Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Hearing Bonnyrigg Rose game is off

Quote Originally Posted by S4uzee View Post
    What’s the point of a pitch inspection at 10:30. Surely would need to be as close to KO as possible
    No idea, like I said it's a rumour and only posting what I read. I'd have thought there would be some communication from both teams if there was to be a pitch inspection.

What’s the point of a pitch inspection at 10:30. Surely would need to be as close to KO as
    possible
    I was thinking the same.
    See how quick Hampden dealt with waterlogged pitch not so long ago.
    Back in the day, these early morning inspections were usually in winter time for frozen/ice/snow covered pitches,plus open terraces,surrounding streets being affected.Police and public transport folk got a say as well back then.
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 07-10-2023 at 08:28 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by .Sean. View Post
    Mind the Vetra, and to a lesser extent Dinaburg, home Intertoto ties that were played in similar. Both absolute shambles!

Can also mind being in the Nip before a game for a home friendly against I want to say Sunderland that was called off very late on because of similar rain
    Morton away in the Championship springs to mind for me.

Morton fanson Twitter were saying the area around the ground was under about 3ft of water at 10 in the morning. At 11 we were told the game was definitely going ahead so buses started their journey, folk were on trains etc. Everyone knew it wasn't happening but because it was officially on plenty started travelling.

It was eventually called off about 12.45 when someone in authority opened their eyes and confirmed what Morton fans had said about 3 hours before.

What’s the point of a pitch inspection at 10:30. Surely would need to be as close to KO as possible
    Fans need to travel also

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Makes every sense.

Fans of both Clubs will be travelling from all over to get there so they won't want to be travelling on dodgy roads if there is any possibility that the game will be postponed.

Inverness game on Vs Patrick but pitch will be continued to be monitored 👀

ℹ️Today’s match against @PartickThistle remains ON with no pitch inspection currently planned.

Given the forecast, the pitch which is 100% playable right now, will of course be monitored in the hours ahead of kick-off but no inspection is scheduled.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar

Morton fanson Twitter were saying the area around the ground was under about 3ft of water at 10 in the morning. At 11 we were told the game was definitely going ahead so buses started their journey, folk were on trains etc. Everyone knew it wasn't happening but because it was officially on plenty started travelling.

It was eventually called off about 12.45 when someone in authority opened their eyes and confirmed what Morton fans had said about 3 hours before.
    Remember it well. We stopped in Livingston for beers when we heard it was cancelled and I proceeded to slip arse over heed all the way down a mucky hill on way back to the bus. Good times
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Golf up and around St Andrews has been delayed till 10. If they’re struggling with flooding on links courses the Fitba is really going to take a hit.
    A small part of the course is actually below sea level!

And it was high tide about an hour ago.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibees1973 View Post
    Yam mate of mind just confirmed this.

Game in serious doubt of going ahead.
    Some daft laddies on Twitter. There is nothing from anyone official. It’s a wee bit wet outside but nothing to suggest cancellation.

On the bus in to town just now and roads all absolutely fine.

Only thing impacting this should be the pitch.

My golf course has shut today. But that’s simply coz they don’t want people wrecking the fairways in this weather.

Quote Originally Posted by Off the bar View Post
    Already looking lovely out my window in SE London! Pretty wild the difference between here and up north.
    If anything 25 degrees in October in London is a lot worse than it pissing down in Scotland in October. One of those should not be happening!

I was on the train down from Aberdeen for that one. Kept checking so we could jump off the train and go home. It was called off just as we left Stirling so we had to go all the way to Glasgow anyway.
    Last edited by marinello59; 07-10-2023 at 08:51 AM.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by hibby rae View Post
    If anything 25 degrees in October in London is a lot worse than it pissing down in Scotland in October. One of those should not be happening!
    I’d be happier with the sun

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs90 View Post
    Hearing Bonnyrigg Rose game is off
    Pitch inspection at 11am but that game will be off. The bottom corner will be like the diving pool at the Commie

Just drove from Gilmerton to Leith Academy for the wee man’s fitba and the roads are ok.

This thread is more split than the Joe Newell ones of past seasons!

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Can someone go run about with a football at Saughton park for 90 mins and let us know how it goes?

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    I was on the train down from Aberdeen for that one. Kept checking do we could jump of the train and go home. It was called off just as we left Stirling so we had to go all the way to Glasgow anyway.
    Bus I was on just continued to the Ancient Order of Hibernian Society club in Port Glasgow anyway. Couple of pints, a game of pool and some questionable songs on the jukebox and we headed home.

Replayed game was a freezing midweek night, Stokes scored in a 1-0 win.

Quote Originally Posted by 04Sauzee View Post
    No idea, like I said it's a rumour and only posting what I read. I'd have thought there would be some communication from both teams if there was to be a pitch inspection.
    I'd be very surprised if there wasn't pitch inspections throughout the day.

Would it not be standard practice to do one before a game anyway?

Dundee v Ross County off

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    I’d be happier with the sun
    In the short term haha

Bus I was on just continued to the Ancient Order of Hibernian Society club in Port Glasgow anyway. Couple of pints, a game of pool and some questionable songs on the jukebox and we headed home.

Replayed game was a freezing midweek night, Stokes scored in a 1-0 win.
    I had a Hibs supporting pal from Greenock many years ago(lost touch,sadly)
    He told me his uncles/relatives were in the AOH and Port Glasgow use to run a bus to the Holy Ground back in the Famous Five days.
    Nothing questionable about a traditional rebel song
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 07-10-2023 at 08:57 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Can someone go run about with a football at Saughton park for 90 mins and let us know how it goes?
    Just tried it, but at Roseburn Park whilst waiting on the Roseburn Bar opening. It's pretty wet oot there.

Quote Originally Posted by hibby rae View Post
    I'd be very surprised if there wasn't pitch inspections throughout the day.

Would it not be standard practice to do one before a game anyway?
    No

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs90 View Post
    Dundee v Ross County off

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 04Sauzee View Post
    Dens Park really is grim as ****
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    I had a Hibs supporting pal from Greenock many years ago(lost touch,sadly)
    He told me his uncles/relatives were in the AOH and Port Glasgow use to run a bus to the Holy Ground back in the Famous Five days.
    My favourite rebel song is Cantina Band.

The ones you are talking about, in my opinion, should be consigned to the bin.

Edit - I see you have edited the bit out about the party tunes :)

Quote Originally Posted by hibee316 View Post
    My favourite rebel song is Cantina Band.

The ones you are talking about, in my opinion, should be consigned to the bin.

Edit - I see you have edited the bit out about the party tunes :)
    Hadnt noticed ,till you did, An edit froze earlier.

What ones was i talking about ? I mentioned no song titles.
    However,The Foggy Dew song is not questionable in my opinion.
    Nr should it be "consigned to the bin"
    You'll be banning books next!
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 07-10-2023 at 09:03 AM.