Has there been a game you enjoyed this season?

Struggling to think of any game I have enjoyed this season. The 3 -0 home defeat to St Mirren is the worst performance I can remember. A wrong appointment that needs corrected no matter how many times we have changed manager recently. By every measure this season is a huge failure.The new manager needs time to build a team for next season. Carrying on with hope without evidence threatens another lost year.

Lucern

Lucern home and away. Stmirren LC win

Luzern

Lucern home/away

St Mirren home in the Cup 4-2

Villa home was an education 😀
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 13-04-2024 at 08:55 PM.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Luzern

***** season

First Team Regular Billy McKirdy's Avatar

Gamertag: N?A Wii Code: N?A
    Lucerne at home was brilliant

Luzern. Villa away was a great trip. The kind of trip Montgomery has taken away the prospect of from us.

I’ve genuinely not properly enjoyed any game since Montgomery arrived. I can’t think of any previous manager where that’s been the case.
    Last edited by Stubbsy90+2; 13-04-2024 at 09:04 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy McKirdy View Post
    Lucerne at home was brilliant
    And Aston Villa

Lucerne home and away.
    Villa away, one of the best away supports I’ve been a part of.
    Hibs Women v Hearts Women in the Capital cup.

Lucerne home and away. Also the home leg of the previous round. Aberdeen away under Gray. First half v Livingston recently. That’s about it.

Luzern. Villa as well, but in a different way, seeing an elite football team live was fascinating to watch the difference in quality.

Luzern away. Enjoyed parts of the home game against Celtic that we ultimately lost.

Been a dire, dire season.

Coming back at Tiny was fun.

I enjoyed Luzern and Aberdeen 6-0. Two matches under the previous regime. I now wonder if the grass really was greener...........

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    I enjoyed the trip to Forfar. The game was dreadful but a good day out.

In my 50 years of attending Easter Road, this season has got to be the dullest and boring of them all. Sad.

Quote Originally Posted by Stubbsy90+2 View Post
    Luzern. Villa away was a great trip. The kind of trip Montgomery has taken away the prospect of from us.

I’ve genuinely not properly enjoyed any game since Montgomery arrived. I can’t think of any previous manager where that’s been the case.
    I’m the same, out of all the bad managers we’ve had there’s always been the odd brilliant win along the way. Monty hasn’t had one.

It’s a good thread as it highlights that most people can only name 1 solitary game they enjoyed this season, and it was 8 months ago under the previous manager who was sacked for not being good enough.

That say’s it all, really.

Quote Originally Posted by Silky View Post
    I enjoyed Luzern and Aberdeen 6-0. Two matches under the previous regime. I now wonder if the grass really was greener...........
    and Aberdeen 6-0 wasn’t even this season. So you enjoyed 1 game all season, same here.

Luzern both H and A
    Aston Villa A
    Dundee A (Miller time)
    Aberdeen A (SDG)
    All 3 derbies - might not have won any but competed and atmosphere/effort in line with it being the best fixture on the list
    Livingston H 3-0

Early in the season Joe Newell was on one of the podcasts - cannae mind which one - saying it had already felt like a very long season. At the time I did actually get what he meant. The start of the campaign with Thu-Sun-Thu-Sun-Thu-Sun along with 3 consecutive losses in the league definitely set a tone. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed all 6 European games (well 5 of them - but Andorra was a nice trip apart from the game). But it did feel like December by the time NM arrived. However, it did worry me players were feeling like that then.

I've seen much worse Hibs teams and seasons than this. But this season has felt meh. And maybe meh is worse than anything.

Luzern home and away.

The two games at Tynecastle were decent.

The wee run of home league wins February/March were all decent performances. And the first two games at home under Montgomery (St Johnstone and St Mirren were good and I really thought we were on to something).

Dundee away was decent and the team showed a rare bit of fight and desire.

Slim pickings.

Enjoyed the Nix last minute win the other day!

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    Luzern home and away.

The two games at Tynecastle were decent.

The wee run of home league wins February/March were all decent performances. And the first two games at home under Montgomery (St Johnstone and St Mirren were good and I really thought we were on to something).

Dundee away was decent and the team showed a rare bit of fight and desire.

Slim pickings.
    We were murder away in luzern tbh! Should have been 5/6 goals for luzern

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Luzern at home was a fantastic night. Great second half performance, couple of great goals, and a proper big game atmosphere at ER. Feels like a very long time ago now.

Under NM, probably bizarrely it was the Dundee 0-0 at home. I thought we played really well that day, and created loads of chances - and even though we didn’t win, I thought it was befitting Mowbray’s mantra of “if we play like that…”

It was very early in Montgomery’s tenure and I felt very optimistic after that game. Sadly, that didn’t last long.

I think this thread just highlights how few really good moments we have had under Montgomery.

Even the almost universally unpopular Johnson had a few moments, Luzern away, hammering Celtic at ER, and was involved in most people's favourite memories of this season. Someone like Calderwood had a 0-3 at Ibrox, Williamson had cup wins v Celtic and Rangers etc etc.

There have a been a couple of flashes under Montgomery, maybe the comeback at Tynecastle, but it's really slim pickings and very little that really stands out.

Luzern at home was a cracking game. St Mirren in the cup was good. Tiny in the 2-2 and the 1-1 were both good games, the former more for the comeback than the performance, though.

Scrambling for 45 minutes here and there in the other games though, sadly. It's been a wholly disappointing season.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Luzern at home was a cracking game. St Mirren in the cup was good. Tiny in the 2-2 and the 1-1 were both good games, the former more for the comeback than the performance, though.

Scrambling for 45 minutes here and there in the other games though, sadly. It's been a wholly disappointing season.
    St. Mirren cup game is a good shout. Forgot about that one.

Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    St. Mirren cup game is a good shout. Forgot about that one.
    Aye, so had I. Been a long season

Missed Lucern because I was at a music festival.

Enjoyed bits of a few, but its been a real mess overall. Monty not the only one needing punted.