Page 21 of 428 FirstFirst ... 1119202122233171121 ... LastLast

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Vets bills.

Noticed the cat wasn't wanting.to put weight on his front right paw and was limping a bit. Off to the vet, 5 minute consultation, probably slightly less, maybe just a sprain, 3ml of anti inflams and I leave £79 lighter. That's on top of £13 a month insurance and £11 a month vet plan for vacinnes, worming, flea treatment and 6 monthly check ups.

Don't even get me started on the dog.

Is this the first genuine pet peeve on the pet peeves thread?
    Dont get me started on vets i took both of my cats to get sorted to move to sweden two years ago after everything was about £600 lighter only to be told that they didn't need half the stuff they got.

Guys who go out with a jumper draped on their back and shoulders with the sleeves hanging down their chest.Complete knobs.

Do pets still get free treatment at the vets (PDSA) if the owner is on any benefits?

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Do pets still get free treatment at the vets (PDSA) if the owner is on any benefits?
    Yeah, my wife is one of the vets at the pdsa.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Folk who allow their dugs to run up and jump up at people.
    Just back from a walk along the Almondell a this wee Staffy ran up to my wee laddie then jumped up on me .
    Granted , it was friendly enough but I still shat it a wee bit.

Doesn't help when the owner (non ned) is shouting he's fine , he doesn't bite.

Keep your dangerous dogs on a lead . Not everybody out enjoying a walk with their bairns wants to be bothered by them.
    Really does my head in.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    Just back from a walk along the Almondell a this wee Staffy ran up to my wee laddie then jumped up on me .

Keep your dangerous dogs on a lead . Not everybody out enjoying a walk with their bairns wants to be bothered by them.
    Really does my head in.
    Dangerous dog because it was a staffy? Maybe a bit of actual research into the breed is required. Don't believe all the papers feed you. Much more likely to be bitten by a yorkie

Quote Originally Posted by liamh2202 View Post
    Dangerous dog because it was a staffy? Maybe a bit of actual research into the breed is required. Don't believe all the papers feed you. Much more likely to be bitten by a yorkie
    I realise all that mate. Staffies can kill folk though.
    Pardon me for not wanting to take the chance.
    I would have been the same if it was a rotty if that makes you feel better.

Really does my head in.

I've got a rottweiler. Lovely big dog, friendly and has superb recall. I still keep him on a lead in busy areas though as some people are intimidated by the breed and they are very much one man/family dogs.

On the flip side the number of parents who let their kids run up to strange dogs and try to pet them, prod them and (on one occasion) climb on the dogs back and ride it like a horse is unreal. The dog shouldn't react, if it does it's entirely the responsibility of the owner but parents should control their kids as much as I should control my dog.

I've got a rottweiler. Lovely big dog, friendly and has superb recall. I still keep him on a lead in busy areas though as some people are intimidated by the breed and they are very much one man/family dogs.

On the flip side the number of parents who let their kids run up to strange dogs and try to pet them, prod them and (on one occasion) climb on the dogs back and ride it like a horse is unreal. The dog shouldn't react, if it does it's entirely the responsibility of the owner but parents should control their kids as much as I should control my dog.

I agree PB.
    I wouldnt let my kids run up to any dog and never have done.

I have a couple of mates that have had Rotties and another who has a Staffy and they are all lovely dogs.
    I would still be apprehensive with them around my kids though.

Hotel wifi codes .
    Specifically having to enter said codes every time I put my phone down for a few minutes.

People who call wifi , weefee .

I've never heard that.

PSN ID: Dave1875
    Hotel wifi codes .
    Specifically having to enter said codes every time I put my phone down for a few minutes.
    Ever used the wifi on an LRT bus? Now every time one passes me on the street it stops the 4g working on my phone

Quote Originally Posted by Matty_Jack04 View Post
    Ever used the wifi on an LRT bus? Now every time one passes me on the street it stops the 4g working on my phone
    that does my head in!

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    People who call weefee wy fy

Laddies who constantly drive up and down your street in their Honda with a ****ty sounding exhaust every 10 ****** minutes, I'm gonna ****** lose it very soon and remodel his car for him!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    I've never heard that.

You obviously don't live in France.

Really does my head in.
    I couldn't agree more.

I stay next to a big park where lots of people walk their dogs and while I don't like dogs jumping at me, I hate it when they jump at my kids.

The owners reaction is the key though. If they are apologetic then I'm fine with that but it's the brazen attitude of some owners who try to make you feel as if you are doing something wrong by being cautious or scared. "It's only playing" is one of the popular ones but I'm sorry, I'm not on personal terms with your dog so I don't know that.

One time my partner was taking the kids to school when they were frightened by this black lab that wouldn't leave them alone. Instead of apologising, the owner started giving telling her that she needed to get my kids more used to being around dogs!! It's always when you aren't there.

Time wasters on eBay.

People would sell their granny for that purple and green striped top.

Quote Originally Posted by peter douglas View Post
    Time wasters on eBay.

People would sell their granny for that purple and green striped top.
    Just eBay in general. Put a decent offer in for something that's been up for weeks; nobody goes near it then with 20 seconds left, some twat beats your offer leaving you no time to come back.

Quote Originally Posted by #FromTheCapital View Post
    Just eBay in general. Put a decent offer in for something that's been up for weeks; nobody goes near it then with 20 seconds left, some twat beats your offer leaving you no time to come back.
    They don't really do E-Bay in NZ, they've got a thing called Trademe which is practically identical. I hate people who constantly ask ridiculous questions about an item you've listed. "can you take a photo from the back....from the side.....from the ******' moon?" Bid or don't bid, but enough with the stupid questions!!

Overly friendly shop staff. Case in point, last weekend we were in a shopping centre and the missus takes our boy to one of those kids rides, so I nip over to a clothes store to look at the jeans. "Hi how are you?" Far enough so far right? Just wait....."up to much this weekend?" "going out somewhere tonight?" and on and on.... Mind yer own ******* business, I just want to look at some jeans!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Mixu62 View Post
    They don't really do E-Bay in NZ, they've got a thing called Trademe which is practically identical. I hate people who constantly ask ridiculous questions about an item you've listed. "can you take a photo from the back....from the side.....from the ******' moon?" Bid or don't bid, but enough with the stupid questions!!

Overly friendly shop staff. Case in point, last weekend we were in a shopping centre and the missus takes our boy to one of those kids rides, so I nip over to a clothes store to look at the jeans. "Hi how are you?" Far enough so far right? Just wait....."up to much this weekend?" "going out somewhere tonight?" and on and on.... Mind yer own ******* business, I just want to look at some jeans!!!
    But did they work in the shop or were you getting picked up?

Crisps. Don't get me wrong, I love them. Can easily eat 3 packets a day, but then, that's the problem.

Quote Originally Posted by Mixu62 View Post

The guy who works at Scotmid in Carrick Knowe, by Union Park, he does my head in!

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    When you buy a new video game and have to wait hours to play it because it requires a huge download to play it. I always thought consoles were supposed to be quick and easy compared to PCs?

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    The guy who works at Scotmid in Carrick Knowe, by Union Park, he does my head in!
    Hahaha know exactly who you mean - Scotmid Daniel.

Women with ridiculously loud fake laughs, nothing can be that funny.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Folk who spend the whole match kicking the seat in front of them...

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Folk who spend the whole match kicking the seat in front of them...
    Had bairns just beside us in lower FF who were doing the same, whilst their mothers sat behind them f ing and blinding for most of the game

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    Had bairns just beside us in lower FF who were doing the same, whilst their mothers sat behind them f ing and blinding for most of the game
    Aye that does ma heid in as well....the thing is, it was guys in their mid-20s at least! Feet over the seats in front, kicking them back and forward to make as much noise as possible. One started it so the other 2 followed suit. A bit strange if you ask me.