@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar

Anyone in this picture post 6-2 game?

This picture of celebrating fans heading up Albion Road following the 6-2 demolition was posted on Picture This Scotland FB page. Anyone in it or know anyone?

Looks like fellow Scots-Italian Simon Pia is in the bottom left hand corner, but I may be wrong

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Couple of my pals are smack bang in the middle, have sent this pic onto them, thanks for sharing it!

Quote Originally Posted by Springbank View Post
    Looks like fellow Scots-Italian Simon Pia is in the bottom left hand corner, but I may be wrong
    That’s no Simon

Image was taken 20 years ago

Few well kent faces though

First Team Breakthrough Svengali's Avatar
    Me. Right in the middle, giving the thumbs up. Still remember it being taken. Was on route to Hibs club.

Scary to think it was nearly 23 years ago.

Latapy’s goal was breathtaking

Quote Originally Posted by Svengali View Post
    The commentary on Sky for Russell's goal was suitably excellent too, a sublime touch from Mixu to set him up is often overlooked as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Springbank View Post
    Not him.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    The commentary on Sky for Russell's goal was suitably excellent too, a sublime touch from Mixu to set him up is often overlooked as well.
    The Sky highlights of the game on link

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_gUn9IRZoK0

Note the jam(bo) packed Dunbar End .

The full match is also on youtube .
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 03-07-2023 at 12:35 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Ian Crocker told me it was one of his favourite games he commentated on.

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    Ian Crocker told me it was one of his favourite games he commentated on.
    Very good at his job. 👍

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    Great Hibs team. And Franck running the show like a general.

didn’t we beat rangers too, about a week after the demolition derby?

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Seen the pic online and my first thought was "when did they start closing off Albion Place after Cat A games?".

Quote Originally Posted by Pagan Hibernia View Post

It was a few weeks before IIRC. 1-0 (Zitelli).

We played them the weekend before at ER and won due to a Zitelli strike. What a team that was, Franck still the best player I've ever seen play for us.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    I'd have been in bed after a long tiring day of Pokemon Tag with my next door neighbours without the slightest clue that I'd somehow actually like football, a sport I vociferously hated, in five years' time, so... Not me, sorry.

Think the week after we won 1-0 at Tannadice, the fans serenaded Sauzee with happy birthday chants

Edit - that Tannadice game sticks in my mind as it was raining heavily. I had new blue jeans on and when I got home my legs were blue 😆

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Seen the pic online and my first thought was "when did they start closing off Albion Place after Cat A games?".
    Aye I thought similar, anyone know?

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    The Sky highlights of the game on link

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_gUn9IRZoK0

Note the jam(bo) packed Dunbar End .

The full match is also on youtube .
    Protest about ticket prices. First time It reached the £20 mark.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    That’s no Simon

Image was taken 20 years ago

Few well kent faces though
    👍

Quote Originally Posted by King Cosell View Post
    Some of their supporters were running another protest that they did not want to give any money to Hibs at that time.They are a strange bunch.

The ticket price protest was a handy excuse, main reason was they were expecting a pumping. Let them score first and last and still pumped them. 😊

Quote Originally Posted by King Cosell View Post
    More they knew they were getting horsed.

Increased ticket price boycott nonsense and excuse was a blind.
    Total deflection for the real reason.
    That game was not the only time they "boycotted" back then.
    They feared that team and looking back, am not surprised.
    We have been there,of course,but then they were spending money they didn't have,during the "we owe to ourselves ,we own a bank" era.

How much would it cost nowadays to assemble that McLeish side again? .
    Absolutely the best side Hibs produced since the Tornadoes.
    Quality indeed.Class side.
    Finished 3rd of course and 14pts? ahead of the "big team" that season.
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 03-07-2023 at 06:56 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Increased ticket price boycott nonsense and excuse was a blind.
    Total deflection for the real reason.
    That game was not the only time they "boycotted" back then.
    They feared that team and looking back, am not surprised.
    We have been there too,when they were spending money they didn't have,during the "we owe to ourselves ,we own a bank" era.

How much would it cost to assemble that McLeish side again? .
    Absolutely the best side Hibs produced since the Tornadoes.
    Quality indeed.Class side.
    Finished 3rd of course and 14pts? ahead of the "big team" that season.
    Even a goal start, Darren Jackson and Juke Box Durie couldn’t save them from the inevitable doing

No need to block off Albion Road as those yams that did bother to turn up left early

Even a goal start, Darren Jackson and Juke Box Durie couldn’t save them from the inevitable doing

No need to block off Albion Road as those yams that did bother to turn up left early
    O course ! Correct answer !

Nicknames Billy ! Wee bit more Hibs trivia.
    Mind last year or abouts,the tribute thread to John "Sloop"Blackley and his son contributing and saying it was Jimmy O' who gave John his nickname.
    Well Jimmy also gave Juke Box his nickname when he was coaching at ER back when Gordon D was a youth player.
    James was awfy for the rhyming slang as well.
    We had an uncle in the Grassmarket who could not have a conversation without using the "cockney" rhyming slang in near every sentence he uttered.
    He emigrated to America.
    Goodness knows how he managed over there chatting with the Sherman tanks !!
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 03-07-2023 at 07:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Tyler Durden View Post
    Think the week after we won 1-0 at Tannadice, the fans serenaded Sauzee with happy birthday chants

Edit - that Tannadice game sticks in my mind as it was raining heavily. I had new blue jeans on and when I got home my legs were blue 😆
    Correct, Tam McManus scored the late winner.

Sauzee chucked his top into the crowd after the game….. a guy on my bus caught it. What a souvenir

Correct, Tam McManus scored the late winner.

Sauzee chucked his top into the crowd after the game….. a guy on my bus caught it. What a souvenir
    Was that the game that Tam did the pole dance behind the goal to celebrate?

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Me. Right in the middle, giving the thumbs up. Still remember it being taken. Was on route to Hibs club.

Scary to think it was nearly 23 years ago.

Brilliant - great stuff!

No mate, that was a couple of seasons later, as it was under Williamson.

I organised a visit by some of the Hibs players to visit a local primary school Tam was one of the players who was in the group. The players were doing a question and answer section for which the classes had prepared questions. After all the prepared questions were asked we threw it open and asked the children if they had any more questions.One of the Hibs supporting P7s asked Tam why he celebrated by sliding down the pole at Tannadice? The teachers all looked at each other wondering what he would answer.
    Quick as a flash his response to the question was. See when I was your age I always wanted to be a fireman and slide down the pole. There was journalists present and one commented to me that Tam would have a future in the media.