Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Celtic next

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    If we play 2 in central midfield, we're looking at a 3 goal defeat at least. These new lads better be up speed muy rapido or it could be a cricket score where we don't lay a glove on an OF team. Again.
    We already drew with Celtic this season under Monty at home

[QUOTE=number9dream;7576053]
    Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post

A bit worrying that Amos didn't get on at the weekend. Surely he needs minutes after such a long break from playing?
    Moriah-Welsh must have earned a start but he's hardly played either, so how long will he last?
    After all of the thoroughly deserved criticism, I wouldn't be surprised to see a sending off for us, with someone getting the red mist in a misplaced way of showing commitment to the cause.
    Marsh
    Megwa Fish Hanlon* Obita
    Amos*
    M-W Newell
    Marcondes
    Vente ALF

*if fit
    Miller & Boyle on bench if available
    Yes wee bit surprised Amos got no minutes at alll

Just realised it’s an 8pm KO, thought it was 7.45pm
    It’s to be really cold on Wednesday night so wrap up

Quote Originally Posted by eastterrace View Post
    Is that you nick
    Hahahaha how original.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by hibeerealist View Post
    That is why Celtic are rubbing their hands as its ER/Hibs next game!
    Exactly, we are playing players that dont really know each other, its like pre season stuff, Celtics goal difference and our goal difference are miles apart, they might not be great in defence but there midfield area with O'Riley, McGregor and Bernardo have been playing very well, Abada on one wing and Palma on the other in areas we are struggling in and with Kyogo up top its going to be a hard night, i just hope we keep the score down and show a bit of fight and passion, all i really want right now.
    Last edited by LunasBoots; 05-02-2024 at 06:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by LewysGot2 View Post
    I do think that whilst he has been on a redemption arc and seems to have risen from the dead under NM, I don't think he's been great since Christmas. Being harder working than Youan is something but not awfy hard. He took a sair yin last week at Killie so maybe feeling that but he deserved being subbed yesterday as much as Elie and Levitt
    Fair enough I didn’t see the game.

I think he offers more than Youan in terms of a team performance, tracking and running is something we are going to seriously need against Celtic.

I also think his ball retention is really good and on a breakaway he has the skill and pace to turn and run with the ball, again something that has been lacking.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Result wise, head says 3/4 down before half time, heart says a spirited home win to continue Rodger’s miserable Easter Road record.

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    If the team has Levitt, Whittaker and Nectar in it, it'll probably be a pumping. It's a free hit anyway. For me the Inverness game is more important.
    It's not a free hit.

If its yet another sh*t show (a defeat of more than 3 goals) and us not laying a glove on them, then it's another nail in Montgomery's coffin.

Aberdeen got a draw on Saturday and they are below us, at the moment.

There are no more free hits.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibees1973 View Post
    It's not a free hit.

If its yet another sh*t show (a defeat of more than 3 goals) and us not laying a glove on them, then it's another nail in Montgomery's coffin.

Aberdeen got a draw on Saturday and they are below us, at the moment.

There are no more free hits.

Writing off the game before we have played it is bonkers. There’s three points there to be won, a draw is not completely inconceivable.

Funnily enough I spoke to a few celtc fans today and none of them said they fancied it. I am praying Hibs just pull off one those surprises that we have done many times in the past. I wouldn't bet a tenner on it but I'll be there hoping and praying.

Celtic will dominate possession, they had 71% possession against Aberdeen at the weekend and got a 1-1 draw

We need to be compact and work like hell off the ball, and hit fast on the break
    Over to you Monty

I'm guessing Tavares, Levitt & Youan being subbed at half time last Sat means a good chance none will start on Wednesday. Certainly the first 2 should be nowhere near it.
    Wholesale changes required, imo:

Wollacott

Cadden
    Hanlon
    Blaney
    Obita

Moriah-Welsh
    Amos

Le Fondre
    Marcondes
    Boyle

Vente

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post

Writing off the game before we have played it is bonkers. There’s three points there to be won, a draw is not completely inconceivable.
    Yes, you just never know in football. How many times have we seen a shock and wondered how it happened? It’s only a few days since Maidstone won away at Ipswich. Let’s see if we can get a reaction from the disgrace of the St Mirren game. Celtic are proving vulnerable when teams are brave enough to have a go. Of course we are underdogs, but Celtic aren’t great at the moment; their fans are as unhappy as we are. I just want to see a massive improvement from weekend.

I would put Boyle and Miller straight in. They've had plenty rest and we need to change things. Both best options for their positions

Just hope there's been some hardcore soul searching been going on with the team this week.

Bring in a hypnotist or something... Swindon style!

Quote Originally Posted by Greenio View Post
    I would put Boyle and Miller straight in. They've had plenty rest and we need to change things. Both best options for their positions

Just hope there's been some hardcore soul searching been going on with the team this week.

Bring in a hypnotist or something... Swindon style!
    Can’t see any reason for them not to play, sure I saw there was a boy played for Middlesbrough on Sunday. Not sure when they were back but imagine it must have been at the weekend. Boyle hasn’t been brilliant this season but he knows what it’s about and, if played wide, is the best option we have.

Big ask, but if we keep them to nil goals, we could have a chance of stealing a goal?
    They are not firing on all cylinders at the moment, so take the bull by the horns and go for it!!!

Is this on Sky?

Sir Alex Ferguson

Fully expecting a strong counter reaction to Saturday and much more fight and determination as many of the old guard return.

Football can be a bit like that after a terrible Saturday and a narrow defeat hits the reset button for more important games ahead.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Is this on Sky?
    Don’t think so

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Don’t think so
    Aye it’s on, seems to be their main event channel. Lucky us finally making it to the big time!

Thanks fellas

Now TV 24hr Sports pass is £11.99.

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    Aye it’s on, seems to be their main event channel. Lucky us finally making it to the big time!
    Oh right apologies didn’t realise

Aye, it’s on Sky tonight, for those who can’t make it. Let’s hope we can produce something worth watching.