Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    I was 12 years old when we signed Latapy and Sauzee, maybe a bit young to really appreciate how good they were.

Quote Originally Posted by inglisavhibs View Post
    John Madsen wasn't too shabby
    Was made out of granite. He could head the ball as far as he could kick it.

Quote Originally Posted by Tambo View Post
    I was 12 years old when we signed Latapy and Sauzee, maybe a bit young to really appreciate how good they were.
    Very much so, just be happy that you witnessed them.

Just remembered the radge that was Bobby Thomson, Justin Skinner another one to add to the underrated list.

Gamertag: Euan88
    Ulrik Laursen.

Bamba - at his peak.

Gottskalksson - just for the fact that he was my first ever autograph, back in the days when the bottom of the Famous 5 was raised above the pitch and I remember him having to reach up to deliver said signature.

Efe Ambrose was exceptional for us. Best central defender I've seen at Hibs.

Matty Jack and Gareth Evans, not sure many players tried harder in a Hibs strip.

The Porn Star for just being that really. 😳

My dad said Johnn Madsen was a decent player.

The adpoted Aussies Lovell, Cummings and Boyle have all been good for us. Or was Lovell actually a born and bred Aussie?

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Just remembered the radge that was Bobby Thomson, Justin Skinner another one to add to the underrated list.
    Bobby Thomson was Scottish was he not

Thanks Mick and Billy .
    Another player I liked and was sorry when he left was David Murphy. Think we got a decent fee for him at the time . Quality player imo . Loved his goal against the Huns too . Think it put us top of the league.

https://youtu.be/XILiV7sbSWQ

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Bobby Thomson was Scottish was he not
    I always thought he was from NE England, turns out he was born in the weej.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 21-07-2023 at 05:59 PM.

Matty Jack and Gareth Evans, not sure many players tried harder in a Hibs strip.

The Porn Star for just being that really. 😳

Loved Gareth Evans , Can still remember his heider on his debut v Dundee ..God that must have been about 35 years ago ! Wow.. Still at Hibs to this day , Brilliant

Quote Originally Posted by Donegal Hibby View Post
    Thanks Mick and Billy .
    Another player I liked and was sorry when he left was David Murphy. Think we got a decent fee for him at the time . Quality player imo . Loved his goal against the Huns too . Think it put us top of the league.

https://youtu.be/XILiV7sbSWQ
    Just a wee article on the "Joe scores four"!game Billy brought up. 41.000 plus there.
    Not counting the main stand "double ups" or "lift overs" !!
    Hearts were very good around that time.
    https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2...-at-tynecastle
    On his return he stll enjoyed beating them.
    Celebrating Arhur Duncan's goal against Hertz in 1971
    https://www.facebook.com/HibernianRe...8659072582890/
    Scottish Cup tie . Won 2-1. John Hazel got the other goal.

Oh !! i found some clips on Hibs Retro
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSp0QyDrbrA
    This clip has funny commentary.
    Jimmy O' is number 8 .brings down the Jambo that led to their goal.
    The Hertz scorer.Kevin Hegarty was a year or two above me at secondary school
    Turncoat !
    His wee brother ,Paul was in my brothers year.
    And then, Arthurs wonder goal! And Joe B running to him .
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxEslT5j8NU

Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 21-07-2023 at 06:07 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Loved Gareth Evans , Can still remember his heider on his debut v Dundee ..God that must have been about 35 years ago ! Wow.. Still at Hibs to this day , Brilliant
    My mum and dad were at a function in Balerno that he turned up and got me his autograph that night. 😊

My mum and dad were at a function in Balerno that he turned up and got me his autograph. 😊
    As in recent or way back then ?

That very night.

Edge of the 6 yard box into the middle of the goals IIRC.

That very night.
    Aw superb mate

Edge of the 6 yard box into the middle of the goals IIRC.
    Came on as a sub tae

Lilian Martin - I thought he was excellent

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    The Baker Boys!
    The late and great Hibernian brothers,Joe and Gerry Baker .

Lets sign another Baker Boy.
    Born in England, Gerry's grandson,St.Mirren's Ryan Strain.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Donegal Hibby View Post
    Being Irish I'm going to kick -off with a few of Irish lads .
    Conrad Logan loved the big man and what a performance from him in the semi final , must be up there with one of the best performances of a Hibs goalie I seen .

Anthony Stokes was unbelievable in the cup final and ran tavernier ragged. Probably the best performance I've seen from a Hibs striker in a cup final ever .

Ivan Sproule , what a player ! Think we paid something like 5 grand for him which must be one of the best deals we've ever done . Hattrick at Ibrox was something else and just summed up the quality and how really good Ivan was .

Interested to hear foreign players that you liked at Hibs . Any of the older Hibs fans remember some of the early foreign players we signed ?
    Being English Joe Baker (to be fair didnt see him in the flesh)
    On tbe theme of English I grew up in Blackpool marvelling at a very good keeper doing handstands on the 18 yard box as part of his warm who then went on to win silverware with the Mighty Hibs. Yes the one and certainly only John Burridge.

Skinner, along with a few others couldn't make the step up to the Prem after a decent season in the first division. Mind a cup defeat away to Clyde was the end for Skinner along with Marinkov and another 1 or two.

From that era I'll throw in Barry Prenderville (what a goal!), Janos Matyus, Peter Guggi, Marc Libbra and a certain Fabrice Henry.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Efe Ambrose was exceptional for us. Best central defender I've seen at Hibs.
    I liked Efe too. But you must be younger than I thought if you didn’t see Sauzee play at the back for us.

Off the top of my head, I’d definitely have to put Big Rob Jones above Efe too based on how effective he was and what he did in his time here.

So many ‘foreign’ players I’ve liked to choose from. Latapy was always the favourite though.

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    My dad said Johnn Madsen was a decent player.

The adpoted Aussies Lovell, Cummings and Boyle have all been good for us. Or was Lovell actually a born and bred Aussie?
    Lovell was English but his maw or granny was born in Oz. Fuzzy memories of Lovell the striker when we were in Div 1, huge kudos to him to then become a right wing back before a centre mid at Livi.

Marciano
    De La Cruz
    Sauzee
    Ambrose
    Laursen
    Boozy
    Latapy
    Zemmama
    Benji
    Mixu
    Zitelli

Andersson, Fenwick, Bamba, Jack, Lovell, Maclaren, Malonga

Probably missed someone but in my time, they're the favourites.

Marc Libbra was a class act

Testimonial Due Stokesy's on fire's Avatar
    Benji
    Zitelli
    Sauzee
    Latapy
    Boozy

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    I liked Efe too. But you must be younger than I thought if you didn’t see Sauzee play at the back for us.

Off the top of my head, I’d definitely have to put Big Rob Jones above Efe too based on how effective he was and what he did in his time here.

So many ‘foreign’ players I’ve liked to choose from. Latapy was always the favourite though.
    I'm 27, so I was very young when Sauzee played for us, although I did see him.

Efe was easily better than Jones imo. Much better footballer, although Jones scored some extremely important goals for us.

Quote Originally Posted by KWJ View Post
    Lovell was English but his maw or granny was born in Oz. Fuzzy memories of Lovell the striker when we were in Div 1, huge kudos to him to then become a right wing back before a centre mid at Livi.
    Lovell was born in Australia.