new hate crime law=at football

can we now report the huns and others for obnoxious sectarian singing.
    the cops say they will follow up on every complaint?

thoughts?

I feel that this law will be as effective at stopping sectarian signing was as VAR was at stopping refereeing decisions being biased in favour of the old firm.

Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post

thoughts?
    You would probably leave yourself open to being investigated for hating the rangers. 🤔

thoughts?
    Bound to be a "vexatious complaint" 🤔😂

thoughts?

Reported!

Excuse me Mr Policeman that bad man over there just said he was up to his knees in my blood

Could you go and arrest him please ?

Better watch what we say about referees on here.

thoughts?
    not gonna end well if reports that Police don’t have resources to cope with such hate crimes.

moral of the story seems to be if enough people do something then they chances are you can carry - grim thought.
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

@hibs.net private member hibbie02's Avatar
    I thought there was already a law about sectarianism.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Quote Originally Posted by hibbie02 View Post
    I thought there was already a law about sectarianism.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Aye but Scotland was playing pretend sectarianism laws, this time we mean business. 40,000+ arrests at Ibrox coming up to show how serious we are.

Quote Originally Posted by allezsauzee View Post
    I feel that this law will be as effective at stopping sectarian signing was as VAR was at stopping refereeing decisions being biased in favour of the old firm.
    A new low!

I have always believed and still do that there is a rotten core at the heart of rangers and celtic that will keep this sort of thing going for their own non football reasons. We are talking cold hard bigots who do not care about football, it is just an easy place to get traction for their agendas.

how do we stop it?

imho, it is a society problem, can a hate crime law help? I think no, as it will just make them feel even more “victimised” and entrenched, the rotten core will weaponise any criticism.

what Hibs have done is a good start, but the only thing that will really put an end to this is if rangers and celtic, come out with a joint statement conclusively condoning sectarian singing, and acting on that statement the first time it happens.

likely hood of that happening? Hmmmm…

i remember the real trigger that saw the beginning of the end of the “troubles” that both team’s support seem so enamoured with, was as simple as; a few VERY brave ladies, who had had enough,standing up to it when no one else would.

what Hibs have announced is not on the level of bravery of those women, but it is a start, the next step?- If people can actually meet the ones they are “hating on” and see first hand how their actions make others feel, that is a difficult but important one.

I overheard a couple of Motherwell fans at a concert last week, talking about hibs move and how one of them had not been to the footy for years due to the bigotry in the scottish game, but he was going to the game next week to show support for what Hibs did.

from acorns oak trees grow….
    Last edited by Albert Kidd 86’; 02-04-2024 at 07:09 AM.

thoughts?
    If you report them they can say they feel offended and you will be prosecuted (because it's up to the authorities what is the real crime). The only good thing is JK Rowling actually taunting the authorities and daring them to arrest her for defending women's rights.

Can I borrow some ambition? degenerated's Avatar
    Not sure the police will bother enforcing it when it comes to rangers games.

If they do though, they could always start with ally mccoist.

Screenshot_20240402-090052.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by degenerated View Post

I just don’t see it happening The Rangers seem to have infiltrated all organisations and think they can issue statements left right and centre if they feel aggrieved by another clubs actions or set of fans actions
    But they don’t tolerate it against them and use all thier connections to try and nip anything in the bud

Freedom of Expression is something I support but should people feel free to express themselves by singing Bigoted songs about the past that have imo no place in modern football
    The fact we as a society tolerate this ***** is beyond me
    If we are reducing ticket allocation to this mob then surely it makes it easier to identify on camera those singing bigoted songs
    They could then be dealt with by the Club making it clear they will no longer tolerate this sort of behaviour
    But the directors are probably singing or humming along
    And there in lies the problem There is not a willingness at the top of organisations to tackle this issue head on

What a stupid thing to say Mcoist, so he will be joining in with the Billy boys etc.
    Last edited by gbhibby; 02-04-2024 at 08:58 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    What a stupid thing to say Mcoist, so he will be joining in with the Billy boys etc.
    His comment sums up the problem right there. Won't be challenged though.

Useful twitter thread by a Prof of criminal law (ironically given the context of this thread, called Mark Walters ) on what the act does/doesn't do. Spoiler - practically nothing to justify the hoo ha surrounding it.

https://twitter.com/MarkaaWalters/st...44785321259123

@hibs.net private member Victor's Avatar
    How it will work:

Hibs fan- “officer those Rangers fans are singing songs about hating Catholics and wanting to be up to their knees in our blood.”

Police Officer - “what do you want me to do about it? Arrest everyone? We don’t have the resources.”

Rangers fan: “officer those Hibs fans have a banner with a symbol that says - ban the Orange Order and one of them called me the ‘H’ word.

Police Officer - Don’t worry we take these things seriously. We have cancelled all leave and formed an enquiry team. We will view all available CCTV footage and will have pictures of those responsible in every newspaper tomorrow.”

You can bet your bottom dollar the 'Lizzies in a box' ditty will be reported.

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Useful twitter thread by a Prof of criminal law (ironically given the context of this thread, called Mark Walters ) on what the act does/doesn't do. Spoiler - practically nothing to justify the hoo ha surrounding it.

Yes the hoo haa is deliberate and no doubt politically motivated. All I seen while at supermarket this morning was the front page of the rags and Rowling daring police to arrest.

practically nothing to justify the hoo ha surrounding it.
    But how else will people be able to perpetuate a culture war that they have made their whole identity/political stance?

On Saturday an entire support joined in with their Build My Gallows nonsense. Nothing to do with football. Nothing to do with Scotland directly. I deliberately scanned all 4 stands to see how many - at glance - were joining in. After all, we're told it's a vocal minority. No surprise that the volume matched the physical signs of joining in - ie you could see the clapping along. Minority my bahookey. It was so loud and so continuous I can still hear it in my head like an ear worm. Obviously not happy about that but that's the reality. Unfortunately, our "they're only 16" hingers on minority are going to be used as deflector shields by The Rangers and the media. Until we self police that - and bizarrely some don't seem to see the issue - we'll never have any chance of challenging the bleeding obvious along the M8.

One daftie with a papal flag on or a few singing about a dead person on Saturday will wipe out, single handedly, 40,000 singing about fighting the IRA.

We're dealing with the masters of whitabootery
    Last edited by LewysGot2; 02-04-2024 at 10:25 AM.

Is the point here not that if you call someone a yam fud or a sheep sh***er or a soap dodger and sing about folks eating rats in weegie/gorgie slums then it could be reported as a hate crime?

Sally should stick to being a boy racer Rangers legend Ally McCoist in court after he's caught speeding twice in one day - Glasgow Live

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Is the point here not that if you call someone a yam fud or a sheep sh***er or a soap dodger and sing about folks eating rats in weegie/gorgie slums then it could be reported as a hate crime?
    Don’t think any of those would fall under stirring up hatred against a protected group so you’ll be fine if that’s what you wanna do

@hibs.net private member linlithgowhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ElginHibbie View Post
    Don’t think any of those would fall under stirring up hatred against a protected group so you’ll be fine if that’s what you wanna do
    Don't think the new law covers geographical abuse so I think you can still call them weegie/gorgie huns, if you so wish!

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar

Thanks, I read that earlier and was going to post it but couldn't find it again.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Yes the hoo haa is deliberate and no doubt politically motivated. All I seen while at supermarket this morning was the front page of the rags and Rowling daring police to arrest.
    Jakey was reported to Northumberland police for constantly refering to India Willoughby as a man. It is recorded as a non crime hate event.

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Which group are being hated? Elderly? a race? Disabled? None of that constitutes what is coverd by the act.