundays,Ahm mibbies wrong but i seem to mind a drunken taxi ride a few years back as the tubes dont run sundays..

MurphDogg
26-02-2008, 06:07 PM
I find Edinburgh is the best place to park when heading to the west!

26-02-2008, 08:03 PM

Parked there no problem the last time we were on SC duty but would get there plenty early just in case. :agree:

26-02-2008, 08:10 PM
I have always grudgingly went to the official visitors car park and forked out the 7 notes. Pretty annoying when all the official "home" car parks charge £2 or so.

At least the visitors car park is enclosed and has a presence of stewards plus police on the gate, and although you have to wait till everyone is back on the buses/cars, the police have all the traffic lights off and you are escorted back onto M8 sharpish.

Bar a minor missile throwing incident about 5 years ago, never had any problems in the car park.

27-02-2008, 11:57 AM
Dont think the tube runs on Sundays,Ahm mibbies wrong but i seem to mind a drunken taxi ride a few years back as the tubes dont run sundays..

The subway does run on a Sunday but stops at 6pm. 8 min frequency and basically you can go either way to Ibrox to get there from Glasgow centre (Buchanan Street ??) as both about the same length of time. Could be interesting if the game goes to extra time.

http://www.spt.co.uk/subway/times.html#first

27-02-2008, 01:01 PM
There's always a group of nice little boys who will 'look after' your car for you. Don't ignore them and say you've got an alsatian dog looking after it 'cos they'll tell you that 'alsatian dugs cannae pit oot fires, mister.' :greengrin

27-02-2008, 04:29 PM
Cheers for all the replies, folks.

Unfortunately it looks as if I won't be going though as all wheelchair spaces have been taken. I've been added to the cancellation waiting list but i'm not holding out much hope. :boo hoo:

4crichards
27-02-2008, 04:31 PM
there is a good place at asda but u just get the wee eeejits askin "can i watch your car mr" :yawn: but no its usually ok your cars in one peice no bother :wink:

27-02-2008, 04:50 PM
We normally park in the 7 quid car park right across from the ground but for the cup match a friendly local "watched" the car just a bit further along the road (think it was a small industrial park) for a measly 3quid:faint:

03-10-2009, 10:45 PM
Just thought I would bring back this thread from last year, rather than start a new thread.

Is all of the above info re a designated away fans car park at Ibrox, still the case?

I'm thinking of going to Ibrox in a few weeks but I really need absolute assurance that there will be a safe place to leave the car.

As I wasn't able to get tickets the last time, this would be my first time at Ibrox so I just want to be 100% sure about everything before I make any arrangements to go.

Cheers.

03-10-2009, 10:50 PM
Yes, official away car park still the safe option.

Barely 150 yards from carpark to turnstile, and well stewarded and policed. A large car park and can comfortably house all the travelling Hibs fans even if we were to sell our allocation.

Hibs Spain
03-10-2009, 11:02 PM
Just thought I would bring back this thread from last year, rather than start a new thread.

Is all of the above info re a designated away fans car park at Ibrox, still the case?

I'm thinking of going to Ibrox in a few weeks but I really need absolute assurance that there will be a safe place to leave the car.

As I wasn't able to get tickets the last time, this would be my first time at Ibrox so I just want to be 100% sure about everything before I make any arrangements to go.

Cheers.The big official car park is a couple of hundred yards away but there are a few even nearer behind our end. They seem to be spaces in builder's yards,coaches use them but can take forever to get out of after the game.:agree:

03-10-2009, 11:21 PM
Safe car , parking (http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_xRFNBWST25E/SW5xzYu42xI/AAAAAAAAC1o/y-iyTq9Wfcc/s400/pink+fat+art+car.jpg) !

I'll get my coat:greengrin

03-10-2009, 11:31 PM
Cheers, just the info that I was looking for. :thumbsup:

Hopefully I can get tickets now as I'm looking forward to this game. I really think we could give them a good game.

I'll give the ticket office a bell on Monday.

I take it you don't have to pre-book anything and it's just on a first-come, first-served basis and you just pay on arrival?

04-10-2009, 02:54 AM

Cheers.

I always parked in the car park that is about 20 yards further on from the official one - never had any problems, including when we pumped them 3-0 (Ivan Sproule).

04-10-2009, 07:50 AM
Ah'll watch yer car fur a pound mister!

04-10-2009, 08:24 AM
I take it you don't have to pre-book anything and it's just on a first-come, first-served basis and you just pay on arrival?

Most visiting fans will be in the official visitors car park, and it will not be full up. Only downside is having to stump up £7, which is profiteering at it`s worst, and simply Rangers taking advantage of the fact that visiting fans will be prepared to pay that for piece of mind that their car is safe. All the buses will be in there too, and after the game, you will have to wait 10-15 mins till everyone is back, and the police will shut off all the lights and will empty the car park sharpish and get everyone back onto the M8.

Jay
04-10-2009, 08:29 AM
Falkirk If you contact Hibs they will tell you the facitilies for disabled fans parking. I dont know about Ibrox in particular but I think they all have to have some sort of facilities, some you have to reserve in advance but places like falkirk you just roll up and show your badge.Even in the car parks you have to pay for my dad got in free with his badge.

04-10-2009, 08:37 AM
Safe parking in Glasgow:faf:

I can always rely on Hibs.net to provide the laughs:greengrin:duck:

04-10-2009, 12:17 PM
I always go up to the left past that boozer that looks like a secure unit and park in the streets near the maccy dees. I don't leave anything in the car that would make it look like I am there for the footie. Also, when driving home, I have found that driving back down towards the ground, you getb waived through quite quickly and it is the cars in the park that get held up. Whether it is running or not, I would not go anywhere near the tube.:bitchy:

05-10-2009, 11:05 AM
I phoned up this morning and I got tickets for the match. :thumbsup:

I'm really looking forward to this one.

Most visiting fans will be in the official visitors car park, and it will not be full up. Only downside is having to stump up £7, which is profiteering at it`s worst, and simply Rangers taking advantage of the fact that visiting fans will be prepared to pay that for piece of mind that their car is safe. All the buses will be in there too, and after the game, you will have to wait 10-15 mins till everyone is back, and the police will shut off all the lights and will empty the car park sharpish and get everyone back onto the M8.

:agree: You're right, it is taking advantage on Rangers' part, but I'm prepared to pay the £7 if it ensures that I won't return after the match to find the car hubcapless and windowless etc etc.

Falkirk If you contact Hibs they will tell you the facitilies for disabled fans parking. I dont know about Ibrox in particular but I think they all have to have some sort of facilities, some you have to reserve in advance but places like falkirk you just roll up and show your badge.Even in the car parks you have to pay for my dad got in free with his badge.

When I phoned this morning, I forgot to ask about disabled parking but I'm sure you're right in that they will have reserved spaces for blue badge holders in that away fans car park. Maybe I will get to park for nothing with the badge but as I've said to Carheenlea above, if I do have to pay the £7, it will be worth it for the peace of mind.

cwilliamson85
05-10-2009, 11:53 AM

Cheers in advance folks. :aok:

If you contact rangers tey will give youa space in the carpark at the ground. Also give you an usher in the ground. Say what you like about the ugly sisters but they take care of the disabled supporters.

hibs1875aye
05-10-2009, 11:57 AM
After using their carpark, best take a shower. You're guaranteed to feel dirty :greengrin

05-10-2009, 12:24 PM
Note sure how safe your car will be..........

ah .....remember ..........a rag and bone man walked into a tenement close in Ibrox one day. When he came out ......... his horse was up on bricks. !

I thenk yohh !

05-10-2009, 12:51 PM

Cheers.

Grahamston Station :wink: in Meeks Road, or you could park outside my old house in Russell Street :greengrin

05-10-2009, 05:56 PM
After using their carpark, best take a shower. You're guaranteed to feel dirty :greengrin

Why go to Govan for that? I know a woman in Salamander Street who will {BLANK} OR {BLANKS} for half the price!

05-10-2009, 07:34 PM
When you come off the motorway and cross the bridge, down towards the stadium, you'll pass the KFC/Pizza Hut on your left hand side - turn left (away from Ibrox) onto the double laned road - if there's a space, you can park on either side of the carriageway (there are turning spaces in the middle of the road if you need to cross).

You will get the "couple of quid to watch yer car" chaps, but to be fair, it's cheaper and just as safe as the "official" car parks.

My in-laws are season ticket holders at Ibrox and park there all the time - I've been with them on quite a few occassions, and you see both home and away fans parking here without issue.

06-10-2009, 10:05 PM
I phoned up this morning and I got tickets for the match. :thumbsup:

I'm really looking forward to this one.

:agree: You're right, it is taking advantage on Rangers' part, but I'm prepared to pay the £7 if it ensures that I won't return after the match to find the car hubcapless and windowless etc etc.

When I phoned this morning, I forgot to ask about disabled parking but I'm sure you're right in that they will have reserved spaces for blue badge holders in that away fans car park. Maybe I will get to park for nothing with the badge but as I've said to Carheenlea above, if I do have to pay the £7, it will be worth it for the peace of mind.

Not 100% on this but pretty sure there is no facility for disabled parking for away fans.
Last time we were there, we just had to park in the away fans car park, luckily we were quite early so near the front but don't remember there being spaces left for disabled parking even there!

But I may be wrong.