Thread: Misheard lyrics

Misheard lyrics

Was there a thread about this already?

I thought there was but I can't find it. Maybe I imagined it.

Anyway, Liz Kershaw is getting folk to tell her about songs they sand the wrong words to and a guy just phoned in with the best I've heard for a while.

He thought Feargal Sharkey sang "A good parking space is hard to find"!

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Was there a thread about this already?

I thought there was but I can't find it. Maybe I imagined it.

Anyway, Liz Kershaw is getting folk to tell her about songs they sand the wrong words to and a guy just phoned in with the best I've heard for a while.

He thought Feargal Sharkey sang "A good parking space is hard to find"!
    Brilliant!

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    My girlfriend's brother-in-law thought the lyrics of "You're So Vain" included:

"...some underworld spy or the wife of a postman, wife of a postman..."

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    My girlfriend's brother-in-law thought the lyrics of "You're So Vain" included:

"...some underworld spy or the wife of a postman, wife of a postman..."

I had to listen to it to see how it was possible to hear "close friend" as postman.

But it actually does!

PS I just posted YSV on the iconic lyrics thread.
    Last edited by Hibbyradge; 12-05-2018 at 05:30 PM.

Please excuse me while I kiss this guy.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Cliff Richard it's so funny.
    Always thought it was piss off honey
    Last edited by sleeping giant; 13-05-2018 at 08:43 AM.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    One of my favourite songs of all time, Grandaddy's Now It's On, has 2 different versions of the lyrics quoted on various lyric sites.

"Now that the cay's in place
    Where the sea used to be"

Or

"Now that the "k"s in place
    Where the "c" used to be"

Both could be right.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    I suspect I’ll get slaughtered by Loopz for this but I first heard Bob Marley’s “Redemption Song” in my early teens, loved it as anyone should, but could never figure out one particular bit.

He sang about being taken from the bottom lispet. I had no idea what a lispet was, pre-internet so no Googling available and nor indeed did I understand why they were stacked vertically and could only assume the bottom one was the worst.

I think I was in my thirties before I sussed it was “bottomless pit”.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    I think this featured on the previous thread that Hibbyradge mentioned:

The classic 80s pop-rock "We Built This City" by Jefferson Starship - I always heard the line -

"While Tony plays the mamba, listen to the radio"

when the actual lyric was

"Marconi plays the mamba, listen to the radio"

I always wondered who Tony was, and why his mamba playing was important but shouldn't interfere with listening to the radio
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Paul Young

“Everytime you go away, you take a piece of meat with you’

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    I suspect I’ll get slaughtered by Loopz for this but I first heard Bob Marley’s “Redemption Song” in my early teens, loved it as anyone should, but could never figure out one particular bit.

He sang about being taken from the bottom lispet. I had no idea what a lispet was, pre-internet so no Googling available and nor indeed did I understand why they were stacked vertically and could only assume the bottom one was the worst.

I think I was in my thirties before I sussed it was “bottomless pit”.
    Redemption song.

Some say it's just a fortifeit , you've got to fulfill the book
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    My Mrs, until VERY recently thought Black Box sang "Right on time" rather than "Ride on time",,,, not to bad until you pull her up for it and she's adamant she's right, a quick Google search and relax in to smug mode!

Opening line of the Aussie national anthem sounds a lot like "Australian's all eat ostriches".

My missus was devastated when I told her the line in Hurt Johnny Cash my Swedish friend (she's swedish) was in fact my sweetest friend.

Had a mate who at the time it was a big hit, was sure ****gy’s “Boombastic” contained the line

‘she call me mr boombastic, I’m effing fantastic, please can I have a cheese roll’

To be fair, I’m not sure ****gy knew the lyrics, and just mumbled randomly

An ex of the sister in law thought the lyrics were

Oh darling I was flying to Mexico.

When it is, of course: oh darling I was blind to let you go.

When I was five my Daddy took me down to Easter Road He lifted me a pie upon his shoulder

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    When I was five my Daddy took me down to Easter Road He lifted me a pie upon his shoulder
    Similar theme:

"Every week, rain or shine, we'd all lose our jobs".

My daughter....

"lay a Wispa, on your pillow"

Similar theme:

"Every week, rain or shine, we'd all lose our jobs".

Brilliant!

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    My daughter....

"lay a Wispa, on your pillow"
    My Daughters when bairns always thought Robbie Williams Kick Ass Angel was Kit Kat Angel 😆

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    I think this featured on the previous thread that Hibbyradge mentioned:

The classic 80s pop-rock "We Built This City" by Jefferson Starship - I always heard the line -

"While Tony plays the mamba, listen to the radio"

when the actual lyric was

"Marconi plays the mamba, listen to the radio"

I always wondered who Tony was, and why his mamba playing was important but shouldn't interfere with listening to the radio
    I would never have known this if you hadn't posted!

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    My Daughters when bairns always thought Robbie Williams Kick Ass Angel was Kit Kat Angel 😆
    Space?

In my younger days I embarrassingly sung "my rhubarb is sour" many a time at the top of my lungs instead of "my room on this earth" during Sunshine on Leith sing-a-longs...

Quote Originally Posted by IGRIGI View Post
    In my younger days I embarrassingly sung "my rhubarb is sour" many a time at the top of my lungs instead of "my room on this earth" during Sunshine on Leith sing-a-longs...

Quote Originally Posted by IGRIGI View Post
    I will never get that out of my head, now.

Space?
    Possibly mate, unsure where I got Robbie Williams from but it was a long time ago 😁

When I was a wee laddie I used to think the Desmond Dekker song was called Me ears are alight! :-)

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    When I was a wee laddie I used to think the Desmond Dekker song was called Me ears are alight! :-)
    😆

On 6music just now.

Big Fun - Inner City

We’re having meatballs.