Good Fitbaw Books

looking to get a few books in, preferably Scottish but not too fussed. Any recommendations?.

P.S. Apologies if this is the wrong place to put this I am a rookie poster here.

Sent from my SM-J510FN using Tapatalk

I recently read a book about Brian Clough called Provided You Don't Kiss Me which was written by the journalist who covered Forest games for years. Quite a decently read.

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    The Greatest Footballer You Never Saw: The Robin Friday Story is a good read.

Quote Originally Posted by LustForLeith View Post
    I recently read a book about Brian Clough called Provided You Don't Kiss Me which was written by the journalist who covered Forest games for years. Quite a decently read.
    Cheers, was thinking of getting a book about Clough as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr White View Post
    Cheers, might check it out.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    ‘Left Foot Forward’ by Garry Nelson.

Excellent account of a season in the life of a self-confessed journeyman footballer, in the latter stage of his career as a forward with Charlton Athletic. From memory, they were flitting between the top flight and the second tier.

It’s a lucid, honest, detailed and self-decrepating tale of life as a pro.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Budgie’s book is good.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by Mr White View Post
    I would second that.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

It's been around a long time now but Fever Pitch by Nick Hornby is awfy good. Don't be put off if you've only seen the fairly rubbish movie.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    It's been around a long time now but Fever Pitch by Nick Hornby is awfy good. Don't be put off if you've only seen the fairly rubbish movie.

The chapter that talks about Gus Caesar is one of the best and most accurate things I've ever read about being a footballer.

Cheers guys, hope to see more coming. One I would recommend myself is "its not all about the old firm" by Scott Burns. Its a collection of non old firm Scottish success stories, a bit Aberdeen heavy but nonetheless very good read.

Inverting the Pyramid is a good read if you are into tactics, coaching, systems and the like.

Trautmanns Journey: From Hitler Youth to FA Cup Legend is a great book.

A Life Too Short about Robert Enke is very sad but a good read. It’s probably the best football book I have ever read and really explores the pressures of being seen to remain ‘macho’ in the game.

The Unstoppable Keeper almost seems too far fetched to be real but it’s a fun book.

There’s a bit of a theme there but I’m a self confessed goalkeeping geek and fascinated by the characters who make the position what it is.

The ripple effect is a really funny book

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    I would second that.
    Thirded.

My best mates Dad saw Robin play against Southampton, which I think the game is mentioned in the book, and maintains to this day that he never saw a better player.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Maradona ‘hand of god’ is a great read.

Much preferred that to his actual autobiography.

Bert Trautmanns book is really good and definitely worth a read.

Good mixture of world war/nazi life and football stories.

Not read a book for ages and the OP has got me thinking about getting starting reading again so cheers for that.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Bert Trautmanns book is really good and definitely worth a read.

Good mixture of world war/nazi life and football stories.

Not read a book for ages and the OP has got me thinking about getting starting reading again so cheers for that.
    No problem bud, Cheers for the recommendations

Tony Cascarino's autobiography is surprisingly very good. Not your typical footballers story but a glimpse into his personal life and the mental struggles he had throughout his career.

The Miracle of Castel Di Sangro, for me, is one of the finest books I’ve ever read...and I’ve read a few.
    Wonderful story, beautifully written.

Follow the links here for a sample chapter.

https://www.theguardian.com/books/bo...soccer-fanatic

Quote Originally Posted by johnbc70 View Post
    Tony Cascarino's autobiography is surprisingly very good. Not your typical footballers story but a glimpse into his personal life and the mental struggles he had throughout his career.
    Forgot about that, a really compelling read.

Quote Originally Posted by johnbc70 View Post
    Paul mcgraths was like that.

Ten Days that Shook Scotland various football writers on varied incidents in the game

The Final Whistle? by Harry Reid 40 years of following football

Graham McColl's "78: How a nation lost the World Cup" is an entertaining and not too arduous account of Scotland's ill-fated campaign in Argentina.

I enjoyed Davie Farrell's book
    It's nothing earth shattering but it's very honest and well written and changed my opinion of someone who wasn't one of my favourite players.

Quote Originally Posted by Greentinted View Post
    The Miracle of Castel Di Sangro, for me, is one of the finest books I’ve ever read...and I’ve read a few.
    Wonderful story, beautifully written.

Follow the links here for a sample chapter.

https://www.theguardian.com/books/bo...soccer-fanatic
    Agreed, a real rollercoaster of emotions reading that book. Also, ‘A Season With Verona’ is another great read. Italian fitba is bloody brilliant.

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    Penthouse and Pavement: How to Survive in Football without Sucking Up to the Old Firm

It's a Bill Leckie book from 1999. Really enjoyed it at the time and it's a good read from a historical point in time.

Quote Originally Posted by The_Exile View Post
    Agreed, a real rollercoaster of emotions reading that book. Also, ‘A Season With Verona’ is another great read. Italian fitba is bloody brilliant.

these are also two of my favourite football books of all time...another I would add is Simon Kuper's - Football against the enemy..great read.

Quote Originally Posted by The_Exile View Post
    The Dark Heart of Italy is a good one as well, touches on politics and culture but is mostly about football and a season following Parma in série a.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    I fancy having another read of Only a Game: The Diary of a Professional Footballer by Eamon Dunphy. It was basically the diary of a season back in the early 80s I think from the perspective of an average 2nd tier player in England. At the time it was my favourite football book.

Miracle of Castel Di Sangro is brilliant

Read few Clough books and enjoyed them all

Andy McLaren’s autobiography is good

Recently read big mal, was decent

Love and loathing in La Liga is good