Thread: Stovies

Stovies

I'm in middle of making a pot of stovies. Getting them ready to take to pub on Saturday for Scotland England game. I'm going to let the English into the delights of this fantastic dish.

Got me thinking, how do you think stovies would go down at Easter Road. I personally would rather have a bowl of stovies than a hot dog or a slice of pizza.
    The benefits are easily defined - cheap to make, good profit margin for club, easily dispensed ( a quick plop into a polystyrene carton) cut the waiting times.

Is there other grounds in Scotland selling them ?
    What's the preferred choice ? Onions tatties sausage or meat . Never corn beef hash !

I remember a bar in William Street called Ber'ts Bar that sold them and they sold out every day. ( I remember the bar before Berts but can't remember the name but it had a big artificial palm tree bang in the middle of it)

Finally, its almost like paying homage to what Hibs are. A Scottish football Club.

Sausage, corned beef, onions, tatties.

Would love Hibs to sell them and/or a good lentil soup at the games.

In fact the simpler the better at the kiosks.

Needs brown sauce

Alloa used to do them, in fact if I remember well enough their food was always decent as the soups and stovies looked prepared properly instead of out a tin/box.

Think they had the proper bovril as well that felt like extra strength.

The ones I used to get at Crawfords when I was a youngster were made with chunks of mutton. Faaaaaaaaantastic

Sausages rather than corned beef though.

Must be made with beef dripping.

Quote Originally Posted by andrew70 View Post
    Sausage, corned beef, onions, tatties.

Would love Hibs to sell them and/or a good lentil soup at the games.

In fact the simpler the better at the kiosks.
    That's correct.

My pet hate is when it's clearly just a cup of potato with very little of anything else.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Gravy or no gravy, I prefer no gravy. Up north its gravy and served with oatcakes

Stovies should be as common at Scottish games as bovril 🤨

I'm sure civil service strollers do them. Might be wrong though

Quote Originally Posted by DanishJohn View Post
    I remember a bar in William Street called Ber'ts Bar that sold them and they sold out every day. ( I remember the bar before Berts but can't remember the name but it had a big artificial palm tree bang in the middle of it).
    Have fond memories of the stovies at Bert's Bar. I think I watched one of Hibs' 3 nil wins over Rangers there.

The Harrow Hotel in Dalkeith used to do them on a Saturday/Sunday for free, not been in for a while so, don't know if that's still the case.

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    Imagine the West and East areas beyond the turnstiles could be available for multiple offerings - have a ticket check at the gates coming in.

Would cut down queues

Had stovies at East End Park before when we played Dunfermline about 10 years ago.

Absolutely tremendous.

I'm in middle of making a pot of stovies. Getting them ready to take to pub on Saturday for Scotland England game. I'm going to let the English into the delights of this fantastic dish.

Got me thinking, how do you think stovies would go down at Easter Road. I personally would rather have a bowl of stovies than a hot dog or a slice of pizza.
    The benefits are easily defined - cheap to make, good profit margin for club, easily dispensed ( a quick plop into a polystyrene carton) cut the waiting times.

Is there other grounds in Scotland selling them ?
    What's the preferred choice ? Onions tatties sausage or meat . Never corn beef hash !

I remember a bar in William Street called Ber'ts Bar that sold them and they sold out every day. ( I remember the bar before Berts but can't remember the name but it had a big artificial palm tree bang in the middle of it)

Finally, its almost like paying homage to what Hibs are. A Scottish football Club.

Was it the Auld Hoose ? Along from the Melville.

They used to sell stovies in the Hibs club 20 years ago, they were really good.

Definitely pork sausages and loads of onions. Cooked with 2 sizes of potatoes …….. small ones which melt into the sauce and bigger ones for a bite. Classic.

Nah not for me, prefer corned beef hash. Had various versions of stovies over the years and never been impressed.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Definitely pork sausages and loads of onions. Cooked with 2 sizes of potatoes …….. small ones which melt into the sauce and bigger ones for a bite. Classic.
    That is how I do them too . I do however keep a packet of Smash in cupboard just in case the gravy doesn't thicken enough !

Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    Was it the Auld Hoose ? Along from the Melville.
    Well remembered . The Auld Hoose .

I had a mate years ago (long before mob phones etc) who would leave a message for me on my answerphone to meet on the Friday or Saturday for a beer.
    He had an awfy annoying habit of giving you the meet up pub in a name from the past. You then had to try and work it out what one he meant !

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Nah not for me, prefer corned beef hash. Had various versions of stovies over the years and never been impressed.
    Thought you would prefer a plate of scouse ? No idea what it is though !

Nah not a fan of Scouse or any type of stews.

That is how I do them too . I do however keep a packet of Smash in cupboard just in case the gravy doesn't thicken enough !
    Smash makes for a decent tattie scone if you get the mixture of flour, bicarb and water just right.

Emergency tattie scone only mind you.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk