The Beatles new single.

That’s The Beatles just released their much hyped new single, Now and Then. I didn’t particularly like Free as a Bird or Real Love but this one is a proper Beatles song, I love it.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    That’s The Beatles just released their much hyped new single, Now and Then. I didn’t particularly like Free as a Bird or Real Love but this one is a proper Beatles song, I love it.
    Definitely got John Lennon written all over it.

Got me a bit emotional.

I was just thinking "would this be any more than a bit of wallpaper these days?"..... and then George's solo kicked in.....

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Got me a bit emotional.

I was just thinking "would this be any more than a bit of wallpaper these days?"..... and then George's solo kicked in.....
    It was the guitar that got me as well.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Got me a bit emotional.

I was bubbling for about 10 minutes earlier 🙈

Something very overwhelming hearing a new John vocal like this. They’ve done a great job, it belongs in their discography

Quote Originally Posted by Tyler Durden View Post
    I was bubbling for about 10 minutes earlier 🙈

Something very overwhelming hearing a new John vocal like this. They’ve done a great job, it belongs in their discography
    Was it not written long after the Beatles disbanded, or maybe I’m wrong?

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Aye, it was a Lennon demo.

It was. Yoko gave the cassette to McCartney in the 90s along with other demos. There's some disagreement but the tape box had "for Paul", written on it. Some say in Lennons handwriting some say one of Yoko's staff may have written it.

They had buried the hatchet by that time, so maybe apt the others finished it. It certainly has Yoko's blessing.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

I can’t say I’m a big Beatles fan but like them to be fair. I know the background of the track and it is quite a thing they’ve produced. There is a big however here and I might be alone. I think it’s more ELO than the Beatles. A wee bit over produced for my liking but can understand why.
    Last edited by greenlex; 02-11-2023 at 03:51 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    I can’t say I’m a big Beatles fan but like them to be fair. I know the background of the track and it is quite a thing they’ve produced. There is a big however here and I might be alone. I think it’s more ELO than the Beatles. A wee bit over produced for my liking but can understand why.
    Thank you, i was racking my brain on who it sounded like. Yes i agree with every word you say.

To be fair I always thought ELO pretty much took over where the Beetles left off. Then there was the Traveling Wilburys 😆

Egg, chicken, egg.

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    To be fair I always thought ELO pretty much took over where the Beetles left off. Then there was the Traveling Wilburys

Egg, chicken, egg.
    Yeah, you have to wonder what ELO might have sounded like if The Beatles didn't exist. Lennon used to rage at the similarities on certain tracks.

Well ELO were pretty good at ripping off the Beatles.

And Jeff Lynne was involved in the production.

Yes, along with Free as a Bird and Real Love. Lennon demos but unmistakably Beatles tracks in the end.

To be fair ELO we’re pretty much a Beatles tribute band in style off so there’s bound to be similarities in sound.

I really like it George didn't like it previously ha

Guardian
    "The new film discussed technical issues hampering the surviving Beatles’ intention to rework Now and Then in the mid-90s as well: there were meant to be three “new” Beatles songs, one for each volume of the Anthology compilations, but the sessions for this song were abandoned as Lennon’s vocals and piano couldn’t be separated for the new mix. This was a slightly different version of events to the one given by McCartney a decade ago. Then, he claimed the late George Harrison – always the most unbiddable ex-Beatle – had singlehandedly drawn the sessions to a close by describing Now and Then as “****ing rubbish”. (“But it’s John!” McCartney had apparently protested, to no avail: “This is ****ing rubbish,” Harrison countered.) Indeed, Harrison seemed unsure about the whole idea of reworking Lennon’s material. “I hope someone does this to all my crap demos after I’m dead – turn them into hit songs,” he subsequently remarked, which perhaps wasn’t the promotional boost for the new songs Apple was after.

Ironic that George's work on the track really stands out.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    Ironic that George's work on the track really stands out.
    "There’s something similarly moving about the sound of a very Harrison-esque slide guitar solo being played by McCartney ..... Harrison’s actual presence seems to be restricted to acoustic rhythm guitar."

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    "There’s something similarly moving about the sound of a very Harrison-esque slide guitar solo being played by McCartney ..... Harrison’s actual presence seems to be restricted to acoustic rhythm guitar."
    There a few electric parts from him as well but aye, the slide solo is Paul copying George.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Ah, well.

Am thinking of it as a new Beatles track rather than a single. It would never have been a 7" back in the day.

I'm really going against the grain here but I agree with George Harrison on this one.

It's just brilliant.

@hibs.net private member MountcastleHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: CBacke
    Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    I really like it George didn't like it previously ha

Guardian
    "The new film discussed technical issues hampering the surviving Beatles’ intention to rework Now and Then in the mid-90s as well: there were meant to be three “new” Beatles songs, one for each volume of the Anthology compilations, but the sessions for this song were abandoned as Lennon’s vocals and piano couldn’t be separated for the new mix. This was a slightly different version of events to the one given by McCartney a decade ago. Then, he claimed the late George Harrison – always the most unbiddable ex-Beatle – had singlehandedly drawn the sessions to a close by describing Now and Then as “****ing rubbish”. (“But it’s John!” McCartney had apparently protested, to no avail: “This is ****ing rubbish,” Harrison countered.) Indeed, Harrison seemed unsure about the whole idea of reworking Lennon’s material. “I hope someone does this to all my crap demos after I’m dead – turn them into hit songs,” he subsequently remarked, which perhaps wasn’t the promotional boost for the new songs Apple was after.
    Ken McNab, who has written a few Beatles books, was on Good Morning Scotland on BBC Radio Scotland this morning. He said that Harrison’s widow and son have suggested that he meant that the quality of the recording was rubbish and they couldn’t do anything with it. Whether that’s true or not, I don’t suppose we’ll ever know, but McNab seemed to suggest it wasn’t about the content.

FWIW, I love it.

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=APJAQoSCwuA

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Thought it was a very decent track and got quite emotional listening to it. Clearly there's only so much treatment they can do with the original source but it sounded like a Beatles track and not "their" worst

The Love Me Do remix is pretty damn good as well.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    The Love Me Do remix is pretty damn good as well.
    Like it. They should ai those early albums and get some separation. I'm sure they could sound beefier.

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    I'm really going against the grain here but I agree with George Harrison on this one.
    Snap