Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Anyone on Mock The Week. I don't think I've ever laughed at a single episode.

I agree with those who are saying Russell Howard. If he was doing a show in my back garden I would close the curtains.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    Anyone on Mock The Week. I don't think I've ever laughed at a single episode.

I agree with those who are saying Russell Howard. If he was doing a show in my back garden I would close the curtains.
    I'd tell him in no uncertain terms to get the **** out of my back garden quite frankly.

Also, disagree with the earlier Reginald D Hunter shout. Very funny IMO

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    I'd tell him in no uncertain terms to get the **** out of my back garden quite frankly.
    Reminds me of a Tommy Cooper joke....
    "Can I borrow your lawnmower"?
    "Yes, as long as you don't take it out the garden"

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Unfunny comedians? Half the jokers on the MB on the deadline day thread.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Unfunny comedians? Half the jokers on the MB on the deadline day thread.
    Which half?

Sara Pascoe, probably Russell Howard's sister.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    You seen him live? Very funny man.

Yup. I consider Reginald D Hunter a very funny comedian.

And Jo Brand is a very funny comedian too.

Katherine Ryan makes me laugh. So does Tony Law - sometimes.

There are however many, many alleged 'comedians' who do not make me laugh - most of them have already been mentioned here many times.

But first, second, third and fourth against the wall when the revolution comes are Sarah Millican, Ricky Gervais, Malcolm MacIntyre and Russell Howard.

In no particular order.

Oh yes - nearly forgot. FRANK SKINNER.

Gamertag: Hibees62
    James Acaster saw this guy at a fringe show last year and not one laugh from the audience. He's the worst

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by KingFranck View Post
    James Acaster saw this guy at a fringe show last year and not one laugh from the audience. He's the worst
    I like James Acaster. Haven't seen his last couple of shows right enough.

Don't think John Bishop and Rob Brydon are very funny.
    David Mitchell can be okay but he's way over-exposed.

Gamertag: Hibees62
    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy View Post
    I like James Acaster. Haven't seen his last couple of shows right enough.
    TBH this was last year at a show with 5 comedians but it started at midnight so maybe past his bedtime so might let him off 😁

How can you have a thread like this without mention of all the dreadful old timers like Jim Davidson, Bob Monkhouse, Jim Bowen etc.

Of the younger generation since alternative comedy arrived, I have to agree with Lenny Henry, McIntyre, Harry Hill, Russell Howard, John Bishop, and probably plenty of others.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    How can you have a thread like this without mention of all the dreadful old timers like Jim Davidson, Bob Monkhouse, Jim Bowen etc.

Of the younger generation since alternative comedy arrived, I have to agree with Lenny Henry, McIntyre, Harry Hill, Russell Howard, John Bishop, and probably plenty of others.
    You can't class Bob alongside that pair of dinosaurs! He was class doing stand up.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    You can't class Bob alongside that pair of dinosaurs! He was class doing stand up.
    Agreed. He was a great gag writer as well as a performer.

I'm guessing he's already been mentioned but James Corden. Britain's loss is America's loss, too.

Quote Originally Posted by yonder1875 View Post
    I'm guessing he's already been mentioned but James Corden. Britain's loss is America's loss, too.
    Love him, although wouldn't class him as a comedian as such. Brilliant at presenting A League of their Own.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    Agreed. He was a great gag writer as well as a performer.
    There were a couple of lovely documentaries after his death which really showed how skilled he was.

I also seem to remember him doing a live TV show in his twilight years before a crowd at least two generations younger than him, where he would improv based on their suggestions.

He was a professional and a craftsman when it came to entertainment and comedy.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Couldn't stand him; so smarmy. I just didn't find him funny - that bawbag Tarbuck is another of that generation.

Now Les Dawson WAS funny.

My Dad just doesn't get any modern comedian. He says he never finds them funny and can't see how others do when they just stand and tell stories without telling jokes!

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    My Dad just doesn't get any modern comedian. He says he never finds them funny and can't see how others do when they just stand and tell stories without telling jokes!

Is your dad Stan Boardman?

Hahaha no but he still goes on about the Geeeermans bombing our chippies.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Couldn't stand him; so smarmy. I just didn't find him funny - that bawbag Tarbuck is another of that generation.

Now Les Dawson WAS funny.
    Agree about Les. Best stand up of that era.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Sure he will have been mentioned many times but can’t stand Jack Whitehall.

Don't like mickey flanaghan one bit.

Rik Mayall was I feel slightly unnderated as a comic and some of his kevin turvey routines were very funny. One of my favorite ever funnymen.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GnhT1UdNEa4

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by Right Said Frank View Post
    Sure he will have been mentioned many times but can’t stand Jack Whitehall.
    He's awful...and how has he managed to end up going oot with that lassie from Humans??? He's punching.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    James Corden.

I only just found out he does the voiceover for those webuyanycar.com radio ads, which I independently loathed. Lowest common denominator, populist, "mate-down-the-pub"-esque *****.

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    There were a couple of lovely documentaries after his death which really showed how skilled he was.

I also seem to remember him doing a live TV show in his twilight years before a crowd at least two generations younger than him, where he would improv based on their suggestions.

He was a professional and a craftsman when it came to entertainment and comedy.
    A pal of mine was a student magazine journalist and once he and a photographer managed to get an interview with Bob Monkhouse at his home. He made them a meal in the kitchen while he talked to them.

Agreed, Bob Monkhouse was an excellent standup.

Quote Originally Posted by lgnsh70 View Post
    Don't like mickey flanaghan one bit.

Rik Mayall was I feel slightly unnderated as a comic and some of his kevin turvey routines were very funny. One of my favorite ever funnymen.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GnhT1UdNEa4
    Huge Rik fan. His cameo as Lord Flashhart in Blackadder Goes Forth is up there with some of the finest comedy performances I have seen.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Craig Levein. No wait, he is funny