Celebratory Pitch Invasions at ER

Hibs 2 Hearts 1, 17th Oct 1987.

Hundreds on the pitch at full-time, first victory over Hearts (not including the Tom Hart Trophy) for 8 years (we were in different divisions for 4 of those years).

One of my top Hibs memories, anyone remember it? Any other invasions at ER? En masse, not 20 or 30 people.

Quote Originally Posted by King Cosell View Post

Hundreds on the pitch at full-time, first victory over Hearts (not including the Tom Hart Trophy) for 8 years (we were in different divisions for 4 of those years).

One of my top Hibs memories, anyone remember it? Any other invasions at ER? En masse, not 20 or 30 people.
    When we came 3rd under Mowbray. I hugged Broony, and everyone had to run off cause the police came out on their horses. Could feel the ground shake underneath your feet

First Division Title 1981

Hibernian 2 v 1 Raith Rovers

We thought it would always be like this ��

https://youtu.be/1cPNeIcdmpk?si=aBycM3vpqdCznDhr
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 25-03-2024 at 07:20 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

Wow, I climbed over from the east terrace with help from a guy from Essex, I kissed the centre circle like a wee fanny 🤣 theres a laddie in that clip just ready to snog the centre circle just before the footage cuts away 🤣

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Wow, I climbed over from the east terrace with help from a guy from Essex, I kissed the centre circle like a wee fanny 🤣 theres a laddie in that clip just ready to snog the centre circle just before the footage cuts away 🤣
    Big Gogs Rae looking like it was just last week

Loved the Big Man !

I'm in that video

Classic footage! My recollection of that title win was of it being quite low key as there was still a sense of shame at being relegated but clearly I've misremembered that! Love the casual, on-pitch trophy presentation.

Seem to recall being on the pitch when we beat Falkirk to win the First Division in 1999 (a game featuring a trademark Sauzee thunderbolt).

First Team Regular scm70nyd1973's Avatar

I should really post the photos I’ve still got from that day - IIRC it was a sunny day and Hearts had just been put up for sale and we were singing about it in a less than complimentary way - shame on us 🤭

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    Classic footage! My recollection of that title win was of it being quite low key as there was still a sense of shame at being relegated but clearly I've misremembered that! Love the casual, on-pitch trophy presentation.

Seem to recall being on the pitch when we beat Falkirk to win the First Division in 1999 (a game featuring a trademark Sauzee thunderbolt).

It was amazing how many of us had a march up to Princes Street after the game, singing all the way.

IIRC, the hotel next to St James Centre had a sign up congratulating Hibs on being 'League Champions'.

When we won promotion 1998/99. Everyone came onto the pitch and just kinda dootered around, I had my young nephews with me and it was a bit weird, possibly because we knew we were going up from a long way out during that season

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    I'm in that video

The Police will be scanning over that footage now, we can expect a chap on oor doors soon

Wasnae me occifer 🍺🍺🤣

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    The Police will be scanning over that footage now, we can expect a chap on oor doors soon

Wasnae me occifer 🍺🍺🤣

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar

Yeah I remember that fairly vividly - my first derby, sitting in the old North Stand (part of the main). Loved every minute of it. All goals in the first half - although only one I remember exactly as it happened was the Robbo goal. Gutted there has never been TV footage of it.

Remember fighting in the away end during the game, CCS presumably getting in that end.
    Last edited by LaMotta; 25-03-2024 at 09:28 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    Yeah I remember that fairly vividly - my first derby, sitting in the old North Stand (part of the main). Loved every minute of it. All goals in the first half - although only one I remember exactly as it happened was the Robbo goal. Gutted there has never been TV footage of it.

Remember fighting in the away end during the game, CCS presumably getting in that end.
    Hearts fans had a habit of fighting among themselves back in those days.

I vividly remember when Paul Kane scored he came right over to the terracing where i was standing right at the front behind they wee red cages and looked right at me and pointed his finger with a huge grin , I was cheesing for days on end and absolutely still remember it clear as day 37 years later !

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibby rae View Post
    When we came 3rd under Mowbray. I hugged Broony, and everyone had to run off cause the police came out on their horses. Could feel the ground shake underneath your feet
    I was on the pitch that day. My Dad and brother chickened out. I reasoned it’s not often you get to go on the ER pitch.

Had a sing song, then hopped back into the West.

I was on the pitch that day. I was 10… Makes me feel very old.

Quote Originally Posted by bordergreen View Post
    I was on the pitch that day. I was 10… Makes me feel very old.

I was on the pitch and only six months old...

...if you calculate it from the age I claim to be now.

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    I was on the pitch and only six months old...

...if you calculate it from the age I claim to be now.
    Auld ******* 🤣
    Last edited by Bridge hibs; 29-03-2024 at 08:41 AM.