Thread: Celtic next

Celtic next

Need to move our thoughts on to Wednesday. Today was woeful, but it's done.

Who knows if Montgomery will still be in charge come Wednesday. I hope he is, but lose the next two games then this time next week he is likely to be sacked.

We need wholesale changes to the side after today. First, Tavares & Youan should be dropped. Both are work-shy, weak, selfish and unreliable. Both are even unprofessional at times and down tools. Others could be accused of this after today, but from what I've seen these two are the worst. They cannot be counted on when it gets tough. This is how I reckon we should line up. There are a couple of caveats. Is Cadden fit to start, will Boyle and Miller be available for selection.

Marshall

Cadden
    Fish
    Bevan
    Obita

Amos
    Newell
    Moriah-Welsh
    Marcondes

Vente
    ALF
    Last edited by Hibees1973; 03-02-2024 at 09:48 PM.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    I honestly couldn’t name you what I think would be our strongest side.

Still getting to grips with who the new additions are and where and how they play.

Good sides roll off the tongue without a lot of thought. This one is a bit of a challenge.

ALF is intelligent and picks up great positions as well as good link up play. He has to start for me.

Marshall

Megwa
    CB, honestly don’t know who at this point
    Hanlon
    Obita

Amos

Cadden if fit, if not **** knows, Maolida?
    MW
    Marcondes
    Tavares

Vente
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Trinity Hibee View Post
    ALF is intelligent and picks up great positions as well as good link up play. He has to start for me.
    Is he fit?
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Is he fit?
    I’d give him an hour to get himself fit. We’ll likely need him at ICT too

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    Can't wait....

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Actually scrap my previous

Marshall

Megwa
    Hanlon
    Obita
    Stevenson

Cadden
    MW
    Amos
    Tavares

Marcondes

ALF

Sir Alex Ferguson

Do I have to?

No?

Okay then. Will stay at home.

Marshall

Miller
    Fish
    Hanlon
    Obita

Boyle
    Amos
    MW
    Maolida

Marcondes
    ALF

Marshall/Johnson

Megwa/Bevan
    Fish
    Hanlon

Miller/Cadden
    Amos/Moriah-Welsh
    Newell
    Rudi
    Obita

Marcondes
    Boyle

I don't care about fast flowing attacking football that we usually get promised, keep it tight at the back and compact in the middle and hit them on the counter.

Would like to see a 3-5-2

It will mean some players will sit out, some may even deserve it on recent form.

Hibs 0 Celtic 4. Doesn't really matter what our team is.

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    Hibs 0 Celtic 4. Doesn't really matter what our team is.
    It absolutely does matter.

@hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Actually scrap my previous

Marshall

Megwa
    Hanlon
    Obita
    Stevenson

Cadden
    MW
    Amos
    Tavares

Marcondes

ALF
    can’t understand why you still would play that imposter Tavares he brings nothing to the table he needs binned.

Not ideal playing Celtic just before a crucial cup tie in Inverness but a great opportunity for our players to make an impact . Aberdeen showed today in the second half that Celtic are far from invincible .

With them dropping points today it’s probably the worst time to play them. We’ll get pumped unfortunately.

The glimmer of hope is that Celtic are a bit low on confidence just now and aren’t playing good football. They are in a title race and seem to be feeling the pressure. You just never know. That’s the only chance I see for us.

Quote Originally Posted by NC1875 View Post
    With them dropping points today it’s probably the worst time to play them. We’ll get pumped unfortunately.
    Can see it being a total non contest. We won’t lay a glove on them.

With where they are just now, they couldn’t have handpicked a better team to play.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    The glimmer of hope is that Celtic are a bit low on confidence just now and aren’t playing good football. They are in a title race and seem to be feeling the pressure. You just never know. That’s the only chance I see for us.
    Plus, Brendan Shine has still never won a game at Easter Road. There is some hope - we’re their bogey team…!

Quote Originally Posted by eastterrace View Post
    can’t understand why you still would play that imposter Tavares he brings nothing to the table he needs binned.
    Agreed, we start with 10 men most weeks with Montgomery's insistence on starting him. I thought he might have twigged it against Killie when the only time we looked like scoring when he was on was when he himself duffed a chance right in front of the goal.

Quote Originally Posted by NC1875 View Post
    Aye. They’ll be bang up for it given result today.

@hibs.net private member Willis1875's Avatar
    I’d go a flat 4 in midfield if he is going to be persistent with this shape and at least try and make us harder to beat.
    Something like Cadden Amos Levitt Newell
    Cadden and Newell will at least offer protection to the full backs,Granted it will stifle us in a more attacking sense but that’s already woeful as it is anyway.
    You could chuck Welsh in for Levitt or in for Cadden if he’s not ready to start

Quote Originally Posted by eastterrace View Post
    As does Marshall !

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Can we sign a literal bus to park in front of the goal

Makes next to zero difference who we play, got barely any players with Scottish league experience which you need to succeed in this league. Staff have no experience of this league too and it shows.

We will get our usual doing from the old firm then struggle on to Saturday.

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    Folk naming Tavares in their team need to book an appointment with their GP.

I can't be bothered. Hibs have got my money already so it's all good.

@hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875
    Quote Originally Posted by Glory Lurker View Post
    I can't be bothered. Hibs have got my money already so it's all good.
    Kinda where I'm at. All of my group were looking forward to the game today, my best mates first game since the Celtic game (snowed in for the derby and Motherwell games and working for the Sevco one) He's already talking about not renewing next year and I get it, he has a wee one so spending time with her will trump a pish Hibs team.

So done with us right now.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    No gaun

@hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    Will Boyle be available? Should be back before Wednesday. Unfortunately he's not able to play goalkeeper, left back, right back or centre half.