Page 68 of 430 FirstFirst ... 1858666768697078118168 ... LastLast
Results 2,011 to 2,040 of 12885
    Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    I realise that all football fans are biased to their own club but to try and claim that Tynecastle is better than ER is beyond stupid. It's worse in every single way. It's a hovel of a place with 3 rusty Anderson shelters and now a horrid looking office block that looks ridiculous next to the previously mentioned metal sheds. 4 single tier stands that would look absolutely tiny without the metal girders on top. Faded seats all over the shop, open concourses that are like wind tunnels and bright pink floodlights filling each corner. Can anyone think of a modern stadium anywhere that actually has floodlight pillars in the corners still? A pitch that's too small to host any games of importance, zero hospitality boxes that look out on to the pitch-however hospitality boxes that look into a school playground, seats crammed so close together that there is zero leg room-yet still a smaller capacity than Easter Rd, stands so steep that their fans face plant the pink tarmac round their wee pitch, a massive ugly police box in the way of their new stand blocking hundreds of seats(a blessing considering how guff they are) and ZERO potential to add even a single seat more in the future.

But aye, we used breeze blocks to build our stadium

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Scarily accurate comparison if you remove the fact it looks nothing like it.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    That was cathroesque

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    It's dortmund bus station he means.

Got quite a bit of glass as well.

Dortmund's main train station has quite an impresive 'glass curtain', maybe he meant that.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by NadeAteMyLunch! View Post
    I realise that all football fans are biased to their own club but to try and claim that Tynecastle is better than ER is beyond stupid. It's worse in every single way. It's a hovel of a place with 3 rusty Anderson shelters and now a horrid looking office block that looks ridiculous next to the previously mentioned metal sheds. 4 single tier stands that would look absolutely tiny without the metal girders on top. Faded seats all over the shop, open concourses that are like wind tunnels and bright pink floodlights filling each corner. Can anyone think of a modern stadium anywhere that actually has floodlight pillars in the corners still? A pitch that's too small to host any games of importance, zero hospitality boxes that look out on to the pitch-however hospitality boxes that look into a school playground, seats crammed so close together that there is zero leg room-yet still a smaller capacity than Easter Rd, stands so steep that their fans face plant the pink tarmac round their wee pitch, a massive ugly police box in the way of their new stand blocking hundreds of seats(a blessing considering how guff they are) and ZERO potential to add even a single seat more in the future.

Aye, it's an eyesore, so it is.

easter_road13.jpg

easter-road-stadium.jpg

images.jpg

@hibs.net private member Jack Hackett's Avatar
    Deluded ****wits.

That is all. End of!

Yeah! Might have had a G&T... or 2. IIt's a beautiful evening... On the beach... High on Hibs

The only thing they're high on is their own sense of importance. Biiiiig comedown expected.

Quote Originally Posted by Iain G View Post
    Signage has gone up this morning...

Attachment 19215
    🤣🤣
    Last edited by Pete; 16-08-2017 at 05:52 PM.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by Pete View Post
    🤣🤣

Nah - it'll no be a Curry's. Poundland and a couple of pawnshops'd be more like it.

Wouldn't Woolworths or WH Smith be more appropriate seeing as we're looking at seventies architecture?

easter_road13.jpg

easter-road-stadium.jpg

images.jpg
    In the cup DVD when the players arrived back at the ground and walked over the pitch Easter Road quiet and reflective looked like absolute heaven.

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493

They are going to spend £15m - £20m on this stand leaving them with a smaller capacity than easter road and no room for expansion no matter how well things are going for them.

The only possible way they could increase capacity would be to completely demolish the other three stands and rebuild from the ground up which would cost so much money it's completly unfeasible

Meanwhile we already have the largest football dedicated stadium in the east of scotland and if we got £20m to spend on developing it further we could very easily increase our capacity to somewhere between 25k and 30k and have a vast amount of interior space available for function suites, hospitality and other facilities over an above what we already have in place..........all with minimal fuss and disruption to our ability to operate as a football club first and foremost.

The yams will be beside themselves if we grow to a level that a 25k capacity is a justified expenditure or scotland is involved in hosting a european championships where we would be chosen as a host venue and backing given to develop the stadium to the required standard.

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    😂😂😂

easter_road13.jpg

easter-road-stadium.jpg

images.jpg
    Beautiful

They know Easter Road stadium is far superior to their midden, it just hurts them too much to admit it. Probably as much as it would hurt them to admit they are not a big team.

First Team Breakthrough Hibs1969's Avatar
    Wernham Hogg anyone? Maybe David Brent has applied for the Hearts job.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Lets face it, you could spend all night picking holes in it mate, its so bad it could have been written by the club themselves ... perhaps it was

"that we as a support did not go quietly in ( should be into ) the night"

"that we as a support will go down in history that stood by that glorious institution that is Heart of Midlothian" ...... where the hell do you begin with that mess?
    With all the debt they had they always said "we owe it to ourselves." Then, when it comes time to divvy up, they wheedle about, go bust, buy their toytown ground back and never stop patting themselves on the back about it. The distance, in the regard they hold themselves in and actual reality is massive. Boltons ground and that drab little box they're building, c'mon.

This from JKB's new stand thread:

"No other club has such a loyal fan base, I will say this though that this stand will be a standing legacy of just how loyal a fan base we have. A standing dominant reminder to all those Hibs ***** that wanted us dead that we as a support refused to go quietly in the night , that we as a support did not walk away , that we as a support will go down in history that stood by that glorious institution that is Heart of Midlothian. FTH."

All they need now is Mel Gibson with his face painted Maroon, cardigan blowing in the wind, standing through the sun roof of his Rover shouting ........ Frrrrrrreeeeeeeeedom !!!

Someones been watching their old betamax copy of 'Indepedence Day' 😂

Bearing in mind the length of this thread, this has probably been mentioned many pages back but there's an ongoing argument on kickback that the cost of the stand was going to come in £5 million over budget, hence the major scaling back of the design. It's also being claimed that the club have had to take a loan from the contractor to get the building over the line. Now I know Budge has confirmed it is £2 million over budget and that she feels it's worth taking the hit, but to rack up a £5 million overspend is scarcely credible. It does make you wonder whether the forgotten seat order might be a convenient way of buying time. Embarrassing to admit, yes, but nothing compared to admitting they can't afford to finish the stand.

It must hurt them badly that the self proclaimed big team will still have a smaller, vastly inferior stadium which is still an eyesore and a training centre they have to wait in line to use beind the collage netball team while we have Easter Road and East Mains. Pleasing.

Quote Originally Posted by KingDomofFife84 View Post
    It must hurt them badly that the self proclaimed big team will still have a smaller, vastly inferior stadium which is still an eyesore and a training centre they have to wait in line to use beind the collage netball team while we have Easter Road and East Mains. Pleasing.
    I think CGI pics look very nice. Bauhaus inspired perhaps. If they use good quality materials they will have one nice stand. This may serve to make the older ones look even nastier, however.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    ^^^ The beauty of it all is that deep down they know fine well that ER is a far better stadium than they will ever have.

They know that their 3 stands are crap and the realisation that their shiny new stand is also going to be a dump has them clutching at any straws they can. Size really does matter to them.

I guess their way of consoling themselves is to simply repeat that ER is worse over and over again in the vain hope that some magical stadium fairy will transform their stadium into what they think they have.

From the outside it looks like any big out of town glass fronted office building. Get a feeling from reading kickback there is a growing level of dissatisfaction at the absurd blandness of it. Even with the badge on and cultivated outside it will still look very dull indeed.

Hertzed it!

@hibs.net private member GreenLake's Avatar
    Their stand could be mistaken for an example of Soviet Bloc architecture.

Quote Originally Posted by MyJo View Post
    They are going to spend £15m - £20m on this stand leaving them with a smaller capacity than easter road and no room for expansion no matter how well things are going for them.

The only possible way they could increase capacity would be to completely demolish the other three stands and rebuild from the ground up which would cost so much money it's completly unfeasible

Meanwhile we already have the largest football dedicated stadium in the east of scotland and if we got £20m to spend on developing it further we could very easily increase our capacity to somewhere between 25k and 30k and have a vast amount of interior space available for function suites, hospitality and other facilities over an above what we already have in place..........all with minimal fuss and disruption to our ability to operate as a football club first and foremost.

The yams will be beside themselves if we grow to a level that a 25k capacity is a justified expenditure or scotland is involved in hosting a european championships where we would be chosen as a host venue and backing given to develop the stadium to the required standard.
    Never mind all the other headlines the bit in there about minimal fuss means so much. No need to play half a season away from home or beg anyone else to make us a special case. Hibs class

This from JKB's new stand thread:

"No other club has such a loyal fan base, I will say this though that this stand will be a standing legacy of just how loyal a fan base we have. A standing dominant reminder to all those Hibs ***** that wanted us dead that we as a support refused to go quietly in the night , that we as a support did not walk away , that we as a support will go down in history that stood by that glorious institution that is Heart of Midlothian. FTH."

All they need now is Mel Gibson with his face painted Maroon, cardigan blowing in the wind, standing through the sun roof of his Rover shouting ........ Frrrrrrreeeeeeeeedom !!!
    Wonder what 20th Century Fox/Bill Pullman would say if word reaches them someone has hijacked the script/lines from one of their biggest-ever films - in Hollywood, 'Image is everything' and I'd imagine being associated with such a lowly, 2nd-rate, amateur nonentity is NOT exactly the image either of them would be too happy about !

Can I borrow some ambition? degenerated's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Keekaboo View Post
    Dortmund's main train station has quite an impresive 'glass curtain', maybe he meant that.

Ironically, there's more than a whiff of St Andrews bus station about it.

Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by GreenLake View Post
    Their stand could be mistaken for an example of Soviet Bloc architecture.
    Vlad was the God...

He Should be Remembered ... fondly

Quote Originally Posted by mca View Post
    Vlad was the God...

He Should be Remembered ... fondly

Stay safe sweet prince 😂

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    Do they ever not mention Hibs when they have these "inspirational" moments. I really do miss the "open letter" era. Maybe it'll make a come-back.

Nah. We're all over it, except when Budgie takes the mic. But she has her own communication issues.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Currently pishing soon in West Edinburgh, I sure hope this doesn't slow up construction.