Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Derek Mcinnes

Quote Originally Posted by Hibiza View Post
    An obvious manager is Micheal O'Neil .
    How can he be more obvious than a manager with track record over a decade in our league of either atleast meeting or exceeding expectations?

Quote Originally Posted by badabing67 View Post
    One of the few managers who has failed to get 3pts from Montgomery
    Uh huh. I'm sure that's giving him sleepless nights as he looks out his passport for Europe with Killie and we loiter around the bottom six with nothing to play for.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I would take McInnes but there’s no way he would take the job. He has publicly said he would never manage Hibs as the fans would never accept him. Quite a strong but telling statement. In any case, why would he leave a club, where he is successfully enjoying his job, for a club with serial failure tendencies?
    When did he say that publicly? Must be easy to find if, as you claim it's in the public domain.

I would take McInnes but there’s no way he would take the job. He has publicly said he would never manage Hibs as the fans would never accept him. Quite a strong but telling statement. In any case, why would he leave a club, where he is successfully enjoying his job, for a club with serial failure tendencies?
    I'm unaware of him ever saying such a thing. And even if he did it's completely untrue. Any manager who can deliver results will be accepted.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibiza View Post
    An obvious manager is Micheal O'Neil .
    McInnes is a far safer bet than him, much as I like him.

I think we've missed the boat. He should've been appointed instead of Maloney.

The real kick in the nuts in there really is no other candidate with that knowledge of Scottish fitba folk want that comes close to him.

I'd go the foreign route myself, why not since we'll struggle to get DM

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    Wanted him as our manager for years, and is as close to a guarantee as you’ll get. But I think that ship has sailed now, sadly.

I’d take Alex Neil.
    If he is willing to talk to us then he should be the man. Has had proven successes, talks well and would sort out our defence.

Quote Originally Posted by Since90+2 View Post
    When did he say that publicly? Must be easy to find if, as you claim it's in the public domain.
    Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    I'm unaware of him ever saying such a thing. And even if he did it's completely untrue. Any manager who can deliver results will be accepted.
    I’m sorry, I can’t remember details, but he definitely said it, whether as a joke or a bit of banter, in a live interview. Why would I make it up?

Quote Originally Posted by HibeeSince85 View Post
    I think we've missed the boat. He should've been appointed instead of Maloney.

The real kick in the nuts in there really is no other candidate with that knowledge of Scottish fitba folk want that comes close to him.

I'd go the foreign route myself, why not since we'll struggle to get DM
    Absolutely correct re missing the boat and timing. I think the fact he was perceived as similar to Jack Ross in style, as well as looks and even the way he talks was what stopped him being a contender at the time.

I’m sorry, I can’t remember details, but he definitely said it, whether as a joke or a bit of banter, in a live interview. Why would I make it up?
    I've never heard anyone mention that.

If that was the case it would have been mentioned in the media when he was last linked with the job. I'm pretty sure you've misheard.

Should have been appointed two appointments ago.

I wouldn't be unhappy with Michael O'Neill either. It's O'Neill or Neil for me.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    And yet Hibs are unbeaten this season against Kilmarnock.
    Right. So it’s just the 10 other teams in the league we’ve to worry about.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Right. So it’s just the 10 other teams in the league we’ve to worry about.
    Top of the Killie v Hibs league though.

Champers out tonight.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    And yet Hibs are unbeaten this season against Kilmarnock.
    Here is something that's a bit more impressive - Killie are unbeaten against everyone in the league apart from Rangers. As a Hibs fan I'd be delighted with that

McInnes or Robinson both performing significantly better than us on a shoestring budget. Needs to be either as the next appointment.

Sent from my moto g32 using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Kentao1985; 13-04-2024 at 06:10 PM.

Should have brought him in when Jack Ross was binned. We absolutely must pull out all the stops to get him in the door asap.

@hibs.net private member hibeerealist's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    And look at Aberdeen's record since they sacked him. Must be on their fourth or fifth guy in the hot seat and still going backwards.

Similar to us after sacking Ross following one bad, but far from irretrievable run of form (which included skelping Rangers at Hampden).

The folk in charge at both clubs seem woefully ill-qualified to pick a manager.
    But couldnae beat St Johnstone, irretrievable run of form or just S hi te?

Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    Wanted him as our manager for years, and is as close to a guarantee as you’ll get. But I think that ship has sailed now, sadly.

I’d take Alex Neil.
    He’s too big for his boots
    NM must go and we definitely need a box office appointment

this,,,, sick to death of this experiment *****, get him in ASAP

Quote Originally Posted by Cabbage-Patch View Post
    Should have brought him in when Jack Ross was binned. We absolutely must pull out all the stops to get him in the door asap.
    THIS,.... sick to death of this experiment ***** get him in ASAP

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Agree.

He will want to take Killie in to Europe though.
    I think we’re under estimating the appeal of Hibs with the new investment. Killie might get 4 games max in Europe and will be out by September

I'd appoint Alex Neil just because of his middle name. It's really important with Lennon for some reason, maybe it has some mystical powers.

It's Alexander Francis Neil for me.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    I don’t think McInnes has ever said anything like that. People just making things up on here and then it becomes a .fact.

Gamertag: Iainhfc PSN ID: Iainhfc
    Mcinnes would be crazy to leave killie for hibs

He turned down Rangers when at Dons.

He would cost a fortune now and could demand anything he wants.

Killie have a new grass pitch next season - new training centre too.

We missed the boat in another bad judgement appointing another experiment hoping he would be the next Ange.

He’s following Steve Clarkes path and could easily be the next Scotland manager if he keeps improving Killie (who were in championship not that long along and now over taken Hibs and sitting comfortably in 4th). That’s how bad we are as a club.

I don't think he'd come.

Also even if he did. He wouldn't get the time he's had at Killie.

Find it mental amount of fans that wouldn’t take mcinnes.

It’s the right time. We need an experienced steady pair of hands to start a proper rebuild.

No more experiments no more giving young guys a chance to prove themselves.

Think we’re the one club McInnes will flop at. And I reckon he knows this.

First Team Breakthrough hibbykeef's Avatar

Derek Mcinnes

And how long do we give Mcinnes or whoever.?