Page 8 of 15 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Block 7 (again)

The idea of block 7 is great. The reality is a group causing unnecessary bother while striving for relevancy. We all want more singing (like actual Hibs songs) and atmosphere but their behaviour at away games isn't really worth it. Really hoping that the standing section works out separate from block 7 or it's going to look even more sparse than it does now. Their numbers in the East don't seem to be growing.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by RIP View Post
    We have history on it as well.

Pretty sure the guy who started up Hibs12thMan and ran that big flag day ten years ago was knocking 60. Old baldy guy covered in tattoos. He was photographed on the Hampden pitch in 2016 wi his tap aff.

The Mick chap who created the fabulous Sunshine display at Hampden with Sect43 a couple of years before was also no spring chicken.
    Were the guys you mention hanging around with and acting as leaders to a bunch of kids?

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by H18 SFR View Post
    I shared an insight earlier in the thread re a child protection matter.

Pleasing to see we have a strong child protection policy:

https://d3tepru76oevpi.cloudfront.ne...ng-Mar2023.pdf

Alarming to see there has been no contact this week re the issue raised.
    Isn't that more to do with kids that come to Hibs to train and play?

Like, to try and protect them from paedo's or the like?

I don't think it applies to fans in the stadium on match days?

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/sport...ixture-4557853

Scotsman article has no difficulty placing equal share of the current nasty behaviour on Hibs due to the antics of this unhealthy group attached to our club. Yes, it calls out the the rangers fans too but the ammunition provided by Block7 is doing our club no favours.

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post

Maybe Hibs could be pragmatic on this issue and use the system they already use use to protect their young players to vet these ‘leaders’. I’m sure there wouldn’t be many background reports to do.
    I’m sure it would put parents and a few fans on here minds at rest.
    Last edited by Tarrahib; 17-03-2024 at 08:13 AM. Reason: Mistake

Quote Originally Posted by CentreLine View Post
    https://www.scotsman.com/sport/sport...ixture-4557853

Scotsman article has no difficulty placing equal share of the current nasty behaviour on Hibs due to the antics of this unhealthy group attached to our club. Yes, it calls out the the rangers fans too but the ammunition provided by Block7 is doing our club no favours.
    Sad, but probably reflective of how the game up here works in relation to the media. There's a big target on our back and the idiots are providing the bullets.
    We are nothing like the hun but we are giving them,the SFA and their media pals a great opportunity to deflect and even attack us.

Hopefully our board are as intent on dealing with our own erses as they say they are with others.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Tarrahib View Post
    Maybe Hibs could be pragmatic on this issue and use the system they already use use to protect their young players to vet these ‘leaders’. I’m sure there wouldn’t be many background reports to do.
    I’m sure it would put parents and a few fans on here minds at rest.
    You want Hibs to start vetting certain fans?? Who decides which fans need vetted?

Just no.

It's bad enough the club wanting to search my bag on the way into the ground. I'm not about to go through an interview or give them any more information to decide whether or not I'm allowed to come to the football.

Quote Originally Posted by chrisski33 View Post
    Not one bit? These older guys could be introducing them to all sorts, drugs violence etc. open your eyes. Guess youd be happy for your child to hang around with a unchecked 30-45 yr old? Just inappropriate esp when the club seem to be accommodating it.
    If my 14 year old was hanging about with 40 year old I'd be having words with my 14 year old to be honest. Back in the day if my 14 year old wanted to join the CCS I'd have told him no chance of it happening. I wouldn't allow it never mind the CCS who to be fare wouldn't allow it either unless he maybe joined the baby crew but even then it would have been nope, no chance.
    Sometimes the parents have to take responsibility.
    Last edited by DH1875; 17-03-2024 at 11:27 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    Were the guys you mention hanging around with and acting as leaders to a bunch of kids?
    The activities were solely relating to improving the matchday atmosphere such as organising Tifos, securing flag cabinets etc. IIRC the youngest lads were late teens / early twenties.

Although my response to Chris was slightly tongue in cheek, I'm wondering if people are suggesting there should be an upper age limit of these Ultras groups. Or a lower age limit?

BTW I'm well educated on Safeguarding and PVG certification. But that relates to unsupervised access to children rather than a bunch of matchday football Ultras, doesn't it?

As a parent of two lads I would want to know what they were doing on a Saturday. I travelled to away games aged 13/14 on supporters buses run by older guys. I felt safe and so did my folks in letting me do so.
    Last edited by RIP; 17-03-2024 at 10:55 AM.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Sad, but probably reflective of how the game up here works in relation to the media. There's a big target on our back and the idiots are providing the bullets.
    We are nothing like the hun but we are giving them,the SFA and their media pals a great opportunity to deflect and even attack us.

Hopefully our board are as intent on dealing with our own erses as they say they are with others.

Tbf thanks to an idiot minority in our support and the lack of an away crowd in Rangers vs Celtic games there’s a lot of truth to that headline.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post

This is exactly what it is.

It does not relate to fans on match days.

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Tbf thanks to an idiot minority in our support and the lack of an away crowd in Rangers vs Celtic games there’s a lot of truth to that headline.

The club need to have some control over Block 7 because they are dragging the clubs name into the gutter. The new standing section should be season ticket holders only, and away tickets only for fans on the database.

@hibs.net private member hibee1875's Avatar
    It’s not just a Hibs thing. Dundee Utd fans also hating their drum banging monotonous chanting singing section

https://x.com/milneftd83/status/1771...ti_CZ3xWrTV0vA

Block 7 lot need binned awful songs and are pretty much a mini Celtic crew.

Quote Originally Posted by hibee1875 View Post
    It’s not just a Hibs thing. Dundee Utd fans also hating their drum banging monotonous chanting singing section

https://x.com/milneftd83/status/1771...ti_CZ3xWrTV0vA
    Same with Block 7, lots of drum banging and singing something nobody can hear through the echo of the drum.

The idea behind block 7 is fine by me in that they are trying to create a bit of atmosphere at the games and get young folk involved. Sad reality is there's more than a few fannies in the group (who are older btw) whose only interest is antagonising rival supporters and trying too hard to shock and essentially be the mini green brigade. Whilst Hibs take a stand against fan behaviour and rightly so some in this group bring the club into disrepute.
    Last edited by Cabbage-Patch; 24-03-2024 at 06:35 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by sauzee1989 View Post
    Block 7 lot need binned awful songs and are pretty much a mini Celtic crew.
    Not sure if it was linked to them but there was a picture of someone holding up an Irish tricolour with the Pope on the front. I can’t recall ever seeing such a sight in a Hibs end in all the years ive been going to the games (Miller era from 87-88).
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Listening to comments on the radio, there appears to be a view that non stop drum beats, megaphone blasts, and continuous chants from the Ultras are killing off the spontaneous crowd roars when something exciting actually happens on the pitch!

Personally I reckon the Ultras have ruined the atmosphere at Easter Road, and their emphasis on religous & political aspects is not what I look forward to when I attend - it's the football on the pitch!

Kensell seems to be prioritising the welfare of the Ultras & their trouble-making hangers-on, over the core support. If their activities continue unchecked, don't be surprised Ben if the attendances are adversely affected by your kowtowing to the anti-social sector of so-called Hibs supporters.

What's with the weird resonance/echo on the drum today? 🥁

I'm nae musician so probably there's a technical term for it but that was nippy as...

The extent of the balaclavas/face coverings the day was bizarre at best/pitiful in the main. some of the home support were genuinely just pissing themselves laughing at B7. Weird filming by B7 of the Thes laughing at them in return.

Even Grandad B7 was fully covered up today. Absolutely bizarre stuff.🥷🥷🥷🥷🥷🥷

Quote Originally Posted by LewysGot2 View Post

I'm nae musician so probably there's a technical term for it but that was nippy as...

The extent of the balaclavas/face coverings the day was bizarre at best/pitiful in the main. some of the home support were genuinely just pissing themselves laughing at B7. Weird filming by B7 of the Thes laughing at them in return.

Bunch of weirdos.

We called them goths when I was at school.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by LewysGot2 View Post

I've stopped going to away games years ago.

Think we only got 900 tickets today. Home come Block 7 are all there en masse?

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    More IRA chants and F*** the King and Queen today. Embarrassing stuff.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    More IRA chants and F*** the King and Queen today. Embarrassing stuff.
    Laughed at home fans saying **** sake the ninjas have arrived 🤣
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Quote Originally Posted by Hibees1973 View Post
    I've stopped going to away games years ago.

Think we only got 900 tickets today. Home come Block 7 are all there en masse?

Today went to a general sale, we never sold out, not by a long way.

Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post

Haha, aye thats right!

Laughed at home fans saying **** sake the ninjas have arrived
    For older viewers, Couldnae get the image of Michael Bentine's Potty Time characters out my head for some reason.

Aye, avoided saying it but I thought the comments from some of the home fans were genuinely funny.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Bunch of weirdos.

We called them goths when I was at school.
    As the forum's resident goth, are they ****.

First Team Breakthrough Green-Hibee-7's Avatar
    At the end of the game, there was two guys speaking to who I presume was the Hibs security lead (definitely an employee) and i genuinely don’t know how he kept a straight face speaking to a grown man wearing a balaclava. Tragic man.