Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Still a good effort.

By the way, can you still get Skol lager?

thx

It seems so: https://www.tesco.com/groceries/en-G...ucts/271750704

I prefer a reassuringly more expensive pint myself.

Quote Originally Posted by andybev1 View Post
    thx

It seems so: https://www.tesco.com/groceries/en-G...ucts/271750704

I prefer a reassuringly more expensive pint myself.
    Shocking stuff; haven't seen it in years. Only 2.8% though; not surprised it doesn't sell in Scotland

I didn't think you were that auld, mate. 1982

Obviously I was only about 2 at the time

No wasn't born yet 😁

Totally random HIBS game

Just found an old programme of my dad's which has somehow come into my possession.

Motherwell v Hibs (Skol Cup), Tuesday 1st September 1987, kick of 7.30p.m.

Hibernian: Rough, Hunter, Mitchell, Orr, Ray, McIntyre, Weir, Kane, Cowan, Watson, Collins, Bell, McCluskey.

Was it a quarter-final?
    Iwas at that game. I am sure that was one of Andy Watson first games since his transfer from Hearts.
    I remember he got showered in spittal when he came across to our end to take a throw in.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Iwas at that game. I am sure that was one of Andy Watson first games since his transfer from Hearts.
    I remember he got showered in spittal when he came across to our end to take a throw in.
    It might actually have been his debut. Anyone?

I was there. Skived the last hour of college for the privilege. We wore our white p&d windows away shirt that night iirc. One of my favourite strips.

It might actually have been his debut. Anyone?
    Yup, it was his debut. And he did get pelters.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    I was 15 at the time and loved these few years as a Hibby.

Looking back we had some cracking players around then.

Shocking stuff; haven't seen it in years. Only 2.8% though; not surprised it doesn't sell in Scotland
    They had some cracking adverts though.

Hagar the Horrible, the wee dug, Skol, Skol, Skol, Skol....

Edit, maybe not so cracking after all...

Last edited by WhileTheChief..; 09-11-2017 at 06:40 PM.

I might have been there, can't remember. And I have no memory of a player caled Ray?

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post
    They had some cracking adverts though.

Hagar the Horrible, the wee dug, Skol, Skol, Skol, Skol....

Edit, maybe not so cracking after all...

God I remember that advert!

I had the T Shirt!

Mind the McEwans Export adverts, Cinzano, Hamlet etc.

Brilliant. Bring back ads for drinks.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    My mates went through but I couldn't go as I was whoring my piping skills at a tartantastic, stick-a-sprig-of-heather-in-your-hoop tourist show at Prestonfield House.
    Anyone know the attendance?
    [QUOTE=Peevemor;5216035]8738

Must've been a hell of a big sprig in yer hoop to get that attendance.

Quote Originally Posted by oneone73 View Post
    I might have been there, can't remember. And I have no memory of a player caled Ray?
    Exactly my initial thought until realising it's Gordon Rae.

First Team Regular scm70nyd1973's Avatar
    Anyone know the attendance?
    The attendances were pretty low at Prestonfield in these days!

Quote Originally Posted by Nakedmanoncrack View Post
    Exactly my initial thought until realising it's Gordon Rae.
    Aye, it will have been. Spelt in the programme as Ray

The line-up reminds me of how much longer many players (and managers!) stayed with a club in those days. Rae had already been with us for a good number of years, while Geebsie, Collins, Weir and Kane had also become experienced first-teamers having broken through as youngsters and Mitchell, Orr and McIntyre were still with us a good number of years later.

Alex Miller had only been in charge for about a year and was still building a team, one which would qualify for Europe the following season and win the Skol Cup a couple of years after that. Overall, he had a pretty good eye when it came to signings.

As somebody else has mentioned, it's amazing how much you can remember when it comes to football compared to other stuff in your life and I recall being quite excited a few months before this game when Miller made a triple swoop for Mitchell, McIntyre and Bell and was rewarded with an impressive 3-1 (I think) win at Brockville.

Quote Originally Posted by Craigmount Hibs View Post
    Yup, it was his debut. And he did get pelters.
    Was there too - think he played right midfield....remember he got some decent support too...not huge pelters

Did alright on his debut iirc....

@hibs.net private member Argylehibby's Avatar
    I was at that one. Missed the goal as we arrived late and it went downhill from there.

Just thinking what a year 1987 was for news:

Big freeze winter 1986-87
    March, Herald of Free Enterprise ferry disaster
    May, Thatcher won third term
    August, Hungerford massacre
    October, great storm in England
    October, huge stock market crash
    November, Kings Cross fire disaster
    November, Enniskillen IRA bomb
    1987 was the year the Australia branch of the Hibs Supporters Association was formed.

Many antipodean Hibbies still recovering from our recent 30th anniversary celebrations where Oz resident Grant Brebner was special guest of honour.

The memory is strange - this thread has reminded me of a Morton game which I'm sure was my brothers first time at Easter Road - it must have been mid 1970s when crowds were probably about 4 - 5 thousand for these games. I remember that Hibs were one down going into the final minutes and the physio had come on to treat a player - I heard him screaming in very colourful language at the players to get forward and I remember being shocked that someone associated with the Hibs team would use that sort of language!

i've not thought about that for 40 years. Can't remember if we equalised or not though.

Aye, pre-Goram and Archiegoal. Imagine Hibs signing players of that calibre now!
    Goram debut against Dunfermline in 4-0. Made a great save flying through the air save to tip a long range shot over the bar. Next weekend great storm and stock market crash. And we ended 22 in a row. Took my cousin from Brasil and stood in the East. He said fans much crazier than Brasil.

Quote Originally Posted by SingHibs View Post
    Goram debut against Dunfermline in 4-0. Made a great save flying through the air save to tip a long range shot over the bar. Next weekend great storm and stock market crash. And we ended 22 in a row. Took my cousin from Brasil and stood in the East. He said fans much crazier than Brasil.
    Wasn't 22 in a row that ended in 1987, was an earlier marginally less horrendous run.

Was it the winter of 1986-87 where games were postponed for weeks, due to the weather?

Wasn't 22 in a row that ended in 1987, was an earlier marginally less horrendous run.
    Eddie May and Kano scored I think. That was some celebration. First time we’d beaten them since they’d come back up.

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    The line-up reminds me of how much longer many players (and managers!) stayed with a club in those days. Rae had already been with us for a good number of years, while Geebsie, Collins, Weir and Kane had also become experienced first-teamers having broken through as youngsters and Mitchell, Orr and McIntyre were still with us a good number of years later.

Alex Miller had only been in charge for about a year and was still building a team, one which would qualify for Europe the following season and win the Skol Cup a couple of years after that. Overall, he had a pretty good eye when it came to signings.

As somebody else has mentioned, it's amazing how much you can remember when it comes to football compared to other stuff in your life and I recall being quite excited a few months before this game when Miller made a triple swoop for Mitchell, McIntyre and Bell and was rewarded with an impressive 3-1 (I think) win at Brockville.
    Mitchell McIntyre and Bells debuts were indeed at Brockville about the 4th/5th January after the ne'erday derby had been cancelled I think. Absolutely massive Hibs crowd that day on a cold day and a great victory in which Dougie Bell looked the better of the three signings but turned out to be the worst!

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Yes . Missed their early goal and can't remember much else about that game .
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    Eddie May and Kano scored I think. That was some celebration. First time we’d beaten them since they’d come back up.
    Admit to some exuberance after that game, briefly appearing on the pitch from the terracing at full time. Was only second time I'd seen us beat them, 8 years after the first, which was my derby debut.

I hope Hearts released a statement

As for the Skol Cup game at Motherwell in 1987, my dad has no memory of it. Not surprising, given the number of games he's attended over the years. I have games which I know I attended but remember nothing of.