Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Colin Stein John Fraser Willie The Man In Black Wilson

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    And Davie Hogg in same row, 3rd right. Some legends in that pic. Jim O, Pat S, Peter Cormack, Willie Hamilton, Big Bad John and of course Stan Vincent! 😉
    And unless I’m mistaken, the tall goalie is Jack Reilly, who a few years later moved to Australia and played for Australia in their first ever World Cup Finals appearance in 1974.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Aye
    There's only about 3 I don't know. One is guy in front with ball at his feet, anyone?

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    And unless I’m mistaken, the tall goalie is Jack Reilly, who a few years later moved to Australia and played for Australia in their first ever World Cup Finals appearance in 1974.
    It is, and our other reserve keeper, Thomson Allan was capped for Scotland while at Dundee.

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Hi Brog yes info here

Attachment 27414Attachment 27415
    Thanks! Pretty sure was only 1 sub for 1st season or so.

I'll be surprised if many, or any, know the player between Stan Vincent and Big Bad John. He was a Southside boy and in common with many in that squad was Hibs through and through.

Was gonna say George McNeil, but not sure...and he was from Tranent, not Edinburgh.

Remember most of the squad from then, so will be interesting to see who it is.

There's only about 3 I don't know. One is guy in front with ball at his feet, anyone?
    Was before my time Brog besides I was a jambo until 1968 then my long suffering Dad took me to the Holy Ground and I could see the future was bright it was green and white

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Don’t remember a Bobby Hogg playing for the first team.

Davy Hogg I felt could have been a worthwhile player for us but never ever got a long run in the team.
    Davy still attends our home games.

Your word is my command

Few well kent young faces in here 1965-66

san ramon regional medical center

Been trying to find an image of Bobby Hogg been doin ma nut in man !
    If this was the game where our goalie Willie Wilson took a head injury, Cormack went in goals, Willie played out on the right wing with a bandaged heid and we won 1-0, then this was my very first game.

Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    If this was the game where our goalie Willie Wilson took a head injury, Cormack went in goals, Willie played out on the right wing with a bandaged heid and we won 1-0, then this was my very first game.

Eric Stevenson scored the winner

George Gartshore ?

Eric Stevenson scored the winner
    Cheers. I’ll remember that 👍🇳🇬

George Gartshore ?
    No George G is next to Willie Hamilton & George McNeill. Close Freddy! Pretty sure it's Bernard Cullerton, a Prestonfield boy. His brother Michael signed for Port Vale, manager Stan Mathews & made history as a member of youngest ever forward line in English League. Another member was Roddy Georgeson from Edinburgh & IIRC another hibee!

its been a long time but I think Cullerton was a left winger and Roddy Georgeson an inside right?

There was something else about Georgeson that sticks in my mind...but cannae remember what it was.

he didn't work in the civil service back then did he?....or did we end up playing against him maybe?

and I seem to remember Cullerton had a brother....

its been a long time but I think Cullerton was a left winger and Roddy Georgeson an inside right?

There was something else about Georgeson that sticks in my mind...but cannae remember what it was.

he didn't work in the civil service back then did he?....or did we end up playing against him maybe?

He married a pal of mine. He did indeed work in the Civil Service. IIRC, something to do with employment advice? Manpower Srrvices Commission?

He played against us for Berwick, a weeknight cup tie?

He and his daughter are regulars at ER.
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 27-11-2023 at 11:58 AM.

Mike and Bernie ?

Doing a wee bit digging and someone mentioned a Billy Brown 1965-66

Ring any bells ?

Roddy also played a lot of games for Raith, Dunfermline and Meadowbank. Terrific player and great guy who scored a fair number of goals.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    He married a pal of mine. He did indeed work in the Civil Service. IIRC, something to do with employment advice? Manpower Srrvices Commission?

Glad I remembered Roddy as a Hibs boy and even more pleased he's still part of our community. Sure I played against him as a boy, either at bc level or even in Pilrig Park. I have a memory of Roddy at Broughton/Bellevue and think he was linked with us before he went to Raith. Nice thread!

Good memory for faces on a photo from all those years ago,Brian.
    I can hardly make out the faces in the photo to comment.. But you got it sorted awright !!
    I went to school with a Michael Cullerton.
    Cousin or nephew i think he was/is
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 27-11-2023 at 06:26 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post

It seems it was against a Hibs side that included George Best !
    0-0 was the result down there.
    Replay at ER. 1-0 nil win for us
    Wee search indicates George lives in Midlothian

More info on George
    https://www.wikiwand.com/en/Roddy_Georgeson
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 27-11-2023 at 06:23 PM.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    It seems it was against a Hibs side that included George Best !
    0-0 was the result down there.
    Replay at ER. 1-0 nil win for us
    Wee search indicates George lives in Midlothian

More info on George
    https://www.wikiwand.com/en/Roddy_Georgeson
    From the first game at Shieldfield Park (Georgeson hit the bar IIRC) comes a favourite quiz question of mine.

On the park that day was a player that won the European Cup, a player that won the Cup Winners Cup and a player that won the UEFA Cup. Name the three players.

Mike and Bernie ?
    There was a couple of terrible Winters back then !

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    From the first game at Shieldfield Park (Georgeson hit the bar IIRC) comes a favourite quiz question of mine.

On the park that day was a player that won the European Cup, a player that won the Cup Winners Cup and a player that won the UEFA Cup. Name the three players.
    I know it was Cormack and Best for us and I think Dave Smith for Berwick. Won it with Der *** in 73?

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post

Brog answered before i could ......
    Despite that

We still got relegated that season!
    An awful season ,to say the least. Dismal is to good a word for it.
    I think Eddie had lost all passion he showed in his earlier years as gaffer.
    Its said he also fell out with Tom Hart over(behind his back) Best's arrival.
    He passed the reigns to another Hibernian Great,Willie Ormond, who sadly very soon after had to retire due to health concerns .

Love this snippet from a Herald article about George Best /Tom Hart

<Nor did Best make any pretence of being a reformed character.
    He agreed with Hart that he would attempt to refrain, or at least moderate his intake, on the night before matches,
    but he didn't always make it to the starting line-up.
    The chairman found him one Saturday curled up fast asleep outside his office. !!!

''I'm afraid you can't go out there today, George,'' said Hart, a kind man who never said a bad word about Best until his dying day.
    ''In that case,'' came the smiling reply, ''can I have a large one from your cupboard?''

George cracking goal v Celtic

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XBXa7rmOqrw

Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 28-11-2023 at 10:37 AM.

A quick one on Davy Hogg.

As a young boy growing up I remember Davy Hogg coming to my street. I always wanted to go over and get his autograph but my dad wouldn't allow it as he viewed it as pestering him when he was away from his work ie Easter Road. Davy was visiting his girlfriend who he was "winching" at the time. Always thought it was funny because her family name was Hogg too ! Often wondered if he ended up marrying the young lady.

ps What part of Edinburgh did Davy come from ?

Quote Originally Posted by DanishJohn View Post
    A quick one on Davy Hogg.

As a young boy growing up I remember Davy Hogg coming to my street. I always wanted to go over and get his autograph but my dad wouldn't allow it as he viewed it as pestering him when he was away from his work ie Easter Road. Davy was visiting his girlfriend who he was "winching" at the time. Always thought it was funny because her family name was Hogg too ! Often wondered if he ended up marrying the young lady.

ps What part of Edinburgh did Davy come from ?
    I think Davy lived at The Inch when I knew him. I suspect his family moved to the Southside, like many others, from central Edinburgh. You should have said hello, Davy's a gent.
    Last edited by brog; 30-11-2023 at 11:29 AM.

I think Davy lived at The Inch when I knew him. I suspect his family moved to the Southside, like many others, from central Edinburgh. You should have said hello, Davy's a tent.
    I remember him as living at Fox Covert.

There were two Hoggs.