Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Saw this one tonight on FB group - as old a picture as I’ve seen of Easter Road. A fascinating image.

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    Saw this one tonight on FB group - as old a picture as I’ve seen of Easter Road. A fascinating image.

Wow, that is a brilliant photo, can make out the hibernian, what is the actual location, I see factory chimneys in the background too

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Wow, that is a brilliant photo, can make out the hibernian, what is the actual location, I see factory chimneys in the background too
    You can just make out Easter under Hibernian too.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    You can just make out Easter under Hibernian too.
    I need new eyes, I thought the E was an F 🫣

Im guessing Dunbar end

Brilliant!

Looks like the Wild West or something out of a Laurel and Hardy movie

Thanks for posting

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    I need new eyes, I thought the E was an F 🫣

Im guessing Dunbar end
    Incredible photo. Dont think its dunbar end though. Looks like the FF end with the curve in the road and cemetery wall in the background?

Quote Originally Posted by DIXIHIBS View Post
    Incredible photo. Dont think its dunbar end though. Looks like the FF end with the curve in the road and cemetery wall in the background?
    Think so. The shadows are falling strongly from right to left as we look at it, so we're facing East or North-east?

Quote Originally Posted by DIXIHIBS View Post
    Good shout, I couldnt even see the wall, I thought it was just part of the road 🫢

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Puddocky View Post
    Think so. The shadows are falling strongly from right to left as we look at it, so we're facing East or North-east?

North-east I’d say. The chimneys in the background will be the factory on the east side of St Clair street which is shown on a 1920’s map I’ve got of the area.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Must have been standing roond about there when Celtic lobbed that CS gas canister in

Must have broke the World Record vaulting that 12’ fence in double quick time

Couldnae dae it nowadays nae chance
    For some reason, I ended up in the cave that CS day too. If I recall it was pay at the gate and there were plenty Celtic fans in there too, we argued with a few before the game (well, my uncle did as he could have wiped the floor with them). Shocking day.

Great pics though

Quote Originally Posted by Puddocky View Post
    Is the sun not too high for us to be looking north east ?

Thanks to all who identified the location

The dating of photograph would have been in amongst the structuring of the stadium to what we would identify with more today.

From Easter Road wiki -

”The long-term future of Easter Road was only secured in 1922, when the club agreed a 25-year lease on the ground. Two years later, three banks of terraces were raised, while a main stand seating 4,480 people was built on the west side of the ground.The redeveloped stadium had a capacity of 45,000. The pitch was also moved 40 yards to the east, providing space for the main stand.The slope was reduced to approximately 6 feet as part of this work.”

Quote Originally Posted by Glory Lurker View Post
    Great photos, Lithgow. Fair takes you back. Some great times had, but what a dump!
    I would call it character 😄

I share other people's mixed feelings looking at the photos of a bit of nostalgia... and remembering what a dump it was

[QUOTE=Carheenlea;7532866]Thanks to all who identified the location

The dating of photograph would have been in amongst the structuring of the stadium to what we would identify with more today. (QUOTE)

What a fascinating photo Carheenlea, thanks for posting. Never seen such a historic pic of the exterior of ER. Makes me wonder how many other old photos of the ground are out there.

Quote Originally Posted by heidtheba View Post
    That's pretty much where I was for my first game (v Rangers in January '93 3-4 final score). My ST space was about 10-20 feet left of this shot. Happy days! Thanks for posting these.
    That was a great match, despite the score.

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    I share other people's mixed feelings looking at the photos of a bit of nostalgia... and remembering what a dump it was
    Aye but it was our dump

Opponents gave up hope when we got them down the slope
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 24-12-2023 at 05:15 PM.

Of all the dozens of photos of the stadium on this site Carheenlea's is the winner by a country mile !

Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    Of all the dozens of photos of the stadium on this site Carheenlea's is the winner by a country mile !
    It's certainly a beauty. 👏

Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    It’s not my photo I hasten to add! - it’s one that surfaced in last day or so after the owner posted on social media.

It’s always exciting when a new image appears that has previously never been seen. Hopefully the Historical Trust can obtain a copy for their records and there is maybe a challenge for those with photo enhancement skills, although I always prefer the raw original.

First Team Regular leithsansiro's Avatar
    Genuinely mate, these photographs are great and being back my first memories of Easter Road. Thank you so much for sharing these, it’s hugely appreciated. Young folk who have only been to all-seater stadia don’t know they’re born!

These photos remind me of the distinct smell of the main stand, the years of people smoking in the stand the smell of the pies and bovril which used to cling in the air thankfully masking the smell of the toilets underneath. Those were the days!

@hibs.net private member linlithgowhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by leithsansiro View Post
    Genuinely mate, these photographs are great and being back my first memories of Easter Road. Thank you so much for sharing these, it’s hugely appreciated. Young folk who have only been to all-seater stadia don’t know they’re born!

I've got a great one looking up the players tunnel towards the pitch, no time to post for next few days. Merry Christmas everybody

Quote Originally Posted by leithsansiro View Post
    Aye, we were a hardy lot back in the day, when we had no cover at all on the terracing. Getting absolutely soaked on rainy days was a regular occurrence.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Harp View Post
    Aye, we were a hardy lot back in the day, when we had no cover at all on the terracing. Getting absolutely soaked on rainy days was a regular occurrence.
    Memory of 10 people huddled under my green and white golf umbrella 😂
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member Gettin' Auld's Avatar

That's a stoatir.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar

What.A . Moment.

Incredible photo. Thanks for sharing.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

First Team Breakthrough Hibs1969's Avatar
    I love these old photos of ER.

Now that I live overseas I’ve not been to see Hibs for a while but these pictures really hit home, particularly at this time of year when we think of friends and family (mainly of a Hibernian persuasion) who have passed on. Hibernian have been a huge part of my life since I was a young boy and these photographs bring back many, many, happy memories of trips to Easter Road with my dad and then my own sons. Being a Hibs fan, some memories of my visits there are not so happy.

Thanks for posting and a belated Merry Christmas to all my fellow Hibs supporters in Scotland and around the world.

Gawd Brian you know how to make an Auld fart feel……well, Auld.

Your ‘old’ pics of Easter Road……..which I’m assuming were taken by you, would have been taken about 20 years after I departed!