Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    I’m gonna jump on the 2016 win coattails, only because a Leeds fan who’d I’d know for years messaged me that day and said he was ecstatic to see us finally win. Kinda supported Leeds since Bury went defunct since.

It’s the little things !

Any of the European away trips I’ve been on. Totally different atmosphere amongst people. The marches to the ground in Luzern last year and Brondby in 2016 were brilliant experiences.

First Team Regular scm70nyd1973's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by EdinMike View Post
    I’m gonna jump on the 2016 win coattails, only because a Leeds fan who’d I’d know for years messaged me that day and said he was ecstatic to see us finally win. Kinda supported Leeds since Bury went defunct since.

It’s the little things !
    With the guys having a huge connection to Hibs - bringing the kids over from Ukraine - fair made me warm inside .

The Dnipro Kids work filled me with pride and especially since the war broke out, the care, support and help they give the kids and family.

May 2016

I always feel a wee swell of pride when you see players and coaches giving up their time at Christmas to help at the HCF lunches. Same with the visits to the Sick Kids in December. My sister is a nurse there and said last year a fair few player stayed long after they were obliged to and after the cameras had left to chat, pose for more photos, sign autographs etc. I know other clubs do the same but for me the community side is a huge part of what we should be all about.

For a more personal one and less Hibs as a club more Hibs as a community one the hibs.net sponsorship of the girls academy. I was in Asda at the Jewel the other week and saw a group of about 5 or 6 girls all in their matching kits with the site logo front and centre. The girls wore a mish mash of different kits for years and seeing them all looking the part with a proper uniform look across the board had me grinning from ear to ear.
    Mine is purely selfish and to do with the 2nd part of this. Seeing my daughter play and score for hibs for the first time in the girls academy was a special moment.

Another one a bit different was i went to a friends dads funeral where people were asked to wear green to remember his love for our club, something very special about people turning up with scarves, green ties etc. Just one big family.

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    Scottish Cup Final 2013 vs the Green and grey hoops. Atmosphere in the last 10 minutes would've had you believing we were 3-1 up, whilst they sat on their hands and, in certain cases, left the stadium at the same time as us!!!?!
    This one popped into my head, too. It was surreal and wonderful at the same time.

Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar
    I took my first born to his first Hibs game when he was 10 months for the last game of the '88-'89 season and my second born aged 2 during a pre season tour of the Highlands in the summer of '91. What makes me proud as that they both are and have been H&A regulars most of their lives. And what makes me even prouder is that they still drag along with their auld man week in week out even to European trips etc as will be doing tomorrow when traveling to Perth.

Quote Originally Posted by McHibby View Post
    This one popped into my head, too. It was surreal and wonderful at the same time.
    Still going when Scott Brown was being interviewed post match.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Scottish Cup Final for the Cup and the pitch invasion

Quote Originally Posted by McHibby View Post
    Yet bizarrely the fans were slagged off for celebrating defeat or other such guff rather than a tremendous show of support which it was imo

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Yet bizarrely the fans were slagged off for celebrating defeat or other such guff rather than a tremendous show of support which it was imo
    I’ll go against the flow and say I did not enjoy the aftermath of that game. I was even more down than I was the year before.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    I’ll go against the flow and say I did not enjoy the aftermath of that game. I was even more down than I was the year before.

I didn't like it either and got castigated for saying so on here previously.

It was another Hampden no show and the redeeming feature seemed to be we only got pumped rather than totally, humiliatingly pumped. The season as a whole just totally fizzled out. We were top of the league on 11th November and only won 3 more league games between then and the split and ended up in the bottom 6. We were dead and buried after half an hour in the final and beyond the first 5 minutes barely laid a glove on Celtic.

I generally show the team a wee bit support after a cup final defeat but that just felt like being at a party that I had no idea why it was being thrown.

The story of the Dnipro appeal is a source of constant pride. Seeing football being a force for good with a charity set up by Hibs fans is pretty special.

Hibs Community Foundation. Helping feed hundreds on Xmas day. Helped by lots of volunteers delivering them. Seeing people's faces on Xmas day when dropping off a meal to them and knowing you were the only person they would see that day. Heartbreaking.

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar

It was another Hampden no show and the redeeming feature seemed to be we only got pumped rather than totally, humiliatingly pumped. The season as a whole just totally fizzled out. We were top of the league on 11th November and only won 3 more league games between then and the split and ended up in the bottom 6. We were dead and buried after half an hour in the final and beyond the first 5 minutes barely laid a glove on Celtic.

I generally show the team a wee bit support after a cup final defeat but that just felt like being at a party that I had no idea why it was being thrown.
    I seem to remember Eoin Doyle missing a sitter of a header to put us 1-0 up as well, before being hammered by Gary Hooper.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Even more down that the Hearts final not getting that. I get what you are saying i thought it was a show of defiance that we were still able to get to finals after apparently being killed as a club. I get there are clearly different views to that. Can remember we did something similar in mid 80s when losing to Aberdeen 3 0 in the league cup final and the fans were supporting brilliantly. Suppose that was the first final in years. Personally much prefer that than fans bailing out on the team which we seem to be quite good at as a fan base. What is that song We’ll support you ever more 😄

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernian Verse View Post
    I seem to remember Eoin Doyle missing a sitter of a header to put us 1-0 up as well, before being hammered by Gary Hooper.
    Stokesy was a big factor in that game also think he set up first two.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernian Verse View Post
    Don't think it was a sitter, but from my memory fell jnto the "decent chance" category.

Maybe after about 5 minutes.

Russell Latapy borrowed my 50 Hibs goals v Hearts DVD on the 4IH bus that day, still not got it back. 🙂

Quote Originally Posted by Ringothedog View Post
    Every day of my life I am proud to support Hibernian FC. I think one of our greatest recent achievements which makes me feel proud is the Dnipro Kids charity and all it has done and achieved in the last few years in particular.
    I was going to post that. Made national news as well 👍

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Even more down that the Hearts final not getting that. I get what you are saying i thought it was a show of defiance that we were still able to get to finals after apparently being killed as a club. I get there are clearly different views to that. Can remember we did something similar in mid 80s when losing to Aberdeen 3 0 in the league cup final and the fans were supporting brilliantly. Suppose that was the first final in years. Personally much prefer that than fans bailing out on the team which we seem to be quite good at as a fan base. What is that song We’ll support you ever more ��
    I agree on both fronts. The 3-0 final v Aberdeen. We were never in the game, the Hibs fans just kept singing and the team got great backing, first final since the two replay SCF seven years earlier.

The Celtic final was another no show. After the year before, many of us felt it was a huge kick tae the stanes but there was also a strong sense that we were giving the v's to the fickle fates and saying we're beaten but we're not defeated.

I'm always proud of being a Hibby, but I feel a particular warm Hibernian glow when I see all the good work done by the Community Foundation, the Hanlon-Stevenson Foundation, the Dnipro kids. For all the increased commercialisation of the club, we seem to being doing more than ever in our communities.
    Last edited by superfurryhibby; 28-04-2024 at 07:00 PM.

Stokesy was a big factor in that game also think he set up first two.
    👍

Ran the show remember thinking if only we could get Stokesy back we might have a chance in this Scottish Cup lark 😀

First Team Breakthrough timewilltell's Avatar
    5-0 v Naples with Dino Zoff in goals
    6-1 v Sporting Lisbon
    2-1 v Celtic, League Cup Final 1972
    7-0 v Hearts at Tyncastle New Year's Day
    1-0 v Liverpool Fairs Cup
    3-0 v Rangers at Ibrox. Sproul hat
    3-0 v Rangers at Ibrox Scottish Cup
    2-1 That Scottish cup final!

There was a young Hibs supporter, I think from Inverness, that had to go in hospital in Glasgow and loads of Hibs Fans in the area went in to visit him, just to cheer him up.

These were people that had never even met before but did this out of the kindness of their hearts for a kid going though a rough time.

I found that really moving.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Russell Latapy borrowed my 50 Hibs goals v Hearts DVD on the 4IH bus that day, still not got it back. 🙂
    I beginning to think it's not been borrowed matey?

I think that there's more than a hint of truth in that statement. ☺️

good bad whatever. im always proud to be hibby

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    There was a young Hibs supporter, I think from Inverness, that had to go in hospital in Glasgow and loads of Hibs Fans in the area went in to visit him, just to cheer him up.

These were people that had never even met before but did this out of the kindness of their hearts for a kid going though a rough time.

I found that really moving.

That’s fantastic

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    0-7 . 6-2 . 2-3