@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar

The set of traffic lights that annoy you the most.

No. 1 = Milton Road at Mountcastle Drive.

No. 2 = A921 (between Inverkeithing & Dalgety Bay) at junction with Hillend Road.

No. 3 = Any roadworks where there's no sign of any work being done

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    No 4 On roundabouts when there is nothing on the roundabout
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    As a pedestrian, there are lights for crossing the road between George Square and West Nicholson Street. When the green man comes on, you have about 1.5 seconds to cross the road before the traffic light starts flashing amber, and cars decide anyone still crossing is fair game for car bowling.

@hibs.net private member derekHFC's Avatar
    Seafield Road.

Two sets at McDonalds and then Seafield Street cause chaos either way when its busy.
    Someone once told me that hard work wouldn't kill me.

I thought: "Hell, why take the chance"!

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    The 3 way traffic light system at Newbigging/Pinkie Road in Musselburgh.

If you just miss the green light then you're sat there for what feels like 5 minutes before it's your turn to go.
    PERSEVERE
    Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
    To not give up.
    To go the distance.
    To stop at nothing.

Years and years ago I was driving in northern Portugal along a road that was dead straight for miles and miles and miles.

Miles in there was a traffic light on the middle of the countryside that had no apparent purpose.

It did though. The red light was tripped if you were speeding. When you stopped at the light a traffic cop appeared from nowhere and fined you!!!

Luckily I was travelling with a local who had warned me so drove on by 😀
    Space to let

@hibs.net private member ACLeith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by derekHFC View Post
    Seafield Road.

Two sets at McDonalds and then Seafield Street cause chaos either way when its busy.
    That's mine as well. Anything going east and turning right at Seafiekd Street just blocks everyone. It should be a mini roundabout

The ones with the erse at the front who takes too long to move.

The ones at the Gyle, that they introduced for the Trams. Traffic was bad enough there, without these being added

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    The lights outside jenners at the Scots monument.....take forever to bloody change

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    24 hour lights on any roundabout that's necessary 2 hours a day 5 days a week.
    My personal bete noir is a series where every light is red. Telford Road to Barnton Roundabout and back. The most painful being the lights at McDonald's on Telford where you wait for 5 minutes and traffic appears from the left.

Morrison Street at Haymarket junction heading West, they can stay red for what seems like 3 or 4 minutes if trams are due.

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    No. 1 = Milton Road at Mountcastle Drive.

No. 2 = A921 (between Inverkeithing & Dalgety Bay) at junction with Hillend Road.

No. 3 = Any roadworks where there's no sign of any work being done
    Remember Milton Road when there were no lights on it at all! Nightmare now. Other than that, What's not to like about traffic lights?

http://www.2kmusic.com/en/webvideo/m...ts-with-lyrics
    Last edited by Bostonhibby; 31-03-2017 at 10:09 PM.

Temporary traffic lights, any.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    The ones at the Gyle, that they introduced for the Trams. Traffic was bad enough there, without these being added
    They're a nightmare.

Quote Originally Posted by hwuhibby View Post
    The lights outside jenners at the Scots monument.....take forever to bloody change
    They are dreadful. Sometimes you get a tram coming both ways and you have to wait ages, sometimes the tram gets stuck in traffic but the lights are still triggered to let it through and we have a situation we're nothing is moving at all for ages.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    As a pedestrian, there are lights for crossing the road between George Square and West Nicholson Street. When the green man comes on, you have about 1.5 seconds to cross the road before the traffic light starts flashing amber, and cars decide anyone still crossing is fair game for car bowling.
    They are a nightmare. They don't even work half of the time. It was quite funny as well when they were working on Appleton Tower as diggers, etc. made exactly the same noise as the crossing, so people started crossing as cars were coming through.

@hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar

Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    The crossroads in Kirkliston, if someone is turning right from Main Street down towards Newbridge there isn't enough space to pass on the left. Then there are the temporary lights which just seem to tour the streets of Kirkliston, they're always somewhere.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    The Barnton and Maybury junctions, both of those are a complete mess, need to be torn up and start again IMO.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    24 hour lights on any roundabout that's necessary 2 hours a day 5 days a week.
    My personal bete noir is a series where every light is red. Telford Road to Barnton Roundabout and back. The most painful being the lights at McDonald's on Telford where you wait for 5 minutes and traffic appears from the left.
    That's the type I meant as well. Inveralmond Roundabout on the outskirts of Perth, lights that are set to allow traffic out of the industrial estate, but then stop them at the next junction means tailbacks that block traffic heading north. also 2 lanes heading south with the majority of traffic heading south leads to queues up to 3 miles in the outside lane.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Let's hope all the relative Authorities read this thread and get their act together.
    Aye, right.

Seafield Road.

This,causes massive tailbacks
    Sort it out Hinds,instead of arseing about with 20mph suit.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Ferry road traffic lights at the junction near golden acre and spiers bar.

Heading from the Leith end towards the pilton end is a pain in the arse if you hit it at the wrong time.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Ferry road traffic lights at the junction near golden acre and spiers bar.

Heading from the Leith end towards the pilton end is a pain in the arse if you hit it at the wrong time.

That is murder when heading West.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Not lights but I hate Drumbrae roundabout, so many chancers there, nearly been wiped out twice by idiots who don't think they have to stop and give way from the right when coming from the Glasgow rd past the BBQ chippy

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Not lights but I hate Drumbrae roundabout, so many chancers there, nearly been wiped out twice by idiots who don't think they have to stop and give way from the right when coming from the Glasgow rd past the BBQ chippy
    That roundabout is brutal for fannies chancing it.

I only really drive at night and as they change sequences after a certain time, nobody would know what I'm talking about. You actually get ones that see you coming and turn red just to "slow you down and make things safe" (imagine that being said in a sarcastic, nasally voice)

I'm not sure if you day people ever encounter the ones that turn red and then catch everyone out by instantly turning amber then green. They live on Old Dalkieth Road and Polwarth Terrace and they are annoying.

Seafield Road.

I walk along Seafield Road to work. All the crossings here are a nightmare as you constantly have cars going through red lights. I can see why people get pissed off as Seafield Road has become noticeably more busy over the last few years, but its not like they're getting anywhere quicker as they're just joining a queue of traffic a wee bit further up the road.

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    That roundabout is brutal for fannies chancing it.

Also brutal for people blocking it when it is busy.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Grieves View Post
    I walk along Seafield Road to work. All the crossings here are a nightmare as you constantly have cars going through red lights. I can see why people get pissed off as Seafield Road has become noticeably more busy over the last few years, but its not like they're getting anywhere quicker as they're just joining a queue of traffic a wee bit further up the road.
    I have noticed this more and more in Edinburgh in general, people blowing through red lights. I have had several occasions recently where my light is green and there are still cars flowing through the road that's supposed to be red.