Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Hearts captain in the 7-0 game Eddie Thomson.
    Spoke to him many times in Oz, even offered him a video of that game…which he good humouredly passed on.
    Eddie was a Hibs supporter growing up and said his family were Hibees.

Walter Kidd……a decent guy I had a couple of pints with in Mitchell’s a few years ago.

Quote Originally Posted by Gloucester Hibs View Post
    Jeezo we’ve just about given the whole lot of them a pass!

Just waiting on someone declaring they used to go for drinks with Wallace Mercer and he was a genuinely decent guy. Surprisingly down to earth, and very funny.
    Brilliant

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Hartley and his sidekick thought my mate was trying to take photos of them in Albufeira a few years back when he was actually just farting about with the camera settings. They tried to confront us and looked a bit daft when they realised we had no interest in him whatsoever.
    Best way to be when self important people take themselves too seriously. Who exactly are you ?

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar

Just waiting on someone declaring they used to go for drinks with Wallace Mercer and he was a genuinely decent guy. Surprisingly down to earth, and very funny.

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    Walter Kidd……a decent guy I had a couple of pints with in Mitchell’s a few years ago.
    Walters brother was the postie around Fernieside / Moredun back in the day.

He was missing a finger on one hand if I recall correctly.

Quote Originally Posted by green day View Post
    Walters brother was the postie around Fernieside / Moredun back in the day.

He was missing a finger on one hand if I recall correctly.
    How many brothers did he have? Can remember being at high school with one of them Michael I think it was at Holyrood back in the day. Pretty sure the family came from Fernieside/Moredun area.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    How many brothers did he have? Can remember being at high school with one of them Michael I think it was at Holyrood back in the day. Pretty sure the family came from Fernieside/Moredun area.
    Depends on whether you include the 3 that were simultaneously his uncle, nephew and cousin or not.

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    Afraid I dont know.

Walter was about 10 years older than me and was playing for Hearts when I was just a daft laddie messing around the Gilmerton/Moredun area in the late 70s early 80s.

@hibs.net private member Johnny_Leith's Avatar
    Jamie MacDonald the GK. Very nice guy. Good goalie too, had an offer from Hibs at one point.

Quote Originally Posted by Johnny_Leith View Post
    Jamie MacDonald the GK. Very nice guy. Good goalie too, had an offer from Hibs at one point.
    His kids are all Hibs fans as well.

Regularly sit just behind me at games with his wife (who I know fairly well).

I would like to confirm that Gary McKay, on three separate occasions, was an absolutely typical Jambo blowhard. A tool of the first order. His dad was a d##k as well. The apple barely got off the tree in their case.

Met wee Robbo a couple of times. Absolutely outstanding guy, absolute gentleman, which was terribly disappointing. 😂

Quote Originally Posted by VoltaireHibs View Post
    I would like to confirm that Gary McKay, on three separate occasions, was an absolutely typical Jambo blowhard. A tool of the first order. His dad was a d##k as well. The apple barely got off the tree in their case.
    You can add his wee brother to your list too.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Done!

Met wee Robbo a couple of times. Absolutely outstanding guy, absolute gentleman, which was terribly disappointing. 😂
    Seconded both

Wee Robbo's older brother and ex Hearts player Chris is a diamond geezer.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar

Gary McKay once stared at me a good few times in a pub at the Waverley Station a few years ago. I say stared at me, it was more the occasional glance of fear as I undoubtedly looked like I wanted to maim him for being a racist.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    You can add his son to the list as well 😅

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Best way to be when self important people take themselves too seriously. Who exactly are you ?
    Haha aye definitely. His mate was a wee radge looking guy who came striding "purposefully" up to my mate who hadn't a clue who Hartley actually was! By that time he was taking the lens off his camera to clean it or something so the wee fud quickly changed direction and strode off with PH trailing along at the back of him.

Quote Originally Posted by EdinMike View Post
    You can add his son to the list as well 😅
    😂 This is not going well for the McKay family.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    On the plus side, the family have saved a fortune on Brasso over the years.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Wallace Mercer did buy me a pint once.

@hibs.net private member Victor's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    Wallace Mercer did buy me a pint once.
    Did he think you were someone else? Or was he wanting something from you!

I had an uncle that was a regular for the Hearts 1955 to mid 60s, i was born in 1950. I thought he was a pretty good guy then, when i got married in the 70s he refused to come to the wedding because it was in the Chapel. Changed my opinion of him when some things came to light later about the way Hearts operated back then, crazy some things i found out.

Quote Originally Posted by Victor View Post
    Did he think you were someone else? Or was he wanting something from you!
    Was with a load of Jambos so a free pint is a free pint. Was way before the takeover business.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    His kids are all Hibs fans as well.

Regularly sit just behind me at games with his wife (who I know fairly well).
    Don’t both sisters attend or does S go to watch Jack.

Mad Vlad was alright, never met him though.

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Funny you mention that, I was watching old footage about sectarianism between celtc and rangers. Former Rangers player Graham Fyfe was talking about how he was a regular at rangers but when word got around he was dating a catholic lass then his life and rangers career started to grind to a halt

He said he was called into the managers office and questioned about his relationship which he initially denied, the local press got wind and camped outside his house to the point he was sick of it. He then was called into the managers office again where he admitted he was going out with a catholic lass and they were about to get married

The rangers manager suggested they do not get married in a chapel and suggested a protestant marriage and to save further hassle they did. However that was just the start of his troubles and he put in a transfer request thereafter

****ing crazy stuff and all for a game of football

Anyway, I digress
    I met a guy over here a few years ago, he was about the same age as me and was on Hearts books as a schoolboy. they got him a job and was highly regarded as a young player. He was called into the stadium office after a few months and was let go by Hearts and fired from the job because they found out what church he attended. No prizes for guessing what it was.

Quote Originally Posted by plhibs View Post
    I had an uncle that was a regular for the Hearts 1955 to mid 60s, i was born in 1950. I thought he was a pretty good guy then, when i got married in the 70s he refused to come to the wedding because it was in the Chapel. Changed my opinion of him when some things came to light later about the way Hearts operated back then, crazy some things i found out.
    Sounds interesting, please elaborate.

Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post
    Sounds interesting, please elaborate.
    In the 60 and 70s when I was growing up there was people of both religions who did not go to the other church/Chapel some would not recognise the marriage as it wasn’t in their church. Never heard any stories about Hearts operating like Rangers.

One Sunday morning a couple of years ago outside our local store GM parks up in his maroon 4x4 Kia. He gets out the car to walk into the store only to realise he has left the handbrake off and his car is moving off across the road. Panicking GM tries to jump in as the car is moving before it hits the pavement on the other side. Back in the day I always thought GM was a bit of a moron and that Sunday morning confirmed it for me.