Thread: Stuart Hogg

Stuart Hogg

Good to see Hoggy going into the West stand with strip on today. Hope he enjoyed the win.

Already Scotland's greatest ever rugby player IMO.

I saw him earlier in the season - think it was the other game v Aberdeen. I hadn’t realised he was a Hibee until then.

@hibs.net private member Benny Brazil's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Cocaine&Caviar View Post
    No where near that yet

https://twitter.com/StuartWHOGG_/sta...43211159539713

Not sure if this will work from my phone.

Not even Scotland's greatest ever full back.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member jeffers's Avatar
    I thought I saw him at ER earlier this seaon, but assumed it was just a look-a-like, didn't realise he was a Hibby. I love him even more !

Quote Originally Posted by Benny Brazil View Post
    No where near that yet
    Between him & Hastings, if you at ability rather than number of caps, Hogg blows him out the water.

However, dont want to hijack .net with rugby chat.

Hastings and Irvine (and that’s just two played his position) might be aggrieved at that! Hibee or not what’s he won? Weve also have a decent share or world class scrum half’s. Just curious as
    You your reasoning?

Between him & Hastings, if you at ability rather than number of caps, Hogg blows him out the water.

There are other rugby players other than fullbacks. Great player still has someway to go to be the greatest.
    Last edited by Sammy7nil; 17-02-2018 at 06:57 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by VivaPalmeiras View Post
    Hastings and Irvine (and that’s just two played his position) might be aggrieved at that! Hibee or not what’s he won? Weve also have a decent share or world class scrum half’s. Just curious as
    You your reasoning?
    And many will say that Ken Scotland was a better FB than all 3.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

Wee Griff at the game today also

One of the best Scottish rugby players I've seen, such a talent. Always good to have noteworthy Hibees taking a real interest in the team.

And (apparently) a distant relative of a certain George Best...what’s not to like?

First Team Breakthrough Hibs1969's Avatar
    It was also good to read during the week that John Rutherford, another Scotland and British Lion great, possibly our greatest ever stand off half and a massive Hibs fan has recovered from prostate cancer. Good on you John. GGTTH.

First Team Breakthrough H113EE5's Avatar

Carlsberg and week-ends

Hibs hump the Dons and, last night, Edinburgh see off Ulster to take a play-off place in the Pro-14. Just need Scotland and Hibs double next week-end.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    We have another Hoggmeister. He's the man!

Played against both Irvine and Hastings and both fantastic players. You could not get near Irvine he was so quick and Hastings was captain courageous strong and impossible to bring down!

Still looks like Hoggie will be better than both though, he has attacking and defending and creating all in his skillset!

Still take Alex Edwards before any of them though!

@hibs.net private member ano hibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Drumlanrig View Post
    Played against both Irvine and Hastings and both fantastic players. You could not get near Irvine he was so quick and Hastings was captain courageous strong and impossible to bring down!

Still looks like Hoggie will be better than both though, he has attacking and defending and creating all in his skillset!

Who’d you play for mate?
    "We've also been unsure about what has happened to the receipts of the players who have been sold."
    George Foulkes BBC website 20/3/08

Quote Originally Posted by ano hibby View Post
    Who’d you play for mate?
    Haddington when we were at our best and I was 30 odd years younger
    Struggling a bit now!

I'll put in a vote for P.W. Dods. 😉

I don’t know anything about rugby because I’m not a hertz fan

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    I'll put in a vote for P.W. Dods. 😉
    Aye good hard , committed , solid player and great kicker!
    Nae cigar though!

Aye good hard , committed , solid player and great kicker!
    Nae cigar though!
    An excellent diplomatic response. 😁

You do come out with some utter dross. Let’s wait till the end of his career eh?

Andy Irvine was an absolute thoroughbred of a rugby player, head and shoulders above Hogg in my opinion. And a really decent fella to boot.

Similar to Hogg, when AI caught an 'up and under' from deep you instantly got up off your seat because you knew he would change a game. At a time when it was 'amateur', what an athlete he was too. Yet to see a better player than John Rutherford though..........grace personified on a rugby pitch.

Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    Andy Irvine was an absolute thoroughbred of a rugby player, head and shoulders above Hogg in my opinion. And a really decent fella to boot.

Similar to Hogg, when AI caught an 'up and under' from deep you instantly got up off your seat because you knew he would change a game. At a time when it was 'amateur', what an athlete he was too. Yet to see a better player than John Rutherford though..........grace personified on a rugby pitch.
    Tom Smith, John Leslie Gary Armstrong amongst others all have claims too

Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post

Ah good Sir is it not so fine to be discussion the attributes of a number of fine Scottish fullbacks! Aye Rud was and always will be one of my favourite 10s!

Agreed Irvine will always be up there in the gods, however when I think back to how much space and time there was in the game then, I remain convinced the Hogg would compete with and surpass any who have gone before.

Opinions eh!

It's strange how a post can develop on Hibs Net but the best Scottish rugby player in my life time has just got to be Jim Renwick - a true genius!

I was lucky to sort out tickets today for him, great guy does all he can to help out with requests from Hibs.
    Done a talk for the development squad earlier in the season, is sorting out a visit for some of the hibs staff to visit the Scotland training camp whilst the 6 nations is on so they can possibly learn from other sports.
    Sorted sir david gray with a ticket last week for the game and gave him his jersey after the game.
    Hoggy has really bought into the HIBEES way and gets a buzz out of the games I suppose it's a good change from the rugby.
    As always let's enjoy his talent whilst he is on the top of his game in his chosen sport and enjoy that he's s Hibby too. 🇳🇬