Marine Gardens Stadium (NHC)

Love this old photo of the former Marine Gardens stadium in Portobello which hosted speedway, boxing events and of course football with both Leith Athletic and Edinburgh City playing there for a period with hibs no doubt making an appearance versus either of the above, closed for good in 1939, love the big terrace on the Seafield road side and I think an old entrance gate still exists on the promenade side although that may have been altered or even removed through timeIMG_4052.jpg

Thats Marine Depot now?

Quote Originally Posted by AltheHibby View Post
    Thats Marine Depot now?
    Yeah bus depot now mate

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    I stayed on Kings Road for a few years. Those tenements must be the only constant in the area!

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Yeah bus depot now mate
    On a freezing cold February day, that must have rivalled Arbroath as the coldest ground in Scotland !

Yeah bus depot now mate
    Thanks.

Born and bred Porty and never knew about this, thanks 😁

@hibs.net private member London Hibs FC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by norhfc View Post
    Born and bred Porty and never knew about this, thanks 😁
    Same here.

No problem guys, just find it a fascinating photo, my auld in laws used to talk about ballroom dancing that was a regular event in the “olden days” as well as the above mentioned and circus plus showband stuff, it seemed to be the place to go to

Opened in 1909, its attractions initially included a ballroom, circus and zoo, cinema and theatre, scenic railway, ornamental gardens and maze and a football ground
    Last edited by Bridge hibs; 26-06-2023 at 12:23 PM.

Absolutely no idea there used to be a huge ground down there.

IMG_4057.jpgIMG_4056.jpg First photo from above showing the old power station in the foreground with Marine gardens in the background, also right hand corner you can see Portobello open air pool, and the second photo showing the old Kings Road tenements with a packed crowd on the terraces
    Last edited by Bridge hibs; 26-06-2023 at 12:48 PM.

Well you learn something new everyday day. Good post. Spent the first 20 years of my life in Porty and never knew this was there before the bus depot.

Quote Originally Posted by cocteautwin View Post
    Well you learn something new everyday day. Good post. Spent the first 20 years of my life in Porty and never knew this was there before the bus depot.
    Your welcome mate, I love old photos especially local, strangely enough the army took over the site, if Im right in thinking just a mile up the road hibs had a ground, now part of the Peirshill cemetery that we never had use of as I believe the army used that too

IMG_4059.jpgIMG_4060.jpg 21,000 attendance, not too shabby

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    First Edinburgh speedway track there as well before moving onto Old Meadowbank and then Powderhall.

Couple more images and some info here.
    http://www.defunctspeedway.co.uk/Edi...%20Gardens.htm

Quote Originally Posted by cocteautwin View Post
    Exactly the same here, all that time and never knew, good wee thread.

Surprised that so many folk from Porty have never heard of it, suppose being a (mostly ex) speedway fan it’s part of the Edinburgh speedway folklore, but I thought it was pretty well known regardless.

Quote Originally Posted by wallpaperman View Post
    Surprised that so many folk from Porty have never heard of it, suppose being a (mostly ex) speedway fan it’s part of the Edinburgh speedway folklore, but I thought it was pretty well known regardless.
    I thought about posting something very similar earlier today.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I thought about posting something very similar earlier today.
    I just came across the photos and thought I would share, its good to see that a few havent seen those photos before and moreso younger posters, they may have been posted before but perhaps before my time on here, apologies if so

Nae need to apologise.

@hibs.net private member stu in nottingham's Avatar
    Thanks Bridge

Long been aware of the Marine Gardens which was a mile or two away from where I came to be brought up in Fisherrow. Quite an amazing story really. There were one or two things that would be questionable today such as a tribe of Somalian villagers who were shipped over and lived in a mock 'African village' of mud huts where they would stage fights with spears. It was much like a 'human zoo'.

https://portobelloheritagetrust.co.u...%20gardens.htm

The stadium at Piershill/Northfield was another amazing story. It was mean to be a 'super stadium' for Hibs I believe. Incredible to think that Hibs were actually considering relocating to Aberdeen or Motherwell in those times.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...r-used-3025564
    Last edited by stu in nottingham; 27-06-2023 at 10:38 PM.
    FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown

@hibs.net private member Alex Trager's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by stu in nottingham View Post
    Thanks Bridge

Long been aware of the Marine Gardens which was a mile or two away from where I came to be brought up in Fisherrow. Quite an amazing story really. There were one or two things that would be questionable today such as a tribe of Somalian villagers who were shipped over and lived in a mock 'African village' of mud huts where they would stage fights with spears. It was much like a 'human zoo'.

https://portobelloheritagetrust.co.u...%20gardens.htm

The stadium at Piershill/Northfield wasanother amazing story. It was mean to be a 'super stadium' for Hibs I believe. Incredible to think that Hibs were actually considering relocating to Aberdeen or Motherwell in those times.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...r-used-3025564
    God, I dread to think what colour I would wear if they had moved to MWell or Aberdeen!

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar
    IMG_4057.jpgIMG_4056.jpg First photo from above showing the old power station in the foreground with Marine gardens in the background, also right hand corner you can see Portobello open air pool, and the second photo showing the old Kings Road tenements with a packed crowd on the terraces
    Great photo of the power station. I was on top of the petrol station canopy across the road to watch it being demolished in 1980. Thinking back it was so unsafe but it was a spectacular view of the explosions.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

Quote Originally Posted by Alex Trager View Post
    God, I dread to think what colour I would wear if they had moved to MWell or Aberdeen!
    If there was no Hibs in Edinburgh I dread to think what the alternative might have been

Quote Originally Posted by Oscar T Grouch View Post
    Great photo of the power station. I was on top of the petrol station canopy across the road to watch it being demolished in 1980. Thinking back it was so unsafe but it was a spectacular view of the explosions.
    Yeah Im sure quite a few windows in the tenements opposite caved in when the chimney was blown 😵

Fascinating thread.

@hibs.net private member LancsHibs's Avatar

Obsessed with the Hibees son of haggart's Avatar
    http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/0_buildi...s_ballroom.htm

My grandfather 2nd from the right in the first photo, with his dance band at the Marine Gardens in 1930. There's a bit more info in that thread

Quote Originally Posted by son of haggart View Post
    http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/0_buildi...s_ballroom.htm

My grandfather 2nd from the right in the first photo, with his dance band at the Marine Gardens in 1930. There's a bit more info in that thread
    Thanks for sharing interesting stuff.