View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1004. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

533 53.09%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

447 44.52%
  • In favour.

24 2.39%
Page 496 of 1480 FirstFirst ... 396446486494495496497498506546596996 ... LastLast
Results 14,851 to 14,880 of 44390
    Left by mutual consent! Skanko79's Avatar
    listen guys, if im being totally honest with you im getting abit bored listening to your facts and figures and your dates and deadlines with rules and regulations.

the long and short of it is that if your going to walk away from the club you have apparantley "supported" all your life then good for you.

just do it quietly. Because when you realise that the majority of the 2500 folk that signed that petition completely bottle it beacuse they signed it purely down to the fact they hate rangers (as i do as well by the way) and renew anyway and your left twiddling your thumbs on a saturday afternoon dont say i didnt warn you.

no point replying to this by the way cos im done.

@hibs.net private member Newry Hibs's Avatar
    How can there even be a possibility of restructuring the leagues with only 5 weeks until the SPL kicks off?? Surely there are too many plans in place for the current fixtures? Police / stewarding / catering / travel plans by clubs. Let alone season tickets being sold; club budgets being set.
    I would feel for the three teams 'awarded' a promotion. How can they possibily hope to challenge in a league they weren't expecting to be in. This, of course, depends on TRFC being in div 3.

I am so angry at all this being done to save one cheating club. Just what a poor state of affairs is Scottish football in, that it just can't do without a team that has been sh*tting on them for years and years. It feels like we are a victim of abuse who keeps taking it because they can afford to buy a few trinkets occassionally to keep us thinking they aren't so bad and will probably change, maybe tomorrow.

Hopefully teams like Morton see a big pick up in their attendances.

Quote Originally Posted by Skanko79 View Post
    I know, been searching for a 500 page thread for when it happened to gretna and dundee and livvy but im struggling to find one somehow.....................
    That's because all those situations were dealt with under the rules. That's all anybody is asking for now. What we're getting is a series of attempts to bend the rules or just make up new ones to keep some form of Hun club at the top of the Scottish game.

You're right that the game has been getting more and more ****ed for years, but this would be the straw that breaks the camel's back as far as I'm concerned. You're totally free to disagree, keep attending, do what you like, up to you. You're perfectly entitled to your different opinion.

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    right, so ive now been faced with possible scenarios comparing this situation to one in a casino and now rugby. that for me about sums it up.

im NOT trying to change anyones views on this, just a bit stumped as to why people are prepared to walk away from our club.

scottish football has been a complete farce for years im affraid. the sooner some folk here realise that the better.
    What I was trying to do (and clearly failing miserably) is show you that everyone has a line they draw as to where they decide that enough's enough. At that point they walk away from Hibernian. I was hoping for an answer from you on the rugby thing, but clearly you're not in a mood to answer my question.

If you have enough time and disposable income to continue to watch a game of which the result has, to all intents and purposes, been decided off the pitch, then you go for it. Nobody's stopping you.

What gets me is not the fact that Scottish football has been a farce for years, it's the fact that we're now getting that confirmed to us and our faces rubbed in it into the bargain.

well done sellick for leading the way here

Not a ****ing jot from them!

listen guys, if im being totally honest with you im getting abit bored listening to your facts and figures and your dates and deadlines with rules and regulations.

the long and short of it is that if your going to walk away from the club you have apparantley "supported" all your life then good for you.

just do it quietly. Because when you realise that the majority of the 2500 folk that signed that petition completely bottle it beacuse they signed it purely down to the fact they hate rangers (as i do as well by the way) and renew anyway and your left twiddling your thumbs on a saturday afternoon dont say i didnt warn you.

Well it appears this thread is more important to you than you like to think, sure your focus is on Hibs, about 80-90% of the topics on front page are nothing to do with this issue, so I assume you are all over them or starting your own discussions?

If I am not interested in a topic I read it once and leave it, you cannot tell us enough how board you are with it which seems strange as you have spent a lot of time on it.

right, so ive now been faced with possible scenarios comparing this situation to one in a casino and now rugby. that for me about sums it up.

im NOT trying to change anyones views on this, just a bit stumped as to why people are prepared to walk away from our club.

scottish football has been a complete farce for years im afraid. the sooner some folk here realise that the better.
    Tell me, did the irony bypass hurt much?

Why has it been (it now appears) to be a farce, at least in part. Becuase of the antics of Rangers. If the actions taken support the continuance of the farce, then it defies logic to me to implicitly defend it by continuing to go to games. I'm not a Hibs fan to see an endless procession of silverware, but a big element of motivation of going is that sports sometimes updet the odds. When the odds become ludicrously stacked against everyone in favour of one (or two) teams, then it ceases to be worthwhile.

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    That's because all those situations were dealt with under the rules. That's all anybody is asking for now. What we're getting is a series of attempts to bend the rules or just make up new ones to keep some form of Hun club at the top of the Scottish game.

You're right that the game has been getting more and more ****ed for years, but this would be the straw that breaks the camel's back as far as I'm concerned. You're totally free to disagree, keep attending, do what you like, up to you. You're perfectly entitled to your different opinion.
    Instead of changing the set up to suit the huns/newhuns, could it not be that the other clubs are using the current situation to push through changes (league reconstruction) that would otherwise have been vetoed by a powerful old firm?

fancy going into a wee bit more detail with that?
    Well, since you ask so nicely...

Hibs last won the league in 1954 - 6 decades ago.

Last time we were second was 1975, 3 decades ago.

We've been relegated twice since then.

We've won the league cup 3 times in our history.

I don't need to mention the other cup.

In the 13 years since we last were last relegated, we've managed only 2 third place finishes and finished the bottom 6 five times.

If you think that's doing well, then I'm starting to understand why you're prepared to overlook the corruption in Scottish football.
    Last edited by Hibbyradge; 29-06-2012 at 12:16 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Twa Cairpets View Post
    Tell me, did the irony bypass hurt much?

Why has it been (it now appears) to be a farce, at least in part. Becuase of the antics of Rangers. If the actions taken support the continuance of the farce, then it defies logic to me to implicitly defend it by continuing to go to games. I'm not a Hibs fan to see an endless procession of silverware, but a big element of motivation of going is that sports sometimes updet the odds. When the odds become ludicrously stacked against everyone in favour of one (or two) teams, then it ceases to be worthwhile.

Cant help thinking oor rod may have shot himself in the foot here, cause when the dust settles and the NO voters are triumphant there will be some SFA hierarchy who's positions will become untenable and rodders could have been in prime position as a man of integrity to take advantage, but it looks like he shot his bolt and he might not be the supertache we all think he is, he's certainly had enough time to rubbish the claims and as yet nowt.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    I've probably missed this appearing here in the time I went out for my lunch, but this is on the ESPN web site.

The Scottish Football League (SFL) has denied reports that it has reached any agreement over proposals for the 'newco' Rangers to play in the First Division.
    As the uncertainty over Rangers' future continued to deepen, the SFL said it had not reached any deal with any other footballing body to enable the club to take a place in the second tier of Scottish football.
    The SFL was responding to reports suggesting Charles Green's club would be placed into the First Division with immediate effect. In a statement, it said: "The Scottish Football League can confirm that no agreement has been reached between the SFL and any other body regarding the position of the Rangers 'newco' in the First Division. Consultation will continue to take place, primarily with our clubs, as previously advised."
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    More analysis of the SFL proposal document.......

http://wingsland.podgamer.com/the-lead-parachute/

I notice from the Poll at the top of this thread that the poster known as 'Blueisthecolour' has cast his vote

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    Personally, I think that it is time to calm down at wait to see what happens. The most likely thing is that the Hun are going to self-destruct in any case.

Let's concentrate on backing our Club for the new season. If PF does not have the funds then he is going to find it that much harder to make the progress we all want. And there is only one way that he can get funds - through sales of STs and money at the gate.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post

the whole proposal is bonkers

The Scottish Football League can confirm that no agreement has been reached between the SFL and any other body regarding the position of the Rangers 'newco' in the First Division. Consultation will continue to take place, primarily with our clubs, as previously advised.

Yes we know that no decision has been taken. The problem is that the decision boils down to the option of two courses of action, both of which are unacceptable. They're using ambiguous words to take the heat out of the situation. The numpties are saying, 'we haven't decided which of the two evils we will decide on.'

That's an excellent review of the "document" (which grows worse every time I read it).

It looks like someone has issed the bullet points from a Doncasted led "brainstorming session", where no idea is considered stupid but ultimately some - incontrovertibly - are.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    The Scottish Football League can confirm that no agreement has been reached between the SFL and any other body regarding the position of the Rangers 'newco' in the First Division. Consultation will continue to take place, primarily with our clubs, as previously advised.

Yes we know that no decision has been taken. The problem is that the decision boils down to the option of two courses of action, both of which are unacceptable. They're using ambiguous words to take the heat out of the situation. The numpties are saying, 'we haven't decided which of the two evils we will decide on.'
    this was in response to the apparent stich up announced (leaked) to the press yesterday. And I think it answers the question on most of our lips, there is NO AGREEMENT to let New Rangers play in the SFL 1. If the noises coming from other clubs, particularly SFL ones, then it is not likely to happen.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar

and more analysis....................

http://scotslawthoughts.wordpress.co...ies/#more-1353

So many people picking holes in it now.

Sorry for being flippant but I can't help laughing at the double irony of the 'skanko' thread, which has a go at this thread, being sucked into this thread, The second irony is that his premise echoes the now legendary line - ' We don't do walking away.'

2 o'clock approaches. Damn, beter get on with some work!!

I'll pop back in later, see if they're deid yet.

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    I'd just ask Rod to come out and tell us the truth and what's really going on. It's starting to get confusing for me. A wee statement from Rod would go a long way for me deciding what my Hibs future will be.
    The Chairman made the point that the vote should proceed without any further delay and that Hibernian FC will vote against the share transfer. The resolution will fail if four other clubs vote against it or abstain. If as a result of the vote on 4 July the Rangers newco is not voted into the SPL then it will be for other bodies to decide if and at what level Rangers might be accommodated within Scottish football.

I've read through a fair number of the posts since you made your inital comment Skanko and to an extent I'm in agreement with your inital post re getting behind Hibs.

I've made it clear that I am oppossed to TRFC being admitted to any league other than SFL3, however I am also very tired of the whole thing now (perhaps this is what the clubs/authorities are hoping for in generrating malaise with the situation).

Personally I wnat to spend the next four weeks reading about my team are preparing for the new season, how we're putting a (hopefully) new & exciting squad together that will be a vast improvement on the last couple of years and not the ongoing trials & tribulations of TRFC.

Whilst opposed ot their admission into SFL1, a decision has to be made and soon for the benefit of the game in allowing it to progress and move on. If that decision is to somehow wedge TRFC into SFL1 with the various sanctions AND the end of the 11-1 voting rule in the SPL (this is a major issue for me) then maybe it will still be a carve up/ bitter pill to swallow but at least we'll have closure.

Then we can get back to the business of supporting HFC without any circus sideshow from Glasgow and be chatting about this player comnig or going or whatever but at least we'll be back to talking about Hibs.

For those whos are voting that they are opposed and will no longer attend football I fully respect that decision and understand. I have voted as part of the other 25% who will not be happy but will still goto football.

GGTTH.

Is Scottish Football heading for meltdown?

If the Newco doesn't find a home, how many other SPL clubs would we see going down the tubes through the permanent loss of Huncome?

I reckon

1. Killie
    2. St Mirren
    3. Motherwell - haven't they been bust already?

Stewart Milne is talking tough but the Dons must be pretty close to administration too, despite their recent cost-cutting?

@hibs.net private member ginger_rice's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Pitlochry hibee View Post
    I notice from the Poll at the top of this thread that the poster known as 'Blueisthecolour' has cast his vote

I wondered who the 1 vote was.
    "Football should always be played beautifully, you should play in an attacking way, it must be a spectacle". Johan Cruyff.

Quote Originally Posted by ginger_rice View Post

I wondered who the 1 vote was.
    He's been very quiet of late, does anybody know which hospital he has been admitted to? I want to pay him a visit and give him a bunch of (sour) grapes.

Given the standard of people at the top that have been involved with running the game in Scotland for years it's hardly surprising we are where we are now. Scottish fitba is full of myopic, self serving gravy train riders who dinnae give a **** about anything or anybody but themselves.
    Last edited by Saorsa; 29-06-2012 at 01:16 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Gogs43 View Post
    If the Newco doesn't find a home, how many other SPL clubs would we see going down the tubes through the permanent loss of Huncome?

I reckon

1. Killie
    2. St Mirren
    3. Motherwell - haven't they been bust already?

Stewart Milne is talking tough but the Dons must be pretty close to administration too, despite their recent cost-cutting?
    They will survive, they just have to cut their cloth. Posts like that don't exactly help the cause of punishing the Huns though!

Quote Originally Posted by Renfrew_Hibby View Post
    What a sorry sorry mess this is

Now having to work and trying to get on and have a life, I haven't been able to keep up to speed with this fast moving and ever changing farce so I could be well off the mark but this is how i see it:

Yes Rangers have done wrong and so need to be punnished - SPL club chairmen come out and say they have listend and will vote NO to a newco but for me it was quite noticable the clubs that haven't said NO as of yet. Celtic, Lawells played a blinder here as by not sying anything he hasn't yet upset his own clubs support and also defused a possible public disorder catasrophy. Now the other noticable nay sayers are the small clubs in the greater Glasgow are, St.Mirren, Well and Killie. These are the three clubs who would suffer the most from a boycote of Old Firm fans.
    It seems like Clubs are working together to best please their fans and defuse Gers fans anger.

Now this is where Sky enter the equation:
    Yes we want to demote Gers/Sevco to the bottom and that is what should happen but we know Sky will rip up the contract so we propose 1st division as the solution.
    We know this is wrong and SFL clubs know its wrong but i think that if we dont do this then Sky walks and Killie and Motherwell (at least) go to the wall overnight.
    The banks will be using the Sky contract as insurance for their continued support of the clubs and without it they will pull the plug on the clubs.

So basically Sky have us over a barrell and we have somehow created a situation where SPL clubs are under so much pressure from the banks to keep the deal that we are now blackmailing SFL clubs into supporting Newco for 1st Div or else! If the SFL dont vote for it then SPL2 is created and the whole pyramid proposal and and hope and dreams of lower league sides die forever.

I genuinely think that Petrie and co would want to do exactly what we all want them to do but they fear if they do clubs will pay the ultimate price with the banks and so therefor they can't. Sadly by doing what is being proposed they could die a slower death, Petrie is caught between a rock and a hard place and feels he couldn't win no matter what he did.

It's my day off and i was going to drive through and get the new top but now i'm just totally scunnered with the whole sorry saga i just don't know what to do. What i do know is that i will neve subscribe to Sky but i also know that i could never walk away from Hibs. GGTTH
    Sky publicly said nothing changes if Rangers are demoted - this ain't Sky.