Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast

Thread: Block 7

Quote Originally Posted by nickwhibs View Post
    Tbf the Vente song is a belter. And the Tavares one was certainly appreciated by the man himself at Dens (even though i don’t know the words!)
    The Vente song is just a change of some lyrics of the Fernando Torres song. Considering he was at Liverpool over a decade ago it’s not original or new.

@hibs.net private member malcolm's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by nickwhibs View Post
    To me "ned" is akin to "chav" in being a bit of a classist insult, but yes that kind of behaviour from anyone is not on.
    Can rely on .net to throw up some interesting things. 😉. ‘Chav’ is derived I think from Romany language where it was used simply to refer to youngsters which seems appropriate here. My perception is it came to be used mostly in the south to also infer some misbehaviour and a bit of a downmarket insult. It will have crept up here.

A lot of Edinburgh words come from Romany too but we would have used ‘Ned.’ I don’t think it was derived from ‘non-educated delinquent’ but that may not be far away in particular if dropping the first two. Ned definitely seems Scottish, perhaps originally referring to weegie gangs of youths.

From the thread it seems a fair bit of neddish behaviour has been going on regardless of the class or education of those involved.😂

Quote Originally Posted by ArmadaleHibs View Post
    From what I seen yesterday there was a lot of intimidation towards a few women trying to take their seats. Not suggesting block 7 were starting matters or throwing punches first but the intimidation and refusal to move and the constant banging into fans trying to take their seats instigated this minor brawl. It was embarrassing
    Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    This wasn’t bona-fire members of Block Seven, just hangers on who have attached themselves to the group.
    Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    I think you need to re-read the thread.

There seems to be a bit of confusion as to whether or not it is B7 or the hangers on neds who attach themselves to B7, either way it needs sorted out by either the B7 guys or the club itself as it shows the club and supporters in a bad light. My away days are long gone but I can imagine the frustration from the every day fan getting grief and hassle at these games, it's a shame these eejits spoil it for our fans.

We had to move to the far side of the stand at Dundee because B7 had taken the seats we'd booked. The having to move is bad enough but then wherever you sit you're likely to be in someone else's seats which pisses them off as well.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by malcolm View Post
    Can rely on .net to throw up some interesting things. ��. ‘Chav’ is derived I think from Romany language where it was used simply to refer to youngsters which seems appropriate here. My perception is it came to be used mostly in the south to also infer some misbehaviour and a bit of a downmarket insult. It will have crept up here.

A lot of Edinburgh words come from Romany too but we would have used ‘Ned.’ I don’t think it was derived from ‘non-educated delinquent’ but that may not be far away in particular if dropping the first two. Ned definitely seems Scottish, perhaps originally referring to weegie gangs of youths.

From the thread it seems a fair bit of neddish behaviour has been going on regardless of the class or education of those involved.��
    Chav is indeed a Romany word. in The 1970's when I first heard it, it wasn't pejorative. As you say, it's taken on a different meaning.

It sits alongside the like of shan, radge, barri, nash, dik, plank (to hide), pagger, chorey(steal), gadge, mort (a female, possibly one's girlfriend), jugal (dog), horny (police) as words introduced into the Edinburgh vernacular by settled travelling folk.

Interestingly, although the travelling community often emphasise that they aren't Gypsies (there are some with well known Gypsy names, like Blyth) the "cant" is largely made up of Romany words.
    Last edited by superfurryhibby; 30-11-2023 at 10:14 AM.

@hibs.net private member linlithgowhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    Chav is indeed a Romany word. in The 1970's when I first heard it, it wasn't pejorative. As you say, it's taken on a different meaning.

It sits alongside the like of shan, radge, barri, nash, plank (to hide), pagger, chorey(steal), gadge, mort (a female, possibly one's girlfriend), jugal (dog), horny (police) as words introduced into the Edinburgh vernacular by settled travelling folk.

Interestingly, although the travelling community often emphasise that they aren't Gypsies (there are some with well known Gypsy names, like Blyth) the "cant" is largely made up of Romany words.
    Hadn't heard mort, jugal or horny before. Bought up in Leith in the 50s,60s and 70s. Know and still use occasionaly all the rest.

Some Romany words collected in East Lothian in 1865. Linked to Hindu according to this guy.

It sits alongside the like of shan, radge, barri, nash, dik, plank (to hide), pagger, chorey(steal), gadge, mort (a female, possibly one's girlfriend), jugal (dog), horny (police) as words introduced into the Edinburgh vernacular by settled travelling folk.

I'm sure pagger comes from thr French se bagarrer, to brawl

I'm thinking of starting a Block 65 of moaning old gets.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Get it done, never seen the point of one drum, but I've got access to an old piano I could bring along.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Get it done, never seen the point of one drum, but I've got access to an old piano I could bring along.

Ive got one of those rub a dub boards that my Great Gran used for her washing that I could bring along

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Ive got one of those rub a dub boards that my Great Gran used for her washing that I could bring along
    It's coming, I can feel it in my bones.

All we need is a triangle player and some Maracas.

Either that or we just go full Mariachi band?

bring our own deck chairs to save shoving people out their seats?

I will email hibs to ask if we can request priority for our allocation of deck chairs

I will email hibs to ask if we can request if we can request priority for our allocation of deck chairs

If we can get the Mariachi band going no chairs needed, we can just crowd out everyone else and stand in front of them.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar

It's been worth wading through this awful thread just for wee nuggets of info like this

I will email hibs to ask if we can request priority for our allocation of deck chairs
    Don't have a deck chair, will a folded director's chair be OK?

@hibs.net private member Eaststand's Avatar
    I used to be a dab hand at playing the thin paper wrapped over a comb thingy, sort of like a kazzooo.
    So I'd be happy to dig my comb out and join the band

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Perfect mate, Ive just found an old vuvuzela too

Haha!

Quote Originally Posted by LewysGot2 View Post
    The Vente song is just a change of some lyrics of the Fernando Torres song. Considering he was at Liverpool over a decade ago it’s not original or new.
    I never said it was new or original - just that I like it. You’d be hard pushed to find many football songs that haven’t been sung before

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    If our yet to be elected leader can be carried in on a sedan chair there'll be plenty space for your directors chair.

To maintain the B7 age differential of member to leader an urn may be more appropriate

Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    To maintain the B7 age differential of member to leader an urn may be more appropriate

An effigy might do a turn then?

Plenty room for a totem pole if we boot a few pensioners out their seats? I can see the club going for that if we model it on the appropriate club official?

A bit of adulation goes a long way it seems

Quote Originally Posted by hibsforeurope View Post
    If they aren’t members of b7, b7 should move them on as they are giving them a bad rep. If the hangers in want to be b7 why don’t they join and officially get in the b7 allocated area.
    It's either B7 that are taking over the seats that they want and the hangers on following, or the other way round, whichever one it is, is wrong and needs sorted before this kicks off hugely and gets us in the papers again for the wrong reasons.

If the designated compulsory look is pishy breeks, egg yolk down the jumper, grey stubble, at least one tooth missing and a flasher's grubby raincoat then count me in. Wouldn't need to breenge in and throw folk out of their seats. Seats will be willingly vacated by non-B65 folk.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenbeard View Post
    If the designated compulsory look is pishy breeks, egg yolk down the jumper, grey stubble, at least one tooth missing and a flasher's grubby raincoat then count me in. Wouldn't need to breenge in and throw folk out of their seats. Seats will be willingly vacated by non-B65 folk.
    So we are having a uniform as well? Love it.

I wonder if they could replace the drum with another instrument. Maybe a Harp

So we are having a uniform as well? Love it.

I'm in if there's a Block 65 travel rug to keep my legs warm.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Can I join?

I can play the spoons. If they're not loud enough, I can just take my teeth out and use them as a castanet.

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    I'm in if there's a Block 65 travel rug to keep my legs warm.
    There's got to be a limited edition black, in keeping with our traditions and heritage?