Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    65,860, tincastles is 58k+ (or 400,000+)
    Exactly

@hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    I would like padded seat instead of those plastic crap in the west stand

The Yams' official record attendance is 53,396 for a cup game in 1932 against the old Rangers.
    Firhill has held more, having had an attendance of 54,728 for a Scotland v England international in 1928. So historically, Tynecastle is 5th in terms of Scottish record attendances (outwith Hampden) TWO places behind Easter Road.

Quote Originally Posted by The Harp View Post
    The Yams' official record attendance is 53,396 for a cup game in 1932 against the old Rangers.
    Firhill has held more, having had an attendance of 54,728 for a Scotland v England international in 1928. So historically, Tynecastle is 5th in terms of Scottish record attendances (outwith Hampden) TWO places behind Easter Road.
    To be fair it's still a decent crowd. Back then the grounds were full of rival teams fans as they just went along to whoever was playing at home that week. Half day on a Saturday, nowt else to do in the afternoon so it's straight to the football.

We have 10'000 empty seats every game so god forbid we are saddled with even more. Just leave the corners as they are.

Quote Originally Posted by eastterrace View Post
    Oh aye, and would you like your padded seat heated for winter matches, and with a complimentary tartan blanket for when it's truly Baltic?

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Nobody was suggesting that changes to ER are a priority including the OP .... but there's nothing wrong with passing a few moments when there's nothing better to do musing about it.

But we can dream. When I win the Euro lottery, you're gonna see changes.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post

But we can dream. When I win the Euro lottery, you're gonna see changes.
    Reconstruction I hope. It's our only hope. Allegedly.

Of course you are correct and there are 400,000 sparryheids ready and waiting to fill any new cesspit they build, but wrong about their record which is actually 52,000 + - another reason for their obsessive jealousy of all things Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by Feed McGraw View Post
    Of course you are correct and there are 400,000 sparryheids ready and waiting to fill any new cesspit they build, but wrong about their record which is actually 52,000 + - another reason for their obsessive jealousy of all things Hibs.
    That's PLEASING

I think a retractable roof might be good, considering the Scottish winter. What do you think?

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Something to fill the gaps between the West and the two stands behind the goals would be decent, even some cladding and would cost relative pennies. Could even try and get a sponsor to foot the bill.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by Feed McGraw View Post

c'mon guys lets get this right eh for over 40 years i've thought ours was 65k+ and hertz 58k+, everyday's a school day

Ach, these figures ain't really relevant now anyway, they're from a different era entirely. It's just one in the eye for the Yams wi' their obsession wi size.

The current and future best stadium in Edinburgh needs to fix the sound system in the East.

More Hibs branding / signage also.

We need to focus on getting this team promoted and attendances will then increase and we will see the stadium busier on match days.

A supports bar like the behind the goals but more casual would go down very well also.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenCastle View Post
    The current and future best stadium in Edinburgh needs to fix the sound system in the East.

We need to focus on getting this team promoted and attendances will then increase and we will see the stadium busier on match days.

A supports bar like the behind the goals but more casual would go down very well also.
    Like the Mash Tun, nice and casual

Quote Originally Posted by giro playboy View Post
    We have 10'000 empty seats every game so god forbid we are saddled with even more. Just leave the corners as they are.
    It doesn't have to be seats ....... go on, use yer imagination

Stadium is already too big really...when it was 17.5K it was more or less the perfect capacity for us.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    I predict a 3G pitch if we are in this league next season.

Quote Originally Posted by GreenCastle View Post

yeah the current sound system is total pish

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    Quote Originally Posted by eastterrace View Post
    I do reporting for the San Jose Earthquakes here in California. (MLS team) and I couldn't believe my first match experience - whole stadium (18,000) with padded seats and cup holders. It's superb and folk would be delighted with this kind of set up at Easter Road.

Problem I guess is though that we have a large number of idiots in Scotland who love to vandalize and have a big lack of respect. The cost id imagine would be considerably more to replace a padded seat than plastic.

Everyones obsessed with empty seats these days. Back in the early Eighties we had a huge ground capable of holding 65000 but we were getting gates around 5000. Never ever heard anyone moan about the 60000 spare standing spaces.

Would fill the corners in at east and west side to famous five and leave the away end exposes. Us v them

quite scary there was even plans for a 100,000k capacity ER (iirc)

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    Wish we would just tidy the place up a bit. The Famous Five stand in particular is looking really tatty. The silver tubing stuff above the entrance to BTG is shocking. It's been bashed to bits for years now and never fixed. That's the entrance often used for functions etc. Above the club store is a mess as well. These should be simple, regular tidy ups instead of being allowed to build up for years.
    Would love to see the corners filled in with something. Some good ideas on here. Far better than just empty space at either end of the West like at present

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Ideal scenario, and looking ahead to when we're back in the big time with bigger crowds, including Europe (well, we can dream ) I'd love to see the corners filled in at ER, giving an enclosed bowl effect to the stadium. If that pipe dream were done:
    a, How much would it cost?
    b, What would capacity then be?

ER is a cracking stadium now. It's amazing to think it's been completely re-built in the past twenty years. When I went to my first game in the late 1980s, it was a dump really, like almost every other Scottish ground. Ibrox had been re-built by then, was all seater, and was miles ahead of every other Scottish stadium. Nothing of that ER now remains, and only Ibrox and Parkhead are better.

What else would you like to see change at the stadium? Be as modest or fanciful as you like
    I'd like to see a new trophy cabinet with some cups in it.

Quote Originally Posted by Waxy View Post
    Everyones obsessed with empty seats these days. Back in the early Eighties we had a huge ground capable of holding 65000 but we were getting gates around 5000. Never ever heard anyone moan about the 60000 spare standing spaces.
    No internet in these days - everyone's a critic now.

Let's develop a team that can get into the SPL before thinking about anything else.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NadeAteMyLunch! View Post
    Wish we would just tidy the place up a bit. The Famous Five stand in particular is looking really tatty. The silver tubing stuff above the entrance to BTG is shocking. It's been bashed to bits for years now and never fixed. That's the entrance often used for functions etc. Above the club store is a mess as well. These should be simple, regular tidy ups instead of being allowed to build up for years.
    Would love to see the corners filled in with something. Some good ideas on here. Far better than just empty space at either end of the West like at present
    The stadium in general is looking a bit tatty and could do with minor maintenance here and there
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

The girders on the FF and South Stands have an outline of the old flying saucer badge built in to them.

We really should replace them all with the latest badge and put thoughts of promotion on hold until that embarasment is dealt with first.