Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    I don’t like rugby specially Irish rugby
    That's the only rugby I like...

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Didn't snaggle toothed sycophantic pastry ponce Greg Wallace not claim some allegiance to them?

A yam friend of mine used an image of him looking smug on kickback one day shortly before the 2012 final and they all started using it - he claims this is where the allegiance began.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbyfraelibby View Post
    The name on the chest says it all really...

Didn't see or hear much of that equine faced trollop in the following three years after the cheating final

Someone connected with the Eddie Edwards film. There are a few 5-1 references in it.
    I'm not a movie buff, but maybe someone knows who was responsible - a set designer or producer perhaps?

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by AngloHibs View Post
    Someone connected with the Eddie Edwards film. There are a few 5-1 references in it.
    I'm not a movie buff, but maybe someone knows who was responsible - a set designer or producer perhaps?
    Eddie's claim to fame was in 88 only two years after their historic double. Should really have snuck those in.
    Last edited by O'Rourke3; 11-02-2018 at 09:45 PM.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    Should resonance snuck those in.
    Completely agree.

Quote Originally Posted by KingDomofFife84 View Post
    The less said about this the better

She has never heard of a toothbrush or toothpaste going by that photo,

Quote Originally Posted by Anti-hoofbaw View Post
    ?????

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Completely agree.
    Now ericed

Quote Originally Posted by Clerie Green View Post
    ?????
    Not just me, then!

Quote Originally Posted by fat freddy View Post
    I used to play football with Wattie, he was a dirty hacking git with a fair amount of skill but I think he took special pleasure in kicking Hibbies, they're playing La Belle Angele in March so I might go along and gob on him.
    Went to see them in Sheffield a few years back on the same line up as The Business (West Am fans). Great night with Skins, Punks and Herberts in the audience. Sadly Micky Fitz died in late 2016 of cancer.

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Sure Roland Rat was a Jambo
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Davros and last year he actually got to manage them.

Also heard Joseph Stalin, Adolf Hitler, Pol Pot and Margaret Thatcher were all season ticket holders.

Not sure if he classes as a celebrity but Martin Geissler (ITV news) is a Jambo.

Has no one mentioned Ronnie Corbett?

@hibs.net private member cheltenhamhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by KingDomofFife84 View Post
    The less said about this the better

F*** me !!!! you could grate parmesan cheese through a tennis racket with those teeth

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Journeyman golfer Andrew Oldcorn,

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    General know-all, expert on everything and all round bore Mark Donaldson.

First Team Breakthrough Fisherrow Harp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Lancs Harp View Post
    Davros and last year he actually got to manage them.

Also heard Joseph Stalin, Adolf Hitler, Pol Pot and Margaret Thatcher were all season ticket holders.
    Mao was one too!

First Team Breakthrough kevo1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by gringojoe View Post
    She has never heard of a toothbrush or toothpaste going by that photo,
    Teeth like a cavemans necklace

Quote Originally Posted by Anti-hoofbaw View Post
    Any details on that affair ? Not saying its pish just would like to know.

Apparently no one other than Ken's family turned up to congratulate Ken at the airport when he got off the Plane after dethroning Ismael Laguna in what is considers one of the greatest wins in British boxing history. Not even the press turned up. Over a hundred thousand ecstatic catholic weegies lined the streets for Benny Lynch in Glesga after he beat Jackie Brown, but that ***** went down in the 30's
    My father in law was a boxing coach at Sparta in the 80's and obviously he heard it from there. The concenus was that he wasn't very well thought of because he let a few of the amateurs down that sparred with him, and he wasn;t very helpful during the difficult times when their premises in McDonald Road were going to be developed for housing and they were having to move.
    Regarding his welcome back, my recollection as a kid was that he arrived back in Edinburgh by train to packed out Waverley, although that could have been after the Roberto Duran fight that he lost.
    I can't help any further than that.

Scottish Cup Winners 2016

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    The Ken Buchanan Hotel was on the front of the Links my friend. The move to Ferry Rd came much later.

Don't think one on Links was called KB hotel though & wasn't much later. I think Kenny was in Ferry Road by mid 70's. As for being a Jambo Kenny was not really that bothered. Kenny actually applied to join the 50 Club but their constitution said 50 only so KB got a kb & wasn't too chuffed. For a brief period after that he proclaimed himself himself a Yam which is where the legend arose. Kenny could be a dick, can't we all, but he was also very generous & was an astounding fighter. IIRC an unknown called Muhammad Ali was runner up to Ken in Ring magazine's boxer of the year award in the 70's.

Obsessed with the Hibees son of haggart's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs07p View Post
    My father in law was a boxing coach at Sparta in the 80's and obviously he heard it from there. The concenus was that he wasn't very well thought of because he let a few of the amateurs down that sparred with him, and he wasn;t very helpful during the difficult times when their premises in McDonald Road were going to be developed for housing and they were having to move.
    Regarding his welcome back, my recollection as a kid was that he arrived back in Edinburgh by train to packed out Waverley, although that could have been after the Roberto Duran fight that he lost.

I can’t remember that but I do remember him presenting the prizes at Porty in 1971 or 1972. He got a big cheer ( not from the teachers or parents) when he recounted being sent home for fighting...

The muppets

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    Eddie's claim to fame was in 88 only two years after their historic double. Should really have snuck those in.
    That double really gets to me. Forever in their shaddow

@hibs.net private member surreyhibbie's Avatar
    Re. Ken Buchanan, don’t care who he supported, he was a great boxer, but his “home gym” Sparta felt a little bit let down after his world title win. The “amateurs” that sparred with him prior to that fight were promised certain things that didn’t materialise, and some people connected to Sparta think he’s a bit of a *****house.

His dad certainly was/is a hibby. Stood in a queue to get cup final tickets for me a few years back. Liked a wee drambuie or three if I remember. 😀
    Alcohol IS the answer, but I forget the question...

@hibs.net private member worcesterhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Leith's finest View Post
    The hotel was on ferry road, now called victoria park hotel
    Along with the Old Chain Pier and the now demolished Bonnington Bridge Bar, the Ken Buchanan was one of the few places that would serve us when we were 16..jeez that must be about 35 years ago..happy days.

I mind KB coming down to see his dad in Northfield when I was wee. He had a gold Rolls Royce with the number plate KB123