Thread: Still Game

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar

Still Game

Only an hour to go. Very excited!

Hmmmm

Hopefully just a slow start but, as I feared, that wasn't great at all.

Hmmmm

Hopefully just a slow start but, as I feared, that wasn't great at all.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    As usual some absolutely side splitting stuff and a lot of unfunny slapstick.

Not great,felt like it was just trying to introduce all the characters again and was too fragmented.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    I'm not that big a fan but there were enough laughs in it to make it worthwhile watching.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

@hibs.net private member Liam89's Avatar
    I enjoyed it. Was always going to be hard to live up to hype but thought it had some good moments. Always hard after a 9 year break, especially since it had to reintroduce and introduce characters that some viewers had never seen (as it was broadcast in England as well for the first time).

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    I actually really enjoyed it.

Quote Originally Posted by CallumLaidlaw View Post
    I actually really enjoyed it.

Same here. Their big mistake was going with a diamond formation though
    This is how it feels

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    I really enjoyed it. Some bits weren't great and I think it suffered a bit being in HD but overall, very funny.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Well, I laughed.
    Streets ahead of all that American canned-laugherised crap that saturates the box these days.

The first 6 series are available on netflix if anyones interested.

I dinnae see what the appeal is to be honest.

I thought it was pretty *****.

I've never found Still Game or Chewin The Fat funny. Always thought I was in the minority

It's lazily written I think. Hard to credit this is the pinnacle of Scots TV comedy.

There were a few gems among all the dross.

I recorded it on Friday and just watched it back today. Thought it was pretty good tbh and I expect that the rest of the series will be better. Because it's been so long they had to reintroduce all of the characters, now that's over with we should see some funny stories.

First Team Breakthrough Neil4Hibs's Avatar
    I really enjoyed it. A lot of my friends down here were seeing it for the first time, and they all thought it was very funny.

Would I Lie to You, Have I Got News for You then Still Game is a pretty good hour and a half for Friday evening on BBC!

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    I'm a massive fan so been very much looking forward to its return. Thought Friday's episode was good, although there have obviously been far better episodes in previous series. I actually watched it again last night and laughed more second time around. Will be better episodes ahead now that, as others have alluded to, the reintroductions have been done.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Just watched the latest one on BBCi.
    Very disappointing. The canned laughter was blatantly obvious in the opening scenes.

Was brilliant tonight.

Didn't watch the first one but thought the second was very funny.

Thought they were both good but thought second one was much funnier.

Brilliant last night, quite a few laugh out loud moments as is the norm with Still Game. Winstons unfortunate stumble as the pallbearer a highlight

Thought it was ***** again.

I've enjoyed both so far. However, you can tell where it's been softened for the English viewers.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Hardly laughed at the 2nd one but still quite enjoyed it, just sat there with a wee smile on my face all the way through. Thought the first was way better.

PSN ID: hibee-87
    Im enjoying it enough to watch it, but its not the same. Some bits were just too far i.e the new barman and Methadone Mikey (or whatever his name is), I thoght he was a terrible character and appears he is in it next week so makes me think he is a 'new reoccuring one

Quote Originally Posted by Hibee87 View Post
    Im enjoying it enough to watch it, but its not the same. Some bits were just too far i.e the new barman and Methadone Mikey (or whatever his name is), I thoght he was a terrible character and appears he is in it next week so makes me think he is a 'new reoccuring one
    Haven't yet seen it but I imagine as a replacement for Pete the jakey - the departed and much missed Jake D'Arcy.