Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Cummings

Quote Originally Posted by Dinkydoo View Post
    It was Commons. NL was asked before and after the game about him and the answer was he didn't know; it's the next thing to deal with now that he got his man Humphrey
    Excellent must have had my Gaelic ears on!

@hibs.net private member AgentDaleCooper's Avatar
    (to the tune of 'leigh griffiths, he's one of our own')

jason cummings-
    he's daft as a brush

Give him the ball in the right area he will score goals. We've been waiting years for someone like him. In all the years I've been supporting hibs there's never been a more natural finisher than JC , Keith Wright is the only player to come close.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Griffiths, Riordan, Stokes, Mixu, O'Connor ??!

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Had a great game last night. The thing he really confused me with was (maybe) his last run. He came in from the left and chose to go right. Given he spends most of the game trying to get to that foot that one perplexed me.

Yup we've had a few great finishers since Keith!

All the more reason to recognise what we've got. I would certainly not be happy to see him leave this month. He scores goals.

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post
    Griffiths, Riordan, Stokes, Mixu, O'Connor ??!
    None of them were as natural finishers as Cummings. All of them were better all round players, but not better finishers. I say that whilst admitting that deeks is my favourite hibs player of all time.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by Tyler Durden View Post
    Said it on another thread but it's no coincidence that Cummings finds himself in these positions to score supposedly easy goals.

By no means perfect but FFS he deserves a lot of credit.

People commented on the transfer window/Humphrey threads were spot on - Cummings will thrive with the service he'll get from Humphrey
    This is how it feels

I love Cummings, I really do.

For me he is like what any fan would be playing for hibs, excitable, bit radge and have a bit of a laugh at the same time.

We are all Jason Cummings.

Showed a wee bit maturity when he was being interviewed by the TV guy, no so much of the daft laddie. Good to see!

What's with that little wobbly walk he does after scores?

@hibs.net private member Johnny_Leith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by AZhibee View Post
    What's with that little wobbly walk he does after scores?
    Connor McGregor impression.

Researched the game, confirmed my thoughts at the game that he was excellent throughout. His interview afterwards contained no banter or the like, a new level of maturity perhaps?

@hibs.net private member GreenLake's Avatar
    A great an unpredictable talent we are lucky to have.

Quote Originally Posted by Johnny_Leith View Post
    Connor McGregor impression.

Researched the game, confirmed my thoughts at the game that he was excellent throughout. His interview afterwards contained no banter or the like, a new level of maturity perhaps?

He's been media coached.

I thought he was excellent on Friday, he'll always be a rough diamond though and so folk will always pick at his flaws. Personally think he's the kind of player that we should enjoy watching rather than pick apart.

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabbage East View Post
    He's been media coached.

I thought he was excellent on Friday, he'll always be a rough diamond though and so folk will always pick at his flaws. Personally think he's the kind of player that we should enjoy watching rather than pick apart.
    Agreed. At some point we will lose JC & SJM. We need to just enjoy what we have right now.

P.s. JC 2nd the other day, timing and position reminded me of the Hearts replay last season. Early goal in front of their fans, game over.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Give him the ball in the right area he will score goals. We've been waiting years for someone like him. In all the years I've been supporting hibs there's never been a more natural finisher than JC , Keith Wright is the only player to come close.
    If he was that good a finisher he'd have had a hat-trick in the first fifteen minutes against Dundee U, as he twice failed to control the ball in front of goal for what would have been straightforward goal-scoring opportunities. If you mean he's a great finisher in situations where someone else controls the ball for him, you may have a point. He also misses far more sitters than Griffiths etc.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    If he was that good a finisher he'd have had a hat-trick in the first fifteen minutes against Dundee U, as he twice failed to control the ball in front of goal for what would have been straightforward goal-scoring opportunities. If you mean he's a great finisher in situations where someone else controls the ball for him, you may have a point. He also misses far more sitters than Griffiths etc.
    Cummings can sometimes be guilty of trying to break the net and end up smashing one on ones right at the keeper where a bit more composure is needed. His movement within the box is fantastic and one touch goals with little time to think is where he is great.

Riordan was the best finisher at Hibs that I've seen.
    Mon the Hibs.

But not near as many as Boyle etc, he is by FAR our best finisher and with him in the team we will win this League.

Quote Originally Posted by SirDavidofGray View Post
    But not near as many as Boyle etc, he is by FAR our best finisher and with him in the team we will win this League.
    On Friday: Cummings at least four genuine chances, two goals; McGinn no genuine chances, 1 goal. McGinn's ratio is better. More than enough evidence to counter your wild claim.

If I caught him in bed wi Ma mrs , I'd tuck him in .

On Friday: Cummings at least four genuine chances, two goals; McGinn no genuine chances, 1 goal. McGinn's ratio is better. More than enough evidence to counter your wild claim.
    I reckon Keatings is a decent shout too.

It's easy to finish when there is no pressure on you or the team or when the angle is right.

Cummings tends to score no matter the chance.

I would guess 90% of Keatings goals for us have been very similar.

Cummings has the predator instinct and it's that that gets him so many chances in the box.

His movement and positioning is second to none.

He is our best finisher.

Although SJM is a far better player than Jason, he is nowhere near as good a finisher, to suggest otherwise is just plain daft.

Every striker on the planet misses chances. It's all about how they deal with that. JC keeps coming back and he keeps scoring. The amount of times he gets the crucial 1st goal is also very impressive.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Every striker on the planet misses chances. It's all about how they deal with that. JC keeps coming back and he keeps scoring. The amount of times he gets the crucial 1st goal is also very impressive.
    Did Riordan and Griffiths dissolve into nervous wrecks when they missed chances? No. They kept scoring. Why do you think Cummings should get some sort of extra credit for it?

I didn't say he should get extra credit, I said imo he was the most natural finisher we've had at hibs in my time of watching them.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post
    Showed Cummings' goals on Sky News after the Man City report. Just added a few grand to his value!

Only mentioned McGinn's goal
    Eh?

They showed Cummins' goal, but only mentioned McGinn's?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Eh?

They showed Cummins' goal, but only mentioned McGinn's?
    Watched sky news at about 9am i could swear they called SJM Niall Mcginn. Can anyone confirm this?

Have I missed something ? When did Jason dissolve into a nervous wreck ?

I wasn't his greatest fan, and still have my doubts about him, especially after that penalty, but there is no better finisher in our current squad, absolutely none.

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Unseen work View Post
    I love Cummings, I really do.

For me he is like what any fan would be playing for hibs, excitable, bit radge and have a bit of a laugh at the same time.

We are all Jason Cummings.