View Full Version : Ross Kemp in Afghanistan
RoslinInstHibby
22-02-2008, 03:43 PM
just watched the last episode last night, what a great series. Showed just how tough it is for our troops over there. :agree:
anyone else watch it?
The troops that shouldnt be there! I would have watched it if that tube got beheaded at the end!
And those red coat hanovarian's sure as hell aint nothing to do with me, or "our" boys. Poor undereducated, underpaid cannon fodder to the bourgeoisie maybe... and all they wanted was an HGV license eh? Poor brainwashed sods. Bring them home!
fiolex1
22-02-2008, 05:08 PM
I agree the troops shoudn't be there, but they are and we should fully support our boys.
The programme let us see the day to day lifes of these underpaid, under equipped guys, and the conditions they have to put up with.
All the guys were definitely a band of brothers
I was glued to all of the episodes
23-02-2008, 11:18 PM
The troops that shouldnt be there! I would have watched it if that tube got beheaded at the end!
And those red coat hanovarian's sure as hell aint nothing to do with me, or "our" boys. Poor undereducated, underpaid cannon fodder to the bourgeoisie maybe... and all they wanted was an HGV license eh? Poor brainwashed sods. Bring them home!
and you are clearly one sick person :bye:
:yawn:
the show wasnt even about all that pish.
it was about how the troops dealt with the difficult circumstances they are in.
24-02-2008, 09:39 AM
I agree the troops shoudn't be there, but they are and we should fully support our boys.
The programme let us see the day to day lifes of these underpaid, under equipped guys, and the conditions they have to put up with.
All the guys were definitely a band of brothers
I was glued to all of the episodes
Dont be silly if riz says they are poor brainwashed sods they must be :bitchy:
Hibbychick
24-02-2008, 09:55 AM
I haven't seen the Ross Kemp programme but would just like to say welcome home to all the guys from 6 SCOTS (TA) who returned from Afghanistan last night. :not worth:applause:
GreenandGlaikit
24-02-2008, 06:08 PM
Showing yer contempt fir ordinary working folk again. Seems yer last 'apology' wis perjurious. :wink:
majorhibs
24-02-2008, 06:35 PM
red coat hanoverians? their most likely not that or anything else you would care to describe them with.. what they are mate is a bunch of individuals, & in my opinion around 95 % of them are likely to be a lot better company to go out for a pint with than a stuck up their own backside buffoon like yourself.
Perhaps in future you can keep your highbrow thoughts where they would be appreciated, & leave the rest of us working class people to work out how to reach the status you employ without bringing much more ridicule from you & the elite upon us, while we go around looking for our hgv´s.
24-02-2008, 07:59 PM
red coat hanoverians? their most likely not that or anything else you would care to describe them with.. what they are mate is a bunch of individuals, & in my opinion around 95 % of them are likely to be a lot better company to go out for a pint with than a stuck up their own backside buffoon like yourself.
Perhaps in future you can keep your highbrow thoughts where they would be appreciated, & leave the rest of us working class people to work out how to reach the status you employ without bringing much more ridicule from you & the elite upon us, while we go around looking for our hgv´s.
i dont think the thought that a lot of people will have friends or family out there even entered his stuck up mind
I did and I dont give a rats ass for your friends or family if they are squaddies! END OF, I care not for you or your opinions... your the enemy and so are they, quite simple. Your brainwashed flag waving fools.
How can it be stuck up if your sticking by your guns?
i know people who have fought and died in Afghanistan. My veiws are unwavering and unchanged ... Im aware of who the real enemy is
Quality post :top marks
I haven't seen the Ross Kemp programme but would just like to say welcome home to all the guys from 6 SCOTS (TA) who returned from Afghanistan last night. :not worth:applause:
:agree: Welcome home guys :thumbsup:
I think your missing the point. The point is I am not seeking your approval, I dont want it, I dont need it and I dont welcome it.
I know people who have served in Afghanistan and I know of people who have died in Iraq. But the fact is they joined the army, what did they expect to happen. If you sign up for cannon fodder then thats whats going to happen.
Again I come back to my point, most of these children being sent to war, I say children cos thats what they are, are being sent to thier deaths under equipped and under educated.
The British army are the decedents or Red coats and as a scots patriot I must have no pitty for them. As they are my fellow countrymen then I wish them peace and awareness. I hope they wake up and put down thier guns and come home. I hope they leave the army and leave countries that dont want them there.
Furthermore, Id appreciate being allowed to have my own opinion and respected for it. It may not be the same opinion as yours but its mine all the same, unchanging, unbending and impenetrable.
I think your missing the point. The point is I am not seeking your approval, I dont want it, I dont need it and I dont welcome it.
I know people who have served in Afghanistan and I know of people who have died in Iraq. But the fact is they joined the army, what did they expect to happen. If you sign up for cannon fodder then thats whats going to happen.
Again I come back to my point, most of these children being sent to war, I say children cos thats what they are, are being sent to thier deaths under equipped and under educated.
The British army are the decedents or Red coats and as a scots patriot I must have no pitty for them. As they are my fellow countrymen then I wish them peace and awareness. I hope they wake up and put down thier guns and come home. I hope they leave the army and leave countries that dont want them there.
Furthermore, Id appreciate being allowed to have my own opinion and respected for it. It may not be the same opinion as yours but its mine all the same, unchanging, unbending and impenetrable.
That works both ways Riz - maybe its about time you respected us who think differently from you :whistle:
...Im not the one who started swearing AND I still stand by my points. You can have your opinion and when someone questions them you have to do a little bit better than just swearing. Whats the point of a forum if we dont debate things?
24-02-2008, 09:57 PM
I did and I dont give a rats ass for your friends or family if they are squaddies! END OF, I care not for you or your opinions... your the enemy and so are they, quite simple. Your brainwashed flag waving fools.
now now citizen riz :confused: practise this quote from yourself http://www.hibs.net/message/showpost.php?p=1516312&postcount=47 :dunno: you really are your own worst enemy :agree: one minute you ask for debate....then when someone doesn't agree with YOUR opinions you go off on one :dunno:
...Im not the one who started swearing AND I still stand by my points. You can have your opinion and when someone questions them you have to do a little bit better than just swearing. Whats the point of a forum if we dont debate things?
Show me Riz in this thread where I have swore in my posts - haven't used a swear word at all - if we are going to debate things then you have to accept that people are going to think differently from you and, when they do, get off your highhorse and stop being arrogant and aggressive :agree:
One im not being arrogant, two, Im not on a high horse and three when I was talking about swearing I wasent talking about you ... now who's being arrogant?
Also, why am I being called "citizen Riz" ? I take it its some sort of Tommy Sheridan jibe?
One im not being arrogant, two, Im not on a high horse and three when I was talking about swearing I wasent talking about you ... now who's being arrogant?
Also, why am I being called "citizen Riz" ? I take it its some sort of Tommy Sheridan jibe?
If you are not talking about me regarding swearing, why did you quote my post to make your point about it - believe me, you are no citizen if you continue to be arrogant and aggressive towards those on here who think differently from you. Your post quoted here is a shining example of the aggressive attitude you have - its not what you say, but HOW you say it :agree:
aye very good.... its not what you typed, its how you typed it, ie with one of my pinkies up my hole :bye:
And why are you now referring to "citizen", quite frankly a shining example that you dont read threads properly.
aye very good.... its not what you typed, its how you typed it, ie with one of my pinkies up my hole :bye:
And why are you now referring to "citizen", quite frankly a shining example that you dont read threads properly.
you called yourself "citizen Riz" in the post I quoted :greengrin
Are you quite sure of that?
Are you quite sure of that?:bye: End of :agree:
Superb response ... not! Exactly how does writing "end of" actually be any sort of coherent answer? And you say IM ARROGANT?!!
For the benefit of those who cant read I asked why I was being called "citizen Riz"? is it because of my ties with Tommy? ***NOTE AGAIN*** I never called myself "citizen Riz" I suppose its probably the way I wrote it, or said it or something equally as utterly insane.
... again proves my point about the onesided, one dimesional views of people ... any I believe your also swore in your post? Read the rules little boy.
Just cos you have no knowledge or awareness to the world around you, politically, socially, spiritually and economically doesnt mean that we all have to join in ... I guess thats why you swore as you couldnt quite find the proper words to eloquently put your view across ....
24-02-2008, 10:36 PM
And why are you now referring to "citizen", quite frankly a shining example that you dont read threads properly..
it's ME that refers to you as "citizen riz" ermmmm citizen riz :greengrin it's much more polite than what that nasty other "citizen" called me on another thread :boo hoo:(who just happens to be my very first hibs.net "meet my iggy button" person :boo hoo:) anyways.........wotcha saying :cool2::greengrin
Yeh mate, I know it was you calling me citizen, I was just asking why?...that was before it was hijacked and ended up being asked why I would refer to myself as citizen, which I never...as you know. :agree:
alex plode
24-02-2008, 10:52 PM
Nothing like Grant Mitchell in Afghanistan to get the patriotic blood boiling :coolhib:
lol
Superb response ... not! Exactly how does writing "end of" actually be any sort of coherent answer? And you say IM ARROGANT?!!
For the benefit of those who cant read I asked why I was being called "citizen Riz"? is it because of my ties with Tommy? ***NOTE AGAIN*** I never called myself "citizen Riz" I suppose its probably the way I wrote it, or said it or something equally as utterly insane.
yes, I did misread it, my mistake and not ashamed to admit it. :wink:
I say that you are arrogant and aggressive because:
1 - you are so quick to point out others mistakes and are aggressive
when doing so. And,
2 - You have a cheek to point out that others have not read things
properly and thereafter use irrelevant posts to justify your argument,
like you did with mine regarding swearing, you do not publicly admit
you have done so and admit you have made a mistake - that is
arrogance in a nutshell :agree:
TPAKA
24-02-2008, 10:56 PM
... again proves my point about the onesided, one dimesional views of people ... any I believe your also swore in your post? Read the rules little boy.
Just cos you have no knowledge or awareness to the world around you, politically, socially, spiritually and economically doesnt mean that we all have to join in ... I guess thats why you swore as you couldnt quite find the proper words to eloquently put your view across ....
Riz, just my take on things mate but the above highlighted in bold. In the former bold, you state that you'd appreciate being able to have your own view & respected for it.
In the latter highlighted bold you just seem to, IMHO, give no respect to any of the others that you've replied. You don't give a rats ass, make assumptions, again IMHO, about linkage with Tommy Sheridan, then continue to dish out abuse. You also swear in equal measure to "eloquently" put your point across.
I agree you should be allowed to debate, but if you are, perhaps try in what some may perceive as slightly less arrogant manner & others may react accordingly.
Just my opinion mate. :agree:
yes, I did misread it, my mistake and not ashamed to admit it. :wink:
I say that you are arrogant and aggressive because:
1 - you are so quick to point out others mistakes and are aggressive
when doing so. And,
2 - You have a cheek to point out that others have not read things
properly and thereafter use irrelevant posts to justify your argument,
like you did with mine regarding swearing, you do not publicly admit
you have done so and admit you have made a mistake - that is
arrogance in a nutshell :agree:
well in that case I apologise if my opinion comes across that way. And I thank you for your apology also.
Riz, just my take on things mate but the above highlighted in bold. In the former bold, you state that you'd appreciate being able to have your own view & respected for it.
In the latter highlighted bold you just seem to, IMHO, give no respect to any of the others that you've replied. You don't give a rats ass, make assumptions, again IMHO, about linkage with Tommy Sheridan, then continue to dish out abuse. You also swear in equal measure to "eloquently" put your point across.
I agree you should be allowed to debate, but if you are, perhaps try in what some may perceive as slightly less arrogant manner & others may react accordingly.
Well put TPAKA - its exactly the point I am making to him myself :agree:
For what its worth I agree with you, but its hard to keep a calm head when all around are giving you abuse. Also, I never started abusively leaving people messages etc....and swearing into the bargin
well in that case I apologise if my opinion comes across that way. And I thank you for your apology also.
No probs Riz - apologies accepted :greengrin
TPAKA
24-02-2008, 11:09 PM
For what its worth I agree with you, but its hard to keep a calm head when all around are giving you abuse. Also, I never started abusively leaving people messages etc....and swearing into the bargin
I agree it's hard to keep a calm head. Take for example some of the stuff I've read about family members on here. Granted, I've swore too in threads/debates, but it does no-one any favours when they start to react in a similar manner. Especially if you're the one trying to put the point across about debating sensibly etc.
Again, not trying to lecture you or anything bud, just my view on this thread & your reactions to some points made. I simply feel you could sometimes put them across less aggresively & with more thought to others opinions as you'd like for yours.
point taken ..... but God I HATE squaddies! :wink:
TPAKA
24-02-2008, 11:16 PM
It's Yams for me. :wink:
Crossgates Hibs
24-02-2008, 11:18 PM
Forgive my swearing soft as it was. It does make my blood boil as a serviceman who is prepared to make the ultimate sacrifice have to hear opinions such as yours and the assumptions that we only join for a license. I have been serving over 20 years and have strong opinions on what the goverment is asking from the armed services. However we do our job and the goverment theirs.
I have no wish to debate with you as your ideal world is miles away from mine. You can live your fantasy and preach your ideals i will continue to live in the real world and hope that nobody who has lost a close relative etc has had to read your views about our troops.
Your troops, not ours, your government, not mine, and they dont do thier job. And you dont wish to debate with me cos theres nothing to debate with you. Your a squaddie and I am your enemy. I live in the real word, you do what your boss tells you to do, cannon fodder to the bourgeoisie... and what of the lifes of those from Iraq and Afghanistan (who by the way dont want to live in your world, but you ignorantly enforce it on them?). I know whos side Im on and its not your red white and blue anyway!
24-02-2008, 11:33 PM
Since this thread was actually about ross kemp in afghanistan, i have just finished watching the episodes of this and it was good to watch. Its not about any of the crap your all debating about its about the people and how they are affected by what they do.
Its a horrible job, i dont agree with the war but im not going to just go on a rant and fire abuse about like some.
People join the army for various reasons, they arent all "brainwashed sods" and neither is anyone who has a different opinion from you riz, we are all individuals and free to think and believe what we want arent we?
The world as a whole is generally completely messed up, war to me seems to be part of human nature unfortunately, it was here long before this generation and itll be around long after we are gone. The human race will ultimately destroy itself.
Hank Schrader
24-02-2008, 11:34 PM
Since this thread was actually about ross kemp in afghanistan, i have just finished watching the episodes of this and it was good to watch. Its not about any of the crap your all debating about its about the people and how they are affected by what they do.
Its a horrible job, i dont agree with the war but im not going to just go on a rant and fire abuse about like some.
People join the army for various reasons, they arent all "brainwashed sods" and neither is anyone who has a different opinion from you riz, we are all individuals and free to think and believe what we want arent we?
The world as a whole is generally completely messed up, war to me seems to be part of human nature unfortunately, it was here long before this generation and itll be around long after we are gone. The human race will ultimately destroy itself.
Crossgates Hibs
24-02-2008, 11:40 PM
Your troops, not ours, your government, not mine, and they dont do thier job. And you dont wish to debate with me cos theres nothing to debate with you. Your a squaddie and I am your enemy. I live in the real word, you do what your boss tells you to do, cannon fodder to the bourgeoisie... and what of the lifes of those from Iraq and Afghanistan (who by the way dont want to live in your world, but you ignorantly enforce it on them?). I know whos side Im on and its not your red white and blue anyway!
Ha ha you are so up yourself. Riz the freedom fighter the enemy of the state. Yes i do as my boss tells me as most people with a job do. Have you a job in the real world or your world. Your not my enemy your just full of your own self importance who likes to get a reaction by spouting rubbish and then basking in the attention. Anyway you could start a fight in an empty hoose so I will go to bed now as i have WORK in the morning. Dont bother to reply as i wont be viewing this thread again as i cant be doing with your opinions or giving you a platform to shout them from.:bye:
EVERY SUPPORT HAS THEIR SHARE OF THEM.:agree:
Dont I just know it ...
And I work for myself. I am my own boss, best way to be really. And when your quite finnished with the old tag of "self importance" thats true, its because of the job I do and I am more than happy with that. However, if you truelly knew me you would know that the most important thing to me is OTHER people. Some may listen, some may not. I do alot for charity and I do alot for my local community and globally. If this then makes me look like Im up myself then so be it! Im happy that you want to get at me for this, shows I must be doing some good. And YES I am an enemy of the state and proud of it...paranoid? No Im not and I have been threatened with an ASBO and arrested twice by facist pigs under terrorism charges (released both times as there was nothing to go on other than what I said on stage). There are more like me than you may care to believe.
25-02-2008, 01:17 AM
shockerooni http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/americas/7261204.stm :whistle:
also an interesting quote from a cuban exile http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/americas/7252937.stm
"
It is, though, a significant step towards where we as exiles would like to see Cuba - a democracy with freedom of speech and liberty.
But it will not be fully achieved - and I will not be able to return - until he dies.
and another quote
Life in Cuba is completely controlled by the repressive organs of government.
If perhaps news of Castro's death had spread a few months ago, there might have been demonstrations which could have toppled the government.
Meanwhile, the public image of the dictator as leader of the masses continues to be manipulated through his supposed writings under his name, published in the official paper Granma, organ of the only legal political party on the island.
obviously these are just quotes from two different people:agree: i just honestly fail to see what your fascination and adulation for your comrades that control cuba is citizen riz ? and dont take my genuine intrigue as abuse btw :wink:
Ok cabbageandribs ... In order to answer your question you need to look at the larger picture. I support Fidel but not blindly. Sure there are things he has done I dont agree with. Noones perfect and noone can or should claim to be or indeed expect anyone else to be.
I beleive that for the most part he has done well for the people of Cuba. The lower classes yes, the upper classes no. No mater who you are you cant please everyone, you will get support from some quarters and derision from another. I like the fact that Fidel has given Cuba the best health service AND the best education system in the whole continent of the Americas. All this despite being in a "cold war" situation with America and the west.
I think he has suffered alot of bad press, one sided press and STILL maintained his ethos for the people and the progression of the country. All this time the country has endured embargo's and is in a constant state of high alert while being technically "at war". He has also given a safe haven to oppressed people around the world from the West, many of which have came from the Black Panther Party. This is why I support him and people like him...that and he's not American lol.
Now to the subject of the Squaddies etc. I realise that my words will be met with furry by many, thats the nature of the beast. I am a supporter of my people, I support the man on the street and it is this very support that leads me to be against the British Army, its recruitment drives and its training as well as the actual job itself. I have a massive dislike to the emblems worn by the unwitting soldiers, many of Freemason origin, The Chevron ensemble etc, all very cloak and dagger and basically outlining perfectly the system in which we live in, which is a thus and them, a whats mines is mines and whats yours is mines. I dont want to live in that world and I dont want me children or my childrens, children to either. I doubt there is anyone who will disagree with me on that.
Now I see the army outside Schools and job centres, preying on the weak and ill informed. The areas that you see their vans in most notably in Glasgow are around lower class areas, working class areas such as Castlemilk, Sighthill, Riddrie, Drumchapel, this is very very wrong. You dont see them in Newton Mearns or Milngavie. Its shown across the parliament when you see who has a son or daughter in Iraq or Afghanistan...not many compared to that of the people.
Also, the boys being sent to war zones have little or no local knowledge, are grossly under equipped to do the job they do and are quite literally sent to their death and for what? Freedom? Oil? Pride? Revenge? Profit? You take your pick. Do they even know...do they even care? Is it a case of Ive been told so I will just do without even asking questions? If so then this is wrong. No people can walk into battle and kill another human being under orders. That makes you nothing more than a murderour, an alive one yes, but a murderour all the same.
The same army under the butchers apron are the same army of Culloden moor. The same that raped and murdered Scottish people in the name of the "crown" or the "king" there is blood of generations on that apron and it doesnt come out. However, I realsie that people need to survive and get by. I have a friend for example who's girlfriend is pregnant and is considering a career in the army in order to give his new baby all he can. Commendable as he is not just going to sit and wait for the giro to drop through his letter box. He also wants his HGV license and like many people before him, he has seen that in the army he can acquire that there, minimum of cost, minimum of fuss. My concern is that his child may grow up without a father as the war mongerours roll out their evil capitalist agenda across the middle east.
My concern IS for the troops, but also the people of Iraq and Afghanistan. Its for the wider picture and political implications of the next generation, for the peace and progress of the planet as a whole...and the all out support of working class men and women both at home and in Afghanistan and Iraq regardless of race, religion, colour or creed.
I hope I have gone somewhat to explained my often off the cuff flippant remarks.
Thanks
25-02-2008, 11:20 AM
I'm slowly getting the impression that you suffer from flat feet mate :duck:
sorry that one must have missed me...what do you mean?
25-02-2008, 12:09 PM
He has also given a safe haven to oppressed people around the world from the West, many of which have came from the Black Panther Party. This is why I support him and people like him...that and he's not American lol.
would that be the original BPP or the NBPP(new) riz ? if it's the original BPP thats fair enough :agree:
Now I see the army outside Schools and job centres, preying on the weak and ill informed. The areas that you see their vans in most notably in Glasgow are around lower class areas, working class areas such as Castlemilk, Sighthill, Riddrie, Drumchapel, this is very very wrong. You dont see them in Newton Mearns or Milngavie. Its shown across the parliament when you see who has a son or daughter in Iraq or Afghanistan...not many compared to that of the people.
i've watched a documentary a couple of times(cant for the life of me remember it's title)but i'l cut it short and stick to just the point you make here, out of all the members(couple of hundred) of congress in uncle sam only ONE yes ONE member had an offspring serving in the armed forces, i agree with ya :agree:
No people can walk into battle and kill another human being under orders. That makes you nothing more than a murderour, an alive one yes, but a murderour all the same.
once again i agree :agree:
The same army under the butchers apron are the same army of Culloden moor. The same that raped and murdered Scottish people in the name of the "crown" or the "king" there is blood of generations on that apron and it doesnt come out.
agree again :greengrin:wink:
I hope I have gone somewhat to explained my often off the cuff flippant remarks.
Thanks...
see how easy it is to get your point of view and opinions across when your not giving others abuse for differing citizen riz :thumbsup:
25-02-2008, 12:42 PM
So do you think we should have no Army at all then Riz? I can see by your support of the Cuban revolution that you are not a pacifist so you must have an alternative in mind.
(The revolution is 50 next year by the way, I suggest the official slogan should be ''50 years on and still revolting''.:greengrin)
I suggest the official slogan should be ''50 years on and still revolting''.:greengrin)
lol indeed ... rather Monty Pythoneque there lol
see how easy it is to get your point of view and opinions across when your not giving others abuse for differing citizen riz :thumbsup:
Lol indeed mate, whats hard is to keep a level head when I wanna get out the balaclava, black flag, combats and red che tshirt :greengrin
And yes I mean the original Black Pathers, Newton, Shakur etc.
So do you think we should have no Army at all then Riz? I can see by your support of the Cuban revolution that you are not a pacifist so you must have an alternative in mind.
(The revolution is 50 next year by the way, I suggest the official slogan should be ''50 years on and still revolting''.:greengrin)
Sorry I nearly missed your other point mate.
Yes I do believe in having an army. Scaled down tho. I dont believe in having nuclear weapons, I dont believe in the MASSIVE waste of money it incurs when our OAP's can on;y put on one bar on their electric heaters, when they can afford to eat properly, when our hospitals are falling apart, when firemen are paid a pittance to do their very admirable job, our schools need new books, new classrooms, new teachers, more subjects, our kids need more to do, they need to be off the street and out of harms way...this and many more but THOUSANDS OF MILLIONS will go into nuclear weapons.
I believe in a small home army, we will never be invaded and have no need to invade anyone anyway, as a member of the United Nations (of which I am not a fan of) we do not need a large army.
In conclusion, I want a Scottish Army NOT a British one, a free Scotland with its own army. Simple in thought really, harder in action Im sure ... hell I might even join then! :thumbsup:
Sorry I nearly missed your other point mate.
Yes I do believe in having an army. Scaled down tho. I dont believe in having nuclear weapons, I dont believe in the MASSIVE waste of money it incurs when our OAP's can on;y put on one bar on their electric heaters, when they can afford to eat properly, when our hospitals are falling apart, when firemen are paid a pittance to do their very admirable job, our schools need new books, new classrooms, new teachers, more subjects, our kids need more to do, they need to be off the street and out of harms way...this and many more but THOUSANDS OF MILLIONS will go into nuclear weapons.
I believe in a small home army, we will never be invaded and have no need to invade anyone anyway, as a member of the United Nations (of which I am not a fan of) we do not need a large army.
In conclusion, I want a Scottish Army NOT a British one, a free Scotland with its own army. Simple in thought really, harder in action Im sure ... hell I might even join then! :thumbsup:
I support you on that point in bold Riz - there is that much waste of money going on things like Nuclear Weapons, Trams here (which are not needed IMO) and many other unimportant things. I think it is the lowest of low that many of our pensioners (many of whom have fought in wars via the army and all have worked hard for a living) are receiving a pittance of a pension that they are virtually freezing during the winter to be able to eat and stay alive.
The education system we have at present is an utter farce - it does not meet a childs educational needs at all, its a One System Fits All system which, in practice, has proven futile and has failed. They are now pursuing a smaller number classroom which may be helpful, however, will not be enough to meet every childs educational requirements.
As for children, many parents (both working) cannot manage to give their children some necessities even. However, a child in care can get a pair of trainers that are 80 quid and the latest Fred Perry gear since the authorities are willing to give foster carers a clothing grant every month on top of the 260 quid they get for each child they look after each week. A foster carer looking after two children receive 520 quid a week plus a clothing grant. No parent would get such an allowance.
Thanks Cherrose, appreciated. I too agree with your points above. Ive never heard that about the Foster parent funding, thanks for that info. Thats really shocking! It seems to be the way of the world sadly, to throw money at the wrong things and expect the right answers across the world ...
Thanks for your support anaw pal :agree:
capitals_finest
25-02-2008, 08:30 PM
Fao citizen riz :greengrin. I have read all of what you have had to say on this thread and you come across as a very bitter person. You will probably admit this? Many of your points i agree with but like any other loony lefty you spoil this by spouting some ridiculous small minded comments making yourself look like a tit. Sorry but to an ordinary working man thats what you come across as. The far right are the same they have some valid points but spoil them by showing themselves up as the racist arsholes that they are.
You say...
'The same army under the butchers apron are the same army of Culloden moor. The same that raped and murdered Scottish people in the name of the "crown" or the "king" there is blood of generations on that apron and it doesnt come out'
How can this be? Scotland has proportionately the greatest number of people in the British forces by far. It is well known that the SAS (the principle special forces unit of the British army) are usually 50-70% Scottish! Yet you say you hate them and that they are your enemies??? :faf: :bitchy:What about the 'redcoats' that helped defeat the nazis?
25-02-2008, 09:08 PM
Fao citizen riz :greengrin. I have read all of what you have had to say on this thread and you come across as a very bitter person. You will probably admit this? Many of your points i agree with but like any other loony lefty you spoil this by spouting some ridiculous small minded comments making yourself look like a tit. Sorry but to an ordinary working man thats what you come across as. The far right are the same they have some valid points but spoil them by showing themselves up as the racist arsholes that they are.
You say...
'The same army under the butchers apron are the same army of Culloden moor. The same that raped and murdered Scottish people in the name of the "crown" or the "king" there is blood of generations on that apron and it doesnt come out'
How can this be? Scotland has proportionately the greatest number of people in the British forces by far. It is well known that the SAS (the principle special forces unit of the British army) are usually 50-70% Scottish! Yet you say you hate them and that they are your enemies??? :faf: :bitchy:What about the 'redcoats' that helped defeat the nazis?
Indeed, where do you stop. Shall we insist that the native Americans north and south are given there lands back, the Celts are again given back the vast majority of northern Europe, the Romans the southern part? Shall we insist that the Slavs pull out of eastern Europe and Asia and that the Neanderthals regain the upper hand over us.
Culloden was over 250yrs ago and things have moved on since then, some of it good other things not so good but they've moved on. Don't forget that even then it was Scot against Scot, father against son and brother against brother.
There's some prominent examples of what can happen when you try to turn back the centuries, the Israel/Palastine conflict or the Balkan conflicts.
No good can come about when you drag up ancient grievences, move on Riz mate.
Should auld acquaintance be forgot
Doesn't mean I don't love it when we stuff it to Engerlund.
You say...
Sorry mate, but again I have to repeat myself, I dont care what you think. Im not running in any election and I Im not out to get your support. Those that do, do so, those that dont dont. I cant expect all to be on my side, that would be Utopian.
Also, whats your point about Scots in the British Army? The minute you swear to that rag your an enemy to me. I dont care at all what you think of that or me. Im not left or right, your making pigeon holes, you wont find me in one.
And as for you talking about what the red coats did during the war ... this is a total different kettle of fish, many signing up asap as they did in the first world war for a larger greater cause. There is not a mass drive of the general public to sign up to go to fight a fascist movement across the world.
And Hiberlin I do agree we should move on...but move on and forget are two different things mate. Forgive and forget? No not me...move on but never forget. Im more than aware that it wasent Scots v English and I never suggested at anytime it was. I make no apology whatsoever for pointing out in the open who is an enemy to me.
capitals_finest
25-02-2008, 10:19 PM
Sorry mate, but again I have to repeat myself, I dont care what you think. Im not running in any election and I Im not out to get your support. Those that do, do so, those that dont dont. I cant expect all to be on my side, that would be Utopian.
Also, whats your point about Scots in the British Army? The minute you swear to that rag your an enemy to me. I dont care at all what you think of that or me. Im not left or right, your making pigeon holes, you wont find me in one.
And as for you talking about what the red coats did during the war ... this is a total different kettle of fish, many signing up asap as they did in the first world war for a larger greater cause. There is not a mass drive of the general public to sign up to go to fight a fascist movement across the world.
And Hiberlin I do agree we should move on...but move on and forget are two different things mate. Forgive and forget? No not me...move on but never forget. Im more than aware that it wasent Scots v English and I never suggested at anytime it was. I make no apology whatsoever for pointing out in the open who is an enemy to me.
If you don't care what anyone thinks then why are you having this discussion?
Also by using the term 'enemy' you are insinuating that you would use violence against anyone 'that swears to that rag' as you say? Are you abu hamza or some irish freedom fighter trapped in the 1980's?:confused:
Crossgates Hibs
25-02-2008, 10:26 PM
You say...
Stop giving him a platform to lecture us all on how great Scottish socialism is and bum himself up as some sort of freedom fighter. Your right he is a bitter person at least students grow out of all the oppression crap once they start earning decent money and join the masses he is stuck in a time warp. Hiberlin your right i think he has flat feet as well :wink:
Just because I dont care what others think of me, it doesnt mean to say I cant discuss it with others, some who agree some who disagree. Are you saying that we can only discuss things if we all agree and care about what each others think of us. Im not the kind of person that seeks or needs approval.
Also, you illustrate a point fantastically by likening me to Abu Hamza simply because I see the British State as an enemy. I am am part of the people, the proletariat and see the State as an enemy to that. I dont believe radical Islam is the answer and I dont believe that the current political structure will take the people forward.
Stop giving him a platform to lecture us all on how great Scottish socialism is and bum himself up as some sort of freedom fighter. Your right he is a bitter person at least students grow out of all the oppression crap once they start earning decent money and join the masses he is stuck in a time warp. Hiberlin your right i think he has flat feet as well :wink:
You sum yourself up perfectly here, your ideal life is about making money and joining in with the masses, you obviously find comfort in the humdrum...anyone who doesnt subscribe to that sort of thinking is stuck in a time warp? Ive never once said I was or am a freedom fighter, I dont consider myself any different from any other person on this planet who cares for others before caring for himself. You and posters like you are the ones giving me titles, some polite, some rude, that one I have to say is a compliment, but Im certainly not.
capitals_finest
25-02-2008, 10:45 PM
I think the point of this thread is BRING BACK NATIONAL SERVICE!!:agree:
As much as I agree that it would teach kids more of a oneness and hopefully point more kids on the straight and narrow (outwith the army) I think there are other programs the government could run without going that route, and if they scraped trident they would have more than enough money to pay for these programs, that and many more for the benefit of the whole population.
National service eh? a bit of a commi remark for you is it not? :wink:
I like your avatar by the way, I ment to say. I used images from the film for a recent record cover.
capitals_finest
25-02-2008, 11:01 PM
As much as I agree that it would teach kids more of a oneness and hopefully point more kids on the straight and narrow (outwith the army) I think there are other programs the government could run without going that route, and if they scraped trident they would have more than enough money to pay for these programs, that and many more for the benefit of the whole population.
National service eh? a bit of a commi remark for you is it not? :wink:
I like your avatar by the way, I ment to say. I used images from the film for a recent record cover.
Like you said earlier i don't fit into any pigeon hole when it comes to politics. What i will say though is it's refreshing to have a bit of a debate on .net for a change rather than all these whats your favourite threads. :greengrin
Cheers it's a great film likes. :agree:
Like you said earlier i don't fit into any pigeon hole when it comes to politics. What i will say though is it's refreshing to have a bit of a debate on .net for a change rather than all these whats your favourite threads. :greengrin
Cheers it's a great film likes. :agree:
Indeed mate...and theres two things we agree on also lol, so it aint all bad :wink:
Check the cover here mate ...
http://www.dropzonerecords.com/shop/index.php?productID=115
TPAKA
26-02-2008, 12:00 AM
Is Ross Kemp the bald chap?
sharon 1875
26-02-2008, 12:20 AM
Yes and a good looking one :greengrin
26-02-2008, 07:16 AM
This thread is now officially RE:hijack:
26-02-2008, 05:52 PM
indeed :agree:
personally i thought it was a cracking series and it gave you a really good insight to how these survived and acted in the crazy situation they have been put in.
these guys came from the royal anglians (sp?) and i was surprised to see how well they took the blue on blue accident. They were really greatful from the support the americans have gave them :thumbsup:
capitals_finest
26-02-2008, 06:11 PM
Check the cover here mate ...
http://www.dropzonerecords.com/shop/index.php?productID=115
Good job :agree:
TPAKA
28-02-2008, 11:07 AM
:greengrin:tee hee:
Just trying to bring a peaceful solution y'know. :duck:
Mellowing a little in my old age. :wink:
Crossgates Hibs
28-02-2008, 08:45 PM
Ok cabbageandribs ... In order to answer your question you need to look at the larger picture. I support Fidel but not blindly. Sure there are things he has done I dont agree with. Noones perfect and noone can or should claim to be or indeed expect anyone else to be.
I beleive that for the most part he has done well for the people of Cuba. The lower classes yes, the upper classes no. No mater who you are you cant please everyone, you will get support from some quarters and derision from another. I like the fact that Fidel has given Cuba the best health service AND the best education system in the whole continent of the Americas. All this despite being in a "cold war" situation with America and the west.
I think he has suffered alot of bad press, one sided press and STILL maintained his ethos for the people and the progression of the country. All this time the country has endured embargo's and is in a constant state of high alert while being technically "at war". He has also given a safe haven to oppressed people around the world from the West, many of which have came from the Black Panther Party. This is why I support him and people like him...that and he's not American lol.
Now to the subject of the Squaddies etc. I realise that my words will be met with furry by many, thats the nature of the beast. I am a supporter of my people, I support the man on the street and it is this very support that leads me to be against the British Army, its recruitment drives and its training as well as the actual job itself. I have a massive dislike to the emblems worn by the unwitting soldiers, many of Freemason origin, The Chevron ensemble etc, all very cloak and dagger and basically outlining perfectly the system in which we live in, which is a thus and them, a whats mines is mines and whats yours is mines. I dont want to live in that world and I dont want me children or my childrens, children to either. I doubt there is anyone who will disagree with me on that.
Also, the boys being sent to war zones have little or no local knowledge, are grossly under equipped to do the job they do and are quite literally sent to their death and for what? Freedom? Oil? Pride? Revenge? Profit? You take your pick. Do they even know...do they even care? Is it a case of Ive been told so I will just do without even asking questions? If so then this is wrong. No people can walk into battle and kill another human being under orders. That makes you nothing more than a murderour, an alive one yes, but a murderour all the same.
The same army under the butchers apron are the same army of Culloden moor. The same that raped and murdered Scottish people in the name of the "crown" or the "king" there is blood of generations on that apron and it doesnt come out. However, I realsie that people need to survive and get by. I have a friend for example who's girlfriend is pregnant and is considering a career in the army in order to give his new baby all he can. Commendable as he is not just going to sit and wait for the giro to drop through his letter box. He also wants his HGV license and like many people before him, he has seen that in the army he can acquire that there, minimum of cost, minimum of fuss. My concern is that his child may grow up without a father as the war mongerours roll out their evil capitalist agenda across the middle east.
My concern IS for the troops, but also the people of Iraq and Afghanistan. Its for the wider picture and political implications of the next generation, for the peace and progress of the planet as a whole...and the all out support of working class men and women both at home and in Afghanistan and Iraq regardless of race, religion, colour or creed.
Thanks
Oh my god those bad soldiers must have grabbed poor Harry in Drumchapel and made him sign up. lol.:greengrin
28-02-2008, 11:02 PM
Prince Harry in Afghanistan, nothing but a glorified public relations exercise for the Royals! :bitchy:
sharon 1875
28-02-2008, 11:23 PM
Prince Harry in Afghanistan, nothing but a glorified public relations exercise for the Royals! :bitchy:
Maybe he will meet ross kemp :greengrin
capitals_finest
28-02-2008, 11:50 PM
I m no fan of the royals but good on him. Just watched an interview with him and he seems a pretty down to earth person considering who he is. Like anyone else he can't choose the family he was born into but at least he aint sitting on his erse like many others would in his position.
29-02-2008, 01:06 AM
:soapbox:I mean, what is the point of Royals joining up if they are not going to be deployed in combat zones. Aye, it's alright for the rest of the Armed forcees to go out and lay their lives on the line...............sorry, what's that?
Bloody Royals, any chance they can get to boost their standing.:wink:
I am no fan of the Royals but a classic case here of damned if he does, damned if he doesn't.
Good on harry, but its just a publicity stunt really.
AndyP
29-02-2008, 04:47 PM
I take that as a very personal insult to the thousands of guys I've known in my time, not one of us would or could have been classed as brainwashed or cannon fodder or under educated.
I was VERY aware of what the British Military were up to at most given times, I also think that my time has given me a much better outlook on life and people in general and I would hazard a guess that I'm a better rounded, more experienced and less judgemental person than you.
AndyP
29-02-2008, 04:51 PM
Not wanted, not desired and un-workable IMO. Manpower constraints are one main cause for concern, when NS was last in use we still had a fairly large wartime military with some small scale conflicts taking place, Aden, Suez, Korea for instance. The modern military has enough problems mounting current Ops without having to divert some very experienced men and women to teaching the resident chavs a lesson in community spirit and endearing self sacrifice
AndyP
29-02-2008, 04:52 PM
Just out of interest how many Afghanis have YOU spoken to in Kabul/Bagram or Iraqis in Mossel or Basra......big fat zero would be my guess
Your guess would be utterly wrong then! And take my comments as offensive because they were supposed to be... now go stick that butchers apron where the sun dont shine!
AndyP
02-03-2008, 08:46 AM
Your guess would be utterly wrong then! And take my comments as offensive because they were supposed to be... now go stick that butchers apron where the sun dont shine!
Personally I think I'll ask Corrie for a bigger UF if it upsets you because you are really coming over as a bit of a tool.
Your comments are unfounded, you have no proof to back them up now jog on
Well bring the Union muck to ER and see how well your fellow Hibees appreciate it then? Jog on? Lol, so you need the patter of an ageing fitbae casual now? lol, mate, I dont hate you at all, infact I quite like your determination and indeed courage in the face or war and the enemy, I just question your thought and beliefs as to who actually is the enemy. Too many poor sods have been sent to thier deaths for no good reason but another rich mans gain. All the best to you all the same and I hope one day that you see where I am coming from more, other than just wiping it out as unpatriotic or whatever your seeing it as.
AndyM_1875
14-03-2008, 01:35 PM
Well bring the Union muck to ER and see how well your fellow Hibees appreciate it then? Jog on? Lol, so you need the patter of an ageing fitbae casual now? lol, mate, I dont hate you at all, infact I quite like your determination and indeed courage in the face or war and the enemy, I just question your thought and beliefs as to who actually is the enemy. Too many poor sods have been sent to thier deaths for no good reason but another rich mans gain. All the best to you all the same and I hope one day that you see where I am coming from more, other than just wiping it out as unpatriotic or whatever your seeing it as.
Ain't you ever seen the big Green white and Black UJ flags Riz?
Even as one who has no time for national flags (outwith the Saltire) at football games they are normally carried by knobs I thought they looked rather good myself and had the added bonus of winding up the Huns and the Tims, Scotland's own Ugly Sisters.
You are of course aware that an awful lot of guys who have served in the Royal Scots were/are supporters of Hibs and that the club has played bounce games with the soldiers at Redford Barracks as well as displaying a advertising recruiting board.
Further to that many of the bodies of the soldiers who died in the Quintinshill Train crash are buried in the Eastern Cemetary at the back of Easter Road Stadium - the ground of the football club that many of them followed.