View Full Version : Steve Wright.....
21-02-2008, 09:22 PM
Bring back the Death Penalty :agree:
He killed 5 girls....and should be executed :agree:
Sadly the above won't happen and all we can hope is that some twisted nutter in his soon to be jail steps in to show him why what he done isn't right
Rot in jail Sick ****** :brickwall:brickwall:brickwall
21-02-2008, 09:26 PM
His radio shows bloody awful aswell :agree:
Hank Schrader
21-02-2008, 09:35 PM
Should we start a sweepstake as to how many pages this thread will extend to?
It is technically a death penalty debate isn't it :dunno:
21-02-2008, 09:36 PM
Should we start a sweepstake as to how many pages this thread will extend to?
It is technically a death penalty debate isn't it :dunno:
Now come on Puzzle....you know how I feel about those who do evil to others :agree::agree:
I was just watching the news and the case intrigued me :agree::wink:
22-02-2008, 06:51 AM
I don't think the Death Penalty is really the answer, the USA has it, and is one of the most violent societies in the World.
Mon1875
22-02-2008, 08:39 AM
Killing him is too good for him. Let him sit out the rest of his life in prison looking over his shoulder.
I think the police might be wanting to talk to him about a lot of unsolved murders now. Susie Lamplugh worked with him on the cruise ship. Good chance it may have been him. Quite a lot of prostitutes been killed over the years down south.
geordie_hibs
22-02-2008, 09:15 AM
Killing him is too good for him. Let him sit out the rest of his life in prison looking over his shoulder.
I think the police might be wanting to talk to him about a lot of unsolved murders now. Susie Lamplugh worked with him on the cruise ship. Good chance it may have been him. Quite a lot of prostitutes been killed over the years down south.
And your evidence for this unsubstantiated hysterical gossip is what precisely?
geordie_hibs
22-02-2008, 09:18 AM
His radio shows bloody awful aswell :agree:
yes indeedy!
i mean, he couldn't have been working alone; surely some of his afternoon boys have blood on their hands as well
22-02-2008, 09:29 AM
Sadly the above won't happen and all we can hope is that some twisted nutter in his soon to be jail steps in to show him why what he done isn't right
Yip, lets bring back state murder. It solves everything. Very forward thinking. Lets hope that no one ever gets sentenced unjustly and we end up killing them, then finding out later that, in fact, they were innocent. What do we do then? dig them up again.
How should we execute them? Hanging? Lethal Injection? Bullet in the back of the head? Guillotine? Electrocution? Death by a thousand cuts? Stone them? Throw them off a cliff? Kick their heids in? Slit their throats?
Don't for a minute think this guy is going to have a nice time in jail.
He should be locked up for the rest of his natural life as punishment. Effectively he is a non person.
An eye for an eye Gramo? The world would be blind.
How would you feel if a member of your family was wrongly convicted of murder and executed at it came to pass later that the member of your family was indeed, innocent?
Or do you think thats just Bollocks Gramo, and it couldnae happen in the UK?
Chuckie
22-02-2008, 09:51 AM
Now come on Puzzle....you know how I feel about those who do evil to others :agree::agree:
What do you think your punishment should be for your threads, which are a crime against humanity themselves ? :wink:
Mon1875
22-02-2008, 10:03 AM
And your evidence for this unsubstantiated hysterical gossip is what precisely?
You better ask Susie Lamplugh's father if it is hysterical gossip that he is asking the police to investigate the connection between Wright and his daughter who worked together on the same cruise ship (Mr Lamplugh talked on the BBC yesterday about it). Criminal experts see his behaviour as someone who may have done this before (serial killers such as Tobin have obviously killed previously). There have been prostitutes in the areas he has lived in who were also dumped in water (at least one).
We won't know about any evidence until it is investigated - which it will.
From the BBC website:
"Police will now check outstanding cases in the region to see whether there could be links to Wright.
In 1992, Natalie Pearman, 16, was found strangled after disappearing from the red-light area of Norwich.
A year later Mandy Duncan, 26, of Woodbridge, Suffolk, vanished while working as a prostitute in Ipswich.
In 2000, Kellie Pratt, 29, disappeared from the red-light area of Norwich and in 2002 Michelle Bettles, 22, was found strangled three days after disappearing from the red-light area of Norwich.
Wright also worked on the QE2 in the 1980s, along with missing estate agent Suzy Lamplugh, 25.
She disappeared after leaving her offices in Fulham, west London, in 1986 and her body has never been found.
The Metropolitan Police refused to be drawn on any possible links to Wright saying: "We are not prepared to discuss who we may or may not wish to interview in connection with any on-going investigation."
Reg Reagan
22-02-2008, 10:06 AM
and in 5 years time they find out/admit... that they ballsed up and it was actually somebody else.(VERY GOOD)
geordie_hibs
22-02-2008, 10:18 AM
You better ask Susie Lamplugh's father if it is hysterical gossip that he is asking the police to investigate the connection between Wright and his daughter who worked together on the same cruise ship (Mr Lamplugh talked on the BBC yesterday about it). Criminal experts see his behaviour as someone who may have done this before (serial killers such as Tobin have obviously killed previously). There have been prostitutes in the areas he has lived in who were also dumped in water (at least one).
We won't know about any evidence until it is investigated - which it will.
From the BBC website:
"Police will now check outstanding cases in the region to see whether there could be links to Wright.
In 1992, Natalie Pearman, 16, was found strangled after disappearing from the red-light area of Norwich.
A year later Mandy Duncan, 26, of Woodbridge, Suffolk, vanished while working as a prostitute in Ipswich.
In 2000, Kellie Pratt, 29, disappeared from the red-light area of Norwich and in 2002 Michelle Bettles, 22, was found strangled three days after disappearing from the red-light area of Norwich.
Wright also worked on the QE2 in the 1980s, along with missing estate agent Suzy Lamplugh, 25.
She disappeared after leaving her offices in Fulham, west London, in 1986 and her body has never been found.
The Metropolitan Police refused to be drawn on any possible links to Wright saying: "We are not prepared to discuss who we may or may not wish to interview in connection with any on-going investigation."
it's not often i support the filth, but they've called this one right & are tryin to stop the lynching party you want to sign up to.
innocent until proven guilty; remmber that concept, as it's what the law is based on, not the other way round.
what if Susie Lamplugh's father killed her & is trying to deflect the blame? i mean he knew her movements & habits & wouldn't have aroused her suspicion? ludicrous theory? very probably, but it's as valid as your theory until due legal process has been enacted.
Mon1875
22-02-2008, 10:25 AM
it's not often i support the filth, but they've called this one right & are tryin to stop the lynching party you want to sign up to.
innocent until proven guilty; remmber that concept, as it's what the law is based on, not the other way round.
what if Susie Lamplugh's father killed her & is trying to deflect the blame? i mean he knew her movements & habits & wouldn't have aroused her suspicion? ludicrous theory? very probably, but it's as valid as your theory until due legal process has been enacted.
Excuse me. Don't you dare accuse me of starting a lynching party.
Yes everyone is innocent until proven guilty but it has been said that he *may* have connections to other deaths. Of course the police aren't going to comment at the moment but other deaths will be investigated. Nobody has said he is guilty.
We often report what newspapers and TV are reporting on a certain subject on this board. We're not reporting them as fact.
I have not reported my theory. Get off your high horse :brickwall
geordie_hibs
22-02-2008, 10:28 AM
Excuse me. Don't you dare accuse me of starting a lynching party.
Yes everyone is innocent until proven guilty but it has been said that he *may* have connections to other deaths. Of course the police aren't going to comment at the moment but other deaths will be investigated. Nobody has said he is guilty.
We often report what newspapers and TV are reporting on a certain subject on this board. We're not reporting them as fact.
I have not reported my theory. Get off your high horse :brickwall
you weren't starting a lynching party, but you were pretty damn close to signing up for it.
the police aren't commenting because they have no evidence & don't want to prejudice any investigation.
Mon1875
22-02-2008, 10:30 AM
you weren't starting a lynching party, but you were pretty damn close to signing up for it.
the police aren't commenting because they have no evidence & don't want to prejudice any investigation.
Don't be so bloody patronising :brickwall
geordie_hibs
22-02-2008, 10:32 AM
Don't be so bloody patronising :brickwall
i wasn't being!
Hank Schrader
22-02-2008, 11:51 AM
Wasn't having a go at you Gramo:wink:
From previous experience these threads tend to extend to a few pages with lots of debate and argument. I however tend to keep my thoughts on the matter to myself, don't want to get involved. But thats my choice!
This thread, however, is much better than the one about the music they play in McDonalds:greengrin
euan moran
22-02-2008, 01:21 PM
And why the ****** hasn't 'Ask Elvis' been called in for questioning?
Yip, lets bring back state murder. It solves everything. Very forward thinking. Lets hope that no one ever gets sentenced unjustly and we end up killing them, then finding out later that, in fact, they were innocent. What do we do then? dig them up again.
How should we execute them? Hanging? Lethal Injection? Bullet in the back of the head? Guillotine? Electrocution? Death by a thousand cuts? Stone them? Throw them off a cliff? Kick their heids in? Slit their throats?
Don't for a minute think this guy is going to have a nice time in jail.
He should be locked up for the rest of his natural life as punishment. Effectively he is a non person.
An eye for an eye Gramo? The world would be blind.
How would you feel if a member of your family was wrongly convicted of murder and executed at it came to pass later that the member of your family was indeed, innocent?
Or do you think thats just Bollocks Gramo, and it couldnae happen in the UK?
No doubt he won't find prison an easy place...but he'll be having a nicer time than the people he raped and murdered.
He'll be a non-person if he's locked up for life but he'll be an expensive one. How many thousands of pounds every month will it cost to keep this man in jail? Locking people up indefinately solves nothing, isn't very forward thinking and is a lot more expensive than capital punishment. Above all, a simple custodial sentence of any length is not proper justice for such crimes.
The only valid argument against the death penalty is the one involving wrongfull convictions. There would have to be a concrete system in place involving DNA and using safe guards to ensure there was no doubt about guilt.
Surely with all the technology at our disposal this should be a reality soon.
Some call it state sponsored murder but I'd called it proper justice that fits the crime. We live in a compassionate society but why can't our justice system show the same amount of compassion to the criminal that the criminal
showed to the victim?
I don't think people like Brady, the soham murderer or this guy deserve to live. The fact that people have a basic set of human rights no matter what they do or how they behave is crazy.
An eye for an eye and perhaps the people who's lives have been ruined by such actions will feel justice has been carried out. They're the ones that the justice system should focus on.
22-02-2008, 11:35 PM
No doubt he won't find prison an easy place...but he'll be having a nicer time than the people he raped and murdered.
He'll be a non-person if he's locked up for life but he'll be an expensive one. How many thousands of pounds every month will it cost to keep this man in jail? Locking people up indefinately solves nothing, isn't very forward thinking and is a lot more expensive than capital punishment. Above all, a simple custodial sentence of any length is not proper justice for such crimes.
The only valid argument against the death penalty is the one involving wrongfull convictions. There would have to be a concrete system in place involving DNA and using safe guards to ensure there was no doubt about guilt.
Some call it state sponsored murder but I'd called it proper justice that fits the crime. We live in a compassionate society but why can't our justice system show the same amount of compassion to the criminal that the criminal
showed to the victim?
I don't think people like Brady, the soham murderer or this guy deserve to live. The fact that people have a basic set of human rights no matter what they do or how they behave is crazy.
An eye for an eye and perhaps the people who's lives have been ruined by such actions will feel justice has been carried out. They're the ones that the justice system should focus on.
Steve Wright deserves to rot on that I agree but his time will come in jail, rapists arent looked on too fondly there.
Death penalty is not the answer though, a mistake by the authorities won't just result in a wrongly convicted person it results in an innocent human beings
death, how do you resolve that.
23-02-2008, 12:51 AM
showed to the victim?
It actually costs the states more to execute someone than to lock up for life.
Cannot remember actually figures but i assure you this is the case.
GhostofBolivar
23-02-2008, 05:39 AM
It actually costs the states more to execute someone than to lock up for life.
Cannot remember actually figures but i assure you this is the case.
This is true in the USA where there is a labyrinthine and lengthy appeals process.
This is untrue in China where the state bills the family of the executed individual for the cost of the execution.
GhostofBolivar
23-02-2008, 06:39 AM
I don't recall reading anywhere that he raped his victims.
In the USA, which is the only western nation to use the death penalty, the process is vastly more expensive than condemning the guilty to life without parole.
The only valid argument against the death penalty is the one involving wrongfull convictions.
And the moral question?
I personally think the idea that it's a good idea for the state to execute it's own citizens totally abhorrent. In fact, I'm quite offended that you consider my point of view 'invalid'. In 2006 the USA, Iraq, Iran, China, Pakistan and Sudan conducted the vast majority of executions. I don't believe these to be societies we should be modelling ourselves on.
And - as anyone who saw the recent Horizon programme on the subject knows - it's also a horrific, excrutiating and frequently inhumane practice. There are very few ways of killing someone in a 'humane' fashion, none of which are employed by governments. If that doesn't bother you, then I would think you weren't looking for justice, you'd want revenge. And revenge should not be part of a modern justice system.
There are also political issues. Membership of the EU is dependent on abolition of the death penalty. The UN has called for a moritorium on it. There also far more abolitionist countries in the world today and the trend is toward abolition. Uzbekistan just abolished the death penalty, why should we reintroduce it?
There would have to be a concrete system in place involving DNA and using safe guards to ensure there was no doubt about guilt. Surely with all the technology at our disposal this should be a reality soon.
Whether or not the system is concrete, it cannot be applied in an objective manner. In the USA, the death penalty is applied in a wholly arbitrary manner. Black people are far more likely to be sentenced to death. Crimes involving white victims see proportionately more death sentences.
Geography matters to a huge degree. For instance, about one-quarter of Ohio’s death row inmates come from Hamilton County (Cincinnati), but only 9% of the state’s murders occur there.
The competancy of the defendent's legal representation also warps the system. In 2001 a Seattle newspaper discovered that in Washington state, one-fifth of the 84 people who have faced execution in the past 20 years were represented by lawyers who had been, or were later, disbarred, suspended or arrested. (Overall, the state’s disbarment rate for attorneys is less than 1%.)
You cannot guarantee a fully fair application of the death penalty in a system so dependent on the views of individuals - judges, lawyers and individual jurors.
They probably don't deserve to live, but the point about human rights is that you don't get to pick and choose who gets them or to what extent they're protected by them. I've often mused that it might, in fact, be a positive measure of our society that it extends these rights to people like them.
I don't recall reading anywhere that he raped his victims.
I'm sure I read somewhere that he did. There's so many wierdos commiting this sort of act nowadays maybe I'm getting mixed up.
In the USA, which is the only western nation to use the death penalty, the process is vastly more expensive than condemning the guilty to life without parole.
This is because it's such a convoluted process. It could be simplified at a stroke. Less appeals, less time on death row would dramatically reduce the cost. It's not logical for the use of the death penalty to cost more than sustaining a life indefinately.
And the moral question?
I personally think the idea that it's a good idea for the state to execute it's own citizens totally abhorrent. In fact, I'm quite offended that you consider my point of view 'invalid'. In 2006 the USA, Iraq, Iran, China, Pakistan and Sudan conducted the vast majority of executions. I don't believe these to be societies we should be modelling ourselves on.
I have considered the moral questions and I know how my compass lies was what I was meaning...don't be offended. I just believe the death penalty to be morally correct. As far as I'm concerned if a person commits such an act then they don't deserve any form of protection from the state. They chose to "opt out" and commit crimes against a fellow citizen.
We wouldn't be modeling ourselves on anyone. If we re-introduced it other countries would probably model themselves on us!
And - as anyone who saw the recent Horizon programme on the subject knows - it's also a horrific, excrutiating and frequently inhumane practice. There are very few ways of killing someone in a 'humane' fashion, none of which are employed by governments. If that doesn't bother you, then I would think you weren't looking for justice, you'd want revenge. And revenge should not be part of a modern justice system.
I agree that if there's a humane way to execute someone then it should be used. If our society was to use the more sympathetic method then we'd be showing a lot more consideration towards our "victim" than the majority of these beasts show towards their completely innocent ones.
Also, why shouldn't an element of revenge be incorporated into our justice system? It might sound barbaric to some but it might help the victims families feel that justice has really been done. I think the needs and wishes of people who have been hurt should be the main priority.
There are also political issues. Membership of the EU is dependent on abolition of the death penalty. The UN has called for a moritorium on it. There also far more abolitionist countries in the world today and the trend is toward abolition. Uzbekistan just abolished the death penalty, why should we reintroduce it?
You talk about membership of the EU like it's a good thing.
As for trends...who cares? We're more than capable of ploughing our own furrow.
Whether or not the system is concrete, it cannot be applied in an objective manner. In the USA, the death penalty is applied in a wholly arbitrary manner. Black people are far more likely to be sentenced to death. Crimes involving white victims see proportionately more death sentences.
Geography matters to a huge degree. For instance, about one-quarter of Ohio’s death row inmates come from Hamilton County (Cincinnati), but only 9% of the state’s murders occur there.
The competancy of the defendent's legal representation also warps the system. In 2001 a Seattle newspaper discovered that in Washington state, one-fifth of the 84 people who have faced execution in the past 20 years were represented by lawyers who had been, or were later, disbarred, suspended or arrested. (Overall, the state’s disbarment rate for attorneys is less than 1%.)
You're quoting figures from one country and using examples based on one legal system. That's the thing about statistics....they're fairly easy to manipulate and organisations manipulate them all the time to justify and promote their cause.
They probably don't deserve to live, but the point about human rights is that you don't get to pick and choose who gets them or to what extent they're protected by them. I've often mused that it might, in fact, be a positive measure of our society that it extends these rights to people like them.
I think everyone should have basic human rights to begin with but have them taken off them depending on the crime they commit. Why should someone still have the right to live when they have removed someone elses right to live? They shouldn't. It's time to rip up the human rights act and replace it with something like this...and something detailing basic responsibilities.
To be honest I don't think we're ready for the re-introduction of the death penalty just yet but I agree with the principle...and recent surveys have shown that the majority of the british population would welcome it back for certain crimes.
geordie_hibs
24-02-2008, 01:02 PM
I'm sure I read somewhere that he did. There's so many wierdos commiting this sort of act nowadays maybe I'm getting mixed up.
time for you to log off indefinitely
shamo9
24-02-2008, 02:55 PM
two wrongs don't make a right.
majorhibs
24-02-2008, 05:52 PM
Bunch aye effwits as usual on this subject- if someone is caught doin something unspeakable to defenceless & vulnerable human beings- they should be put to death- if it was up to me the punishment would not only fit the crime, it would magnify it by at least ten, All you bleedin hearts & apologists for the criminals stop for a minute- think about it- anybody hurting any youngster, or this ****bag wright who thinks he can go about ending 5 young womans lives- they dont deserve anything resembling human thought or compassion- you lot o apologists are all bluster but if heaven forbid one of these monsters ever crossed your family/friends paths...
time for you to log off indefinitely
Get lost. Who the hell are you to tell anyone to do anything on this site?
You seem to have nothing to say regarding the original argument so you childishly highlight a spelling error in one of my posts.
You'll be ignored from now on. wierdo.
geordie_hibs
27-02-2008, 10:04 PM
Get lost. Who the hell are you to tell anyone to do anything on this site?
You seem to have nothing to say regarding the original argument so you childishly highlight a spelling error in one of my posts.
You'll be ignored from now on. wierdo.
you've no idea how weird, handsome man!
i told you to log off because of your nonsensical claim there were so many people committing mass murder of sex workers these days.
capitals_finest
27-02-2008, 11:11 PM
No doubt he won't find prison an easy place...but he'll be having a nicer time than the people he raped and murdered.He'll be a non-person if he's locked up for life but he'll be an expensive one. How many thousands of pounds every month will it cost to keep this man in jail? Locking people up indefinately solves nothing, isn't very forward thinking and is a lot more expensive than capital punishment. Above all, a simple custodial sentence of any length is not proper justice for such crimes.
showed to the victim?
:top marks:
Good to see some down to earth sense. Life is short and can be a struggle for a lot of people but we can only try to make the best of it. There are written laws and unwritten laws that most of us follow in our every day lives. I believe that people fall into two categories, good and bad. These written and unwritten rules are easy to follow and should come natural but there are some that cross the line and don't give a monkeys. Whether it is being a rude ***** to an innocent person in the street or raping and murdering someone you are all the same to me. You are an inconsiderate sc*mbag and you don't deserve to share this planet with the people that keep themselves to themselves and try to do good.
Life is too short for forgiveness and all this human rights pish that we hear about. If you are a c*** you are a c*** and you loose your human rights. We are nothing more than animals but some of us seem to have this egotistical view that a human life -no matter how bad the person is - is worth so much we have to accommodate these wasters until they die naturally. It is pathetic.