Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    The huns are playing on Thursday coming. Our tie had to be on Sunday and it'll have been Sky who pushed for 5.00pm because they've got Liverpool v Man City at 3.45.
    On viaplay not Sky. Appreciate it had to be on the Sunday

It's 3 games in 7 days.
    It's 3 games in 5 days, 21 hours and 30 mins.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    It's 3 games in 7 days.
    I meant it's 2 games in 11 days from when we played last up to the Ross County game.

They've had a rest.

I'm not going to say that 3 games in a week isn't tiring, but they should be fit enough to do it. If they're not injured, play them.

Let’s just win on Sunday and take it a game at a time

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Watch 90 minutes from then and 90 minutes from now. Different game. Physical demands are miles higher.
    I actually despair watching some of our present day players trying to control a ball and pass to a green jersey totally alien to that team of the early seventies a total joy to watch like watching a game of football chess and yes played at speed and fast attacking entertaining football not like the tippy tappy sideyways backwards anti football fare of today

I feel sorry for you youngsters nowadays

Anyway gotta go time for my bed bath ��
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 05-03-2024 at 01:02 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by King Cosell View Post
    It's 3 games in 5 days, 21 hours and 30 mins.
    Yes, you're right.

3 games in less than 6 days.

Strongest possible 11 for me versus Sevco

They are professional athletes FFS.

I would like to think that I wouldn’t be knackered after doing 270 minutes of my job in six days..

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    I actually despair watching some of our present day players trying to control a ball and pass to a green jersey totally alien to that team of the early seventies a total joy to watch like watching a game of football chess and yes played at speed and fast attacking entertaining football not like the tippy tappy sideyways backwards anti football fare of today

I feel sorry for you youngsters nowadays

Anyway gotta go time for my bed bath ��
    Don't, I've seen Hibs win the Scottish cup. Our best achievement since the 50s.

@hibs.net private member worcesterhibby's Avatar
    Yes, I agree with all of that. My wording was poor. Players' fitness and athleticism is much higher, as is their workrate and speed.

Game was played at half the speed.
    Squads were smaller,pitches weren't up to today's standard, balls were heavier, especially in the auld days, boots were heavier, strips never had today's technology. You could only have 2 subs.tackling was more aggressive, magic sponge was your physio. Travelling abroad & to away games would have taken longer, coaches & planes not as comfy

Quote Originally Posted by Ray_ View Post
    Goodness knows how we got on when we had basic teams, playing in Europe almost every season, Hibs players representing Scotland in all levels [adding to the games], playing on mud bath's against opponents who would cut the more skilled players in half. So pleased we never had sports scientists back then
    Imagine if they had to do a day's work then play a match after work nowadays. Didn't do stats in the old days but Brownlie and Shades ground coverage would match any of today's players
    Last edited by gbhibby; 05-03-2024 at 03:17 PM.

Hibs could quite easily lose a game to many teams in Scotland if they played an XI that was ever so slightly physically fatigued. I've lost count of the times a slow lethargic Hibs have looked well second best to any manner of opposition, just because they're a split second away from winning second balls when they need it.

It's not quite so simplistic to say strongest 11 every week and they just need to suck it up because it's not a normal job...

We'll smash them all

Quote Originally Posted by Ray_ View Post
    Goodness knows how we got on when we had basic teams, playing in Europe almost every season, Hibs players representing Scotland in all levels [adding to the games], playing on mud bath's against opponents who would cut the more skilled players in half. So pleased we never had sports scientists back then
    Yes, sir.

Footballers are a bunch of Jessies nowadays.

Quote Originally Posted by Sparrows tongue View Post
    Yes, sir.

Footballers are a bunch of Jessies nowadays.
    Are they? Broken legs used to end careers. Those were the Jessie's.

Martin Boyle has come back from 2 ACLs. These hard men weren't doing that.

Aye, but did Martin do a 26 hour shift down the mines, plough a field, feed a family of four and milk a few cows before playing 90 minutes on a quagmire?

And then, sign on for housing benefits before downing a half pint of Export and a double Bells.

Jessie.

John Brownlie came back after a double leg break tib and fib

Alan Gordon could hardly walk after a career of cortisone injections

Alan McGraw got carried off at Tiny in the Cup semi came back on with a stookie on collided with the post scoring the winner

Players nowadays go down for the slightest thing clutching their heads to stop play screaming like banshees

Back in our day you only went down if you were really injured and then told to run it off

Tell kids that nowadays and they don’t believe you

Alan McGraw got carried off at Tiny in the Cup semi came back on with a stookie on collided with the post scoring the winner

Players nowadays go down for the slightest thing clutching their heads to stop play screaming like banshees

Back in our day you only went down if you were really injured and then told to run it off

That 'magic sponge' worked wonders, Billy.

Nowadays players get proper medical care, hence why they are playing to a much higher level for longer. Games improved on and off the park.

Telling injured players to "run it off" is horrific advice.

Aye, but did Martin do a 26 hour shift down the mines, plough a field, feed a family of four and milk a few cows before playing 90 minutes on a quagmire?

And then, sign on for housing benefits before downing a half pint of Export and a double Bells.

Jessie.
    My dad played junior and he had to play 5 games in 8 days. All the guys in the team worked Monday to Friday and on Saturday morning. Their attitude was it was better to be playing rather than training.
    When a team is winning,games can't come around quickly enough.

Quote Originally Posted by Ronniekirk View Post
    We saw how leggy some players were v county after the Hearts game so don’t think he woukd risk playing sn unchanged team
    Cadden probably can’t last the full 90 mins yet
    But agree how we rotate squad will be key as I think we really need to be winning the two league games or minimum taking four points But teams round about all play Aberdeen so I would rather go for six points
    Agree go for all 6 points … but we don’t have to play all of our best players for 90 mins each game … all going well of course .. it’s how we manage that .. be interesting to see how Monty decides that, and how it works out … though of course we can’t rule out what other teams do to counteract us … just ask the rangers and celtic about that recently …. it’s time for our players to up our game now. I think we are seeing signs of it ..

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    My dad played junior and he had to play 5 games in 8 days. All the guys in the team worked Monday to Friday and on Saturday morning. Their attitude was it was better to be playing rather than training.
    When a team is winning,games can't come around quickly enough.
    Your dad and his team mates were spot on.

Quote Originally Posted by Itsnoteasy View Post
    Squads were smaller,pitches weren't up to today's standard, balls were heavier, especially in the auld days, boots were heavier, strips never had today's technology. You could only have 2 subs.tackling was more aggressive, magic sponge was your physio. Travelling abroad & to away games would have taken longer, coaches & planes not as comfy
    Retiring the magic sponge was a major flaw in modern medical decisions regarding physio genius of lore ..

Jessie.
    You stalking me ? You’ve just described my Tuesday afternoon.
    Last edited by cubehindthegoal; 05-03-2024 at 04:22 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by cubehindthegoal View Post
    You staking me ? You’ve just described my Tuesday afternoon.
    Yes, I saw you.

You looked a wee bit tired.

Yes, I saw you.

You looked a wee bit tired.

Ha ! Sheesh … all in a days work.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Can they not just take the cortisone injections and get on with it?

Game was played at half the speed.

Seriously?

Watch Saturday's highlights again... then watch this game from 1988..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aqFqi-RAzWU

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Seriously?

That strip was a thing of beauty

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Seriously?

Thanks for the memories. Was at that game. Different days back then. The late seventies and early eighties were pretty awful to be fair, but by the late eighties, we were a very good team under Alex Miller.