Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by R'Albin View Post
    They'll be hoping we sell McGinn for big bucks in the next few years. A third of that transfer fee could end up being quite a big difference maker for them.
    I'm still taking that figure with a big pinch of salt. The circumstances in signing him don't really add up to needing to go that far but time will tell I guess.

@hibs.net private member R'Albin's Avatar

Gamertag: Razza96
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    I'm still taking that figure with a big pinch of salt. The circumstances in signing him don't really add up to needing to go that far but time will tell I guess.
    Was it not the St Mirren chairman himself who said this?

I suppose he easily could have been lying so the fans weren't so annoyed at losing him on the cheap.

Quote Originally Posted by Nakedmanoncrack View Post
    Do you remember what Love Street was like?
    Yes but lots of grounds were similar until recently.Mind the bogs behind the old east terrace not too long ago.
    Last edited by Waxy; 10-01-2017 at 11:26 AM.

The Yams will surely remember it. The 6-2 gubbing they got from the buddies and the famous 1-5 by Celtic.

Maybe we should do the 1-5 back to them in honor of the scoreline that sunk them that lovely day.

Glory Glory

Quote Originally Posted by Waxy View Post
    Yes but lots of grounds were similar until recently.Mind the bogs behind the old east terrace not too long ago.
    - at least until the Taylor report.

The likes of Motherwell, Morton, Partick, Falkirk, St Mirren were all pretty similar - and they all had roofs on their main terracing long before Hibs.

Thene there were (still are in some cases) the grounds with wonky main stands - Tannadice, Starks Park andn the winner by a long way, Airdrie.

Quote Originally Posted by northstandhibby View Post
    The Yams will surely remember it. The 6-2 gubbing they got from the buddies and the famous 1-5 by Celtic.

Maybe we should do the 1-5 back to them in honor of the scoreline that sunk them that lovely day.

Glory Glory
    I always thought it was 0-5 to Celtic that day.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    [/B]

One of my favourite away days, got good friends who support St Mirren, their local team, used to go to the Wee Barrel before games as they laid on a free bus to the new stadium which is functional, paid for the right way but a bit soulless.

They'll survive alright but my friends thought getting rid of Lennon was a mistake at the time and it looks like it was.
    The Wee Barrel has not long reopened under new management. So the guys said on 'Off the Ball' said whilst making comment on the bar during a recent show.

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    The Wee Barrel has not long reopened under new management. So the guys said on 'Off the Ball' said whilst making comment on the bar during a recent show.
    Would definitely give it a go. Last time we were up we stayed over in paisley, went to the wee howf and were made really welcome again even though we won!

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    St Mirren are a very strange club. They are either nowhere, not even on the map, or they are a significant force. It's either one or the other. Despite suffering from the uglies being on their doorstep, the town seems to get behind them when they are doing well. They had the Alex Ferguson side of Fitzpatrick and McGarvey, and produced players like McIvanney and now McGinn, and they won both the Scottish Cup and League Cup, which is pretty decent going for a club outwith the OF/big five in Scotland.
    yup, Scottish cup and a fairly recent League cup. even big clubs haven't done tha for a long long time Stevie Mallan would be a good addition to Hibs though

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    It was.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr White View Post
    It was.
    How did the yams get on that day? I always assumed they'd achieved all their ambitions as there were loads floating around the city in T shirts with champions on them before their party in Dundee.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    How did the yams get on that day? I always assumed they'd achieved all their ambitions as there were loads floating around the city in T shirts with champions on them before their party in Dundee.

First part of a glorious double bagged that day wasn't it?

Mita been!

So that's why they're a big team.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Mita been!
    I really hope it's true that the bbc vidi printer initially stated
    *0-1 W Kidd*

I love the thought of the rest of the 400 000 who couldn't get to Dundee sitting at home, radio off as it was too nerve wracking, watching the vidiprinter...

"Walter's scored!! The league will be ours!!"

*correction 1-0 A Kidd**

"Aw naw..."

Alberts second goal was Messi like.

My mistake it was indeed 0-5. Sorry about that. I'll just stick to giving them the two fingers up on both hands in celebration of the best 2-2 comeback in derby day history.

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    yup, Scottish cup and a fairly recent League cup. even big clubs haven't done tha for a long long time Stevie Mallan would be a good addition to Hibs though
    I've thought for some time that Mallan would be a good player to get in, but we've got too many midfielders at the moment. Might be one to go for in the close season before we start back in the Premiership . By that time hopefully we'll know what midfielders are staying or going.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    I'd rather see St.mirren in the spl than shight like ross county ict hamilton partick st.johnstone dundee...Infact how those teams are in there and Hibs are below them seriously depresses me
    Don't mind Dundee to be honest, had a few good games home and away against them

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?

Yup. It's grounds like that (and ER in the old days which wasn't any better) that make me go all misty-eyed for the old days.

Some of the stewards at ER nowadays - they'd have been eaten alive if they'd tried to get bossy back in those days.

Wouldnae even have bothered to cook them .... (Sigh)

@hibs.net private member mutley's Avatar

PSN ID: mutley074
    I think that if they drop to League 1, then it will be extremely difficult for St M. If they can get some points and avoid the drop, they need to push their fans to support them and hopefully pick themselves up next season

They deserve credit at least for building a pretty decent stadium, rather than the embarrassing three, two and one sided efforts. Clubs that have been out performing them as well.

I've got quite a few mates who support Morton.

They're all good lads - it would be nice to see them consistently have the upper hand through that way for a while.

I do, it looked like this the first time I went.

I really liked it, as they had a roof over the main terracing... unlike Hibs

Quote Originally Posted by Keekaboo View Post

Likewise.

It was a fairly big ground, and like you say, enjoying a covered terracing was a real luxury for us before we covered ours. There really was no need to impose the all seated criteria at the time, and a lot of those now lost grounds would still be acceptable today with some improvement to toilets and catering facilities.

Its a shame to see St Mirren where they are .... the now departed Jim Goodwin apart I have nothing against them.
    Their defeat of the Yams in the League cup final remains one of my favourite TV games ever ... even nicer to know that SJM played a small part in it

I have a soft spot for fans any of the clubs within the sphere of influence of the ugly sisters, anybody who can resist the temptation to go glory hunting and support St Mirren, Morton, Partick etc deserves respect IMO. But St Mirren have been the architects of their own destruction in many ways:

Moving from Love Street was probably a good move ..... their decision to replace it with the most unimaginative boring looking stadium in Scotland wasn't. I don't know how much it cost to build, but surely they could have built something better looking for the same money and certainly without the huge gaps between the stands.

Punting Danny Lennon without giving him enough time to turn round the teams results was a bad move .... replacing him with Tommy Craig was dumb beyond belief, we all said so at the time and we were all correct.

Can St Mirren turn it around? Yes they can, but they could well face a Dunfermline style long road before they do ..... I read somewhere that back in the day Alex Ferguson hired a van with a megaphone and drove round Paisley trying to drum up support from the locals, perhaps its time to try that.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Mita been!
    Mita won the league and mita won the cup 🤔

Remember the tannadice far terracing before the stand? So steep you had to hook yourself to something

It was great.

Quote Originally Posted by Keekaboo View Post

It was a big ground with a capacity of around 50,000.
    And like other grounds was gradually shrunk down to about 11,000 with seating.
    Always a good atmosphere in the ground, but like most other grounds needed to much work done and being near the centre of Paisley it was sellable!
    With the new stadium nearer to the airport, its like the fans have to travel a bit further, so not bothering to go!