New song in singing section

What are the lyrics to the new song about Europe?

Don't care how we get there etc?

We're on our way
    Off to Europe
    We're on our way
    How do we get there I dont know
    How do we get there I dont care
    All I know is Hibs are on their way

@hibs.net private member Callum7's Avatar

I've been singing this to myself over the last few days...

Now it's off to Europe in the green, in the green
    And we're gonna watch the Hibees play
    Cos the fans have seen that the team has been
    Playing the Hibernian way...

Sorry, but what's the tune?

Quote Originally Posted by McrHibee View Post
    I've been singing this to myself over the last few days...

Now it's off to Europe in the green, in the green
    And we're gonna watch the Hibees play
    Cos the fans have seen that the team has been
    Playing the Hibernian way...
    Those of us of a certain age can hear the rattle of the Thomson gun in there....

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    Quote Originally Posted by The Pointer View Post
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=F757QAamdz4

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Those of us of a certain age can hear the rattle of the Thomson gun in there....

Helmets as well. Yes those were the days.

Makes you feel auld!!

Quote Originally Posted by penihibs View Post
    Makes you feel auld!!
    Sang it with gusto in the 70s and really didn’t know better. Very glad we have dropped that from the repertoire now.

Laughed when I saw your post - that was all I could think of

Quote Originally Posted by CentreLine View Post
    Sang it with gusto in the 70s and really didn’t know better. Very glad we have dropped that from the repertoire now.
    Aye ashamed to say I too sang this, older and wiser now but at the time it felt right to sing it.

Quote Originally Posted by CentreLine View Post
    Bit confused here, why is that song controversial?

Quote Originally Posted by 1van Sprou7e View Post

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Thlt...&start_radio=1

Remember singing The Soldiers Song on Carlton Branch Bus mid to late sixties! Seemed OK at the time ????

@hibs.net private member linlithgowhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Remember singing The Soldiers Song on Carlton Branch Bus mid to late sixties! Seemed OK at the time ????
    Wouldn't have got away with that in the 70s on that bus!!!

Quote Originally Posted by The Pointer View Post
    The tune as far as the song the OP is on about is "Paint your wagon" I think, same tune the English fans were singing at the WC.

Quote Originally Posted by linlithgowhibbie View Post
    Sixties!

Shank says “No, I don’t think so but I’ve heard of the MENTAL HIBEES!” Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na !

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Shank says “No, I don’t think so but I’ve heard of the MENTAL HIBEES!” Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na !
    I know not the soldiers song just a radge random memory!

That "sudden thought came to my mind" as well

Must say though,the current Hibernian Choir are doing a grand job.

Back then it was the Cave-ites,or the foot stampers in the Old North Stand (Hibees ! Hibees !) that started the singing.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    That "sudden thought came to my mind" as well

Must say though,the current Hibernian Choir are doing a grand job.

Back then it was the Cave-ites,or the foot stampers in the Old North Stand (Hibees ! Hibees !) that started the singing.
    Normally run of the mill fans start the Hibees ! to spur the team on at an important part of the game but I think you might have hit on something here if the singing section could incorporate it into their repertoire when they want the whole stadium to join in.....!

Never to be forgotten. Think the last time I heard it was on Hibs 3 game Irish tour before season 2005/6. We were inside/outside Fitzgerald's pub at Aston Quay, Dublin. The lyrics leant themselves very well to our visit.

Quote Originally Posted by 1van Sprou7e View Post
    Not as confused as I am, at 62y.o. and an ex caveite, I remember those old rebel songs very well but I thought this thread was about the new "European" song !

Good stuff that the Choir are creating new songs and chants.
    My favourite in recent seasons and the loudest has to be the SJM song.

Just in front of the Warburton one !!

And other ones like that !!

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Good stuff that the Choir are creating new songs and chants.
    My favourite in recent seasons and the loudest has to be the SJM song.

And other ones like that !!
    They are my two favourites as well Mick.

Coming back to me now.... still the sixties not the Soldiers Song . .. but ... wait for it .... Sean South!
    .... better?

Quote Originally Posted by Feed McGraw View Post
    The tune as far as the song the OP is on about is "Paint your wagon" I think, same tune the English fans were singing at the WC.
    Sevco sing a sectarian song to that tune.
    I hope we dont adopt a song with the same tune.

Edit: Oops!
    Wrong tune
    Am thinking of Wanderin Star from that movie
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 31-07-2018 at 10:40 PM.

Love singing this to the knuckle draggers at my work, a favourite that winds them up even though the bread man, with respect is long gone.

Mallan needs a song !